"Big Mouth" My Furry Valentine (TV Episode 2019) Poster

(TV Series)

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
10 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Great episode but not perfect
dennisruohomaa8 February 2019
I love big mouth and was super happy they released a special episode. I wasn't overly happy about the over the top sexual humor, I know it's classic big mouth and otherwise I'm a fan of it but it felt a tad overdone in this one. The constant singing was a little annoying to me but all in all most of it was amazing! I loved the interviews with the kids and their hormone monsters! Hope they release more episodes soon!
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Valentines Day... Stupid Holiday
muitolokoloko8 February 2019
When I watched this episode I was thinking, is it worth the love? This episode was awesome, but it was not perfect, but I loved it!
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I loved it, except for one thing
jdcook91311 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
If you've been a fan of Big Mouth thus far, this special won't disappoint you. The beginning song is awesome and almost all the jokes and humor are on point in this one. I loved Nick and Connie's dynamic as well as Matt and Maury's. Even though it was brief, that moment with Jessie and her mom at the restaurant was so wholesome. I also think guys should take notes when Nick apologizes to Connie at the end. The joke with the ladybug I think has run it's course, but it never detracts from the overall special.

What did bother me a bit was Andrew's arch this time around. The way he treats Missy made me a tad uncomfortable and it seemed too out of character for him. It's almost like this special forgot what he went through in Season 2 with the Shame Wizard. I get it, the show is calling out toxic masculinity which is awesome, but this seems like something Jay would do instead of Andrew.

In the end, a Valentines Day special in the world of Big Mouth was practically a match made in heaven.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
PopCultureThoughts.Com
popculturethoughts14 February 2019
This 45-minute Valentine's special is on par with the show's superior aesthetic, writing and extraordinary voice work from its all-star cast. Picking up right where season 2's finale ends, "My Furry Valentine" furthers its thesis on the awkwardness of adolescence and the confusion of puberty with the same screamingly hysterical, joke-a-minute style that's served the show so well thus far. John Mulaney's Andrew, in particular, enters a new phase of his sexual awakening including sexual frustration and jealous rage, and it's remarkable that the show tackles something so unsettling with the clarity and incisiveness as its tackled everything else so far. Andrew Rannell's Matthew also grows in this special, discovering an identity beyond "snappy gay guy" that is both interesting and refreshing. It's not often that a one-off special is as intrinsically connected to its source material but it's a neat hat trick that the show-runners manage to pull off with conviction, focus and ease.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
My Furry Valentine (#3.0)
ComedyFan201027 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Before the new season starts we get a little special with this Valentine's episode. It was pretty good covering all our characters with their issues. Jessi and Matt's friends date was pretty cute. Nice how he made her see that her mom deserves to go with her true sexuality. Would be nice if we got to see more of her dad. Matt meeting that guy was also pretty good. Andrew seems out of character but this is something that may happen during puberty where one just goes insane. Hope it all will get better for him in the 3rd season after this horrible ending with him even getting bald. Nick dealing with the fact that he has a female hormone monster was also a very fun story line.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Connie I love your hand like hair
robbinsben-182329 February 2019
This show is seriously the best adult cartoon since Family guy. It's fresh, crude, witty and in terms of capturing the thoughts and feelings of teenagers, especially around valen-TIMES day, it's near perfect.

Nick and Andrew have created an beast of a show And a wonderfully funny special. I hope Netflix continue with this for as long as they can.

This special was full of decent development and a real sense that the characters from the 1st episode are developing and growing, and weirdly you cant help but care and laugh at/with them .

If this is indeed based on Andrew and Nicks teenage years then they must have been hell! Good work from everyone involved and let's not forget Maya Rudolph. (Connie) my god what a brilliantly talented voice actor! Her work is the stand out from the show!

Very excited for season 3 already!
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not up to par
jaygc7017 May 2019
Almost ruined the series for me. I feel like the way Andrew treated Missy was way out of character. Hopefully season 3 will be better
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Valentine's Special
southdavid20 February 2019
Perhaps weight of expectation is starting to bare down on "Big Mouth" but after two stellar seasons I felt like this was perhaps a tiny bit below the bar they've set for themselves.

Valentine's Day approaches like a juggernaut for the kids of "Big Mouth". Nick is trying to get used to have a female hormone monster, Andrew is determined that his "play it cool" approach will work with Missy, Jay is struggling to manage his two pillow-based relationships and Jessie is trying to come to terms with her mums new relationship.

I'm not sure why this special didn't hit home as well as the previous seasons episodes have. Maybe the additional runtime let the stories run a little longer than they needed to. Maybe too much of the runtime was committed to the song and dance numbers, which were a little hit and miss. Perhaps it was, as one of the other reviewers suggests, that Andrew's storyline was a little out of character for him, and the lessons that he's learned previously. Maya Rudolph's performance as Connie remains a standout performance.

It wasn't bad, by any means, I laughed a few times and overall I'd still say I enjoyed it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Double-length episode - twice as bad?
burteriksson9 October 2019
So, was this twice as bad as normal episode? I tried to watch the second episode of season three, but had to stop pretty quickly. This show died so fast that it was kind of surprising to me.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Really good episode but really gross out humor! Warning: Spoilers
This episode took place on Valentine's day and I really liked it and the one I hate is jay and his bisexual problem and nick and connie has to be my favorite part of this episode cant wait for season 3.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed