Pagalpanti (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
39 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
What I see when I look down while on the toilet
imaidenburns25 November 2019
This movie makes me feel like Thanos should've killed us all.
20 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Mindless movie. No sense at all, dont know where to situate
soniagokool22 November 2019
Its a waste of time and money, no strong story or even the acting seems so unreal. I was so disappointed.
20 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst Movie ever
mridul-gehlot22 November 2019
Full of nonsense, overacting and waste of time and money. The worst movie can ever be possible. Just Ignore and don't waste your time and money.
17 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Awful!
SinhaSomesh22 November 2019
#FinalVerdict

Absurdity, illogicality & buffoonery scale new altitudes in TSeries and Panorama Studios' Pagalpanti. Not just your cell phone, even your brain needs to be put on 'switched off' mode at the commencement of this film because Pagalpanti throws logic to the winds. Most of the on-screen characters indulge in buffoonery. There's a conscious effort to pack one joke after another. Yet, the film doesn't work because the writing is ridiculously silly and the jokes are bland/unappealing.

Director Anees Bazmee's fundas are very clear: Ask no questions and abandon all faith in logic, reason and rationale. Only then can you relish the film. Frankly, Pagalpanti is more style than substance. There's no meat in the screenplay. It's an awful, awful film!

Director Anees Bazmee chooses to once again make a film he is most comfortable making and sticks to the staple formula of action, comedy and full-on masala. But Pagalpanti will be rejected by the masses and connoisseurs of cinema alike. Thumbs down!

Three writers (Anees Bazmee, Rajiv Kaul and Praful Parekh) are credited with having worked on the script, and yet all they could come up with is a moronic plot to deliver yet another unmistakably mind-numbing comedy. Pagalpanti is simply unpardonable!

While we viewers have witnessed the most ridiculous films in the recent past, Pagalpanti hits a new low when it comes to writing. The soundtrack (Tanishk Bagchi,Sajid Wajid, Yo Yo Honey Singh and Naeem-Shabbir) is equally monotonous. The sole silver lining is the cinematography (Sunil Patel) and striking locales of London.

In the past, every Anees Bazmee movie had a number of memorable sequences that made you jump with joy but Pagalpanti is not only saddled with a frail plot and powerless screenplay, even his execution is below the mark. It's Anees Bazmee's weakest film so far. While viewing the goings-on, you look at Pagalpanti in disbelief and wonder, is this an Anees Bazmee directed film?

It's an oft-repeated fact that the dialogue is the lifeline of every film. No film can survive on star power. That's another problem with Pagalpanti. Soon after the characters are established, most of the jokes fall flat and fail miserably at evoking mirth. The writing, as mentioned above, is a sore point. One expected more from these talented writers (Anees Bazmee, Rajiv Kaul and Praful Parekh).

From exciting car chases, high-octane destruction scenes to an entire act involving industrial strength glue, nothing works at all, thanks to a weak plot. Also, not all actors can carry off comic roles with flourish. Sadly, this is also the case with Pagalpanti.

There are a lot of characters in Pagalpanti, one sillier than the other. Anil Kapoor plays the flashy gangster with his trademark loudness. Arshad Warsi is the funny guy with witty one-liners. John Abraham exudes charm despite his goofy character. Pulkit Samrat once again plays up on his boyish charm. Ileana D'Cruz, Kriti Kharbanda and Urvashi Rautela are reduced to looking pretty and mouthing silly lines. Saurabh Shukla, Zakir Hussain and Inaamulhaq are impressive.

Be smart, exercise your right to avoid Pagalpanti with all your might. Even with an enviable star cast and heavy-duty action, the film fails in its endeavour because it is more of a chaos than a film. A damp squib which will bore the viewers to death!
18 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst movie. Dont watch.
abhinaygupta-2893122 November 2019
Please watch this movie at your own risk. This movie is one of the worst movies of aneez sir
14 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
The movie is funny in parts BUT a weak Script.
Tejas_Vinda_AITS22 November 2019
An out-of-luck youngster Raj Kishore (John Abraham) and his friends Junky (Arshad Warsi) and Chandu (Pulkit Samrat) are hired by gangsters Raja (Saurabh Shukla) and WiFi Bhai (Anil Kapoor) in a bid to recover their damages.

But all goes not well.

At one point in the film, John Abraham declares, "Zaroori nahi ki har cheez ka matlab ho." - This is the Pagalpanti movie is all about.,, 0 Meaning.

The movie is funny in parts and flat in others.

There are far too many songs placed randomly that only add to the runtime.

Towards the end, it turns patriotic.,, that seems more forced.

Even with a huge starcast and heavy-duty action, Pagalpanti never really manages to pull off more than a few laughs.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst than the Kalank.
satishmeghani22 November 2019
Even Kalank was a better movie than this drama. Suffering from headache after watching this movie. So sorry
14 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
invest your time wisely.
saifahm27 November 2019
I am a big fan of bollywood movies. I can only request you, please do not waste your time and money behind this movie. I still dont believe in this trending time of bollywood, how is it possible by a director to create such an disgusting movie with great cast and set!!! hope you never get chance to make another movie Mr Director.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
What did I just watch?!
ronakkotian24 November 2019
This year we had films like Saaho and Housefull 4 which were unbearable to watch but Pagalpanti is on another level. This film is just an embarrassing disaster.

Pagalpanti is about....

To be honest I don't even know what this film is about or if I could even classify this to be a film. Rather than being a film, I think this is just a bunch of sloppy comedy skits with a huge budget surrounding it. There practically is no story visible. Annes Bazmee is well known for his previous comedic ventures like Welcome which were a decent watch but I don't what through his and his co-writers Rajiv Kaul and Praful Parekh's heads. It seemed as through they just thought of a bunch of ideas and held it together with a thread that's on the verge of breaking.

There were a couple of good jokes which did, in fact, make me laugh but that's only a minority of the long list of jokes this film presents us with. What really impressed was the great comedic timing of Arshad Warsi and Saurabh Shukla. I always found Warsi to be an underrated gem who never got his due and here he proves to me again what a great comedic actor he is. The way he delivers his dialogues and expressions seems so natural compared to the rest. Even if the film is terrible, Arshad Warsi gives it his all to make sure the audience is having a good time. Same goes for Saurabh Shulka who provides some genuine funny moments. However, everything else is utter garbage.

This film makes absolutely no sense and even though we get a warning to leave our brains at home, it's still a painful experience. Just because you label your film as illogical, it doesn't mean you shouldn't try to give us something worthy of watching. At least try to present us with a good story and interesting characters. I know how hard it is to create a film but that doesn't mean that you can make anything and pass it off as a movie.

Pagalpanti is just stylish with no substance whatsoever. Songs are placed at random times and add nothing to the film. The characters are not interesting at the slightest. Much like Housefull 4, the female characters have nothing to do and just exist to become a love interest or eyecandy. The writing is so lazy! Since there is no story, you have to depend on the jokes but a lot of the film, especially the second half, is dull. The film even tries to spread a patriotic message that feels so misplaced and forced.

Pagalpanti is hands down one of the worst films of the year. So many scenes go on forever and stretch the runtime for as long as possible. The climax is laughably bad due to the amount of stupidity that takes place. I feel as if I lost some brain cells during this. In a year where Bollywood is getting films like Article 15, Gully Boy and Sonchiriya, it frustrates me to see a film like Pagalpanti remind me how bad Bollywood films can be. Our audience deserves better.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible piece of crap movie
motabhai23 November 2019
1980s and 1990s movies were better edited than this crap..i made it to the intermission and then what followed was a 15 minute blurr of stupidity by which time i was forced to walk out. The last time i walked out on a movie was 'thin red line' as it was so dull..this time it was the stupidity of the story and no plot. This does not even categorize as slapstick.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
COMPLETE DISASTER!
sunildaswaney22 November 2019
"Pagalpanti" was made by the same filmmaker who had made 2entertaining movies some time before in "No Entry" and "Welcome". However he made it a point to make sure that his script matched in title of the film in totality. The film was a complete disaster from the word go! The only faint spark in the movie was Arshad Warsi who is very smooth when it comes to comedy. If IMDB would allow me to give a rating of 0/10 I would readily do so for this movie. 0/10
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Wastage of time.
rishabhsingh-26109224 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Unnecessary comedy with third grade of script. Wastage of money and wastage of time.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Avoidable at all costs!
siddhuchitre23 November 2019
Avoid watching this, absolutely crap level of humor.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Waste of time
sahilsaluja-4411926 November 2019
Worst movie i have ever seen. First movie ever we thirteen people together decided to leave in interval.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Full of boredom
aryansr-4888625 November 2019
Try to make it funny but looks stupidity 😏 Houseful is better than this movie
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good time pass
kathantrivedi22 November 2019
Your money will not get wasted Its a fine entedtainer better than housefull 4
13 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A Beautiful Piece of Tatti
momi74621 January 2020
Bakwas Ghatiya Acting Arshad warsi Ko Chahiye Films Chhor dey ab Koi Story Nahi Koi Tuk Nahi Tatti Film.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
WORST WORST WORST EVER COMEDY GENRE
girishkangrecha8 December 2019
Anil Kapoor is competing with his old worstbuster "Race3" . I can't even imagine how I watched this movie. Such a waste of time. Please do anything in life but do not watch this movie.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
COMPLETE DISASTER
sunildaswaney-636421 December 2019
One of the worst movies of 2019 if not the worst.Nothing is good about this film 0/10
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fun-filled movie
DeveshTewary25 November 2019
While I was convinced about the reviews that the movie was bad before watching it, I am glad I went ahead and saw the film. The film is a laugh riot (though silly at few scenes) with nice songs, locations, and comedy. I don't understand why some people are becoming eternal naysayers the moment 'bollywood' tries to be the quintessential 'bollywood'!

A nice family entertainer after a long time.
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It's A Fun One Time Watch!
DoctorM2730 November 2019
Pagalpanti is a fun one time watch if you like comedy movies. Although its not as good as Anees Bazmee's classics such as Welcome or No entry, but it still delivers a good one time experiance.

As the promos of the film said 'Isme Dimaag Mat Lagana' its true to its words. One can really enjoy this film if you leave your seriousness for a while.

The first half of the film is funny, entertaining and a good watch. The second half however gets a little slow and some may find it a little too long.

Some songs seem quite unecessary while some fit in the scene.

The acts are pulled of pretty good by the whole cast being in their pagalpanti characters.

The dialouges may not appeal to everyone as some are pretty cliched but still the timing and performances cover it up.

The only thing which makes you wonder though, is the sudden change of plot. The story which is just on some funny happenings suddenly becomes very patriotic which might make some people scratch their heads.

Overall, dont go by the reviews on the internet. If you love comedy, it is adviced to see it atleast once. It will surely make you giggle atleast.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
PAGALPANTI IS A COMEDY MOVIE WHICH HAS A STRONG ANTI CORRUPTION MESSAGE
baskii29 November 2019
So people think, this is not as good as a film to get a positive review!! OK.

First let me say why I three stars less than ten.

1 Except the songs inside the haunted castle, the other songs were better to be chopped off. Extra songs made this film lengthy, and are easily forgettable once one leaves the hall.

2 There are always scope of keeping away certain super star mannerism from natural acting , specifically in case of acting in action scenes.

3 When it was planned to be a Comedy then the last fight sequence could be much funnier. Which is not present.

Now let me explain why I gave thus movie 7 stars.

1 The movie has a good speed. It has a Story.

2 Characters have been portrayed well by artists.

3 Sarcasm has been used intelligently. Like "Zindegi ke saath bhi, aur Zindegil ke baad bhi." There are more punch lines to enjoy.

4 A strong anti corruption mesage.

Lastly need to mention IF viewers can accept funny films without much logical storyline previously, why are they suddenly willing to call a certain film as a single star rated movie?? Or we should anticipate that certain sections are unable to accept the message which this film wanted to spread through hilarious Comedy.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A MAD COMEDY WHICH IS LITTLE SLOPPY LITTLE FUNNY !
SAMTHEBESTEST22 November 2019
PAGALPANTI REVIEW :-

Comedy genre has been one of the most favourite zone for family audiences and we got to see some evergreen comedy films from Anees Bazmee. The writer and director who gave a couple of high repeat value films in last decade has gone little down in this decade. However his films were not that dull to bash him totally, but the expectations were kind of high and may be that's why those films didn't work on higher side. PagalPanti is his another attempt where he goes all out with multistarrer cast and high production value but the overall content doesn't reach to that level. PagalPanti has some mad moments where you will really laugh from heart but sadly those moments comes on rare occasions.

The film starts with 3 characters Chandu (Pulkit Samrat), Junky (Arshad Warsi) and Raj Kishore (John Abraham) who are helmed unlucky by others. Wherever they go something bad happens to the people around and they stuck in crisis everytime. The 3 losers somehow goes to fool 2 gangsters Raja Sahab (Saurabh Shukla) and Wifi Bhai (Anil Kapoor) but get trapped by thier fate. All 3 losers have 1 love interest each Janhavi (Kirti Kharbanda), Sanjana (Ileana D'Cruz) and Urvashi Rautela as Kavya. The story goes forward by introducing several characters on negative side such as Niraj Modi (Inaaamulhaq), Tulli seth (Zakir Hussain), Bulli Seth (Ashok Samarth) and Baba Jani (Mukesh Tiwari).

To be Frank, there is always a less scope for acting in such comedies and more scope for the expressions to act. Arshad Warsi does it perfectly and that's why he stand out in the film among all actors. John Abraham lacks the same but he gets final touch in his style while Pulkit Samrat is funny since the beginning of the film. Anil Kapoor seems waste because his character was not well written and as we have seen him doing some hilarious characters in previous Anees Bazmee films (like Majnu Bhai), this Wifi bhai is below par. Female cast of the film gets very less to contribute. Kriti Kharbanda has full fledged comic role, she is with us from the start and she never goes out of story. Ileana D'Cruz has come and go moments whereas Urvashi Rautela appears after the interval and she looks super duper hot. Rest of the supporting cast performs below expectations and mostly goes unnoticed.

There are so many twists in the story and therefore screenplay looks good. The problem appears in the runtime which is damn too long while the same story could have been told in 2 hours. There are so many varieties in comedy genre, there is situational comedy, there's slapstick comedy, there is humorous comedy etc. Pagalpanti is combo of all comedies because it is situational at some moments, it is humorous at some moments and it is also slapstick at many occasions. While doing this mixture, writer fails to keep it engaging because every funny scene is followed by flaws. If the rhythm had been kept intact then we might have witnessed one of the finest comedy of this decade. Those flaws mostly came through songs as not a single song suits the situation and spoils the funny mood generated by the situation.

Director Anees Bazmee is lacking high repeat value comedies like he gave in last decade and PagalPanti continues the same. The film starts with illogical scenes but then it really makes you laugh with solid punchlines and situations that are turned into Fiasco. The second half of the film is bit slow and barely funny yet the overall impact doesn't go too down. Additionally, the patriotic theme in the climax looks unnecessary when you are making such a mindless comedy. If one has to keep his brain away (as makers have warned us already) then PagalPanti can be enjoyed once by family audience and especially by kids. Overall, this one is a below average comedy with some high time laughters and also includes some kiddish stuff in it. But somehow it makes you laugh for some time and that's what we are expecting from the film.

RATING- 4/10*
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I wish I could rate in negative
shubhamdcooler23 January 2020
The movie will make you cry. That is how bad it is.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Only For Ileana..
mejahanasif23 January 2020
The only star it deserves is only for Ileana and her hourglass body.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed