You're Not a Monster (TV Series 2019– ) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
13 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Hilarious new show!
sarahfgoldman12 October 2019
So many great people in this show! Kelsey Grammer is so funny as the vampire. I had to watch twice- it's so fast-paced and the jokes don't stop. I can't wait for more episodes!
16 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Reminiscent of Ugly Americans
mindyfrostbite14 October 2019
These short, bite-sized little episodes remind me of "Ugly Americans" - which was a great cartoon we lost way too soon.

I would love to see longer, even 15 minute episodes of "You're Not a Monster". I don't know if the plan is to move forward with anything more than what's already been assembled, but I'm rooting for this little show to find its footing and give us more!
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Original and Fun
Anya89317 October 2019
You're Not a Monster is a fun comedy with heart. There are so many fun nods and allusions for horror fans. The storylines are unpredictable and grounded in relatable characters. It's easy to get engrossed in. My only problem is that there isn't more of it! Definitely check it out.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love it! Original and worthwhile!
downandoutdrifter19 October 2019
Love this concept and would love to see it in a longer form. The jokes are sharp, the idea is novel, and the cast is amazing! It's laugh out loud funny but there are lot of subtle jokes that reward the careful viewer.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Bland, short, predictable, boring
loocsinatas11 October 2019
Feels like a cheap knock-off of Ugly Americans. Animation, voice acting, and humor all sub par.

It's got that certain quality where you instantly realize it's not going to be that great of a show.

Frankly put, it's just not that funny or original.
13 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Surprisingly Great - More Please!
muse_68817 October 2019
I'll admit: I'm not big into cartoons. However, I remembered LOLing at Lesser's "Sad Monsters" book from awhile back, and when I noticed his name listed as the show creator -- followed by a who's who of comedy listed as cast -- I gave the first episode a try. And then the second. And then the third. And then the fourth....OK yeah this is really funny stuff. I want more. IMDB are you listening??
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I ship Max-Nia!
hkschwartz19 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Eric Stonestreet as Dr. Max is a great straight man to all the mayhem around him including Kelsey Grammer's vampire great grandfather/ex therapist. I especially loved the ep Headless Over Heels specifically for the Kardashian gag. I ship Max-Nia!!!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Yawn.
kepeb18 October 2019
Actively sought to find this as the concept sounded great. Unfortunately, it's yet another half assed attempt at humor by largely unfunny people. It's too slow, has predictable dialogue and uses the horrorconcept only as a means to deliver this. It's a great shame because there is a lot you could use and explore with the horror character set.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Do more episodes!
mmalkoff18 October 2019
Clever writing and terrific cast performances! Please do a Season 2!
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pretty creative and very clever. Warning: Spoilers
Love the dry, subtle humor. The repeated references to Dracula is one of my favorite parts.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
poor copy of Ugly americans
shalkhty14 October 2019
I felt while watching it; a poor copy or Ugly Americans
3 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
deflated baloon
maggihel12 October 2019
The only reason I gave this one stars is that I cannot give it less
4 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
It's basically Ugly Americans
amarbdmi19 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I have just gone through few episodes, but I already felt a strong Ugly Americans vibe. In some sense this IS a shorter version of Ugly Americans, where a normal guy tries to live in a big city, but his job compiles him to meet and help various weird monsters. And needless to say, it's not nearly as good as the original.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed