"Sanditon" Episode #1.8 (TV Episode 2019) Poster

(TV Series)

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
27 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
It's not the end... I hope
nikki_ge01115 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Calm down everyone, I know it's not the ending we wanted, but I truly think they've purposefully left it open-ended in mind of a second season! So let's not use the ratings to put them off renewing.. In regards to it not being Jane Austen-esque, Sense and Sensibility? Let's hope they continue on the story, and that Sidney can (somehow) redeem himself. I've loved this season and the characters, despite the disappointing ending, and I eagerly await the next!
17 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Second series?????
cariewardley14 October 2019
I've read that the makers of this show would like to continue the story and have many ideas to come. With that in mind it's a suspenseful, unfinished end to a very good series. Let's hope they get another season so we can find out what happens to miss Parker, miss Lamb and many other characters with unfinished storylines.
15 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Second season ASAP
mon_alt21 October 2019
This can't be the finale of such a wonderful period drama, best ever to me! I want more of Sanditon, Sidney and Charlotte, young Stringer, Esther, Lord Babington, Edward...
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Spoiler
amazon-4043313 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Not a happy ending, was really enjoying this Jane Austen series and it was really good till the end! Not sure who choose this ending but in my mind it's a bad mistake for all those Jane Austen fans, hope I'm not the only one who feels this was way?
22 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
In Hopes for Season 2
EvaEvie26 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Gave this 10/10 purely for the cliff top kiss, the Babington & Esther happy ending and superb acting from all.

Yes there are unfinished storylines but so many characters in one show, 8 episodes wouldn't have been enough to do them all the justice they deserve. They need more time to develop.

I am choosing to see the cliffhanger ending as a midway point for great love story and not the end to an otherwise great series. Let's hope ITV give it the chance it deserves and renew it for a second season.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bring on Series 2
anne-627114 November 2019
I know the ending is a shock to die hard Jane Austin fans, but the emotion delivered by the principal actors is truly breathtaking. We can only speculate where Andrew Davies plan to take this series, but overall it is an amazing episode and a wonderful series. It's well worth watching just don't expect a happy ending (for the moment hopefully)
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very sad
wildmaneater14 October 2019
I don't know if it was the last episode, but story remains truely unfinished! Just why?!
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Take heart this is NOT the end
cstaude-373-35272219 January 2020
I am going out on a limb here - but am willing to bet this is NOT the end! There is too much plot and too many character arcs left hanging for it to be over. We have much more to come (think Poldark my friends!) I will grant that they stopped in a horribly perfect spot for every one of us Austen romantics- but what a delicious wait we will have. Can't wait for season two; only hope it's not too far off!!!!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Seriously?
zoedyndor13 October 2019
Well that was terrible. I may have enjoyed it more had the writers come up with an original series. There was actually little point in basing the story on Sandton, other than using Austen's name bring in viewers.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
shock
ralexander1992114 October 2019
Wow appalling ending to an otherwise enthralling experience... what a disaster this episode turned out to be
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Season 2 please
jody_butcher10 January 2020
Omg I can't believe it ended like that!! I have been left asking why?? Surely this is not the end??
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Loved this series then.......
lizkit-1784614 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Was so enjoying this series, then bang the writers completely burst my romance bubble. Ok I got my wedding at the end with a happy couple running through confetti but it was was the wrong couple!! Jane Austin would not have ended this novel in this way - they have directly gone against her style. Absolutely outrageous. I would have given the episode before this one 10/10 and then you shattered my love story. Shame on you.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Give me season 2!!!
kbowles-3758926 January 2020
Good Lord I'm ready to break down!!!! Give me a season 2 asap!!!!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO THINK... HONESTLY
dorinushk14 October 2019
I really hope this is not the last episode...because it's a very sad ending.... and I think it's okay if this is the last episode..It's like this series was created to shock from the first episode to the last.. I love Andrew's DaVies Pride and Prejudice and I really thought this will be in the same spirit.. but ... he had to follow some marketing strategies , because either way it works for him.. If it's the last episode, then I have to understand that Sanditon has some parallels with Jane Austen's life , sacrifice and duty above love.. premise to which I object, because all Jane Austen's stories have the happy ending just because she didn't had that.. on the either way, if it's not the last episode then he can create another season in which what?! How can Charlotte ever trust Sidney? ! How can they be together if he choose again Eliza? About what will be the next season? About Charlotte and Sidney, his fight for her , her heartbrokenness? Or she will meet a new person with whom she will marry ?

......
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What was that?!
francespaine14 October 2019
If you are going to finish a Jane Austen story, please give it a Jane Austen ending! I have really enjoyed this series but the ending completely ruined it all. All I can think is they wanted to leave it open for series two? But why wreck a whole series in the hope to hook people to a second. The ending this story deserved would have made me watch a second, but this? Doubtful!
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Austen will be turning in her grave
MazzyMayhem-117-54451121 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Ok, so from the onset this Jane Austen drama has been very different from her others, with half-brother/sister storylines, etc. However, I have been left bitterly disappointed with the ending of Sanditon. Austen's novels traditionally have a happy ending with the heroine in the arms of her amour. Austen follows a formula. The ending of Sanditon does not follow this formula at all.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Appalling and totally inappropriate ending.
dancergirl-3859721 December 2019
The author would never have sanctioned the butchering of this piece in this manner!! What a flat and horrid ending - not what any viewer would have been expecting and certainly not clever or well written enough to give it any merit! Have they left it open for a second season?? I actually think not. I think they thought they were being 'true to the times and actual reality of the era'. Probably true. This is not meant to be historically accurate 'reading' (in original form) but rather uplifting and diverting entertainment. Botched it at the very end. Shame for trying to be too clever.....shame!!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
What???
wilroll29 January 2020
Love this show, but not that ending. Tell me season 2 is coming!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
what was that?..
vineta-strauta14 October 2019
Sorry Mr. Director, you have to make a continuation and do it right!
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Was that really the end??
ibiwallbank14 October 2019
Seems very odd ending. Nothing is resolved, many loose ends... doesn't feel like an ending. Doesn't feel like Jane Austen. Very disappointing
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Very very disappointed
leafylane-2605614 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Loved the series, the acting and characters were brilliant but the ending was terrible and not at all in Jane Austen's style . Have they done this just to make a second series ? Ridiculous , they should have ended it like a Jane Austin Novel Very disappointing
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Please a 2nd season!!!
jt-893405 February 2020
Warning: Spoilers
We need to see what happens next something could rescue our couple to get a jane Austin ending we need a 2nd season
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
And the message is.... Take Out Insurance!
shaielh9 December 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Seriously, was this series sponsored by Berkshire Hathaway or something? A miserable ending to a mediocre series.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What an awful ending - ITV better have a Season 2!
annamarie_defontaine14 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I love Jane Austen and all her books, she would be heartbroken that someone has ended her beautiful book like this. Really hoping that they sort this out and make a Season 2.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Stuck in a pagoda with Tricia Toyoda...oops, I mean HELP! WHAT JUST HAPPENED??
CostanzaPiccolomini27 January 2020
Hello??? What on earth were the script-writers thinking? This last episode is full of cliff-hangers and enormous disappointments. Yet it's a rich episode with so much dramatic twisting of plot, tension, alarm, uncertainty, another fabulous dancing scene, yet more brilliant music by Rachel Barrett, a sweet balcony scene, and a lovely resolution of the Babbington-Esther relationship (at least there is one wedding in the series **sniff**). The driving trope of the story of course is the union of souls between hero/heroine-Charlotte/Sidney and following the revealing path that brings them together. Though Andrew Davies, the script writer, packed this fragmented Austen-derived story with so many new and racy plot elements, a range of new characters, sexy bits, and the like, he keeps the relationship-driven plot central...in Austen, as the morally deficient characters are exposed eventually for what they are, they dissolve and disappear, while the heroes and heroines emerge and come together in deep attachment. But in Episode 8, Sidney proves to remain the conundrum he was pronounced to be by Charlotte in an earlier episode. He's a bit "improved" and more worthy of Charlotte (or is he?), but the ending leaves the couple tragically torn apart, despite zillions of hints about how they may be brought back together. It is absolutely heartbreaking, infuriating! It screams out for a SEASON 2! There are way too many loose threads, too many unresolved plot lines. Austen would not do this to us! Intensely frustrating, simply unacceptable, so please PBS, relieve our suffering and consent to do something about a Season 2!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed