The Most Unknown (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
22 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Outside their fields, still loving science
modhuine14 August 2018
The concept is very good, a scientist from one discipline meets one from another and is introduced to their field of study. Passionate about their own field, they see another's and appreciate the host's subject, sometimes in awe, from an outsider's point of view, albeit the outsider is also a scientist. The host scientist then meets another scientist, again in a different discipline and the story continues. The science in most of the disciplines was very interesting and presented in an easy to understand way. All the scientists were likeable too. Very enjoyable.
19 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Scientist Don't Know Everything about Everything Said The Non Scientist!
jeannettedelday14 August 2018
I personally found it a very interesting and different approach for a Scientific Documentary,

I did not see Egos, I saw people who were Experts in their own Fields who were excited to explain their serious knowledge and their work to an Expert in a different Scientific Field and then in turn they then became the 'Novice' in the next Field of Science they had to experience for which they had no indepth understanding/expertise.

What I came away from it with was the fact that Science as a whole has to communicate between all Fields of Expertise to better understand so much more, what ever answers they are all ultimately looking for, and to not assume that only their Field has or will give the answer to all the questions they are all possibly individually looking for or aiming to resolve ultimately, there are other aspects to always consider.

Said the Non Science Person who failed all her Science O Levels!

Just my opnion, I enjoyed it :)
17 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved it!
mkm-0363815 August 2018
I was fascinated by most of what was discussed. The film itself was a little choppy and left me wanting to understand more. The concept was delightful. I enjoyed watching them interact with each other and compare schools of thought. It was a little over my head at times so I tried to glean as much as I could. Very interesting stuff! Not perfect but an excellent attempt to give the average Joe a thirst for Science.
16 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Interesting scientists, not a lot of science.
carol-17819 August 2018
This was more of an introduction to scientists with the most cursory touching on their areas of research. I enjoyed it as that, once I realized we were not going to actually get much science other than elucidating what current questions were being pursued. Probably this would be a good intro to high school kids who are considering careers in scientific fields. I thought the concept of having interdiscisciplinary scientists interview one another was great. The scientists chosen are leaders and were quite personable, not arrogant in the least. I would have preferred to have more details about their work, though.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Praise for a New Approach
jbjourneyer12 August 2018
I applaud the filmmakers for producing this film in a unique and original manner. By bringing these scientists from vastly different disciplines together and allowing the audience to see the same wonder and discovery at the same time, we are given insight not only into the theories they are studying but also into the scientific process.

I like the brave choices in photography and editing which, unlike so many 'documentaries' made today, speaks to the intelligence and imagination of the audience.

No, the film does not work perfectly on every level. But what film every does?
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Unusual but beautiful documentary style
wermat25 August 2018
This documentary doesn't want to explain difficult projects. It doesn't want to make a point or speed through thousands of facts. It just portraits nine scientist passioned about their work. I found the raw insight in the different labs very fascinating. Something you often don't see in this form in other films. You can feel that Werner Herzog was a advisor for the film, wich is awsome.
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Reminds me of Chef's Table but for scientists!
milad-ra22 September 2018
Cool to see what different scientists are struggling with. It also added a personal touch to each field of science and made it extra interesting to follow. Definetly has that sense of each scientist trying to impress you with their line of research, kind of like Chef's table. Would have liked it even more if they had more diversity in the choice of science fields but overall recommend it if you are obssesed with science.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Slow and frustrating.
bigtoe-2252515 August 2018
Some inspiration may be found by some watching this movie. My only wish is that the director could have found some inspiration to include some interesting 'knowns' as well as a whole lot of time to wonder. Like, wonder why I'm watching people putting their boots on, or driving a car to their destination, or getting on a train.

Sparse and with no real 'ah-ha' moments, the documentary treats you like an idiot, and spends its time on some fanciful idea it is delivering cinematography, when really all I wanted was the meal I ordered.

Visiting amazing locations, and interviewing scientists engaged in interesting fields of study is completely undermined by insipid lines of questioning and what seems like unprepared and wasted opportunity after opportunity.

Watch this with your fast-forward button at the ready.
16 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An excellent and unique science documentary
AdamScience117 August 2018
The Most Unknown is a great documentary that focuses on 9 scientists and their research, which covers a wide variety of scientific topics, including dark matter, the neuroscience of consciousness, microbiology in extreme conditions, and many others. Each scientist provides a reasonably accessible explanation of their research interests. However, you definitely have to be competely concentrating to take in all the complex information.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Nothing great
perlshop20 August 2018
By the title and description of this film I was hoping it would be something thought provoking, and maybe i will get to learn something new. But unfortunately it didn't do either.

It's just 9 people meeting and learning about each other professions. There are hardly any insights or a-ha moments. You could find more interesting people on the train who may teach you a new thing or two.. but not the people in this film.
13 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Scientists dealing with "The Most Unknown"
asifarif-6441522 August 2018
Didn't know what to expect but really enjoyed the doc. Scientists at the frontier of their disciplines meeting other scientists at the frontier of their disciplines to meet, chat, debate, laugh and exchange ideas, thoughts and perspectives. Also get an insight into the work being conducted by the various scientists. Really enjoyed getting to know the scientists/people, their work and motivations.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
What do we know now?
christophevictor11 August 2018
Well, that this film didn't work. The concept was filming meets & greets between scientists. It was superficial and weird. 5/10.
11 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
POOR
marcelo-arenas4 February 2019
Good intentions. Lame results. People who actually care about this kind of documentary, are expecting more deepness throughout the questions approach. They made one scientist sit 8/9 hours into the observatory for nothing. And another one dive 6 hours in a submarine to see basicly one red shrimp. And at neither cases, the show presented something interesting. Nothing...please...let Netflix finance the Cosmos sequel.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Answers or Questions
kosmasp17 January 2019
Sometimes you don't even want to know the answers to some questions. Not to mention that there is only so much we can remember anyway. Some are more gifted in certain departments (mathematics, physics, remembering stuff and other things) than others. Are you interested in scientific questions? A book might also be a good place to continue to explore that curiosity by the way.

But if you want a more digestable, short foray into the mindset of some really wicked minds and the things they deal with everyday (or at least most time) and what conclusions they have come up with - well you could do worse. This most likely will not change your life forever - at least that is true for most of the people who'll watch this. If you take more from this than the average viewer though: good for you. Since I watched it on a streaming service I can't tell you if there is a Disc version that has features you may want to explore.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Bad
pakiturri14 January 2020
My little niece explains dark matter a lot better than the chap they got to do it. Disappointing all around.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
If You're Having Trouble Sleeping - Watch This! It Could Send A Glass Eye To Sleep
Ningishzida9991 September 2018
I find science incredibly interesting...

However, this documentary is beyond boring!

It is so poorly explained; my dog could have done a better job.

I was continually guessing throughout the documentary on what the whole point was.

Only finally when the documentary finished (thank god) did I understand the point of it, which was - NOTHING!

It was utterly meaningless.

The point of the 9 scientists from all around the world meeting up, was for nothing! - There was no overall outcome whatsoever... It was a completely pointless achievement!?

They talked about their particular profession to the former scientist in the documentary, and apart from that... NOTHING happened, let alone be discovered!

Honestly, it was a waste of life... Do yourself a favour, don't bother!

Listening to paint dry will entertain you infinitely more...

Zzzzz...
6 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
More questions
wwfordark17 March 2019
Don't expect to get any answers. The name speaks for itself. It is the most unknown. The documentary is creating more existential questions :) it's good stuff.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Smug and self centerd
oskar-9-33445711 August 2018
It's painful to watch these smug individuals. They seam to dvell in their own smartness in every meeting with their own kind. Doesn't com out more than "flatearthers..."
6 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The tip of the iceberg
m-cyclops9 November 2018
By reading the critic's reviews, I can see they have no idea what sciene is about. The film exemplifies the diversity of study fields that the human race is reaching at. It is just a taste, it does not have to go deeper because it just shows how all the mechanisms of science interconnect ans complement themselves. It also shows how scientifics isolate each other from other fields, unlike the Renassainse men who where more wholesome. A very inspiring film for science lovers
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
archaea obsession - mostly American
fishspectra15 October 2018
Kind of obsessed with Archaea. Also found it very American with a couple of token Europeans thrown in. Science is universal but sometimes approached very narrowly without much of philosophical background by Americans. Belgian psychologist was the one I would would to drink a beer with.

Overall, I think the segments are too short to really get much out of it other than that fact that these scientists are really passionate about their work.
1 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Humans Don't Understand
onelonedolphin-383892 November 2019
Mean humans interacting with monkeys, she gets his attention but since she's clueless about how to interact with animals SHE calls the monkey "mean"...when SHE is the mean one! Triple thumbs down
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
experience rather than knowledge
h_alfpastten25 June 2019
We can come across those scientists, sometimes at sea 5000 meters deep, sometimes at the summit of 4000 meters of the mountain, sometimes 1900m under the mountain. Researchers from microbiology specialists, theoretical physicists, neuroscientists to psychiatrists are doing years of experiments and looking for answers to questions like "What is time, how did life begin, can we observe black matter, how stars are formed, what is consciousness?". Every scientist tries to explain his work to his guest in a simple way and the guest scientist joins the research team that day. I think this is one of the films that will expand one's horizon.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed