"Gotham" A Dark Knight: No Man's Land (TV Episode 2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
14 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
😥 ...waiting
discordnrhyme12 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Oh. I was so enthralled. Jerome was the PERFECT joker-to-be.

We were promised that Jeremiah was ACTUALLY the Joker all along so, when Jerome died, I was sad but also anxious to see what Jeremiah would bring that could possibly be better than Jerome.

So far, though Jeremiah is quite perfectly devious, he is NOT the Joker I expected. Jerome had that nailed. Jeremiah is the exact opposite of Jerome... He is calm, cool and possesses a Riddler-like level of intelligence and thoroughness in his deviousness. Oh, he's good. Very, very good. He's scary.

He is not, however, the Joker. He lacks the delusion, the pure delight of the chaos he brings to Gotham. He has a calmness I saw in Heath Ledger's Joker but, even Ledger was quite unhinged. Jeremiah is far to composed to call himself the Joker and I find myself quite disappointed.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Dark Knight Rises
FastestKnight19 May 2018
This season has been delightful, but it did have a final trick. A Dark Knight: No Man's Land, based on the comic book of the same name, does its own take on the legend of the Dark Knight and it does it on a beautiful way.

I still think Bruce should have been older, but the writers use the materials they have at their disposal to create a (welcomed) new addition to the Batman mythos.

Unexpected twists, real stakes, great acting and understanding of the characters.

Can't wait to see what the future holds.
12 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Gotta wait until 2019? Really?
Dimitris_Kountouris18 May 2018
Man, I love this show. As a hardcore Batman fan I simply cannot describe how I feel about "Gotham" and how much I love it. I will miss it so so so so so (and a thousand more sos) much when it ends but, right now, I need to realize that I won't watch a new episode for almost 8 months.

It's not the best episode because there are a couple of things that don't work so well (we don't care about Lee and Ed, they don't work at all for me), but the foreshadowing is the greatest part of it. If you know what you're watching, then you can guess what comes next.

The heart of this show are its characters and that's the biggest win of this episode too. It might not be the best season finale of the series in terms of action and the feeling of completion, but the cliffhanger is the best we've seen and I dare you (if you're a fan) to say "I can wait".

I literally cried twice during the viewing. And when a Batman fan cries when watching this show, you know it got something very right.

Lastly, I would like to say that I can't wait to see more of a specific character, but I don't wanna spoil his fate.

See you in 2019, Gotham!
16 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Everything comes to a head
jwwalrath-227-8548722 May 2018
Now I must admit that this was the least conclusive finale, leaving a lot of stuff for next season and I wouldn't say it's the best finale, but I still loved it.

Jeremiah and Ras' al Ghul work wonderfully here as the main antogonists. You get payoff for some of the long running subplots, a lot of different characters working together, and a decent group fight at the end.

The best thing the finale does is maintains the show's history of delightful insanity.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
WOW
sscialli18 May 2018
Filled with twists and turns this episode did not disappoint in the least! BRAVO!
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
great episode but...
skatterboy18 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The final episode of season four was really good but I felt it was ruined right at the end with Barbara's feminazi moment where she blames all of the worlds problems on men and declares a man free zone. When she was listing all the issues with Gotham and said that they all lead to one thing I honestly thought she was going to say Penguin, since Tabitha had just returned from witnessing Butch's murder, so when she said men instead all of the excitement of the whole episode just drained away and I was left with a empty feeling in my gut. Arrow and the Flash have already been ruined with all the PC and feminist crap they've put in and as a result I've stopped watching, please don't do the same with Gotham.
23 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just amazing
hamargar25 July 2018
This season was pretty awesome it is what a season finally should be Great action and the cast done an amazing job Am a huge comic book fan and Gotham seems a little far from comic accuracy but man gotta admit it's one of the best shows out there.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The world may seem dark, but there is light .
Aktham_Tashtush18 May 2018
This season was actually something else,, i mean the second half (after Christmas break) alone was just unbelievable and filled with so much you can barely catch up to what's happening ,, a standing ovation indeed.

The last scene with the sky light was just emotional ,, so much of the "Dark knight" ,, if they put the dark knight theme music "and they might next season" i think i'd go crazy ... the plot is still tight and connected ,, as i said it gives so much to follow and it always keeps up with the craziness of Gotham city .. this darkness gloomy theme never go dull ,, no matter what it always bring so much memories and keeps you focused on who's the next maniac to come and try to take over the city.

The cast are all indescribable as i mentioned before this season, or at least the second part of the season was Cameron Monaghan's (Valeska brothers) time to shine ,, don't know if we can call him the Joker "yet" but man!! over 4 seasons now, and I easily 100% would say he's the most memorable villain on the series.. and of course all the others were amazing from Bruce to Jim to Doc. ..etc.

Final thought, it's already renewed , no surprise there, but we gotta wait like a year or so ,,, i don't have problem with that, as long as they promise to bring us more closer to the Dark Knight unleash.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
They need to know we're here willing to fight - the best show i have ever seen
dirtyharryfan21 January 2019
I don't care what anyone says Gotham in my opinion is one of the best shows i have ever seen! The best and strong conclusion of Season 4. I love Season 3 and Season 4 to death. Jerome Valeska is one of the best villains ever who takes assume of Joker. I love Season 3 Episode 14 Mad City: The Gentle Art of Making Enemies in my opinion the Dark Knight Rises the real Dark Knight. Ben McKenzie and David Mazouz are the best actors portraying their characters I have ever seen MILES way better than Christian Bell or Gary Oldman. I love, love Ben McKenzie as James Gordon he is the real Gordon to me not Gary Oldman that's my opinion. David Mazouz is the real Bruce Wayne not Christian Bale!

Robin Lord Taylor is excellent as Oswald Cobblepot / Penguin I love the guy so much. Cory Michael Smith is excellent as Edward Nygma / The Riddler MILES way better than legendary actor Jim Carrey. Cory at least didn't make a joke out of The Riddler like Jim Carrey did. Camren Bicondova as Selina Kyle is portrayed real more as Anne Hathaway did. Batman Returns was based on a comic book Michelle Pfeiffer did portrayed Selina by comic book not Anne Hathaway. Selina was pushed from a window and cats really did get at her to get her alive. Watch Season 3 clone of Bruce pushes her out of window. In Batman Returns Christopher Walken pushed Selina out of the window. Selina used whip so both actresses did portrayed Selina by comic books. Oswald Cobblepot was a mayor just like in Batman Returns. So in my opinion Batman Returns is based on a comic book and it is way underrated movie.

Erin Richards is Barbara Kean she is great as Jim's ex girlfriend. She becomes a gang member and has her own turf as women leader of the League Shadow. I love her so much. Maggie Geha was excellent as Ivy Pepper aka Poison Ivy but when they changed her character and put new actress I hated the new character. I love the bond between Selina and Bruce. In this episode Oswald kills Butch (Drew Powell) in front Tabitha (Jessica Lucas) to get revenge because she killed his mother in Season 2 an eye for an eye.

Strong ending our heroes Jim Gordon and Bruce Wayne are standing on the roof with signal light waiting for Batman to show they are best heroes in this show ever!!!!!! To me this is The Dark Knight Rises and not Christopher Nolan movie this show is the real Dark Knight. The real Batman showing monsters in Gotham. I love and I am hooked on this show Ben McKenzie and David Mazouz kicks ass go get them Batmans.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Burn Your Bridges!
highmarksreviews18 May 2018
Gotham has had a pretty good season and since the streamlining of the story and cast, has been firing on all cylinders leading into its finale. While "No Man's Land" is a fun episode, it's not quite the strong finish season four needed. Don't get me wrong, Jeremiah (Cameron Monaghan) and Ra's Al Ghul (Alexander Siddig) all posed a huge and tangible threat to the city, but the finale went a different route to end things somewhere within Act 3 or 4, making me wonder, what is the real endgame here? The villains mentioned just went away? Not to mention a few pointless and bizarre subplots that became predictable. (I'm referring to Morena Baccarin's Lee and Cory Michael Smith's Riddler here, their "romance" has been a real momentum slog lately) The fact that the show managed to wrap up a lot of material and introduce a ton of content moving into season five was cool and all, but it felt forced and at times a little odd. The final moments were a real rollercoaster of good and bad, with new characters and familiar ones endangering Gotham once more. The end scene with Gordon (Ben Mckenzie) and Bruce (David Mazouz) was absolutely beautiful. That is how Batman should be done. Props to whoever was behind the camera in that scene too, as it looked amazing."No Man's Land" delivered a tense finale, but could have done without the abundance of excess subplots and pointless cliffhangers.
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Finale that's worthy of the title!
ivanpaleka18 May 2018
Have been enjoying Gotham since season 1 but always being a bit stand-offish thinking it could never be anything special - this episode proved me wrong. Can finally enjoy it fully! :)
5 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Perfection
medoksamk16 September 2018
I wish they add more season and that's my honest opinion because the series is really good.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Episode To Date
lyndsiestoltman19 May 2018
Gotham has finally become the show I was always hoping it would be! I'm so excited for season five. I've heard rumors of a reboot and I only hope they keep David as batman. This young man is an amazing talent and I've enjoyed watching him come in to his own on screen.
4 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I hope the writers will respect the audience's IQ when it comes to Season 5
asb_deutsch22 May 2018
Too many episodes in one season, but that's the nature of WB. After the monotonous maiden Season, WB finally showed redemption from Season 3. Barbara's feminist movement where she blames all of the worlds problems on men and declares a man free zone was only negative point. My ratings: Season 1: 7.18 Season 2: 7.36 Season 3: 7.5 Season 4: 7.32/
6 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed