Boo! (2018) Poster

(II) (2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
48 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Awful.
mattyboy-4957516 June 2019
Literally every scene is 5 mins longer than it should be.

Drags like nothing on earth.

I'd like to kindly ask the director to choose a different career path - please!!
16 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Boo, this is a bore...............
hampersnow-2890519 March 2019
The 9 and 10 star reviews are all fakes. Obviously a low-budget , amateur attempt at horror , 45 minutes in and there wasn't even 1 scare. There were scenes of drama in this movie that were well played, Aurora Perrineau is a very good actress and pretty, but what are scenes like this doing in a horror movie ? Did they start to make a melodrama and then change their minds ? I kept falling asleep, this is so unbearably slow and I just gave up wondering when it was going to become a horror film. Except for Aurora and the actor playing her boyfriend, who seem to be in an entirely different movie, the other actors are unconvincing and just plain bad. The 4 actors chosen to play the family come across as just that, actors, never once do you believe they are a family. At times I felt like I was watching an incredibly poor imitation of Halloween, if you removed all the elements of horror and suspense. A must to avoid unless you need a sedative.
44 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Good grief what a stinker...
ncminus19 March 2019
No one and I do mean no one can even act in this stupid excuse of a movie.The plot was garbage because there basically wasn't one.The script seems to be written in about an hour by someone who has never left their basement.It's just one steaming pile of crap that should have never made it past the cutting room floor.I just can't say enough bad about this "movie." Save yourself the trouble of watching this garbage and just go to bed.
36 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Made by Tobacco Companies?????
randbark-219 March 2019
Well, first, not scary at all, like the majority of horror movies and especially those centred around halloween. Very predictable, boring, poor acting (especially the father), etc. etc. etc..... But, if you like to see people smoking, this film is for you. Could have been sponsored by tobacco companies. As the Brit's say, complete Rubbish.......
36 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst Movie So Far in 2019
arfdawg-126 March 2019
Nothing happens. It's the the biggest most boring piece of crap I have ever sat through.
25 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
no direction
ferforeman20 March 2019
This movie had no direction.....it didnt make any sense at the end and was not even worthy to be called a B rated movie....the only professional part of the movie was the sex scene ......if you can believe that...
17 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible Dumpster Fire.
creagansmith20 April 2019
This is the worst horror movie I've seen in a decade. Do not wast one minute of your life on this dumpster fire. Someone should class action sue the people who made this abomination for negligent injury to every viewer.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Ignore the fake reviews. This is trash.
Jester22215 May 2019
So many fake reviews saying 10. Ha ha seriously!? Terrible acting. Except the young female lead. Zero scares and zero direction. Really isn't worth your time......trust me. A totally pointless film with very little going for it except the female lead. The rest were so wooden. .... especially the god bothering father. ...you could get splinters just watching his wooden performance. Avoid.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Boo...sh...t!
whitemanfromtowne21 March 2019
So ridiculously stupid. Avoid this Boo...sh...t at all cost. Another crap horror film.
18 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Don't waste your time...
rrr-925-2745031 March 2019
The storyline had potential but they blew it. The acting was a lot to be desired as well. Not the worst movie I've ever seen (Blair Witch holds that title) but close
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A bunch of turnips could put in a better effort.
doorsscorpywag22 March 2019
A confused mess of uninteresting badly acted tripe.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Addict and cigarettes stupid movie!
lafeversandra16 April 2019
Only thing scary about this movie is the bad acting and constant cigarette smoking. Poor plot line!
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Barely Watchable
michaelant55519 March 2019
Dysfunctional family gets a Boo! Package left on their door step just before Halloween and their young son warns them that it's real. His father tells him it's nonsense and just an urban legend - and so it begins.

I watched this all the way through so I could write an honest review of it. I will say I didn't hate it. There was enough sensible character development and conversations that didn't patronize the viewers but the story-line, some of the acting, and the direction seemed pretty lame and amateur at times.

There were some okay horror elements and there were some cheesy ones and although the third act was fairly fast-paced and horror oriented it was all pretty amateur. I can't give this any more than 3/10. I wouldn't feel fair rating this any less than 3 but I can't in good faith go any higher. It certainly does NOT deserve the 8, 9 , or 10 stars that the people involved in this movie have given it. Ignore those reviews.
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
OH MY GOSH THIS IS THE WORST HOROR MOVIE EVER
bungaasper-1203121 September 2019
Confirmed. This is so waste of time !!! Didnt know what it tells about,, the plot is trash and screw up ! dont watch !!!!!!!!!!!!!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
its like swimming down the water slide in the end
ops-5253519 March 2019
I can just tell that i waited,waited and waited, and while enjoying some cool music in the background, nothing really happened, for a long long while, so with 10 mins left, all and everything is mashed into one big senseless scream of hillbilly rednecked and far too long awaited cataclysm of blood fire and horror that were more disgusting than horryfying aka sickening than scary, because i didnt get scared, though it seemed like the actors did. the elaboration may begin. co2 -poisoning, lsd in the cloth washing machine powder,ecstasyated candy, schizophrenia juvenilis and adultinilis.

acting, ok but some stiff performance by the boychild of the family. script, bad -tells us merely nothing ,so ai staat tu wรฅnda, have they overlooked the true meaning of an urban myth/legend/folklore??.

take a look and make up your mind yourself, the grumpy old man barely recommends this one.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Mediocre at Best
the_nephilim7119 March 2019
The movie was mediocre at best. There were too many themes and ideas that were never followed through fully and the one that were just weren't scary. The acting is fine for the most part but the story never really comes together.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't waste your time....
juliagulia19784 October 2019
BAD movie. Could be a cigarette commercial. Don't waste your time watching. ๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿผ๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿผ๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿผ
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A long way from being worth a peek
TheLittleSongbird19 September 2019
Do appreciate horror and don't have any bias against low budget. Just want to make that clear, before anybody thinks that there is bias on my part against both, judging from me being negative about some recently, so there was no negative judgment passed before watching 'BOO'. The low rating, poor reviews and not particularly promising concept made me not expect too much but the creepy cover/poster did peek some interest and am on a low-budget horror completest quest.

'BOO' really is as bad, well lets change that to dire, as the rating and reviews say and am not saying that in a way that's ignorant or saying that my opinion is objective. It's my genuine opinion, meant with no disrespect or condescension (no fake reviews accusations here in this review, though can see where those that have panned the film and have mentioned that are coming from). There are not an awful lot of films seen recently or in general that have no redeeming merits whatsoever, 'BOO' is one of them.

It is a cheap-looking film for starters. Lets make that amateurish. Am aware that the budget is low but that is no excuse for the production values to look as if the crew were not even trying to do anything that would overcome that obstacle (plenty of modestly-or-less budgeted films have done that). Not even the location evokes any kind of eeriness, and even if it did it is completely wasted by chaotic photography, monotone lighting and afterthought-like effects. The sound is far too obvious and telegraphs any horror attempts far too early, not to mention poorly balanced, not balancing well with the dialogue, and intrusive.

Not that the writing was anything at all to write home about anyway. There is no flow at all, no personality and the cheese and cliches pile up. The story is even flimsier than the thin concept, what little there is of one (most of it is uneventful) is painfully dull, and further hurt by that there is nothing scary, suspenseful or creative in any shape or form. Everything is just so predictable and bland.

There is a lot of ridiculousness here too, and none of the characters are worth investing in or interesting. Have a lot of dislike for implausible and stupid character behaviours, and 'BOO' is full of it. The threat is as far away from creepy as you can get and is used poorly, too little and too obviously. The acting is reminiscent of random people being selected off the streets and putting them together with no rehearsal time.

Summarising, dire. 1/10
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
If you watch it, you will regret it.
linhchi-199321 June 2019
Since the moment I walked out, I already missed my money and time I spent for it. Litterally, I don't understand anything at all. And when it end suddenly, my mind like having " what tf was I just watching" or " this is it, is it end" rolling like credit. Soooooooo, disappointed.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Impossible to get bored
olcayozfirat18 June 2019
I wonder, did you put this film on the market without watching the montage. really very boring and very amateur. I could barely finish the scene. It's like the director said, "Have a cigarette and play." It's a bad, boring movie. I do not like.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Missed Opportunity...
GoingBatz28 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I want to start off by saying that I went in with virtually no expectations for this movie.

The setup of the film seemed to be pretty straightforward at first: a seemingly dysfunctional family receives a chain letter on Halloween and fails to pass it along, leading to the entire family being cursed by a supernatural force.

It was an overall decent movie, the plot isn't the most original (considering Hereditary came out a few months ago). It did a great job building up the suspense and there was quite a few intense and frightening scenes (not sure if I could say memorable though). I think what ruined it for me personally was the jumpscares and the heavy use of CGI (the CGI kinda gave it a corny Goosebumps feel that ultimately ruined the intensity of certain scenes). The ending also felt a bit jarring ( and I'm sincerely hoping that this isn't because they're planning on having a sequel).

Ultimately, I give this movie a 5/10. It was decent for what it is, but I probably won't be watching it again (or recommending it for that matter).

FAIR WARNING! This movie does contain extreme violence and intense scenes. Also, if you are uncomfortable with sensitive topics such as miscarriage or self mutilation, I suggest you skip this movie (several people walked out of the theater in the middle of it, so you be the judge).
12 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
WTF? WAS THIS??
pmcorso26 April 2019
I love paranormal movies and movies about possession and I thought this movie was going to be about something along those lines but it made no sense at all! Most of all why the hell did Netflix charge $7.99 instead of the basic $3.99?
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Peaks 30 mins in
gressman0711 October 2019
Never heard of this till today when I skimmed its low scores on Redbox. Wouldn't have thought of it again had Vudu not added it to Free with ads.

The intro had me spellbound. The score is immediately and consistently effective, and some great early cinematography combined to give me literal goosebumps. Had an immediate "It Follows" vibe, ironically to discover it too is set in Detroit and seemingly opens on the same street. This vibe carried the first act for me, with early driving shots seemingly replicating similar if not exact locales of Detroit's "rotting corpse" and ironically peaking with it's own similiarly styled car sex scene. Doubly ironic, this also marks the films climax and things go downhill from there.

45 mins of dialogue that really serves little to no purpose later, we get a crammed 15 min rush to ending that has a few shock gore moments but little to no scares or creep. It all just seems disjointed and largely buying for time, and not even the consistently superb score can save its on screen stumbles.

6/10 for me (slightly above mediocre/lukewarm). I do not regret it as I have many more days of October Halloween horror to find, it was free on Vudu, and again I am a sucker for its intro vibes of "It Follows." The score alone was worth discovering.

If you are a sucker for any and all Halloween-themed movies like me and opt to give it a go, I'd recommend finding it free and saving Halloween night viewing for something a bit more solid
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Boring non suspense "romantic horror" movie
deaovarista14 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Too much dialog between young female lead (Morgan) and her boyfriend (Ash), especially in the car. It's more like romantic, with a slight horror, movie to me. The dialog seems unnecessary most of it. So boring in the first 1 hour and still boring at the end of the movie. When film ending with Caleb burns the house and smile like a devil, I'm just sitting there with a crossed arms and blank expression. Give me back my 88 precious mins!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful
tcooperkm30 June 2019
I rented this movie from Redbox and it sucked, I contacted redbox to get my money back because the movie was so awful.....what a waste of time and money
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed