Christmas Festival of Ice (TV Movie 2017) Poster

(2017 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
14 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Interesting Film
Christmas-Reviewer9 November 2017
I HAVE REVIEWED OVER 400 Christmas MOVIES.

BEWARE OF BOGUS REVIEWS. SOME REVIEWERS HAVE ONLY ONE REVIEW. WHEN ITS A POSITIVE REVIEW THAT TELLS ME THEY WERE INVOLVED WITH THE PRODUCTION. NOW I HAVE NO AGENDA! I AM HONEST! I REVIEW Christmas MOVIES AS A WAY TO KEEP TRACK OF WHAT I HAVE SEEN!

In this film

Those years of law school pay off for Emma but not in ways one would expect. When she finds out that her beloved ice-sculpting contest, part of her hometown's Christmas festival, has been canceled, she springs into action. Determined to keep it going.

This film takes place at Christmas but in reality the film is about "Making Choices" and "Figuring out what you really want in life".

Not the typical ending you might expect but I fully enjoyed this film!
34 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
WHAT? Spoilers!
xetaprime-642575 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Ya know, some of the dialogue was just fine. I've seen worse Hallmark Christmas movies but I will say the last minutes of this movie had me screaming at the state of incredulity! Perhaps not the right word but come on people! Giving up a Law Career for Ice Sculpture? OMG! Maybe if our lead 'Romantic' was eighteen years old and a very big maybe.

So the movie plods along with some fair acting and a rather slow pace, but again I'll take it. Move along to the great romantic ending... There was no great romantic ending. There was a hug and barely a kiss? and the decision to give up working as a lawyer- having passed the Bar Three years ofschool and no, she wants to Ice Sculpt? WHAT? LOL, SIGH and, scene. So, seems like there 'might' be some romance and two unemployed people by seasons end. The End. And I love Hallmark movies! OY!
17 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
ZZZZzzzzz Wake me when it's over!
bramptonrocks4 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
First of all, what is the fascination with ice sculpting?

The plot in this thrown together movie is thin at best. I mean, talk about "first- world" problems!! A rich, pretty and educated woman doesn't want to be a lawyer? Come on. I want to be an ice-scupltor? I'm not sure that's a year-round job, especially in that small town.

Oh, and did I forget the romance? That's OK. So did the script. The two leads have no chance of creating chemistry with this garbage.

Kudos to Wendy Crewson, who seemed to have all of the good dramatic parts.

I enjoyed seeing the Canadian locations as a backdrop. Delete, delete, delete.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good story below the surface
Jackbv1235 November 2017
IMDb gives away a little too much in the Storyline. But I was probably not paying enough attention to the clues about Emma's feelings. I was thinking that Taylor Cole's acting was off in how she was almost irresponsible in her lack of attention to her mom's legal practice. In reality Cole did a good job of showing that her attitude toward law was complicated. The other acting was OK, but I can't say Joey Belfiore was overly convincing in courting Emma. Neither Emma nor Jason made it seem that their romance was highest on their minds.

The story had a small mystery which I thought had a nice solution. There was also a little twist, maybe less so if you paid attention.

For a Christmas movie, I thought it was a little lacking in the usual piling on of Christmas traditions because it was more focused on the ice sculpture.
7 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Real Christmas setting
Northener12 November 2019
I give this film a 5 just for the fact that it was filmed in Mississippi Mills - in the winter! People actually looked cold and are wearing real winter clothes and boots, no high heels in sight. OMG. As for the plot, it's just as silly as every 2nd Hallmark film - you know, where they give up their careers to move to the small town to work in businesses that don't actually exist anymore because they make no money in today's world. I am still waiting for the one where someone moves to the city for a job...you know, reality! But no, it's Hallmark so don't expect more. Just chill out and enjoy the beautiful scenery in this one.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Christmas Festival of Ice
Jo_Blo_Movie_Critic20 July 2019
5/10 - Christmas flick that didn't really connect to me or bring me any more holiday cheer
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Some fantasy can't be suspended.
johnadams-3478830 November 2018
In Sci-Fi movies, we know that some things will never happen, but we think of them as believable. In Christmas Festival of Ice, the first thing that we did not understand in why 5 blocks of ice cost that much money. Did they pay judges, pay sculptors? Did they pay prize money and would it have to be that much? We have people in our town that would pay to be part of a holiday ice sculpting contest, not have to be paid. It is hard to get around that money raising scheme logic since it is the major part of the movie.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Enough Already
zyxnix24 November 2017
Enough about Ice Sculpting already!!

Let me say that Damon Runyan is a real professional to try and power through this one. He was trying his best...but there is no chemistry in this movie at all. Let's face it Taylor Cole is not suited for the Christmas movie genre. I kept hoping for more screen time for Teagan Vincze.

Right...."Mom, I don't want to be a lawyer; I want to be an ice sculptor"...Stupid. It's a small town! How would they not know each other? Dumb. If Mom had been in a car crash on the way home, now that would have been a plot turn.

Take out everything about Ice Sculpting and Emma and it's a good movie..
3 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Good Acting but Horrible Plot
charcnc1 January 2018
Emma made it through 7 years of school and studying for the Bar Exam and now is back home in time for the Christmas Festival. The scenery is great. It is clearly set in the winter.

We have a Christmas Tree farm, but outside from the beautiful sculptures, there isn't much other Christmas-y stuff. There is a "tragic" backstory with our hero that he needs to get over in order to enjoy the holidays. Didn't really see the chemistry between the two, though.

Ending doesn't sit right with me. Another reviewer called it "First World Problems". This is not a movie I would have my teenage daughter see without pointing out all the things the heroine did wrong, presumably with her parents money.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A pain in the ice
doctorsmoothlove2 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Emma Parkers is a young woman who lives in a small town and works as a law clerk for her mother. She has taken the bar exam and awaits results. She lives in a small town with elegant apartments and spacious downtown apartment space despite us never getting the full picture of it. Emma is obsessed with carving ice statutes which is a tradition in this town. Not enough of a tradition to receive public funding lest I digress.

"Christmas Festival of Ice" has the elements which I assume wish fulfillment Hallmark movies are known for (I'll known more after I see a few dozen). The young woman meets a handsome, nice man and coerces affection from a man afraid of love and ice sculpting! Her best friend who has a glorified cameo role encourages her to talk to the Christmas Tree salesmen she falls for. They appear to be close. Everyone's makeup and teeth are immaculate. If you have ever been to a small town in the USA, you'll have seen different.

The film bothered me because it begins with a good, empowering premise. The heroine wants to preserve the ice sculpting contest in her town. She raises money to keep the event going. Everything else is beyond her control . Why does she have to choose between her career and her hobby? Why can't she choose to do both?

The film is tolerable until its ending which is illogical on all accounts. This is disappointing in that the actors and the script give you the impression that a better film was possible. Neither is profound. An actualized woman can choose to have boyfriend. He doesn't show up because the plot demands it.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't like Taylor Cole's acting.
krichter-247245 January 2019
She is too stiff, blah. Not realistic. No electricity between her and her co-stars! Should have gotten a different actress to do red herring. Mistake!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Christmas is iced
Prismark104 November 2018
Emma is a would be lawyer for the family law firm who springs into action when her town's annual ice sculpting competition is cancelled.

Emma uses her skills and contacts to raise money and get sponsors. She also gets Nick, the local ice sculpture maestro to enter the contest.

The experience helps Emma to consider her future life choices.

These is one of these cheaply and quickly made saccharine Hallmark festive films. The one they start showing from October onward. There is no chemistry between the romantic leads and not much of a plot. Only Wendy Crewson makes an impression as Emma's lawyer mother whose briefs are being neglected.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
" Ice sculpture has always just been part of who I am"
littleking-911423 November 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This will be one of the first Christmas shown....in November. It is so thin on plotline that It can only be a warm up movie to the main events much later in the year. The script makes you yawn at every turn. The scene where the protagonist reveals that she wants to be an Ice sculpture and not a lawyer had me crying... with laughter. It's appalling. Please tell me how this film made any money. Best thing to do with this film is to put it on, get under a cosy blanket on the sofa and have a nice snooze until it's over.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Skating on a thin plotline.......
Lew7771 November 2018
Taylor Cole looks great and isn't a bad actress but the plotline of whether to be a lawyer or an Ice Sculptor defies credibility ! Also there is little chemistry between Taylor & Damon Runyan, the local artisan with a reason for not showcasing his amazing sculptures. All in all this passes the time pleasantly enough - what more do you need from a Christmas Hallmark movie ?!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed