Warrior (TV Series 2019– ) Poster

(2019– )

User Reviews

Review this title
157 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
When Peaky Blinders find Banshee
dr_bonone20 April 2019
This series is really promising. It has all the ingredients to be as good as Banshee or Peaky Blinders. The mixture of both worlds made this series born. Hopefully it will become a masterpiece.
106 out of 123 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ignore the odd bad review its awesome
inkfxlee7 April 2019
Not quite sure why a few have given it bad reviews I thought it was brilliant good storyline with a good backdrop its merged modern film but still has the perfect slice of old school martial arts film. Acting is great people giving it bad reviews must of never seen a decent old school martial arts film I personally think this style of filming old school/new school mix is the key to keeping the original martial arts style films alive. If you are a youngster giving it bad reviews on the martial arts acting style then you are wrong go back and watch a classic then come back and review. This is the perfect blend and the future of classic martial arts films cant wait for more episodes
113 out of 141 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Gangs of New York with Kung Fu
darthbalzzz9 April 2019
Three minutes into this show and I was ALL IN! It has everything I want in a show. I felt like Cinemax should've knocked on my door and said, "YO CHECK THIS OUT"! I see many negative reviews on here. I'm guessing those to be written by people that like musicals or boring artsy films. If you like crime and action movies? Then you'll say F@#$ YEAH! If you don't? Go watch La La Land, The Artist, or Eat Pray Love. You know films that should make a man contemplate committing seppuku rather than sit through.
136 out of 173 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love it!
coronitasc13 April 2019
I love this show! It's got everything I love in a show it's a period drama, romance, old style gangs, sexy, good story line and great fight scenes! Keep em coming!
46 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome
ashleigh-717427 April 2019
This show is awesome, you can feel the Bruce Lee concept in this. A long way to making up for butchering what could have been greatness when they replaced the great Bruce Lee for David Caradine ....... Imagine what could have been!
64 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic
wadupy7 April 2019
Exactly what I need in my life. The fight scenes and the history will be awesome to watch!!! Cant wait for more!!!
65 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Outstanding New Series that has the Vibe of Banshee
skip-987568 April 2019
About 15 mins in and I found myself Really liking this show and the vibe it had! I wasnt quite sure why? What I Did not know was that the guy who created Banshee ,also made this,,Honestly, i had no preconceptions ,nor foreknowledge of even what the show was about ,except its name. As i was watching, i felt as if this had a familiar vibe, I was like "man ,this show feels alot like Banshee!"..The lead actor is fantastic, as is the brothel owner, there is immediate chemistry here! Then as im watching , there pops up a character that looked all the world like Hoon Lee and upon closer look, it was indeed Him! so WTF? Its like im watching a kind of "Chinese Banshee" and im Loving it! Ive been wanting to see Something that had that vibe and this show is the 1st that has captured it..I remember when the series from 2016 called Quarry had come out..it was supposed to be the New Banshee ,and i watched it but it never came close to capturing that feeling..This show does,right out of the gate,and those banshee fans out there are gonna love this new show! the writing is outstanding as are the character choices and the actors picked to play them... super thumbs up and a great surprise!
55 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Blown My Mind
I was expecting a fun and cheesy show about martial arts, perhaps pandering to its target demographic. But nope. This has turned out to be technically superb, with solid performances all round, especially from the leads. The writing is also stellar. It deals with difficult subjects such as racism and politics without being sanctimonious and manages to humanize both the "good" and "bad" guys with a thin line between them. Despite an experimental setting rarely seen previously in the entertainment business, they are not afraid to experiment even further. The latest episode for instance was a bottle episode set entirely in a saloon in Nevada, with a group of strangers bonding together to face-off against cowboys and bandits, reminiscent of Tarantino or Sergio Leone. The combat choreography is stunning as expected. The music is memorable.

It is a unique, stylish and visceral depiction of the cultural melting pot that was late 19th century US. More than anything it is a charming love letter to martial arts based on Bruce Lee's own writings. It is one of the best new shows of 2019. Sadly it is flying under the radar. I pray we see it return for future seasons.
28 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
This is promising.
garnet-303068 April 2019
Back in the day where Chinese immigrants arrived in San Francisco , U.S.A, a lone wolf came with serious fighting skills. So far, I like what I see. I'm going to watch it with enthusiasm. Check it out.
37 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I am hooked to the show so far!
zachary-686904 May 2019
I like the story and all the fight scenes are fun to watch, each episode has a lot of action which keeps you hooked in for the next episode. The show has been given the clear for a Season 2 which I'm glad to know, I hope people continue to enjoy it as much as I am!
20 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A must watch for Martial arts and Bruce Lee fans
Its a really good mix of gangs of newyork and Martial arts.a must watch for fans of crime drama and action.
27 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
First ep is really good
MoistMovies6 April 2019
Original take on a genre that's been done quite a bit.

The chinese gang perspective is something intriguing and not yet dealt with in any film medium with it being the main theme.

The dialogue is natural. The acting so far is upto par. The Scenery isn't over the moon great, but its good enough. And the main character has all the makings of a potential great, as long as they do a good job developing him over the season. He seems a bit surface at the moment, but the possibility for depth is definitely there. A few charismatic and compelling side characters would really help, so i hope that comes into shape more within the next few episodes.

It has a hell on wheels vibe in its tone and characterization (obviously similar time period)

I'd say give this one a shot, ill be checking out the next few episodes. And this is after a long period of trying a lot of new series lately, and finding nothing that felt worth continuing after the first ep.
48 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What I'll be waiting for every week after Game of Thrones ends
rossiencheva27 April 2019
I really like the series so far - it's action packed, the fight scenes are great and the drama, conspiracies and politics are what makes this show into the awesome, dark and gritty political western, seen through the eyes of the first US-Chinese settlers. The sotry explores heroes and antiheroes alike, who aim to thrive in a time of excessive violence, lawlessness and prejudice. We see a lot of broken moral compasses and different points of view, based on racial prejudice, ignorance or personal convictions. The characters are multilayered and slowly revealing themselves to us. Overall if you like kung-fu, westerns, historical pieces, crime stories, Peaky Blinders, Gangs of New York and/or Banshee, you will like Warrior too. I hope they make more seasons, because it's an amazing show!
19 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome
silloo20 April 2019
If you haven't seen it yet then you're missing out on one of the best martial arts shows. This Show is crazy Good.
21 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Awesome +++++
emmanueld-120 April 2019
Best new show on tv. Characters are well developed, story is believable and interesting.
17 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's actually quite nice by far
jockolazarevic6 April 2019
Just watched the first episode and I see some future if they keep it up this way. Fight scenes look realistic and the acting is an 8/10. The main character kinda acts way too cool it starts being unnatural at some point but hopefully they'll sort that out later in the series.
39 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Puff of Fresh Air
randyyangca14 April 2019
This show is a puff of fresh air. Besides the good plot, it also offers some much-needed elements in today's Hollywood: -Bruce Lee style Kung-Fu -Immigrants who speak fluent English -Racial tension worh DEPTH, deeper than the plain ol' angry pitchforks and torches. -Last but not least, an Asian male lead who is not the stereotypical, neutered, asexual, and tongue-tied quiet womanizer fantasized by the typical Hollywood bigots.
23 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
You had me at from the Creaters of Banshee.
elyjr129 April 2019
I heard about this show late, and also heard it is from the makers of the show Banshee, so I jumped on it. The show got style, and the action awesome. Excellent fight choreography. All the characters are likable so far, and well acted. Love it when they are speaking Chinese they give an audio cue showing they are switching to English. Though I don't mind reading subtitles this is great I can focus on the action better. Story is good starts simple enough, but a reveal in the first episode the is a lot more to it, and is interesting. I am looking forward to completing this series.
15 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Kickass Vintage style
porwal_19896 April 2019
Cinemax does really well with Historic show be it Knick or this. Show is treat to watch specially the martial arts, though cant say much about it right now but i hope this will surely be badass!! First episode is surely recommended
34 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Kung Fu Western
dhjiang15 April 2019
Best mashup in history. Hilarious that it's loosely based in real history too.
19 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of best of the year.
denkyiw27 April 2019
So far this movie has been incredibly amazing. Action, Drama,Histroy, Cinematography is on point. This movie is perfect in every sense and i just hope it continues to deliver. I 100% highly recommend it.
12 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Came with low expectations and left highly impressed with this show.
beculetul-254185 May 2019
Actors in this show have done an incredible job and exceeded my expectations. The humor and sly remarks are very well done and accurate. Storyline is interesting and I keep going back for more. Never had Cinemax before or paid for such service, but I will give you my money if you keep making new episodes.
15 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love the concept
tucodavis24 April 2019
I am becoming quite engaged with this story. I have always been a Lee fan so that drew me in. As far as the out of context dialogue I've seen others mention, I think it is meant to be that way just for us to understand it, otherwise if you went full on period correct most of us would have difficulty understanding Mandarin. It did say 1878 San Francisco. So maybe it needs a pass on that. Give it time to develop. I'd like to see where it goes.
15 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best show I've ever seen
EqualityForAll220 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The best show I've ever seen !

Spoiler: Triggers the **** out of fragile, hateful yts with truth and facts. White supremacists and incels are flocking here to falsely give this show a 1 star. Love it!
20 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Incredibly Enjoyable
annlevtex1 June 2019
I am not a particular fan of Bruce Lee. I like him but I'm not over the moon about his work. But wow, I am loving this show. It does an amazing job of creating a world, a sense of time and place, which is key. The primary actor is perfectly cast, he delivers emotionally as well as in the fight scenes. The rest of the cast is pretty much pitch perfect. I love the combination of history, character study, action and, well, over-the-top fun. It's one of those shows that handles serious themes with sensitivity but is never preachy or dreary. It's endlessly engaging. I will say the actress who plays Penny is good, but she took a while to grow on me. At first I found her flat, but as the show progresses I appreciate her character more and more. It's unique, very well acted with a phenomenal central character, and absorbing. There really is nothing else like it on TV right now.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed