The Hatton Garden Job (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
32 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Very disappointing!
backofthevan17 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I was really looking forward to this. I've read quite a bit about what really took place on this Hatton Garden job, the people involved, how it was planned and went down, etc. I've also watched news stories, a British television documentary, etc. So I was justifiably baffled when a Hungarian woman (who doesn't exist in real life) appeared as the mastermind of the whole thing. What? So the men who spent 3 years meticulously planning this heist were now just hired goons? How does this co-exist with advertising claiming "true story"? The Hatton Garden Job is very flimsily BASED on a true story but is very definitely a work of fiction, and a poorly done one at that. I guess the budget was super low, else they might have cast Terence Stamp, Michael Caine, Ray Winstone, etc., in the leads. The TV actors used were adequate but definitely lacking charisma/star quality/acting chops that could have loaned some magic to this limp film.

***SPOILER***One of the reasons the gang got caught (and a point well made in news articles, etc.) is that one of the men drove around the scene of the crime, both before and during, (all caught on CCTV) in his distinctive Mercedes that was white with a black top. The filmmakers couldn't even be bothered to replicate this car for the film, instead using an all-white Mercedes, making it far less noticeable than the real car, which was already known to police.

Other reviews have mentioned the loud, obtrusive music, and I had the same problem. the dialogue is whispered most of the time, with sudden intrusions of blaring music. I had to watch with earphones on, remote at the ready, so I could switch volume up and down repeatedly while watching. Sound editor should be banned from ever making another film! Stick to video games, dear, which is probably all you've ever worked on prior to this.

Slow moving, no suspense or intrigue, added characters that are little more than cartoon characters and veer the story into the world of fiction, ludicrous dialogue at times, and generally just a big, boring disappointment.
20 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not so exciting
Gordon-117 May 2017
This film tells the story of a group of older criminals and a young man, who team up to rob a safety deposit box company in London. It turns out that they have successfully pulled off the biggest heist in the history of Britain.

"The Hatton Garden Job" could have been a thrilling heist film, but I think it is pretty flat. Most of the film shows them in an enclosed space drilling holes with Hilti equipment. It is not that interesting, to be honest. Even though there are several occasions where they are close to getting caught, or something big happens, none of these instances offer any thrill or highs. The film comes across as too descriptive and plain to be exciting.
25 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Disappointing for me. I expected much better.
erica-taylor-116 June 2017
First off was the sound quality. I watched this film late at night and had to lower it up and down so as to not wake the neighbours with the dreadful music. Secondly, most of it was fiction and silly fiction at that.Thirdly, it looked very amateurish to me and finally it was a bit boring too. Let's hope the new version in production, holds a bit more excitement.
19 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Wasted opportunity
tmfc-6513227 June 2017
This film could have been so much better if more time and effort was put into it. It feels very rushed in every way from the performances to the sound work and camera work. I think if it had a better cast maybe it could have been better I really would have liked to see Michael Caine or even Jason Statham. The film also wasn't very well written and it could have spent longer developing the characters more I think.

Overall it wasn't terrible it just could have benefited from a larger budget it seems. It's not that long either so try it out if you like heist movies.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Absolutely awful
steven-oneil-114 November 2017
I enjoy heist movies and was so looking forward to this but what a disappointment. It felt as though it had been filmed in one go over a weekend, the sound quality was dreadful and the characters, by and large, were little more than comic book characters.

The crucial thing: the meticulous planning and preparation that went into this heist was almost entirely omitted from the film. One moment they're mumbling inaudibly over a few flat pints and the next they're drilling through the vault wall and opening safety deposit boxes to some loud rock music.

This is at the bottom of the barrel as far as heist movies go and the worst film I've seen for several months. Don't waste your time unless you really, really, don't have anything better to do.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Rubbish.
fad-3879828 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Starts with a mistimed attempt to gain sympathy for a bunch of sexist, misogynist half-witted thieves by telling the viewer that rich people deserve to be robbed.

Then follows a slow predictable 'diamond geezer' film for Londoners, shots of West Ham football ground, a ropy dirty pub where everyone still drinks thinking it's 1975 and the usual lets talk crime while walking the dog.

Acting is poor, script is poor, dialogue drab and unoriginal.

Give this one a skip, watch some paint dry.

Where the film really goes wrong is trying to make out they are heroes. At the end of the day they were thieves, they got caught, all they did was ruin some peoples lives.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Appalling
jay-hickman1 November 2017
A travesty of a film. What could have been a great story about OAPs robbing Hatton Garden has been turned into a cheap by numbers cheeky cockney heist. The script is one that must have had the actors pissing razor blades, it is appalling. There are some excellent English actors in this; Phil Daniels, Larry Lamb; I was upset that they have been reduced to acting in this level of film. If you like early Guy Richie films do NOT be suckered into watching this facsimile of a film. Save your money & time and wallpaper the lounge.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Nothing like the real robbery .
nollaigpcs18 April 2017
An insult to real Bank robbing Criminals. This was a chest beating British Actors failure. Not much of what actually happened during the robbery happened in this Film. I was looking forward to seeing this for a while...I'll never get this time back. It lacked so much to even come close to the real event. Lots of big mistakes made in almost every scene. I know these Actors couldn't care less about my opinion but the Writers and Producers should . I didn't enter any 'spoilers' because it is beneath me to ruin a Film that ruined itself. A great Film story ruined by among many other things....fictional 'Hungarian' Mobster'ess who never existed. Spare me next time.Very disappointed.
30 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
As the drill bores through a wall, the film bores us all.
Pjtaylor-96-1380444 May 2018
It's not clear exactly how closely 'The Hatton Garden Job (2017)' sticks to the true events it is based upon, given that it spends time dubiously setting up Hungarian gangsters and extortion-minded dirty cops as a danger to the composite character that serves as the protagonist. As such, it occupies the space between a straight realistic retelling and and an embellished crime caper while taking only the most boring elements of each. Though the editing and on-the-nose narration are clearly trying to recreate that 'Guy Ritchie' kind of style - and doing it poorly at that, even they can't liven up what eventually amounts to four blokes sat in a room while a drill bores through a wall and the flick bores the audience. On top of that, the characters are cardboard cut-outs without any real personality or motivation and the movie opts not to explore the moral questions raised by such an obviously criminal act - which is actually overtly glamorised here. 5/10
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
I'm trying to be charitable
cordenw26 March 2018
But this movie just didn't deliver the goods, the goods were in the hands of the thieves and stayed there.

I love cockney acting , I love the realism of the pub scenes and the back kitchens of the homes. All of this is set up in the opening couple of minutes and you're settling into your chair in anticipation of a great movie telling a great story.

It had some funny moments I must say, but there wasn't much in the way of character development and I was left with the feeling that the whole crew lost interest half way through.

The sub plots could have been developed a bit more, but again the Director didn't seem to care about explaining them to the audience and to be honest I didn't quite understand what they were about ( although I did walk away for five minutes to make myself a sandwich). My understanding wasn't any clearer by the end of the movie which meant I had to search through the internet to clarify what went on. That's not a good way to tell a story on the screen.

A successful caper like cleaning out a safety deposit box vault should translate into a thrilling movie but although these guys pulled the job off, the translators weren't able to pull it off with the final product.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
This is no Italian job
kevinjdavis-933983 April 2018
I am afraid the quirky cinematography was very distracting or maybe it was covering for a poor script and some only passable acting.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
boring and poorly done
pilot10095 November 2018
Long winded undeveloped and poorly made script by a moron, and directing the worst I have seen in a long time. Wath league of gentlemen or bank job instead.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Interesting!! NO !!
kagey-2876915 January 2019
If you were hoping for anything exciting you won't get it here . It tried to be smart and witty with a voice over , bit of slow mo and some . Snatch it certainly isn't . Even the sets look amateur. In a few words , cheap , corny and boring
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Well drilled
Prismark104 November 2017
The Hatton Cross Job is a fictional story based on facts. In Easter 2015, the Hatton Garden Safe Deposit Company was robbed by four old lags.

Matthew Goode plays the unnamed young man who recruits the old timers with their various ailments who know how to steal the old way. Goode is bankrolled by some East Europeans but an ex copper is on to him.

This is an efficient, low budget film. A couple of actors like Stephen Moyer drop in for a scene or two. It is not too far departed from the lovable ageing gangsters trope, reminiscing and joking about the good old days when the villains lived by a code. Then wondering where the next dose of painkillers have got to.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Safe, No Grit, No reality
tim-93519 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This is the heist scenario. You know, the big idea, the round up of talented villains, the trials and tribulations of the heist, followed by the spend, spend, spend.

The man who invented it didn't want it. The man who bought it didn't need it. The man who needs it doesn't know it. What is it? The answer to the riddle posed by Brian Reader (Larry Lamb) in the tense pub stand off with a group of youngsters I will leave to you.

In this based on fact robbery story, a mystery shopper (Matthew Goode) recruits four ageing criminals to break into the Hatton Garden Safe Deposit Company premises over Easter 2015. They not only steal multi million pounds in cash and jewels but also a much sought after box implicating a certain ex-CID policeman.

The heist is organised by an Eastern European crime family which obtains the required multi million pound jewel swag then melts into the background.

The Mystery Shopper escapes, but the older criminals allow themselves to be caught.

This is a slow retelling of the now famous robbery, with some anachronisms regarding the cars used in the film. Also, the shape of the hole changes, and never matches the real one as shown in the news footage of the day. There are obvious mistakes in the use of the break-in equipment.

I now know why my wheelie bins were stolen a few months back. They make convenient carriers for tools and loot on such escapades.

A pleasant tale told for the armchair criminologists. It lacks detail for the keen observer.
10 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Heist that steals its part from all the others....
joebloggscity4 April 2018
Simple based in actual true events, this actually takes quite a large pinch out salt in the its making, and the biggest theft is the steal from other movies.

We have here a ragtag collection of men brought together by a more charismatic leader to make the steal of the century. The story is simple enough, but it's the acting and characters that keep your interest. There are a few good scenes such as a standoff in a pub which was tense.

However, the storyline is poor, and quite frankly a poor derivative of various films it is trying to ape: Lock Stock, Layer Cake etc.

The ending itself is a carbon copy of another film, so blatant a steal that quite frankly I'm surprised if legal action has never been considered.

Anyhow, it's simply nothing special. Simple heist film, in one ear and out the other. Will pass the time but nothing more.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Biggest Tom in history
nogodnomasters18 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Seems they can't make enough films about King Arthur and the Hatton Garden Heist. This is inspired/based on the true story of an over-the-hill gang who drilled into the wall of London's most prestigious private vault. I have seen a couple of films on this heist, and while this one wasn't grossly bad, it wasn't as good at the others. Knowing what was going to happen didn't help. The characters were not as deep or colorful as is needed for a new film on the topic.

Guide: F-word. No sex or nudity.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Nice story, good characters, lousy sound mix.
jay-bartram24 May 2019
It's only vaguely based on the true story, but the plot is good, and the acting is okay! Nice to see the old boys getting some credit for a change.

There's a lot of 'what could've been' but it doesn't detract from a good script and you genuine warm to the characters.

However, the sound mix is awful and ruins an otherwise quite good sound track - simply the music is too loud and overpowers the actors.

What remains is the fact that this is a true story and they really did get away with it... for a bit at least!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Entertaining movie is not trying to be Guy Richie
robertemerald20 May 2019
This is a beautiful feel-good movie, minus any ultra violence, with great and charming actors (all), a spliff soundtrack of great colourful up-beat songs (that genuinely seem to gel together), and although not a high tension race of any sort, is full of quirky mild humours and quick, highly engaging edits that paint a very loveable portrait of dodgey cockney life and optimism on steroids. I'm not sure why this fun piece doesn't rate higher. Perhaps the introduction was a little high on promise (like Guy Richie films) and that lead to disappointment. Perhaps this review will help dispel the silly myth that every cockney movie has to subscribe to poor Mr Richie, or that no-one can admire or borrow from him except at peril of the critics. (I live in Australia, so I'm coming at this idea from a very obscure position from the bits and pieces that I pick up on - I could be wrong). Forget all that. You know that TV show New Tricks? Imagine the lady detective there is a handsome, gutsy, cool guy instead. Then imagine the old cops are now robbers (but not thugs), and the entire show is given a Hollywood makeover with great editing, camerawork, direction and positive vibes, and then you'd be on your way to The Hatton Garden Job (or The Last Heist, as it's called here in OZ). This is a rockin' little number. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Ultimately very cliched and boring.
tonypeacock-19 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
There have amazingly been three films about the true story of the heist on the Hatton Garden Safe Deposit facility in 2015.

Until now I have not seen any of them. For me the trailers for such movies look so cliqued. Boring for want of another word.

This film does not disappoint in that respect. It plays like a TV drama or extended episode of a British TV soap opera called Eastenders. Complete with West Ham United scenes and flags.

It even stars a couple of ex Eastenders 'actors' in Larry Lamb and Phil Daniels. The film is not terrible. It is just so unoriginal. Done so many times before. It's just a cheap heist rehash.

I began to nod off about three quarters into the film.

The main USP of this story is that the lags that took place are old timers who have health problems that involve over active prostate, diabetes and emphysema.

Should I even bother with the other two films? King of Thieves starring Michael Caine being the latest?
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Still worth watching
johncromwell-6949311 June 2017
Disappointed that Michael Caine and Ray Winston were not in this film. Sad they didn't keep to the true story and the details. It was in 2015 and not 2016, Looks like it was a rush job to get this film out. They probably would of took more notice if they picked quality actors. disappointed.
7 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fulfills it's purpose
KingMushCharva1 September 2019
You can't compare something like this to a multi million pound film however at face value it is something brilliant.

I personally enjoyed it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Very true to the actual events.
dereksuffolk18 May 2019
This is a true story. People keep saying that it's not very 'exciting', well it's not The Avengers, it is based on TRUE facts and details about a TRUE event that took place. It's not supposed to be 'thrilling' Gordon-11, it is supposed to tell the story of the ACTUAL event, without CGI and unrealistic gun fights.

I liked it, it made me go and research the actual event which was very interesting.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
For what it is it's a cracking little movie
maineventmanagement19 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This movie has been compared to many big budget films - which in a way is a compliment, however it gets the job done - no pun intended - great cast - great caper - yes it steals - sorry did it again - from other movies, but so do most. There are moments that let the whole thing down but all in all it's a fun film about ageing gangster/robbers that goes wrong. Some say so did the movie but it's the best one made so far including the big budget version
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
An average kind of film
Leofwine_draca3 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
THE HATTON GARDEN JOB is the second of three filmed versions of the infamous British bank vault robbery that occurred a few years back. The first, HATTON GARDEN: THE HEIST, was absolutely diabolical so this is definitely better than that, although it's still hardly great. The film is average at best, featuring some talented actors in a tale which goes through the motions without ever coming across as particularly thrilling or suspenseful. You need to go back to the 1970s for likeable features such as this, namely the likes of SEWERS OF GOLD.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed