5.6/10
11,091
84 user 27 critic

12 Feet Deep (2017)

Not Rated | | Horror, Thriller | 20 June 2017 (USA)
Trailer
1:51 | Trailer
Inspired by true events, two sisters are trapped under the fiberglass cover of an Olympic sized public pool and must brave the cold and each other to survive the harrowing night.

Director:

Matt Eskandari
Reviews

Videos

Photos

Learn more

More Like This 

Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.2/10 X  

Black Mountain Side follows a group of archaeologists after they uncover a strange structure in Northern Canada, dating over ten thousand years before the present. The team finds themselves... See full summary »

Director: Nick Szostakiwskyj
Stars: Shane Twerdun, Michael Dickson, Carl Toftfelt
Higher Power (2018)
Action | Sci-Fi | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.4/10 X  

When the Universe decides what it wants, it's pointless to resist. With his family's life at stake, Joseph Steadman finds himself the unwilling test subject of a maniacal scientist in a battle that could save the world, or destroy it.

Director: Matthew Charles Santoro
Stars: Colm Feore, Ron Eldard, Jordan Danger
Mystery
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7/10 X  

Julie Reynolds, a young woman surviving life in the big city, receives an anonymous email promising her money - if a stranger dies.

Director: Rajiv Whabi
Stars: Sofia Asir, Bronwyn Byrnes, Iain Colquhoun
Glass Jaw (2018)
Drama | Sport | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.2/10 X  

Glass Jaw is the redemption story of Travis Austin, a one time champion boxer who goes to prison and loses everything. After his release, he experiences the trials and tribulations of redeeming his reputation, his belt, and his true love.

Director: Jeff Celentano
Stars: Mark Rolston, Brandon Sklenar, Jaime Camil
Action | Sci-Fi | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.6/10 X  

After a failed mission to Mars, A.I./ARTI is now used for the 2036 mission with a few human supervisors. A monolith of unknown origin is found there. It will have a big effect on Earth.

Director: Hasraf Dulull
Stars: Katee Sackhoff, Ray Fearon, Julie Cox
Misogynist (2013)
Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.4/10 X  

A male chauvinist guru guides his best prodigy through the art of controlling women, only for the student to find out he is not everything that he seems.

Director: Michael Matteo Rossi
Stars: Jonathan Bennett, Jon Briddell, Eve Mauro
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.6/10 X  

A dying mother, Sarah, tells her last wish to her eldest son, Drew, that he take his younger brother, Will, to the place they were born. Despite tragic family history, hope gives promise to the future.

Director: Spencer T. Folmar
Stars: Daniel MacPherson, Dax Spanogle, Barrett Donner
Action | Sci-Fi
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 8.1/10 X  

WAR OF THE WORLDS THE TRUE STORY is based on the most beloved alien invasion story of all time by Father of Science Fiction, H.G. Wells. Like Wells' classic book that was presented as a ... See full summary »

Director: Timothy Hines
Stars: Jack Clay, Jim Cissell, Susan Goforth
Demon Tongue (2016)
Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.3/10 X  

Four paranormal research students are sent to an abandoned complex to conduct an investigation into strange occurrences that the locals feel are the results of demonic possessions. These amateur ghost hunters get much more than they bargained for when the power goes out, they hear unearthly noises and discover demons lurking in a hidden basement deep beneath the cold, stone structure that now ... See full summary »

Directors: Dan Mahon, Gavin Rapp
Stars: Jack Davis, Debbie College, Seth Gontkovic
Bluff II (2007)
Comedy
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.3/10 X  

A worker opens a trapdoor in a condemned building, where he discovers a clue to a tragic end of one of the many people who lived there over the past fifteen years. So begins a tale of ... See full synopsis »

Directors: Simon-Olivier Fecteau, Marc-André Lavoie
Stars: Emmanuel Bilodeau, Isabelle Blais, Raymond Bouchard
Certificate: MA-17 Biography | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 8.1/10 X  

The life story of Indian-Canadian actress and former adult film star, Sunny Leone.

Stars: Bijay Anand, Raj Arjun, Karamvir Lamba
Drama | Mystery | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.7/10 X  

A young teen and his misfit group of friends try to escape from a strict boarding school that holds dangerous secrets.

Director: Joseph Hemsani
Stars: Luis de La Rosa, Carla Adell, Mar Carrera
Edit

Cast

Credited cast:
Nora-Jane Noone ... Bree
Alexandra Park ... Jonna
Diane Farr ... Clara
Tobin Bell ... McGradey
Rest of cast listed alphabetically:
Christian Kain Blackburn Christian Kain Blackburn ... David (as Christian Blackburn)
Dogen Eyeler ... Boy at the Pool
Arlo McGowan Arlo McGowan ... Swimmer
Charles Duncan McGowan Charles Duncan McGowan ... Swimmer
Matthew Ryan Michaels Matthew Ryan Michaels ... Boy at the Pool
Donald Prince ... Detective Zimmerman
Edit

Storyline

Inspired by true events, two sisters are trapped under the fiberglass cover of an Olympic sized public pool and must brave the cold and each other to survive the harrowing night.

Plot Summary | Add Synopsis

Genres:

Horror | Thriller

Certificate:

Not Rated | See all certifications »

Parents Guide:

View content advisory »
Edit

Details

Country:

USA

Language:

English

Release Date:

20 June 2017 (USA) See more »

Also Known As:

12 Feet Deep See more »

Filming Locations:

Los Angeles, California, USA

Company Credits

Show more on IMDbPro »

Technical Specs

Runtime:

Color:

Color

Aspect Ratio:

2.35 : 1
See full technical specs »
Edit

Did You Know?

Trivia

Jonna is named as an homage to Jonah from the Old Testament a character who is trapped in the belly of a whale. See more »

Goofs

After the pool heater is shut off it takes only minutes before the water starts feel cold. In reality a large pool like this with thousand of liters of water (in a heated room no less) would take several days with no heat before the temperature drops enough to even notice. See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

 
Claustrophobic thriller in the vein of Buried or Frozen.
23 June 2017 | by rickleo123See all my reviews

A very interesting and original little thriller. I definitely was pulled in by the acting and the tension. Was following the sister's journey and hoping they find a way out. It makes good use of the limited set, the pool and the small gap of air between the surface and the pool cover provide plenty of chilling close-ups of the women's failing faces as they come to grips with their surreal reality. Estranged already, we learn of a bitterness between them stemming from years of opposing paths begun by a tragedy in their youth that haunts them to this day The muted blue tones of the pool help keep some desperation and the dialogue, which is crucial since there is–by extension of the premise–nearly no action, is mostly compelling, though the entire setup edges a little too close to metaphorical.


29 of 53 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you? | Report this
Review this title | See all 84 user reviews »

Contribute to This Page

Free Movies and TV Shows You Can Watch Now

On IMDb TV, you can catch Hollywood hits and popular TV series at no cost. Select any poster below to play the movie, totally free!

Browse free movies and TV series

Stream Popular Action and Adventure Titles With Prime Video

Explore popular action and adventure titles available to stream with Prime Video.

Start your free trial



Recently Viewed