AFK: The Webseries (TV Series 2015–2018) Poster

(2015–2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
19 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Worth logging in for
jacksonedarlow9 November 2018
Kind of terrible, but pretty much awesome.

If you have been an MMORPG player, AFK has the pop-culture moments and jokes to enjoy while you fall I'm love with the characters. If you haven't, AFK has characters you will fall in love with, while you experience a pop-culture that millions of gamers love.

In the first series, the actors and crew are still finding their feet, but the small production is beautiful, when compared with similar-scale shows like Pure Pwnage and The Guild. And is filmed in the same setting as middle earth, and the four lands. Season 2 takes it to a whole new level.

The relatively unknown cast have a depth of character, and many talents that are put on full display. They become fierce, nuanced and beautiful leading women; complex, loveable villains; sympathetic, growing protagonists, and a diverse and self-aware set of players - all achieved within the confines of a mini series.

Each creative contributor to the show deserves acclaim.
14 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
High-quality production fiction-web-series
bejoscha2 January 2019
Story-overview: What happens if real people find themselves 'alive' in their favorite MMORPG fantasy-game without a clue how they end up here or how they could leave? This is essentially the plot of AFK. It's a thought-provoking background story well worth exploring.

Genre: As a web-series production AFK is typically 'fast paced' with rather short episodes and frequent use of cliff-hangers. Luckily, at least season-one has a "season's cut" complete video released as well by now. Other than many other fantasy-web-series, AFK does not focus that hard on being "funny". While a certain amount of comedy is included, there is a more sinister and dramatic thread winding through the whole series.

Production: The series is very professional. Actors, costumes, CGI are all excellent and better than many TV productions.

Faszit: A web-series well worth watching and supporting! At least give it a try - it is free after all!
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A fun show, leaves you wanting more
jakeakoster7 May 2019
I came across this show while scrolling through Amazon Prime. I have to say it's a fun show in concept and execution. It's not any great piece of filmography by any means. However, I appreciated how the writing encapsulated the various types of gamer personalities while simultaneously highlighting some of the social anxieties some face in real life and poking fun at them at the same time. I found the acting sufficient to keep me engaged in the story and sometimes relating with the characters. I hope this series gets more seasons!
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Way to Spend a Few Hours
sflanagan-476768 April 2019
AFK takes some time to breathe as the first couple of episodes were difficult to understand given there is very little background given, but if you have played any fantasy MMOs you'll find yourself quickly sucked in.

The acting and special effects aren't going to win any awards, but the costumes and production seem more professional than many of the B movies you see on the syfy channel.

I find myself enjoying most of the female characters and their arcs, particularly Q who leads the non-joining heroes and Amy the only character who seems to understand and able to use her characters traits/abilities from the get go.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Whole lot of fun
Grimsonia9 March 2019
If you've ever played an mmo game you will really love this. It seems like it's mostly based off of Warcraft, but not. It follows a bunch of mismatched people who are suddenly their character in the game world.

The acting is good as is the story. It's not the best quality or special effects or anything like that, but it has everything else that matters. It's definitely got a lot of heart.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Really good TV series
lukerox-2677824 November 2018
It's a great story line defenetly binge worthy but the episodes are verry short need to be longer
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Liked it a lot
danix80325 September 2018
I really liked the episodes a lot. I think some of the acting is pretty good. I LOVE the plot. I really like the direction. I do wish that some of the characters had a bit more depth. I didnt like some of the language, especially Calum Gittins.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Blows Similar Stories Out of the Water
weekendlites15 July 2019
I came across AFK on Amazon Prime over the weekend due to watching Journey Quest and having it pop up in the recommendations.

AFK takes the same basic Idea of telling a story that came from role playing games and although it is funny in places it is much darker without going full CW.

AFK Opens with Q (Mia Pistorius) An elf if the ears are any indication coming to groggy awareness on the ground with a couple other folks nearby. One of which immediately kills the other and turning there sites on Q Only to be killed in turn and suddenly everyone is running away.

Apparently gamers at their computers are suddenly in real life, inhabiting flesh and blood versions of their in game avatars in some version of World of Warcraft. And just as quickly these people with nothing to stop them start acting like people, being as shitty to each other as possible for the most part..

Q who is a pretty high ranked player immediately sizes up the situation and runs to the forest to avoid all the murderous other players. She gathers around her a band of supporting players including a Wizard (IRL a 15 YO gamer) Hot young Warrior woman in improbable bikini chain mail (IRL some bro who is a low level newb who became a woman for kicks), A self absorbed Rogue and a Gnome (Cosplaying 24 YO woman). They manage to survive the night in the forest and spend the rest of the series trying to figure out how to return to the real world.

I am trying to avoid spoilers here so I won't go too much more into story. Suffice it to say we have a clever antagonist who is building up his own army and the world itself appears to be in the process of the game rebooting as other aspects of online role playing fantasy games come back on line. magic, Non Player Characters and Quests for example.

What I found most compelling was the high production values, the quality of all the performances, and the writing.

My only negative is that these are produced as Web series and as such paced to run 10 minutes or so per episode. Which works to gain attention but I would think that something of this quality would garner enough attention to get the kind of funding from Amazon to create 30 minute episodes.

EDIT: Fixed some grammatical and spelling errors
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Entertaining short series
tenshi_ippikiookami19 December 2016
"AFK" doesn't make much sense, but it is entertaining nonetheless, elevated by the characters' arcs and relationships, which give the show its heart.

The story is simple as follows: real people wake up in an online game, their minds in the bodies of their characters. We don't get much in way of explanation, characters' motives, world building or anything. Basically we are thrown with the characters into the world, and the first episodes suffer a little bit from this, because the viewer won't really understand much of what is going on (not that much is going on, but it makes no sense whatsoever).

Funnily enough, with the episodes going by, even if the story is flimsy as they come (non-existent), we get to know the characters and enjoy their company. And that is what makes "AFK" worth checking: the characters. The acting won't get them any awards soon, but the actors embody their roles in an engaging and caring manner.

That helps overcome all the shortcomings: plot, direction, action moments that barely cut the mustard... Put in some nice homages to role-playing games (NPC, the music that comes out of nowhere when you enter a tavern...) and you have a really fun show.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome and very creative.
csnwdave10 April 2019
Awesome show. Very well done. Talent and effort over big budget and star power.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very well written
JacktheRipper1017 June 2019
This show made me laugh very hard. Reminded me of the old days when I lived online lol
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Decent genre piece
asphyxion_17 April 2019
AFK is great for those who like "The Guild," ".// hack," or even the lamestream anime, "Sword Art Online."

The acting is kind of hokey and the cinematography looks more like the series was shot on a handheld DVR than an actual quality camera. However, the set pieces are actually quite good and evoke a sort of low-budget Game of Thrones charm, and the editing itself isn't horrible. Most of the characters are likable with some notable exceptions, like Brendon the Wizard who always sounds like a quivering, shivering nagging banshee. The plots are also interesting, with each episode revolving itself around the various slanguage MMO gamers use (ie. mob, phat lewtz, inc, ganker, etc.); I was pleasantly surprised at how decent the actual writing was, despite the spattering of cliche dialogue throughout. The show itself has heart and I think could have honestly been a series contender if only it had a bigger production/distribution company behind it. AFK on a Netflix-type budget would kick some serious booty (think Legend of the Seeker).

The show itself is pretty short, spanning 16 episodes in totality with each episode running at a mere 20ish minutes. Short and sweet would probably be the best way to describe AFK.

Anyway, like I said, if you enjoyed the webseries "The Guild," it's almost a given certainty that you'll enjoy "AFK" too.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Overall meh.
katehaileyr25 August 2019
If you like video games and need a show so dumb it's funny. The concept had a lot of potential, if they had enough funding this could've been comparable to 'Ready Player One', or a TV version of Jason Segal's 'The Reality Series'. Like I said, it's funny and has potential, but it's not gonna reach that potential unfortunately.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
God awful
baldybouncer91317 June 2019
Awful acting, poor story, and crap special effects. Can't believe someone put money into it...
4 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Low rent and stilted cheese.
stevelomas-6940116 June 2019
Utter irredeemable rubbish, the production is so poor it makes 'The Lost World's look like GoT.
3 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fun story
balzak7522 March 2020
Unique story that seems well thought out wish they would make more
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Surprising well written and acted
ejkbou25 September 2019
It's really got great costumes and very well acted. A good actor can make you believe practicely anything and these guys are great, but that's just some of it. It is so well written and directed. There are few special effects, but the few are done really well and to great effect. On season 2 now and it gets better and better. Here's to a full on pickup and full hour show seasons
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
One for the 10yr old online gamers
roxmewild22 June 2019
Having spent many years playing on an online pirate based game I did find some amusement and understanding of some of the antics! However that is all and it quickly was not enough there seemed to be no storyline and to be honest even given whatever online game this was suppose to represent I found it boring all I could envision was how the game I played would transcribe and to be honest it had a lot more to offer visually and action wise than this one did! They could have developed this concept so much better but opted for the cheap production with no depth. 10 year old new gamers may enjoy but other than that it's piss poor
2 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Only rated by the cretins who sunk money into it
RogerBorg10 April 2020
Take the Guild, mash it up with Sword Art Online - and I don't mean the first series - remove all the clever references that gamers will get, and add a whole bunch of risibly cringe exposition to make it "accessible" for the for non-gamers who will never, ever watch it.

Cast some utterly forgettable casting-couch rejects wearing the cheapest stuff from the dusty bottom of a props chest, shoot in one (count it, one) indoor location and one (yes, one) forest glade, film it with a single camera-phone and with the most basic one-take direction and "that'll do" editing, score it with whatever royalty free trash you can find online.

Writing and plot? If there is any, you'll never spot it under the stock NPC dialog. Even the... uh... stars talk like bit part quest-givers. I'm not entirely sure that one of them doesn't take an arrow to the knee.

And that's AFK, a show that is an exemplar for the adage that just because you CAN doesn't mean that you SHOULD.
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed