Avengers: Endgame (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
8,220 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
An experience you'll gonna remember forever.
raudafitriani24 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
There is no way that I could describe my emotions for this movie. I'm totally speechless. I haven't laughed (even cried) this much in Marvel movie or even in any movie. I'm fully on my emotion, there are so many tears of joy and loss. Amazing story, the acting is outstanding, epic action, great CGI, the best storytelling ever told in a superhero movie, amazing performance. I love it more than 3000.

Happiness, sadness, pure joy, excitement... I'm gonna miss this moment in my whole life because let's face it- it's been awhile movies can bring such a big enthusiasm like this.

It is such an experience you'll gonna remember it forever. People are clapping, laughing, crying, full of a state emotion. It's 3 hours long but it went by like a finger snapping by Thanos, and now I'm thinking I'm actually in Quantum Realm because it felt like 5 seconds. Even though you know where the story is gonna bring you because it's still a 'superhero movie' but it left me speechless. It's not just a superhero movie, it's more than that.

**SPOILER ALERT**

Even some characters that you didn't like before, you will love them in this movie. Like Captain Marvel. I didn't like her before in her own movie but in Endgame they showed how powerful, how strong and how capable she really is. And now I kinda love her! But Marvel should really be careful of her line though, I didn't like some of her line like "I'm the strongest" and "You didn't win because before you didn't have me" duh. Also not gonna forget Hawkeye. To be honest, in Avengers I really didn't like Hawkeye because he's just a 'guy' with an arrow and just randomly showed up in any scene but actually he's character is so BADASS! Everything that we need, what we want is here.

Also I don't get it why some people can not accept that Thor is fat or treat him like a joke. I mean, this movie might be trying to give us a message about no matter what 'shape' are you, you can be a hero and save the world. To be honest, I like what they did to Thor, that man is depressed and taking the most responsible after he missed the shot to kill Thanos in Infinity War. Even though he already did killed him but it's not gonna bring back his people of Asgard. Also he's God of Thunder for god sake, he could slap his stomach with thunder and got his abs back.

I'm so happy too for Captain America. Finally he could do his dance with Peggy and I didn't expected that we could see the fight between Captain America with his own self. Also when Tony met his father really warm my heart, and we can see the 'real-life' Jarvis - I didn't expected that too.

When the whole superhero arrived it is so EPIC! The whole person in theater are screaming and shocked. Gives me a goosebumps and still left me speechless!

This movie is absolute perfection. The ending of this movie is we and the characters deserved. It gives a perfect balance for all these past 10 years. Epic and perfect ending, I was not disappointed at all. This movie was completely emotional and visually stunning. Now I get it why the Russo Brothers told us to do a Marvel Movie marathon before watching Endgame because this movie had everything to accomplish what left behind before all of this.

Ready or not, whatever it takes.

Go watch it for yourself.
4,159 out of 6,266 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
slighty awkward or boring at times, slow dialog, some cool stuff
randomStuff10122 August 2019
Unfortunately clumsy. I enjoyed all previous Avengers, and a few scenes in this are very cool and funny, but this one lowers the bar overall. For me the story petered out instead of maintained momentum from previous movies. The dialogue struggles to be interesting, boring sequences at time.

Clumsy Avengers fit awkwardly together for group photo, like bad high school reunion. That said, I enjoy Avengers like everyone else for years, just not this one so much.

The super-power woman, Capt Marvel, her powers are overdone. Too simplistic, too much power. No reason for her to lose any fight.

Was a big collective of all heroes even necessary? Sort of not really.

Some scenes linger way too long, drawing out already thin content. And where was Dr Strange? He hardly had anything to say, and very brief appearance, yet he was in possession of crucial aspect of story.
52 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Extra star for CGI.
billking666629 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I thought the Infinity Wars was bad, but this has brought Marvel/Disney to a new low. The idea of going back in time and changing the present is as old as the hills, but it also opens Pandora's Box. It means you can do it again and again. Which negates the foundation of reality. This plot, unlike the last Avenger's movie, relies on pseudo-science instead of the supernatural. I love science fiction, but this was anything but. Spoiler: Stark looking at a Mobius Strip and somehow realizing time travel was possible was painful to watch. So then they go back in time, make everything hunky dory, as it was before Thanos, but Ironman get killed in the process. So not only did Marvel kill off it's number one action hero (at the box office), but it showed the world that nothing bad can ever happen, because we can simply go back in time and make it better. Interesting how all the characters scoffed at the idea as well, before they actually did it. Time travel movies are fun, but only if they can never be repeated. Using it as a plot device to restore everything to as it was before, was just a cheap trick. I would have been more impressed if Dr. strange found a new set of stones and changed everything back. As a Marvel fan from the Silver Age of Marvel (1960s &70s) I wish Disney would have stuck to the comic magazines closer and not tried to bring the Marvel universe to a depressing conclusion.
28 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Infinity war was soooo much better
KoolKirt8 September 2019
WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH THE RUSSO BROTHERS,,,,, After you did a terrible job of messing up the hulk in infinity war you then made it worst in endgame with nonsense professor hulk and to add insult to injury you also mess up thor,,,, you suck Russo Brothers,,,, you did such a fantastic job with the winter soldier and civil war two of my favorite movies,, what went wrong with endgame,,,,, you took two of the strongest and best avengers and turn one into a big slob and turn hulk into a big stupid teddy bear,,,,, seriously disappointed.
77 out of 115 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
What happened???
bubatd5 September 2019
What the?......

how could i have enjoyed Infinity war so much and find this to be a bunch of total incoherent crap? leave the Time Traveling to the experts like Dr Who. I wont even go into the all the plot holes and no sense paradoxes as i'm sure many have already done but what a sad ending to a wonderful journey? and please Disney, please lay off on the Wokey preaching crap its getting tedious, lets just have a good story eh and leave the politics to the Politicians?
95 out of 144 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Plot holes galor
Drat196419 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
As others have said time travel is always a cop out, but there seem to be some major problems with it's use here, first is the fates of black widow and gamora, we are told (by the writer in the bluray commentary) that black widow can't be brought back because the fate of obtaining the soul stone can't be undone, yet gamora seems to have undone here fate from the same choice. The small point that if gamora never made the choice due to the time travel, then in fact none of the events in the previous could never have happened as Thanos would have been one stone short seems to be ignored. Then you have Captain America's fate, he time travels back and lives out his days as agents Carters secret husband, cool. Unfortunately this then means that within the MCU universe He also has a reactionship with agent 13, technically his own great niece, whoops.
158 out of 248 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Most overhyped overrated movie ever
woah-2449119 August 2019
This movie dosent deserve to be this high on IMDb,it was bring and by far the worst avengers movie with a disapointing and predictable outcome,it ruined thanos and the heroes one with no casualties like every superhero movie,endgame was by far the worst most overrated marvel movie
164 out of 258 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Seriously?!
nickgoughnour15 August 2019
Man what a let down after Infinity War. Virtually no action in a superhero movie. Predictable plot with lame time warping around all over the place. And what in God's name did you do with Thor's character after the last movie holy crap! So glad I didn't waste my time in a theater for this one.
156 out of 245 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Mediocre
pawelmichniuk-997-86001015 September 2019
Before you embark on a journey to watch this way-too-long movie remember that the time spent doing this cannot be recovered. You will not be able to go back in time and undo this. Thor is, as always, well played and funny. Hulk is pretty decent and that's about it. Story is not interesting at all. Too many pointless dialogues that go on and on with no message whatsoever. The main idea behind the movie seems to be to let the guys do something, pack as many faces on screen as we can and, as long as there are explosions and some colorful CGI, it will be fine. There is no depth, no cohesion to the story. I stopped watching it at 2h 15 min trying to save 45 minutes of my life.
74 out of 111 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Overrated.
uzuncan-365244 October 2019
I have nothing to say except this movie is overrated and the only reason why people went to it was because, Infinity War ended with a cliffhanger.
33 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
No this is not good!
redkyng30 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
All the hype and then we had a very bad movie, Infinity War was a great build up for Endgame but the approach was so so bad, time travel to save the dead was a very bad move, so no drama and the end couldn't save the movie, and I'm still wondering why all the hype over Captain Marvel and at the end she was useless?..... Well 2 is more than enough for this mess
33 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Couldn't get behind it
victoriamelchor25 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
It was somewhat entertaining. But the story was just beyond unbelievable. All the crying and moping and "we're grieving so hard over here" was dumb.

Cap longingly staring at his girlfriend's picture all of a sudden felt forced. Like they decided last minute how his story would end so now, after I don't know how many movies of him not exhibiting that specific behavior, he's all love sick all of a sudden.

Hated the scene where the lady super heroes get together to get the glove to the time machine. I get it, girl power! Yay! But it felt so damn forced I rolled me eyes so hard I saw the back of my skull.

What made me dislike the movie most was that despite their best attempts at tying loose ends, it felt like lazy writing. Probably because when they wrote the first three movies they didn't have the foresight to drop (or use) Easter eggs that would be found in Endgame. An example is Cap's sudden longing for his girl.

I honestly couldn't wait for the movie to be over. Glad I red boxed it.
106 out of 163 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
3 hour snoozefest
madsbugge14 August 2019
What is this garbage? 3 hours of absolutely nothing but awful dialogue and boring misplaced fight scenes. Must be all the brainwashed Marvel fanboys who gave this movie a top rating...
154 out of 242 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great "ending" to a saga
vandykeu17 August 2019
Endgame is a great popcorn action movie to "finish" a saga of popcorn action movies. This isn't serious entertainment and shouldn't be considered as such, and it reminds me of how George Lucas made Star Wars as an homage to the cheap serials like Flash Gordon. Especially as comic-sourced material, this is what the MCU is. Some part of me is actually a bit pained to like it as much as I do, given that it is just playing on base emotions to make money for a massive conglomerate like Disney.

BUT... what a great way to end several major storylines that they invested in over the past 11 years. For people who have watched the saga, I feel like this is just the cherry on the top. My only complaint is something that you can't really get away from in superhero stories: the character "powers" are totally inconsistent from scene to scene, and movie to movie. This is a trope that there's no getting away from, because if characters like Captain Marvel, Thor, Scarlet Witch, and Hulk were always as powerful as they show flashes of, then the story wouldn't even be a thing. Any one of them could destroy Thanos in the blink of an eye, and have done similar feats in other stories (and even in other scenes within a given story). That they sometimes "reduce" their power to a lower level, without an explained mechanism, is pretty laughable, and makes some parts of the story a bit nonsensical. Yes, this constant Ex Machina is needed to maintain the drama and keep the plot going, but it's still something that takes me out of the story.

What I really love about this movie, and the saga as a whole, is how good it is at developing the actual characters and their relationships. There are some similarities, but nobody is the same, and most of the arcs are believable. Thor's story, and apparent PTSD, is to me the best-done, but all of the majors (and some of the minors) are almost as good. I believed them. And for a popcorn action movie saga based on a comic series, I think that's a pretty high compliment.
237 out of 380 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A horribly, boring and goofy installment. Worst one yet.
chi_town_fed15 August 2019
This was a terrible film. I rented it and feel like I wasted my money. The movie is 3 hours long. 2 of those hours is just nonsense and jabber. Then you get about thirty minutes of the big fight, followed by another thirty minutes of boredom. The male heroes are portrayed as buffoons, which is indicative of today's man-hating society. Anyone giving this film a high rating suffers from Marvel Bias Syndrome.

I thought the previous installment was bad. This installment lowered the bar even further. Writers are so busy pushing their man-hating agenda by making the two most powerful Avengers (Thor and Hulk) buffoons, they failed to capture the essence of the Avengers. They have devolved the franchise into an Everybody Loves Raymond-esque sitcom. However, Everybody Loves Raymond is much better written. I am glad I did not waste time and money at the theater for this joke of a movie.
160 out of 252 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Really bad and embarrassing movie
zalelan16 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
They ruined all the great superhero in this movie

The hullk??? -Wtf its a joke Ironman- not great fight scene and usless death Thor -is like crying baby Captian america -can hold thor hammer??? Really?? Its like the ending of game of the throne
149 out of 234 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Time travel ruined everything
saadalqahtani-1068228 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Seriously time travel?! You did the lazy way to kill thanos ,am so furious. That's why infinity war was better 10x
31 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
good but could be better
befunkymd2 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Hulk, a strong,manly hero was reduced to a teddy bear. Thor-a cry baby. This is marvel's way to fight with "toxic masculinity" in my opinion. Also time travelling is like cheating. Time travel, kill the bad guy, save the day, come back to home and drink beer. This movie isn't an 1 but also isn't anything above 8.
67 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Time Traveling is the best Joke
dilanbrian2 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
If u kill your past self how the bloody hell u exists in present 😹
67 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Way Overhyped
justinboy-5029518 August 2019
It's hard to believe that this is the highest grossing movie of all time. It's not even that good of a Marvel movie.

I understand that this is based on a comic book characters but damn! The fact that this movie is so successful is pretty much the reason why Hollywood thinks they can get away making movies that aren't all that well thought out but look cool. The first hour was downright painful to get through and if they had taken out a lot of the unnecessary crap, this movie easily could have been 2 hours long.
182 out of 289 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Worst one of the series
nobreaks14 August 2019
With exception of handful actors play and CGI, this movie lacks in all aspects, thus making it outright pointless.
150 out of 236 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Really disappointed...
Snowraven692 September 2019
The dumbing down of Hulk and ruining his character by turning him into an utter wimp, turning Thor into a bumbling drunkard, really? Well done Disney on ruining yet another couple of hero's characters (See Luke Skywalker and Yoda in Disney's Last Jedi for extra confirmation of this) That's all I've got to say about this movie.
91 out of 139 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad reboot of Avengers: Infinity War
maphy77514 August 2019
OMG! What have I just watched? Remake of Avengers: Infinity War?

The last installment of Avengers looks like another Infinity War with table turning (this time we won) and introduction of few new elements such as Captain Marvel, Ant-Man and time machine. The rest is pretty much the same: whole lot of super-heroes doing crash-smash-flash-zap-bang super-fictional thing we already seen in earlier Avengers. OK, have to admit CGI is awesome but if you strip that the result is below average movie to watch once and leave in archive (if you mistakenly bought disc).

Bottom line, I really don't see End Game as a "Masterpiece" just because it filled-up box office emerging on top of all movies. It is not something we have not seen before, no breakthrough, not better than Infinity War. Just good advertising boosted this up on hall of fame scale.
119 out of 185 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Movie was pathetic, highly overrated
tbnrtanush4 October 2019
It was straight up a huge disappointment, and a really bad ending to a great saga
29 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Absolutely amazing, but still flawed.
NpMoviez8 May 2019
After waiting for a year, Avengers: Endgame hit the theatres and shattered a number of box office records worldwide. But, was it really so perfectly great? No.

Good : The first thing I loved about this movie was that it was the most character driven film in the MCU till date. In particular, Hawkeye and Black Widow got the most of character shine. And, it didn't have much of Captain Marvel. As someone who feels awkward when she comes on screen, it was a good thing. It did a great job of serving the fans. So many crowd pleasing moments! I was literally jumping and whistling when I was watching this film, literally. The third act is full of those moments. Those moments do come along with really good character background, a story and excitement. All of these do not make complete sense, but at least they weren't blant. And, many parts are quite nostalgic. It has tried it's best to give every character a proper arc. Performances are incredible. I didn't even hate Don Cheadle in this movie. On the whole, it was insanely entertaining and has ridiculous amount of great moments to say the least.

Mixed : It's not a spoiler to say it's a time travel film. While this plot device served a lot to give us a lot of crowd pleasing moments, each of which I really loved, the whole time travel part could've been even more epic and exciting than it was. There were parts in Infinity War where it jumped from plotline to plotline. This one does the same, but it looked more choppy here. Not necessarily a bad thing, a movie of this scale would have such problems. But it was a bit more distracting than before. I admit I liked many arcs given to the characters. But, they were still a bit illogical, in particular that of Steve Rogers. Many things were entertaining as hell, but still quite paradoxical.

Bad : It's a time travel movie. It generates a lot many plot holes and inconsistencies. It uses time travel as an excuse for getting certain things done. It has the most generic issues of a non sci-fi time travel movie. The timeline surely is messed up now. I don't know how the time travel in this universe works and how certain things were amended due to all of these time travelling stuffs. May be I will never know. And Thanos. He was treated more like a mustache twirling villain, rather than how he was in Infinity War. The way his character ended was the most disappointing part of the movie. It feels as if it tries to be as big as Infinity War while it clearly isn't.

Conclusion : You can and must watch this film. It's a film by the Russo Brothers, you can definitely count on them for an entertaining film, but this is perhaps their weakest film in the MCU. It isn't well paced as Infinity War is, but still gives all the moments you can wish for. Infinity War is a whole lot better than this film, but is still a worth watching flick. If you stop thinking about the inconsistencies time travel creates in this film, this will be a much better experience.

Rating.

Score : 8.9/10

Grade : A
29 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed