Checkmate (2015) Poster

(I) (2015)

User Reviews

Review this title
28 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Stupid plot, Stupid dialog, Disconnected sub-stories
LumpyMusic1 September 2015
This movie is almost worth watching just to see how ridiculously bad it is.

Every 3rd word or so is an F bomb. That wouldn't be a problem if there was some kind of reason for it or if it were in context. But it's not. It's like the director just said "Throw in a lot of F's just to shock the viewer".

Catholilc priest is a sniper hit-man. Seems totally out of context to the movie. But there doesn't seem to be much "context" to the movie at all anyway.

Two guys playing high stakes chess for some kind of document that might be something like "Immortality". The "Devil" guy that loses the game has thugs with guns that can't beat a chick with a samurai sword. So after those thugs get beat up he calls on his "back up thugs" which consists of people in bathing suits wearing devil Halloween masks. Needless to say the devil aspect has no context to the movie either.

Chick flies a Robinson helicopter with something like a sailboat tiller in reverse. Then in another shot she has some kind of steering wheel.

SWAT team...Couple dozen cops can't shoot a guy standing in the open on the roof. In all fairness, that guy, with his automatic sub-gun, can't hit any of the cops either. Cops fail to notice the bad guy sniper on the roof, the priest sniper in the building across the street nor the bad guy getaway van with two thugs parked in plain view.

None of the actors seemed like they had any lines. It's like some director grabbed anyone off the sound stage and said "OK, sit here, pick up the phone and say something like ""Put me through to Captain""..." The incorrect grammar in my above actual line was deliberate. It's the actual line.

If the acting had been great, it would almost be like a really good parody movie, like "Airplane" or "Police Story" one of the Mel Brooks movies. But the acting sucked. The technical believability sucked. The continuity sucked. And the actors all looked like someone they rounded up at the last minute and offered them lunch if they'd be in the movie.
39 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
WARNING!!...Do Not Touch
kmichaelpm3 September 2015
This rubbish is so bad that I was not going to write a review, as I did not think I would be able to put how bad it is into words.

However, I felt that it was important to warm my fellow humans, and so decided to try.

If I said that a bunch of schoolchildren could do better, I would be insulting all schoolchildren everywhere.

If you compared this rubbish to the first day of an acting school course, you would expect that the lecturer would have gone out the back and committed suicide half way through, just to avoid the second half. 80% of the dialogue consists of the word f#ck....and all it's derivatives.

Not only is there no story, but what there is is so confusing as to be a health hazard. Do not even look for acting. It simply is non existent. Please, do not be duped by the inclusion of Danny Glover and Vinnie Jones. At this point, moviegoers must accept that if either one or both of them are in a movie that it is a very good reason to avoid it at all costs. They are not even trying to hide the fact anymore that they are simply selling their names to absolute rubbish, and are quite happy to walk away with a fat cheque, and could not give a damn about their fans. It is truly sad.

Please....please...do not be tempted to spend hard earned cash on this tripe, just so these idiots can laugh all the way to the bank. You will never forgive yourself for wasting precious time and money on the worst trash ever to hit the screen.
30 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The bottomless pit.
nyrn3 September 2015
Unfortunately no amount of f-words can save this immature and epicly sad excuse of a movie. We all have to pay the rent, I get that. Sometimes it just hurts to watch it happen. Checkmate tries to be so bad-ass it falls flat on its face from the very first frame. Disconnected plot, no character development, crazy amount of cuss words, words of wisdom outtro etc. The turkeylist goes on. How did Glover and Aston even end up in this mess? I would seriously think a seventh grader could put together a more interesting script. This is by far the worst film I've seen the last 10 years. We're not talking funny bad here either. Low budget just got a new low - and I'm not even gonna comment on the girl with the samurai sword.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
waste of time, a mild expression, a choice 4 letter swear word could be used
elavigne78857 September 2015
Danny Glover, a good actor, many fine performances in the past, must be in need of money to associate his name with this piece of trash. I am sure this film will never be shown in any cinema, in any European country, the United States, Canada, Australia, etc. This is one of those films, here today,gone tomorrow, forget it ever existed. If this film is released on DVD, in your neighbourhood, avoid it like the plague. So far all the reviews, I have read, before my review, have stated similar reviews. Danny Glover, true, their may not be too many roles out in the film industry for you to star in, but do not perform in these type of films.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Took pains to register and comment
yaarodinamalar9 December 2015
**** The movie is plain awful **** It was on Netflix, saw Danny Glover and expected something. What an unbearable movie. Normally I read the reviews and STOP. I never like to post any commentary. This time, the movie was so horrible, I broke my promise to myself, created an Yahoo! ID, confirmed it and created the IMDb id, confirmed it and then typed it. I am so determined to post this so that no one goes through the horror of watching this movie. Waterboarding may not be this horrible. And what is with the F* bombs, is it supposed to make them look 'bad'. Their acting (or lack of that) ensures that they are bad. What a horrible piece of movie. They could have sent the money on this to some charity organization. Is this a piece done for some laundering ?
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I watched it for free and it wasn't worth the money.
thetaz0010 September 2015
I couldn't think of a good way to word it until I read what Author: LumpyMusic from Phoenix Arizona USA said. "Disconnected sub-stories" is the bottom line. One story two guys playing chess signing a document. Then their is the girl with the sword who fights everyone else with a sword or stick. Then you have the bank robbery with nothing but guns. I can't put two and two together and figure what they have in common. I thought with the popular cast members it would be a good A movie maybe even an A-. I was wrong, it wasn't even a good B movie. Are there such things as a C movie? Because if there is I wouldn't even give it a C. It get a big fat F from me for failed.
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A painfully bad standoff between terrible characters, and the only victim here is the audience.
quincytheodore4 September 2015
It's funny that the movie references chess for its title, because there's barely any hint of intelligent present. Ambitiously, it mixes many subplots and alternating timelines together even though Checkmate can't even get one perspective right. Underutilized actors, excessive amount of profanity and utter lack of logic make this movie into a terribly sketchy experience.

Story revolves around the events of a bank heist. Unlike recent thrillers where there's a clear plan, Checkmate goes old school with mask and gun through the front door. There are a lot of subplots slapped together for any dramatic effect. They can't all miss their marks, right? Sadly, and incredibly, they can.

It's nearly amazing that not one character feels believable. You have the sniper priest, desperate thugs, mafia kingpins and poor sick kid, all of which have zero on-screen credibility. The pacing is completely off, it might try to shift between different perspectives for better development, but the shoddy delivery only makes narrative worse.

Script is all kind of swearwords. The most used lines are variation of "F this, F that". I'm not kidding, it's literally repetition of F-bomb while a few of more notable actors like Danny Glover and Vinnie Jones spew gibberish from facebook cat poster or random quote book. You'll hear crude profanity or pretentious bible quote for the entire movie as well as screeching repetitive soundtracks.

Then, there's the problem of the logic. The robbers put on their mask on the step of the back where camera and witness might spot them. They voluntarily run away from cover and shoot a la Rambo. There are so many things wrong with the logic, but the movie just brushes it off as though audience wouldn't notice.

Checkmate plays with mindless plots and dribbling profanity. It's a chain of awful sequences thrown randomly together that deserves no viewing.
16 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't waste your time
hammer-400-40189919 July 2016
A B-grade movie and a bad one at that. The film obviously had a small budget and it showed.

The film lacked atmosphere. There was no ambiance of background sounds, noise etc. The scenes outdoors where far too quiet. Plus where is the public? There were no people seen in the background. Making the scenes look obvious they were filed in a studio (rather than on location).

And what's worse than the acting was the lack of basic FX. Wait, I change that, the acting was worse.

Don't waste one and half hours of your time watching this. That time is better spent watching the grass grow.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Director and Story writers are just STUPID
mloke22 September 2015
The story did not make any sense about what everybody was doing. Its like 4 independent plots no connection what so ever. I hope the guys/girls who wrote this story better stay away from writing. The director is another idiot did not know how to connect the plots. Yuck !!!!!!! Waste of my time. Whoever, invested the money should have been more careful and fire the entire staff and could have saved their money. May be the real reason to produce such movies is to loose money so that they can make some black money white. I have to go watch a good movie now so that I can clear my head. Stay away from this movie and save your time. I hope Hollywood would be careful stop such stupid movies in the future.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A movie with a great idea that ultimately did nothing with it. Very disappointing and hard to stay focused on.
cosmo_tiger7 September 2015
"The battle line between good and evil runs through the heart of every man." Six people are involved in a bank heist where one wrong move could be deadly. The criminals and the police all make strategic moves in hopes of ending the standoff and coming out on top. The longer the standoff goes on the greater the chance of disaster. This is a movie that had such a neat element to it that I thought this could be really neat. Essentially Glover and Jones play God and the Devil. Every move they make on the board affects how the events unfold. Unfortunately the idea was much much better than the movie. The movie really ran out of steam pretty quickly and became something that was way to slow and generic to stay focused on. Overall, a movie with a great idea that ultimately did nothing with it. Very disappointing and hard to stay focused on. The type of movie you forget as you are watching. I give this a C-.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Step away from the movie
dot900028 December 2015
I simply cannot put into words how absolutely, positively horrible this movie is. The acting is utterly laughable (and I don't mean in a cute, spoofy way), the scenes unbelievable and every other word is a swear. Police that can't contain a crime scene or shoot, robbers that don't rob and many hacked together scenes, all thrown in as if it was a pot of chicken soup and would somehow magically all turn out lovely and delicious in the end. It's too bad, this pot is full of inedible garbage that even the toughest iron gut would spew out immediately. I wondered if Danny Glover owed someone a favor and that's why he did this film. It's the only reason that makes any sense. Unfortunately, even he can't save this stinky bomb. Please don't waste your time on this one - it is truly too bad to describe.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
9:11
Darby222118 January 2016
That's the point to which I got in the movie - and the number I wanted to call to get me out of it.

After Sean Astin says, "Do you have something for me my son?" I had to give up. Sorry! That has to be one of the most clichéd things for a priest to say and was the last straw in about the shortest time I've ever given up on a movie. Please - if this movie got better around the 10:11 mark or so - please let me know and I'll give it another shot.

The acting looked sub par, the mood felt sub par, the dialogue didn't even MAKE IT to sub par. I've watched some of Sean's...shall we say...lesser works...("Adopting Terror" anyone?)...and managed to sit it through but this was abysmal.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
i want 90 minutes of my life back
paulgeite11 October 2015
I was under the impression that Aeon Flux was the worst film ever made until i watched this shambles of a movie. A good casting for an atrocious film. Weak plot line, far too many sub plots and although this was low budget, it could not have been worse if my 5 year old son had been responsible for writing it. The whole good versus evil aspect was far too over-exaggerated, and for actors like Jones and Glover, it was incredibly unconvincing.

To sum up, if you want to waste 97 minutes of your life on a film that has absolutely no place in the modern world, then watch this. However, if you have any brain cells and even a microscopic amount of intelligence then avoid this at all costs.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Absolute dog poop :P
ghomezanonimous3 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
see above :P Vinnie Jones is a nob Danny Glover clearly run out of all that lethal weapon cheddar must have been 'kin desperate to do this role - screenwriter must have been standing on chair with rope around his neck wen he wrote this crap - or should be for writing it - more ketchup than Heinz baked beans

Again, Vinnie Jones is a nob Danny Glover clearly run out of all that lethal weapon cheddar must have been 'kin desperate to do this role - screenwriter must have been standing on chair with rope around his neck wen he wrote this crap - or should be for writing it - more ketchup than Heinz baked beans
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Metaphysical fiction a la Night Gallery
logopolis15 December 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Einstein once said "God doesn't play dice", here God (Danny Glover ) plays chess with pure evil Lu (Vinnie Jones ) for the soul of a wayward priest (Sean Astin). Their chess board is projected into the real world as a neighborhood bank under siege. The chess pieces are projected into the real world as bank robbers (black) and bank customers (white). Pieces are moved and people perform actions. Pieces are captured and people die. Not a great movie but I'd give it a good C+. Lenses and sound are good, directing and cinematography are good. Dialogue and acting fair. I watched it, I liked it. I would have enjoyed it more if I had understood the purpose of the contest earlier.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Bad film you should watch
eddiewareing17 October 2016
I recommend watching this movie just so you can judge for yourself how bad it really is, five famous people in it but nobody did any good acting, that said, it had interesting ideas which kept my girlfriend and I watching it all the way through, I like how everything converged at the end but ultimately the bad acting ruined the entire movie.

Vinnie Jones does yet another bad film, Mischa Barton didn't do anything, Sean Astin was an interesting character but could have been better, Michael Pare hasn't improved since the eighties (loved Streets of Rage 1984) I got the impression the helicopter was the shadow of a cardboard cut out, I could go on but I think you need to see it for yourself, I gave it a 2 because it did keep me watching
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The worst movie ever!
Thewordsman7 October 2016
With so many stars in this movie, I expected far more than the awful spectacle I watched which can not be even remotely called a movie as a "movie" typically has a beginning building of the plot that is followed up with the action portion of the story line, filled with some sort of energy until the end which is supposed to be the grand finale.

I do not know how or why Danny Glover, Vinny Jones, or Sean Astin could every allow their names or reputation as "real" actors become sullied with this horrendous amateur production. I get the premise of God (or Good) triumphing over evil, but from beginning to the end of this so called the movie, it had absolutely no direction or real balance at all...I suppose that there must have been a reason that the stars of this movie allowed it to be released the way it was...all I can say it was the worst movie I have seen in years!!!! avoid it at all costs!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Very very very bad
uwe-0297710 December 2015
Danny Glover and Vinnie Jones, two of my favourite actors in a action movie. Wow i thought and really looked forward to enjoy the show. But it was a total disaster, the whole movie made no sense at all and certainly is one of the worse movies i have ever seen. As example: Couple dozen cops can't shoot a guy standing in the open on the roof and that guy, with his automatic sub-gun, can't hit any of the cops either. Basically the whole movie is like 4 independent movies no connection what so ever. I hope the people who wrote this story better stay away from writing Yes, i watched it until the end, hoping that it would get better. But at the finish line i realized that i just wasted 102 min of my life. Still can't believe that two movie start like glover and Jones put them self into this awful movie. But i guess times are bad and they needed the money.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Checkmate? I checked out after 45 minutes!
jsalern15 December 2015
You would think a movie with Danny Glover and Vinnie Jones would be worth a watch, right? WRONG! Not this flick! Wow, the dialogue was so bad, and not just badly written, but badly acted out too! Cringe- worthy! Every 3rd word is f***ing, and it grates on your nerves after about 10 minutes of it. The story is so discombobulated, it is so jumbled and contrived. It is like they tried way to hard to be a hipper version of a Tarantino flick. Way Way WAY too hard! I can't believe how many quality actors are in this movie, they should be ashamed! I couldn't even get to the finish, it was THAT BAD! What a waste of money! What a mess!!
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
SHALL INHERIT THE EARTH AND ALL CREATION FOR ALL ETERNITY...
nogodnomasters14 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The film opens with a bank robbery gone bad and two guys playing chess. It then goes back to "one day earlier." We now get to meet the characters, unfortunately they seemed stiff and unrealistic. Sean Astin plays a priest who is also a paid hitman for God and cites biblical verse, but alas, after seeing Samuel L. Jackson do it, nobody does it better. During the bank robbery, where we now are introduced to a few of the characters, there is a chess game going on between Elohim (Danny Glover) and Lu (Vinnie Jones) for dominion over everything for all time. As the game goes back and forth, so does the robbery, sort of, but it wasn't overly apparent.

If you are going to make an Ingmar Bergman film, on a modern JOB, do it right. The plot and dialogue wasn't that good. Sean Astin reciting biblical verse while aiming a gun wasn't convincing with a dry delivery. (I blame the director for that. I respect Sean too much.) The chess match going back and forth with each man smiling with every move grew old. Lu had trouble with the Queen's pawn power opening and knew better to even wager at that point. I did like the bar/men's room scene and would have liked to have seen more scenes like that, but unfortunately they had dry characters they needed to introduce. And you would think the lord God himself would come up with a more clever name for a girl with a Katana (Katrina Law) other than Katana. Great concept. Bad execution.

Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not worth checking out
TheLittleSongbird18 September 2018
Did not want to dislike 'Checkmate'. It was not a bad, if not new, premise and Danny Glover and Vinnie Jones have given dependable performances in the past. It had potential to work, and would have done with effort being obvious and like those in front of and behind the camera had their hearts in it.

Neither of which can be seen with 'Checkmate', something that is really quite unforgivable. Have seen worse films, recently and ever, but that doesn't stop 'Checkmate' from being a very poor film with no redeeming traits and a lot of things done absolutely terribly. There is not much to add to what has been said very well already and the review is at the risk of repeating what has been said. Just for the record, 'Checkmate' was watched with an open mind and not without the intent or want to dislike, let alone hate, the film, quite the contrary.

'Checkmate's' best performance comes from Sean Astin who actually does try, but it is a case of trying too hard that it grates somewhat.

This cannot be said for Glover, who is very wooden (like he was in 'Toxin') and like he didn't want to be there, this is one uncomfortable and half-hearted effort from him. Even Jones phones in and seems well past his sell by date. In all fairness the characters are clichéd and are never engaging or easy to get behind, didn't care or endear to any of them. The chemistry is static, likewise with the barely existent direction. The script is from start to finish is a cringe, weep and toe curl-fest.

Furthermore, the story has no tension or suspense whatsoever, is very lifelessly paced and executes a not particularly new if intriguing idea with no imagination or originality. Basically non-stop indifferent dullness and predictability that takes itself far too seriously to be fun. 'Checkmate' has a very dreary, one-note and less than slick visual style with well below average visuals and no attempt at authenticity. The sound is monotonous and over obvious.

In conclusion, awful with a noticeable lack of effort. 1/10 Bethany Cox
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible is an understatement!
wrhc-4783427 February 2018
HORRIBLE movie! The writers of this movie are terrible and absolutely and totally untalented. I wasted an hour and a half of my life I can never get back. Every other word is the "F" word! That is not an exaggeration. I would suspect the "F" word is used no less than 300 times during this movie, with every sentence including that one vulgar word. Even without the vulgarities and foul language, the movie is terrible. I can't believe that some typically good actors participated in this horrific movie. A complete and total disappointment is an understatement. Do NOT waste your time watching this.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Good Lord I have never seen such trash
usarmyeret13 October 2017
At 62 years old and a movie fan, I thought I had seen it all. In all of my life I have never witnessed such a piece of crap. We laughed all of the way though the movie, the acting, the plot (or lack of), the so called police, just incredibly stupid. I told my wife that Danny Glover was in the movie so I thought it would be okay. I am not sure what is going on with Danny Glover but he sold his soul to the devil (no pun intended). I am very happy I did not pay for this. If I had went to a theater to see it (I do not think it would have ever been allowed in a pay theater), I would have demanded my money back, and very loudly and publicly. I cannot believe that anyone who worked in or on this movie could possibly have thought it was any good at all. Pathetic, just pathetic.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Do not waste your time
d_imdb-15527 August 2017
Probably the worst film I have ever seen. Fox movies obviously does not care what s**t they offer, glad I do not pay for this. Its an ideal film for Vinny Jones, just where bad actors belong. Someone should take a class action against producers for inflicting this on the public. As pointed out, the script could have been better written by a 10 yr old and it would have been better than this diarrhea
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
What the hell did I just watch?
svenjergensen29 March 2017
I try not to post anything bad about movies. If a movie is bad I move on and don't waste my time. But... DEAR GOD, Danny Glover, how can you have fallen this far? What happened? What wrong turns have been made? I can't even begin to explain the poor quality of this movie. Nothing about it makes any sense. The director tries to do some kind of "Crash" thing where he shows a bunch of random people and how random events bring them all together. But God and the Devil are playing chess (randomly) Then there's a standoff, and then there's a chick with a sword. I have no idea what the hell is going on. And literally everything; the camera work, costumes, acting, editing, all of it, are terrible. This gets 2 stars only because Birdemic is a thing, and I can at least say this isn't THE worst movie ever made.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed