Hello, My Name Is Doris (2015) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
83 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Sally Field. You still got it, girl!
subxerogravity19 March 2016
I like it, I really really liked it!

Academy Award winner, Sally Field proves that she still has the charm and charisma at this stage in life, to headline a young hip movie.

Fields plays, Doris, a seasoned Staten Islander working in accounts at a young trendy business, who develops a crush on the new Art Director who sparks the young at heart feeling Doris needed after spending her youth taking care of a ill mother.

It's a very realistic look at what it's like for someone who has an age difference form the rest of their co workers.

Sally Field was great to look at. She brings that old school class of acting to a new style of film making. Field brings a lot of respect to Doris, that makes you feel for the character and connect with what she's going through as she pursues her much younger love interest.

It's familiar and refreshing all at the same time. A funny and enjoyable must see film.
62 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A funny & moving romantic comedy, that deals more with self discovery than the pursuit of love itself. Field is great.
cosmo_tiger12 May 2016
"She's definitely weird, but like a good weird." Doris Miller (Field) has just lost her mother and reason for living. She isn't sure what to do now, stuck in a job and spending her nights with her friend Roz and Vivian. One day while heading to work she sees John (Greenfield) and everything changes. She falls in love with him and wants to find the courage to talk to him. Little by little Doris opens up and finds her confidence, and begins to find herself again. This is a movie that flips the norm on its head. This movie deals with an older woman trying to pursue a younger man. Sally Field gives one of her best performances to date and really plays this character perfectly. You feel sorry for her but not to the point of pity, and really root for her but also cringe a few times at her actions. This is at its core a funny and moving romantic comedy, but it deals more with self discovery than the pursuit of love itself. That is refreshing to see and because of that it actually felt fresh. Overall, just a really nice movie with a great performance by Sally Field. I give this a B.
28 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A truly pleasing film...
soupster15 May 2016
I want to write a fair, balanced, impartial and pertinent review of this film... but it's difficult.

The problem is... it's near perfect. It is clever and inventive in it's conception, beautifully constructed and crafted in it's form, musically enchanting... and importantly... not infested with formulaic Hollywood nonsense.

The actors do everything that is expected of them, (and more in the cases of Sally Field and Tyne Daily), there is zero CGI... and the swearing is limited (and confined) to the sort of swearing real people engage in. Healthy, gutsy, robust 'effing' and blinding. Also... no swords, elves, planets or vampires intrude on the fun.

We all have our own preferences when it comes to entertainment I like my music intricate and embracing, I like my novels to be difficult to define... and I like my films to be addictive... (at least for the duration of the film). I like to know I will definitely watch it again...and that I will laugh and care the same way I did the first time around.

A truly pleasing film. I'm in my sixties too... Sally Field is 'effing' gorgeous.
53 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sally Field's role works on so many levels
lee_eisenberg1 April 2016
Sally Field gets the role of a lifetime as a hoarder working in a trendy office who has the hots for a younger employee. One of the best things about "Hello, My Name Is Doris" is that it shows how Doris is sort of an oddball and can irritate those around her, but is nonetheless a good person. She was the only sibling who took care of their mom. Basically, Doris wants to stick to her house and possessions, and their representation of the old days amid a world that advances too quickly for her, and her attraction to this younger man is the only possible sexual satisfaction for her. Most of all, it's refreshing to see a movie that focuses on older women (aside from Doris, there's her friend Roz, played by Tyne Daly). One of the most impressive scenes is when Doris gets photographed (and believe me, Sally Field looks sexy in some of those outfits that she wears).

The long and short of it is that "Hello, My Name Is Doris" is a really good movie. Sally Field has gotten some of the best roles of her career later in life, and I hope that she continues to do so. She, Tyne Daly, and the rest of the cast put in fine performances. I recommend this movie to everyone.
49 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Unassuming, genuinely flying under the radar
rzajac11 June 2016
This is a great example of ultrafine filmmaking that simultaneously courts convention, and then proceeds to transcend it.

It starts up as straight-up storytelling bolstered by a focus on character/scenario development, and winds up being quite close to mythic. Doris starts out as a "character", but ends up as a goddess. That's a laudable achievement for film.

This flick, more than many, gets my inner wheels turning, pondering the production process that brought together so many fine talents to produce such a fine film product. After watching so many hi-tech, meticulous productions that skimp on narrative/mythic depth, it's nice to see a mid-tech product that really does deliver the goods.

Check it out.
23 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Showcase for Sally Field
dglink22 March 2016
Norma Rae, Edna Spalding, Mrs. Gump, Mary Todd Lincoln, and Doris Miller. Sally Field's most recent role, Doris Miller, is a worthy addition to her amazing gallery of film performances, given since she emerged as Gidget a half century ago. An eccentric, lonely woman of advancing years, Doris has sacrificed her life to care for her now-deceased mother. Mother and daughter have evidently been hoarders, and Doris's brother and sister-in-law eagerly want her to clean up and clear out, because they want to sell the Staten Island house. Meanwhile, Doris fixates on John Fremont, a much younger man, who is the new art director in her Manhattan office, and, inspired by a motivational speaker named Willy Williams and by countless bodice-busting romance novels, she decides to pursue romantic involvement with the good looking young guy. While "Hello, My Name is Doris" plays out somewhat predictably, the film provides a showcase for Sally Field in yet another Oscar-worthy performance.

In the hands of a less gifted actress, Doris could have been little more than a caricature; a bespectacled woman who wears wigs, has a large bow in her hair, decorates her cubicle with cat calendars, and lives alone in a cluttered house with a cat. However, Fields brings restraint and depth to the character, and she convincingly conveys the shy woman's re-emergence from a decades-long cocoon. Although her pursuit of the young man borders at times on cringe worthy, Fields manages to retain her dignity and audience sympathy. Fremont, played by Max Greenfield, who is about three decades younger than Fields, kindly returns Fields's overtures of friendship, but fails to grasp that she wants more than he is prepared to offer. Doris's "Walter Mitty" like day dreams about Fremont are often amusing, but her foray into Facebook stalking takes a dark, unsavory turn.

The supporting cast is good, although none overshadow Field's star turn. Greenfield is fine as Doris's fantasy-love interest, and Tyne Daly is her usual tough-shell warm-inside self as Doris's best friend and confidante. Peter Gallagher nails the Willy Williams part and actually imparts some helpful, if clichéd advice to Doris. Directed and co-written by Michael Showalter, "Hello, My Name is Doris" may have been intended as a fantasy- exploitation film for older women, who seem to dominate the movie's audiences. Generally, May-December romances involve older men with younger women, and Field herself starred in one such film, "Murphy's Romance" with James Garner, although the age difference in that film disappeared through the stars' chemistry. However, the chemistry fails to develop herein, and Doris and John reverse the gender/age roles, which places them close to Harold and Maude, a possible turn off for some viewers. Nevertheless, the exceptional performance by Sally Field is well worth seeing and the proceedings are often amusing, even if a few scenes between her and Greenfield may make some uncomfortable.
33 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The healing of a woman's soul
cuiml828 March 2016
There's so much more to this than just an older woman falling for a younger man. Doris' life had been cut off as a young woman when she was needed to take care of her ailing mother. Upon her death, she returns to where she left off in her youth. She doesn't really have any other reference than that which she felt like as a young woman in love, and never was given the opportunity to pursue those feelings. That's is Doris' starting point and her return to herself. It's beautiful and Sally Field and Max play it beautifully as well as the other actors. Tyne Daly is at her best.

This is really a wonderful movie. It really keeps you thinking and your heart aching for Doris and cheering her on!
40 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
"Nobody's perfect."
ReadingFilm3 June 2019
The romance novels prime demographic are the middle aged women for fantasy insert. As the cringe here is 'look don't touch', a cultural etiquette; we trade our youth to allow them their own. Then its violation of the code is unbearable, which is the perfect ingredient for subversive comedy. "Are we friends or lovers." It puts out that with human connection there is no difference. By extension it's not love v friendship but reality v. fantasy. Boundaries don't exist here--which is dangerous societally but wonderful cinematically. See how Doris is already this aged Minnie Mouse. In any other film 'Uncle Frank' might be a responsible consolation. Subversion. The film is in love with Sally Field the way she's in love with John. Then its most inspired and self-aware moment, it pulls her from the crowd seeing some iconic Warholian effect in her for an album cover: Sally Field was discovered in both worlds. Peter Gallagher is still quoting the ridiculous affect of his real estate king saying fantasy is reality. He's right, they're in a movie. The 'never ever' game juggles its narrative in layers of truth showing hidden lives outside the norm are everywhere even in fiction. Often films show the consequence of the artless, here, hoarding, as art needs both instigation and sacrifice. "I'm disappointed in you" it's as shameful as art's effect is enlightening. See how art achieves the impossible bridging the generations. It's art's fault removing them from comfort as art by its very nature is the same subversion of her loving outside her age bracket. "Love makes you do crazy things." Art is craziness itself. Subversion dismounts every norm. The therapists and friends are the broccoli-reality fighting the movie, the movie wins. A deleted scene: "I became aware of how often I've been performing my femininity." Yes, once again this is about boundaries and identity; her job is arbitrary and meaningless, she is in this useless post-modern quandary, lost and adorably useless. Lastly, the end is some kind of genius showing how to rewrite an entire picture to save it from itself; my instinct was that it was found in the edit, which sure enough was confirmed in the commentary: "We had many different versions of it and needed something satisfying, but believable, and surprising." It happens so quickly and unexpectedly it leaves some great impression even if it doesn't fully account for it, but there reflects the classic screwball comedies; aligning both its feminism and its fantasy. It chose fantasy because cinema is a fantasy, because Sally Field is Doris Day, because nothing is im-possible and aren't movies great. Even those doses of reality it straddles are completely powerless to the magic of movies as the its conclusive subversive force.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Get ready to cringe.
j_stromoski2 April 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Sally Field does the best job in the world with a terrible character that should not be the lead focus of a movie. A lot of people will probably say that Field's character was "charming" or "eccentric", but I'm 100% creeped out by this woman. Nearly every choice this woman makes in this movie is wrong. She manipulates situations to wiggle her way into a young man's life to try and seduce him. Putting aside the role is a harmless old lady played by innocent-looking Sally Field, if the script was flipped the movie would be even more unappealing. Imagine Burt Reynolds hitting on Anna Kendrick...precisely.

From the word "Go" she lies about who she is, what she likes, even orchestrating a pseudo-sexual situation where he needs to fill her ball with his pump. Yeah, that happens. Doris is so obsessed with this man that she stoops to making a fake profile on Facebook to try and get information on him. She stalks him to a concert, follows him around when he's on a date, then later she uses her fake profile to sabotage the relationship he's in.

And the ending, my God. What a vague message, what a pointless moral, what an unlikely unfolding of events considering the context of everything that happened prior. The writers and director actually suggest that despite her sabotage, her lying, the massive age difference and over-all questionable mental health of this woman, the young man actually wants her. Just an example of how this movie allows itself to suspend reality for the sake of lame humor and weak story. People don't talk the way that people in this movie talk, the whole story is so far-fetched, and the supporting cast might as well be magic 8-balls since their only function is to be as mildly amusing as possible while the main characters bounce dialogue off of them. If you're old, you might like it slightly, if you're not, then definitely not.
70 out of 111 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
"Impossible? Make that I'm possible!"
gradyharp17 June 2016
Need a feel good movie? This little sentimental but funny and ultimately emotionally satisfying film is the work of Laura Terruso (form her previous short film 'Doris & The Intern') and Michael Showalter who also directs. The story at times becomes exasperating because of the failure of the main character to step out of her old backward ways in dress and behavior and join the contemporary times, but it also s a reminder of how aging people define their world and their entrapment in it.

Doris (Sally Field) is a 60-something woman who passed up an engagement early in life to remain with her mother on Staten Island. At the opening of the film we witness the funeral of the deceased mother with the emotionally impaired Doris struggling with her brother (Stephen Root) and sister in law (Wendy McLendon-Covey) over who should get the full of junk and memories house in which Doris lives and commutes by Ferry to Manhattan every day where she works in a small tacky cubicle. Doris meets John (Max Greenfield) on the elevator and immediately feels electricity despite the fact that the very young John is not in her range of relationships. Through a series of discussions with Doris' best friend Roz (Tyne Daly) and daughter Vivian (Isabella Acres) as well as a meeting with a self-help guru (Peter Gallagher) Doris attempts to court John, even to the extent of attending a punk rock party and other failed attempts and finally has to face the fact that john is only a friend (despite many hilarious fantasies of possible love affairs).

Sally Fields is consistently terrific though her grossly absurd costumes grow tiresome and make us realize how futile is her true attempt to woo John. The film does focus on aging people and their problems assimilating with the young millennials and in the midst of this is a solid core of respect for the need of the lonely partnerless person. It just goes on a bit long. Grady Harp, June 16
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Very sad drama movie
angeladg-4423723 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I thought this was a comedy. Turned out it was very sad and kept me up all night as I was so upset about this poor old lady being in humiliating situations so many times. I found it to be a heartbreaking movie that made it appear as though love between an older lady and a younger man could not be possible. The old lady was very attaching and I loved her. She played her role beautifully. I just do not see what is funny about this movie, unless you like to laugh at vulnerable old ladies.
16 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
stop with all the finger wagging
marfrie5610 April 2016
So you think Sally Field doesn't look hot, or does look hot, or the male lead (name escapes me) is hot, isn't hot, or what is a 60something year old doing, fantasizing and pursuing a 30something year old. These actors are people, and their fictional characters are people within the confines of the story. They weren't made for you. There are billions of people in the world - each with his/her own story, also not made for you. You have your own story, and have done things in your life that someone else might wag their finger at and declare, "inappropriate!" (and if not you've had an incredibly boring life and it's time to get out there and get one)

Go ahead and make these judgments if you must. You're not the ultimate judge of what's hot and what's not, what's appropriate and what's cringe-worthy. Part of the "lesson" of the movie turned out to be that such prejudices can interfere with living a full life and prevent you from exploring all the avenues that may present themselves to you.

Wife and I enjoyed the movie very much.

Doris reminded me of my own mom, who was "hot" and effervescent, and who was named, Doris. I went to see it for that very reason, and I was rewarded by a beautiful and interesting movie, with many other aspects beyond whether the characters were hot and whether their behavior was age-appropriate.
25 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Girls Night Out
ferguson-618 March 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Greetings again from the darkness. Hollywood has long ignored the pushback on its habit of casting younger women as the love interest of older men. In most of those movies, the relationships are treated as normal and expected. In the few movies that turn the tables, a relationship between an older woman and younger man is typically treated as either comedy or scandal … consider Harold and Maude (1971) and Notes on a Scandal (2006). In this latest film, writer/director Michael Showalter (The Baxter) and co-writer Laura Terruso strive to balance heartfelt emotions with situational laughs.

Sally Field returns to leading lady status as Doris, a never-married frumpy accountant in her late 60's who has been living in her childhood home whilst caring for her ailing mother … hoarding everything from magazines to packaged food seasoning to a single water ski. The film begins with the open casket funeral of Doris' mom, and we see her brother (Stephen Root) and his obnoxious and rude wife (Wendi McLendon) immediately pounce on Doris to clear out the clutter and sell the house. They even set her up with a hoarder specialist/therapist (Elizabeth Reaser) who finds the case quite challenging.

The real fun in the movie begins with a close encounter in the office elevator, when Doris and her cat-eye glasses come face to face with a handsome and charming young man who offers up a compliment – something Doris rarely experiences. Of course, a few minutes later, we learn the young man is John (Max Greenfield, "New Girl"), the new artistic director in Doris' office. For years, Doris has depended upon cheesy romance novels to supply the fantasy in her life, and now the lessons from that reading kick into full gear.

It's a night out with her best friend Roz (Tyne Daly) that results in a chance interaction with a cocky motivational speaker (Peter Gallagher) whose catchphrase is "Every week has seven days. None of them are named Someday". He leaves Doris with this thought: "Impossible means I'm possible". When combined with those romance novels, Doris now sees a realistic chance for love if she pursues the man of her dreams … the aforementioned (and half her age) John.

With the help of Roz' teenage granddaughter (Isabella Acres), Doris learns how to Facebook stalk, and soon enough ends up at a concert with John's favorite techno band, Baby Goya and Nuclear Winters (led by Jack Antonoff of Fun.). John and his group of hipster friends are enamored with Doris' vintage clothes and quirky sense of style and speech. She soon finds herself posing in spandex for Baby Goya's album cover, going to dinner parties, and joining a rooftop knitting group of millennials.

Judging by the boisterous laughing by women in the theatre, this is a prime "GNO" flick for women of all ages. Most of the comedic situations seemed pretty obvious and predictable, and I found some traits of Doris to be less than appealing. However, as a statement on what happens when the outside world passes by, and generational gaps become almost impossible to bridge, the film makes a bold statement on real friendship between mature women. It poses the question, what determines whether a personal awakening is real or imagined?

Sally Field (turning 70 in 2016) gives a terrific performance, and it goes much deeper than someone who puts her reading glasses on top of her regular glasses and wears giant bows in her giant hairpiece. Ms. Field has excelled in such previous work as "Sybil" (1975), Norma Rae (1978), Places in the Heart (1983), and Lincoln (2011). She understands comedy and human drama, and as Doris … you'll kind of like her. You'll really kind of like her!
32 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Hello, this movie wasn't a comedy
hoffmanaz6 April 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I can't see why so many people liked this movie. There were far more depressing scenes than comedic ones. The plot wavered between absurdity and sadness. There is the scene where the rock star says Doris would be ideal for the cover of his next album, and his photographer agrees with every other word an f-bomb. This is followed by a scene where Doris poses for the album cover in some very un-Doris like poses. Then--nothing. We don't see where this interesting if improbably story line went, because it went nowhere. Also unsatisfying were the stereotypical portrayals of young New Yorkers as shallow and uninformed, Doris rather like Peter Sellars in "Being There," soaking up all their trivial comments.

But worst of all is the ending (I clicked "Spoiler Alert" above) which is so illogical it made no sense. Logic would have suggested that John and Brooklyn reconcile after Doris confesses she sent the nasty Facebook posting. Instead, John declares he really likes older women and gives Doris a big smooch. Really? There were several scenes, mainly earlier in the film, where Doris fantasizes about John loving her, and the penultimate scene in the film is one of those fantasies, replaced by a "reality" where John says he really likes her. Another fantasy? This is the worst relationship/comedy since "Grandma."
32 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I don't know if some just didn't get the movie...
Dragoneyed36312 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
It's fine if you didn't enjoy it, to each their own, but I find it highly implausible to call the main character a "creep" or talk about how she's morally corrupt. Come on. This movie is about how all people yearn for human connection, and it's not like Doris is present day Hitler. Sally Field plays an elderly woman who is very reserved and lonely to an extent, like all of us. The film mostly tries to convey how all people deserve love and care, even estranged elderly women, and it does so in a very fun and lighthearted manner, in my opinion.

Yes, Doris makes decisions that seem lacking in good character. She steals small items and stalks the man she is infatuated with, among other things. Do these actions make her unlikable as a person though? No. She is inherently a sweet and endearing woman with enjoyable characteristics. One of the best scenes is when she buys a CD just to get closer to her young crush and ends up actually enjoying the music and having a good time listening to it. She just wants to be loved, and damn it all I loved her to a tee. Sally Field fills the part wonderfully and creates a very enjoyable persona, after seeing the movie I don't see anyone that could have pulled it off more swimmingly.

This movie had me in sheer gut-busting laughter at a couple of scenes actually. I speak of Doris's long daydreams into her heartthrob of a co-worker on a daily basis. Had me rolling on the floor! And for a large portion of the movie, I was sporting a large grin on my face. It's very feel good, even in the most morose moments of the film. Sally Field steals the show obviously, but Max Greenfield is positively charming in the supporting role and seems very comfortable on screen with Field and all of their scenes are believable and work in the sense that you can feel Doris's aching need for love and above all, just attention. It's very moving and sweet.

Also, Greenfield is incredibly good looking and I don't see how someone could pass up being obsessed over those eyes, smile and body anyway. I can not blame Doris, at all. Altogether, Hello My Name is Doris was a wonderful ride. I had fun with it, and thought most everything about the movie was genuinely charming and heartwarming.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
"Impossible? I'm possible!"
paul-allaer20 March 2016
"Hello, My Name Is Doris" (2015 release; 90 min.) brings the story of Doris (played by Sally Field). As the movie opens, we see Doris mourning the passing of her mom, and being pressured by her brother to sell the maternal house, or at least get rid of all the stuff Doris is hoarding. It's not long before we see Doris doing her daily work commute on the Staten Island Ferry to Manhattan, and in the packed elevator onto the office, she is pressed up against a younger guy, who turns out to be the new art director at her work. Doris promptly develops a crush on him. At this point we're 10 minutes or so into the movie, but to tell you more would spoil your viewing experience, you'll just have to see for yourself how it all plays out.

Couple of comments: this rom-com is directed by Michael Showalter, best known for writing and starring in the "Wet Hot American Summer" film (and subsequent Netflix prequel series). Here, he tackles the subject of the older woman-younger guy potential relationship with a light touch. The first half of the movie goes for the outright comedy aspects, as we see the Sally Filed character in a number of improbable (including some brought as fantasy) scenes, to the total delight of last night's theater crowd, which went absolutely wild with laughter (more on that later). At some point, Doris and her friend Roz go to see a motivational speaker, where she confides about her 'impossible' crush on her co-worker. "Impossible? Make that I'm possible!" advises the speaker, ha! The second half of the movie goes more into more serious aspects, including surprisingly but very effectively the hoarding issues (the hoarding "intervention" scene is for me the best of the entire movie). Sally Field, now a crisp 69 years young, brings a stellar performance as the perky Doris, completely blowing away Max Greenfield (exactly half her age) as her co-worker John, Beth Behrs (as John's possible flame), and the rest of the cast. Tyne Daly as her friend Roz remains feisty as ever, The movie is well paced, and clips by in no time. There is a surprising amount of great indie music featured in the movie, including from Pearl and the Beard, Bryan Wells, and a bunch of other unknowns (to me anyway).

"Hello, My Name Is Doris" made quite a splash when it was first shown at SXSW 2015, yes exactly a year ago already, Not sure why it's take this long for it to get a general release. The movie opened this weekend on a single screen for all of Greater Cincinnati, and the Saturday evening screening where I saw this at was absolutely packed to the rafters (tilting heavily towards seniors, I might add). The audience absolutely LOVED the movie, laughing out loud, hooting and hollering where you might expect it, and giving a round of applause when the end titles started rolling. From that reaction, I'd say that this movie has all the makings of a solid hit on the art-house theater circuit. If you are in the mood for a light-hearted rom-com that at times touches on some serious aspects as well, you cannot go wrong with this.
27 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A sweet little film
preppy-327 August 2016
Sally Field plays Doris. She's a woman in a dead end job who has spent her whole life caring for her mom. Now her mom is dead and her mean brother and equally vicious wife want her to move out of the house she spent her whole life in. Then a handsome young man named John (Max Greenfield) starts at her work. She falls for him quickly. Problem is he's young enough to be her son! She tries to get him ignoring her best friend (Tyne Daly) who tries to talk sense to her. It has a realistic if bittersweet ending.

Mild but sweet comedy/drama. It treats the character of Doris with respect. It never makes fun or her or shows her as being pathetic. It's never laugh out loud funny but I was smiling more than once. Field is great (as always) in her role. Daly matches her but is sadly underused. Even more underused is Greenfield who is just called upon to stand around looking handsome and grinning endlessly. Also his character is a bit too saint-like for me. Still I like the movie. It's sweet and charming. Rated R only for some language.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Looking for love at any age
Quietb-129 March 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Sally Field carries this small movie on her back. She is in every scene and makes this movie work. It looks like it was shot on a cel phone and the lack of budget shows on the screen. There's an interesting use of music.

Sally Field's gives new meaning to a cougar. She goes after the young man. The most amusing things on the screen are in her head.

Some may find this looking for love in all the wrong places depressing. It is a small movie that doesn't need to be seen on the big screen. Sally Field's performance makes it watchable, especially on a home platform.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Everyone murdered it...
MrMcMurphy1 July 2016
... especially Field.

I'm a 34 year-old straight male that loves me some Jason Bourne, and this movie.

If I hadn't seen Field in other roles, I would have sworn that they found Doris, and wrote a movie around her. Field gave me several "in awe moments," as in, "I can't believe this is the same Sally Field I've seen in vastly different roles. The mannerisms, the reactions, the surprise. Her talent was entertaining in itself.

Everyone else was exceptional too.

And the writing was exquisite. I'm an uber-cinephile, and it takes an original story with clever inflection points to keep my attention. Of course we can all guess certain inevitabilities, but it's HOW they're handled that makes the story. Clichés that you know a mile away, how they are going to unfold, make me throw up in my mouth. With this movie, you're like, "HOW is this going to unfold?"

Fantastic.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Heartbreaking painful story
masongeddy24 March 2016
This is perhaps the most painful and heartbreaking film I've ever seen.

I am giving mention to absolutely realistic, extraordinary acting of Sally Field. Her portrayal of a miserable, suffocating life of tragic starvation for love and of lost opportunity, is so realistic.

The heart of the film is painful, real life stuff, and the comedy, while quite funny at times earlier in the film before I realized what a story of pain this is, seems inappropriate to the real mood and message of the film. Because it is a story of misery and emotional starvation, the sorrow and anguish of which is so well portrayed. This film was sold, reviewed, and marketed as a comedy.

One could say the film accurately portrays schizoid personality disorder caused by generational abuse and dysfunction. The crushing misery of isolation, emotional dysfunction, and failed parentage that the character portrayed. This film is a story of a person who was severely let down by society, by everyone around her, by her own brother, and above all by her mother, and by all the rest of her family. This film is a story that I believe happens too often in real life in the real world.
32 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
This is a disturbing movie
mks09915 June 2016
I agree with the naysayers about this movie being bothersome on so many levels. It is. Yes, the acting is great but the plot is dark, sad, depressing and actually kind of gross. I did feel very emotional at the blow out between brother and sister. I felt so sorry for the character and it explained a lot. I was also happy to see that Doris had a kind friendship in her life.

This movie has some great acting, true but the film is tragically sad, and sick in my opinion. I agree with the poster who said the movie would not be cute if you knew people in life that are like her in real life. I agree this movie is not a comedy at all. I never laughed once during the entire movie. If you like dark, sad, tragic movies about dysfunction then yes maybe you will like it.
16 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A delightful Must-See Movie
DeltaNu22 March 2016
This movie is absolutely delightful (and that is not a word I regularly use for anything). I enjoyed every moment of it and based on the laughs, sighs, and "oh no, don't do that"'s I heard, the rest of the audience did as well.

It's a coming of age story with an extremely late bloomer as the main character. We're all used to young teenagers acting irrationally around their crushes and may even remember our own embarrassing missteps. Now picture a hilariously kooky Sally Field going through the same motions while being advised by a 13 year old and you have "Hello, My Name Is Doris".

Most of the audience members seemed to be upwards of 50, but anyone old enough for romance can relate to the story. In fact, Sally Field's age almost doesn't matter - it's only an extra obstacle she has to overcome while wooing her crush (and there are many). All of her personal struggles make sense for someone her age and with her background, but could also apply to someone in their 30s.

The whole cast is amazing and there is great chemistry between Max Greenfield and Sally Field (who is absolutely stunning). I also enjoyed seeing Tyne Daly as the best friend and hating Wendi McLendon-Covey as the pushy, uncaring sister-in-law.

While the expression "roller-coaster of emotions" is a bit cliché, it definitely fits in this case. There are some powerful moments that bring on the feels as well as many laugh-out-loud ones. This is one of the best movies I've seen in a long time and 10/10 hardly seems enough. If you like coming-of-age stories, then this is a Must See for sure!
16 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
What a waste of sweet Sally Field
mltully15 September 2016
If Sally had been a fellow and Max Greenfield female, they would've ended up in bed in the first 15 minutes. Reversed, Sally ends up not winning the boy, but also essentially jobless and homeless. It went from a sweet, funny escapade into something that had me seeing Sally's character sitting on a scrap of cardboard outside a subway station. The movie basically tells the world that women who have no spouse or children and are over the age of 50 need to drop off the planet as quickly and quietly as possible. Again, if the lead were a man, there would've been sex, then a dear farewell to the young protégé and off they go into the world. Forget about it.
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
An amusing and quirky movie
edohanclasen9 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I really enjoyed watching this film.

Reading the synopsis beforehand I expected it to be kind of a low budget comedy with lots of corny, expected jest of a old lady trying to allure a younger man. Although the movie did have some of these elements, it beautifully dramatized the life of Doris Miller (Sally Field) in a way one can relate to.

The age difference between Doris and John Fremont (Max Greenfield, an actor I have been fond of since I saw him as Schmidt in New Girl) is portrayed in a very unique way. In particular the film exploited the almost ridiculousness of modern 'hipster' notions. In several scenes Doris is sketched as a real-life thrift shop and the mere fact that Doris is old attracts and amuses Fremont and his friends.

Apart from the main plot that follows Doris' attempts to impress Fremont, it also has some deep character development in Doris. Overcoming her mother's death (Doris took care of her for several years) and having to get rid of some of her mom's belongings, and at the same time handle her demanding siblings, Doris discovers that there is several things in her life that makes her unhappy. While in this turmoil with Fremont it also helps her overcome this personal problems.

I would recommend this film to anyone looking for an easy-watching, congenial and relaxing comedy that is not the same as the normal slapstick, predictable comedies doing the rounds nowadays.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious feel-good film for all ages
pyotr-320 March 2016
This movie is the ultimate New York City life film and it is a great date film! Sally Field & Max Greenfield are both perfectly cast as an older woman and the young man she becomes smitten with. Field really does deserve another Academy Award for this fantastic performance. Comedic acting of this high caliber is not easy and is rarely found, and she uses her drama chops here, too. Just brilliant.

I found that this film left me feeling very good about life. It doesn't matter what happens in the end, the people we meet along the way can help bring us back to life and that is a good thing. Tyne Daly and Natasha Lyonne are also terrific in their roles. The entire cast shines. As does the City of New York itself.

I think everyone will leave the theater with a smile in their heart.
13 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed