Transparent (TV Series 2014–2019) Poster

(2014–2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
108 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
"Transparent?" Should Have Been Called "Annoyingchildren"
pfogertyca18 January 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I imagine this series received critical acclaim and garnered the Golden Globe for Best Television Series because of its groundbreaking subject matter. It is groundbreaking and it does deal with topics rarely seen on the small screen. But leaving behind its envelope pushing and taking it simply as a drama (it's not a comedy at all, even though it won in the Comedy category), Transparent fails on a number of levels.

Series creator and writer Jill Soloway missteps by populating the story with an assortment of aggravating characters, particularly the three grown children of Maura Pfefferman, the transgender father played by Jeffrey Tambor. These three whining ninnies are thoroughly unlikable and annoying. Scratch that - they're reprehensible. It may have been Soloway's intention to present a flawed family, but she forgot to give the kids a single redeeming quality. Eldest daughter Sarah (Amy Landecker) is an upper, upper middle class soccer mom with a stable husband and two kids who suddenly chucks it all one fine day to pursue her repressed lesbianism with a butch flame from her college years, only to decide a short time later that the the gal-on-gal lifestyle may not be her thing after all. Son Josh (Jay Duplass) is a sleazy, well-to-do record company manager who sleeps with lots of young groupie types and impregnates a bubbleheaded chanteuse, but who really gets off on old ladies. Then there's la crème de la crème of the irritating threesome, youngest sibling Ali (Gaby Hoffman), an unemployed nymphomaniac who vacillates between bedding black men, a kinky female-to-male lover, and maybe - just maybe - her best girlfriend who's also sleeping with her hyper-sexed brother. You want to smack all of these kids, but it's Ali you really want to hit over and over again.

Then there's the story. While Maura's struggles with accepting her female gender identity should be Transparent's focus, they take a backseat to the insignificant, and at times, completely implausible, trials and tribulations of the Terrible Trio. Maura's coming out to her children barely registers with them. They practically acknowledge it in passing, then go back to their petty navel gazing. So instead of watching a show about a man who becomes a woman, we watch a show about selfish adults who just happen to have a transgender parent that shows up occasionally to give them money. Only when the focus is on Maura, her small circle of friends, her explorations of her new world, and the humiliation she sometimes faces as an out transgender woman does Transparent feel authentic and moving. Sadly, these moments are few.

Finally, Soloway's writing is mediocre at best. The dialogue among the characters is frequently stilted, and there appear to be many improvised moments that the actors simply fumble. And I would be remiss if I didn't mention Melora Hardin's performance as Sarah's masculine partner Tammy. Hardin plays her as an over the top caricature, slouched forward, legs in a constant wide stance, fingers hooked into her blue jean belt loops. It's unintentionally comical and cringe-worthy.

On the positive side, Transparent does has some noteworthy performances. Jeffrey Tambor brings the right balance of wonder, joy, fear, and world weariness to Maura, and he is every bit deserving of his Golden Globe nod. Bradley Whitford does a surprising and effective turn as Maura's secret transvestite friend Marcy, and Alexandra Billings, as Davina, Maura's transgender confidante, is superb. Judith Light brings nice comic relief to the proceedings as Maura's ex-wife Shelly, but she's completely under-utilized.

All this talent, however, can't overcome the weak script and unsympathetic characters. Transparent has indeed set a new precedent in recognizing the transgender world. I just wish it had done a better job.
118 out of 160 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Another example of the press being totally wrong
jinchelsea26 December 2015
As an older gay man, I have great admiration and respect for the transgendered community, but I think that the press reviewers of TRANSPARENT are bending way over backwards to cheer this cheerless dramedy. Tambor, who is not an actor I have much liked in the past, is really excellent as the trans dad; he brings real poignance to a show that has little heart for the rest of its characters. The characters of the children are caricatures; none of them are real or honest or worthy of our time, just a bunch of spoiled, miserable people who inflict their misery on others. No one, not even loving parents, would put up with them for a moment, and none of the goings-on are real enough or funny enough to touch or entertain us. Even the wonderful Judith Light has nothing but clichés to play.

I doggedly went on to season 2, and it only got worse. After 5 episodes, I am done.
91 out of 140 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Profoundly disappointing and vastly over-hyped
Skeptic-85 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Sympathetic to the subject matter of the show - gender fluidity and exploration - I eagerly binge-watched Transparent over three nights. Rarely have I been so disappointed.

Nearly every character is screechingly awful in his/her own way. They corner the market in "selfs" - self-regarding, self-conscious, self-absorbed, self-interested, selfish. I wouldn't want to share a sidewalk with any of them, much less a friendship or a life.

While fictional characters are often awful people, there is usually something redeeming about their interactions, explorations, or character growth that propels their arc into a highly-touted show. Not so here.

The overarching sensibility of the show is, dispiritingly, "naughtiness." The writers clearly vied to outdo one another in breaking media taboos, referencing or showing "female squirting," "cameltoe," female pubic hair and oral sex performed on women. But instead of seeming refreshingly open or subversive, it just felt like giggling eighth graders saying "dirty" things out behind the school to titillate their pals.

Worse, the main character, whose transition from male to female is ostensibly the subject of the series, is herself so flawed and unpleasant a personality that her quest for dignity as a woman is undercut both by her own boorishness and that of her harpy ex-wife and three revoltingly entitled and desperately cruel children, for whose personalities her character surely bears significant blame?

Lastly, I hope the production was written by Jews, because if not, it is the most desperately anti-Semitic thing I've seen in years. If Jews wrote this story, then they are not spreading cheer about their culture.
90 out of 144 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
At least I can say I tried
jm107017 March 2015
I kept watching and watching, hoping that as I got to know them I would begin to care about this extraordinarily shallow, spoiled and obnoxious bunch of people - or even to laugh at them for being so relentlessly revolting - but the opposite happened. By the middle of Episode 7 I loathed every one of them so deeply that I just wished The Big One would finally come along, pull the chain, and flush the entire state of California to the bottom of the Pacific Ocean where it belongs. Then it occurred to me that I didn't HAVE to watch this crap, so I stopped.

I love the idea behind this series, and it might have been really good if only there were at least one character I could stand to watch, or laugh at, or maybe even like. There isn't.

Tambor and Hoffman are excellent in roles that fit their talents so perfectly that it's hard now to imagine either of them ever playing any other characters. I do care about those two actors - especially, now, for the first time, Hoffman. I just don't care at all about either character. I wish I wished Maura well, but I just don't. I can't. She's too dishonest and shallow and selfish.

The other actors - with one notable exception - are all right but don't bring any personal depth to their tiresome, narcissistic characters, as Tambor and Hoffman do. The exception is Judith Light, whose restrained and sensitive performance in Save Me was a revelation. Here she shows no subtlety or intelligence at all, playing a Southern California Jewish matron so shrill and strident that the human being is completely lost in the stereotype.

Most of the writing is clever, the production is excellent, and the series might have been a real treat if I could only have cared about even ONE of the profoundly revolting characters.
69 out of 111 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Waste Of Time
dougmacdonaldburr26 April 2017
I love Jeffry Tambor. His work in Larry Sanders and Arrested Development is timeless. He is one of my favourite actors, but, even his talent cannot save this show. I hate it so much. I even watched two full seasons. The first to give it a real chance and the second to see if it resolved in any meaningful way. The problem is all of the characters are just such horrible people. I hate them all so much. They all keep making such terrible decisions. I wouldn't mind if their hearts were in the right place, but, they aren't. These people are bunch of self centred, over privileged coastal elites who are so screwed up that the old man in a dress is still the most balanced and level headed. It certainly is different, but, I really didn't like it.
42 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
No. Just...no.
tenlegdragon31 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I get what they were going for. I really do, with the whole transvestite/transgender dad... but no.

All the critics are praising this, but I think it's mostly because the trans wagon is really in right now, and you're not cool anymore if you don't go trans because gay characters in shows have lost that good taboo feel.

That's what this feels like. Plot less and purposeless melodrama that no one really cares about. The characters, aside from their sexual proclivities have no hook to them. Nothing. Nothing to make them interesting. One daughter is falling back into lesbianism, the son is into grannies and masking it with a public love for teens, and there's another one who's into a very military buffed hot black dude. None of this is interesting, yet, I feel like when they were plotting out these characters that this was there starting idea and they'd just build from that.

"Hey, let's have a family of deviants, and then display all their emotions for about 10 episodes, for about 6 - 10 seasons." I feel like that was the pitch for this.

To me, a show must have a decent plot with at least one decent character to make a show worth watching. Or it must have some really exceptional scenery going on,(like Avatar). Transparent fails spectacularly at having characters you care about, and even worse it has no plot to fall back on. "Dad must come out as a transvestite/transsexual" to his family." That's the conflict here, and immediately you ask yourself "Are any of them in any position to judge him?" As I said, one is into grannies and the other is going back to lesbianism despite having a family and like 10 toddlers. The other one is basically a freeloader loser who is asking said dad for money after running through her "price is right" winnings. (Ironically, she's the only one remotely appealing, because the other daughter is sorta narcissistic and the brother makes comments about his sisters having barbecue sauce in their vaginas - because real family members say things like this over dinner)

No Plot + No Characters = me not caring

Also, my other point of disgruntlement, is the fact that IMDb wrote it up as a comedy. And, I don't think that anyone in this world would associate Tambor right now with anything not inherently funny. So I get that somebody along the way thought that this was a comedy.

BUT, there's nothing funny at all about this series except seeing Tambor in drag, which falls kinda in the cringe-comedy bucket, because Tambor is no Cillian Murphy/Jared Leto/Lee Pace.

That joke worked in Arrested Development, but that had the context to make it funny. That was a comedy.

Transparent is NOT a comedy. Maybe a dramedy, a bad one, but not a comedy. And it reeks of writers thinking "Oohh, this is so clever and fresh and raw and dark and deep", when it's actually just not any of these things.

I'd probably have given it a 5/10 or a 6/10 if it wasn't for stupid reviews building up my expectations. This is not fun. Not quirky. Not smart. Not clever. Not raw. Not dark. Not edgy. Not "real". Neither dramatic nor comedic. Just 29 minutes of "blah".
108 out of 192 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Losing its way
gprusakowski13 November 2017
What started out as a unique idea and was well written and acted has quickly gone the way of most TV and lost it's way. This last season is simply an annoying repetition of the various characters dysfunctional relationships and in ability to cope. In many ways a lot like my own family which drives me totally nuts. It did better when it was examining the issues and angst of becoming a trans late in life but now has decided to abandon that theme and go on to frustrating portraits of Jewish angst. We cannot follow this show any longer and have abandoned it for more intelligent viewing. This is now nothing more than a copy of all of Woody Allen's earlier movie themes.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Horribly overrated
jahgreen5 January 2015
The sheer unlikability and unreality of the other characters totally distracts from what could have been a funny, tender, and dramatic story about the Jeffrey Tambor character.

This show is straight out of current entertainment belief that if you make enough penis and vagina jokes, or say f*** enough times, that's enough to be funny. "Hey, let's write a bunch of 'spit roast' jokes, that'll be a scream." What it really means is that the writers are lazy and just want to go for the scandalous and shocking rather than excellence. Then they claim that they should get awards for being scandalous and shocking, even when it's crappy scandal and shock.

Too bad, as there is an excellent show somewhere under all the superficial dreck the writers put on the screen. You just can't see it.
79 out of 139 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hit a bit too close to home at times
egoode23 December 2014
I had lots of friends keep letting me know they had watched Transparent and thought I should watch it. I had been holding off though as my Dad came out as transgender about 2.5 years ago and was worried how I would react to it.

Overall I really enjoyed the series but there were conversations that were almost word for word the same as one's I had when I first found out about my Dad and I did end up in tears at points remembering how hard it all seemed at the time.

I think the series perfectly shows how you start questioning your life when you discover something major about your parents that you never could have guessed but may have felt things weren't quite as they seemed. I know I definitely felt my Dad had been hiding something for years before I found out but never suspected it was wanting to be a woman.

The acting is fantastic in this series and the story is definitely an aspect of life that most people haven't had much contact with or know much about but does seem to be something more people are willing to share and make people more aware of.
77 out of 137 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
It is hard to provide a realistic summary for this show.
steve-bush-926-4417617 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I have seen critic reviews raving about this show and humbly disagree with all of them. The creator and writer has demonstrated previous success in the industry. To me, this makes the poor quality of writing and entertainment value to be all the more disappointing. I wanted to stop watching about five minutes into the show. But since this was an Amazon pilot under consideration to be picked up as a series for Amazon Prime Video, I continued watching to the very end to be as fair as possible. My opinion did not change between my initial impulse to end the pain and the end of the show.

Spoiler Alert: I had no trouble with the subject matter (gender identity issues). In fact these topics were not clearly introduced until near the end of the episode. My impulse to end my viewing disappointments came early and quickly and was based on extremely poor writing (and acting to a lesser degree). The actors and actresses did a worthy job with what they were given to work with. On the other hand, the writing was sorely lacking on all levels. I wanted to like this show, but the novelty of the subject matter is simply not enough to make this watchable on a recurring basis.
72 out of 129 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Every character is the scriptwriter's surrogate
samknaip8 March 2015
The real problem with this show is the writing. Every single character is a projection of the writer's self onto the screen. Why is that a big issue? Because it blocks the immersion, and therefore, takes away all the potential fun. Someone might say "but the characters are all different!". Of course they are, but they are behaving according to a very specific set of rules: right out of post-modernist feminist handbooks. The spectator will find every kind of clichéd imaginable out of bourgeoisie delusions' about how gender is "constructed", often taken straight from John Money's theories and experiments and philosophers' such as Foucault. It really bothers me when the political affiliation of the writer is so evident that I can identify the political intention she had in mind when writing any given character. Writing should come from your guts, a great writer once said, otherwise it's phony. Writing shouldn't conform to you political sympathies or your inner guilt for having had a middle-class upbringing. I really like Jeffrey Tambor, though. I'm sure this show is an exercise of acting for him, in spite of the awful dialogue. I wonder if he realized he would be a mere foil to all of the others author's surrogates… It's okay to find alter egos of the writer when the writer himself is a part of the show. 30 Rock did this amazingly, and so did Curb your Enthusiasm. But Tina Fey and Larry David are incredibly able creative minds, and they won't hesitate to sacrifice their political views for a joke: they'll do everything to achieve the punchline, they won't distort the punchline in order to conform it to liberal views of the world or political correctness ("political correctness" is anything that was corrected to a given political dogma, be it the right or the left). To summarize, that's what bothers me the most on this show: every character line was written in such a way that they seem lifeless, they seem to be puppets that conform to the way the writer imagined the world to function. Unfortunately, writing for TV is different from writing your own diary and creating characters that fulfill your inner need for order in a chaotic world. This is why I really dislike this show.
83 out of 151 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Absolute tripe...
zionnoizrecords12 December 2015
It's hard to imagine the levels of narcissism and pettiness required to write the words these actors read on screen. If you could take all of the pointless, self-indulgent, pretentious fluff from every pedestrian soap opera and combine it into one show you would end up with Transparent.

Tambor is easy to enjoy, as per usual, but no other performance stood out. And, for the record, Tambor's character is so cringe-worthy it hardly makes watching his acting worth the rest of the show.

I imagine this is the type of writing you would get from any typical American teenager with ego problems; vapid with a myopic and self- serving view of the human condition. If you're not going to write even one character worth rooting for, your show ought to have some intrigue, mystery, action, or psychological stimulation. Transparent offers none of these things so we're left with a troupe of horrible characters adrift in a sea of pointless drama.

The only activity worse than subjecting yourself to Transparent is acknowledging the fact that it is critically acclaimed, and asking yourself the obvious questions as to how this is possible, and what that says about the general viewing public.

1/10 stars, the one is only for Tambor
48 out of 89 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
These parents raised the most selfish kids on the planet.
The sort of message this show is sending in my opinion feels like: "Persons who identify as Trans and their respective families will be cursed in shame, guilt and negative karma." Is that the message we want to be sending to our transgender people?

At first, this cute series starring some of my favorite people looked interesting. Unfortunately, it turned out to be just.. a bad creation. The story and series is addicting and I keep revisiting it so there is definitely a story there but the writing is just..bad.

The directing is great and the idea its self to bring a show based on transgender families is stellar. There are more and more trans people and thus trans families every day. I loved the idea of the show its self because done the right way, it could send a positive message and help people and families in transition. It could spread awareness. But, the characters aren't very believable which makes them very difficult to resonate and identify with.

More to the point, no one on this planet could possibly be as selfish as these characters. The children of the (transparent) are absurdly self-absorbed, narcissistic and every one of them has a histrionic personality disorder. It's just uncanny.

With EVERY character, all of whom are completely one-dimensional, seem to command that the earth revolve around them. Gas lighting, deflection, outright little white lies grow into outlandish plaid lying, not to mention deep deception and harming one another and thus themselves constantly. Even the parents' relationship and marriage began in..you guessed it..DECEPTION. Mort was originally dating his ex-wife's best friend prior to marrying and producing these selfish kids.

In addition, the series included Kathryn Hahn, one of my fave actresses but as usual, they made her look like an obsessive, neurotic, badly dressed, unkempt paranoid weirdo. They did the same thing to her in I Love Dick, another Amazon exclusive. This bites for her career, she's gone be type cast as the blooming idiot.
16 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not funny - bland and boring
keenast3 August 2015
The only thing good about this show is the music - actually the music is too good for this show as the rest pales compared to it.

Writing? This is not writing, these are terrible improvisations. One cartoon character talking to the other cartoon. Funny stereotyping....? Because they all are or pretend to be Jewish they think making bad Jewish jokes is funny or oh so liberating. Proposing with the ring of the grandmother who was killed in a concentration camp. That's supposed to be 'enlightened' comedy?

Camera work / lighting: amazingly bland - all these mixed daylight tungsten scenes, really bad.

Acting: well, they got hired, I guess they'll have to do what they're told to!
52 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bittersweet, Funny, and Immensely Moving. Must not be missed.
Wheresmandela8 February 2014
This is the story of a family, relationships, the lies we tell ourselves and each other. Dark yet warming, the pilot takes its time introducing its characters, revealing their deeply held flaws. Though the writing is naturalistic and a joy, the acting is what reveals the full possibilities of this wonderful series. Jeffery Tambor is a revelation, and his acting here merits Emmy consideration. Add to that the acting of Gabby Hoffman and Jay Duplass as the conflicted son and you have a sparkling main cast. I cannot recommend this pilot enough, and I urge you to watch it, enjoy it, and if you love it, tell Amazon as much. I eagerly await a continuation of this Families story.
52 out of 104 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
I tried to like it
mgranadosv-9663121 September 2015
5 episodes into the season I find myself wondering why I kept watching. Tambor is great as usual but the kids are just...well god awful human beings. Hoffman in particular is the one I can't stand. I like the subject matter and was all over this but this is not a show I find funny or sad. Might be for some but I would never label it a comedy and Tambor's Emmy should have been in the drama category. The other "flaw" I found was the pacing; starts out slow and then speeds up out of nowhere, then slows down to a crawl again for no apparent reason. This might be me only of course, but I was really disappointed with this show; the subject matter, how a family deals with transgender, quickly gets put to the side to focus on the awful son and daughters being just horrible human beings feeling like they can judge their father. Again, I might be biased against Hoffman, I just found her scenes repellent.
17 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant Show
johnw-925-8822216 February 2014
Stumbled upon this pilot because I heard that Jill Soloway, of Six Feet Under fame, was connected to the production. I have never watched anything that was an original Amazon product. Hearing something was an Amazon product would not have made me run to watch!

However, this pilot is beautifully written, expertly acted, and very moving.

The plot revolves around a complicated family of grown children. Each more complicated and self-involved than the other. And at the center is the father, played achingly by Jeffrey Tambor. Divorced, alone, trying to recreate himself, Tambor emits the humor and humanity he always has, but with greater depth and gravity than I have seen in his work previously. It is a great part, and Tambor is magnificent.

I eagerly await more.
60 out of 127 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Authentic
janet-42-1674728 October 2014
I repeat. Authentic.

There are only a few really good shows on television, and this is one of those few. It is not filmed with the bright lights of a movie set. There are shadows and misplaced items just like in any real home or office. The clothing looks worn, the actors bodies are imperfect.

It's perfect.

All the actors are first rate. The dialog fits in their mouths and comes easily from the gut.

Most important, this is not a one-note song. It is a symphony of harmony and, more often, dissonance. There are so many stories within this one story.

Best of all, I like being surprised. As in real life, you can not predict the characters behavior just on your own past experience. You are the unseen observer to a very real family.

I... Just... Love... This... show!
35 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Who's Not To Dislike
mdayne-122 June 2015
The writers seemed really determined to craft a cast of very dislike able characters. None of this group seems to have any ounce of moral integrity and the infidelity piles up like yard waste. For all the accolades thrust at the subject matter, I found the central premise tiring after a couple of episodes. Dare I say, a lot of this material seems dated at this point. Maybe it is because I have had a lot of exposure to trans gender persons, but as one reviewer commented, I felt like I was watching a bad SNL skit. There is certainly a lot of better information out there these days, I would recommend the excellent documentary, Prodigal Sons by Kim Reed as a much more informative and honest reveal of the trans experience. All in all I suppose this series will help educate and reveal more to the ill- informed. I get the sense, as in Gay marriage, that the day is fast approaching where we will all be saying, "so what's the big deal."
29 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A socially-responsible and mildly entertaining show
LiamCullen614 January 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I didn't immediately fall in love with this show as I do with some. I had to watch several episodes before I finally decided I had to continue watching. And I can now say I am certainly glad I did so.

This is a very socially-aware and responsible television show. In this age of equality movements and acceptance of everybody regardless of their traits, this show takes a bold step in the right direction. It is able to place the viewer in the shoes of those we likely never have before and we are able to feel empathy towards these characters - as we should, after all, we are all human beings. This is what this show highlights: although we may find ways to divide ourselves (by race, religion, sexual orientation, gender, etc.) we are inextricably connected. No matter how much we may want to differentiate ourselves from certain people, we cannot ever possibly hope to believe that we are in fact entirely different. That is the magnificence of the human condition: whilst we are all the same, we are all unique at the same time. The creators of this series are very well aware of this and productively harness this concept and utilise it in the development of each episode.

I have to ask: can this family get any more unorthodox? With a transgender father, an anxious wreck of a mother, a bisexual daughter, a tomboy/curious daughter (soon to be something more?), and a love-obsessed son (who has his own son, funnily enough), I'm really not sure it can. However, as I have quickly observed, despite their peculiarity, they are - in a strange sort of way - indeed very human with very human emotions and problems. And this is what makes them relatable. This is what allows us to empathise with them and gain an understanding and perspective of their lives. We are able to see past the undeniable differences we have and connect with these characters. And this is all thanks to the hard work of Jill Soloway, the creator, and everyone else involved in making this series.

My one criticism is that despite this show being categorised as a comedy series, it is not very funny - certainly not the first few episodes anyway. Of course, it has its moments and I'm not denying the fact that I've laughed at it before. I'm merely stating that the comedy doesn't seem to be secondary (which would be acceptable), it almost seems tertiary - as if it's just an added extra. I didn't mind this too much as the story is alluring enough for myself; however, some who may come to try this series will do so solely because it is categorised as comedy. And I do believe those people will be very disappointed in what they watch. In order to justify its place in this genre, season two must try harder to incorporate comedy into each episode.

All in all, I am highly satisfied with this series. I can confidently state that no other show that I have ever watched before has been so bold - and I commend it for that. In addition, it is able to be so bold whilst remaining undeniably entertaining.

I can positively recommend this series and encourage all to watch it: it will make you think in ways I can guarantee you never have before.
21 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Dark as a storm cloud, loud as thunder, as dangerous as lightening - DO NOT MISS THIS SHOW
adamray10113 July 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I was really spellbound by how this pilot played out. It didn't spoon feed you with the lives of three siblings and their father - played by the marvelous talent Jeffrey Tambor, instead it hinted at the lives that we all sort of live by.

I nearly fell to tears when Tambor's character is describing how his children are selfish. That short scene really put the hooks in the realism of not only family drama but the drama of those who live a transgender life.

Please do not miss this show. If you're looking for something upbeat and cleaver, look elsewhere. This show alone is going to rock your boat of emotion, dark humor, and the reality we all face deep within ourselves.
27 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Really quite touching (and funny to boot!)
k-i-r-s-t-y15 October 2014
I could blurb on about how poignant this programme is.

I could parp on about how fabulous Jeffrey Tambor is.

I could ramble on about how enlightening it is or I could just say that I loved it, a lot.

Tis true, I really truly loved it. I did a spot of that binge watching thing, made my partner watch it and watched it again with her. I do not think that it is being hyped up due to the subject matter, it is simply a bleeding good programme. The humour doesn't come from a man in a dress, it comes from the keen observations in the writing and the great acting (maybe not from Judith Light's portrayal of an elderly Jewish woman, which I thought was a tad over the top on occasion, not so much in the flash backs though, which were quite lovely). It made me laugh, smile, cry, feel a lot of different emotions through each episode.

After watching it twice, I then went onto to reading about it and found a whole new appreciation for what it is and what Jill Soloway has done here, even though I thought it was fab before, I love it all the more knowing the background to the writing and making of it.

Looking forward to season two, I hope a TV channel picks it up, I'm not a huge fan of this video streaming thing and would prefer to see on a big screen.
21 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Annoying family members are the storyline here
HouTraveler3 May 2016
Boy I really wanted to like this series. I watched all of Season 1, took a break, and then started watching season 2. I've decided to stop watching because I am so disappointed with the storyline and the characters. This show presents a unique opportunity to include story lines that are unique and important to the transgender community. However, they've chosen to focus on the family and extended family members instead of Jeffrey Tambor's transgender character. This probably would have been acceptable except the family members are so unlikeable! As portrayed they are all selfish, self-absorbed and whiny. It is uncomfortable and for me, unwatchable. I love Judith Light but her character as Jeffrey Tambor's wife is the stereotypical overbearing wisecracking Jewish mom. Jeffrey Tambor is outstanding and is well-deserving of the awards he is receiving. That's really the only redeeming quality of the show. Even the dreadful "I am Cait" deals with trans issues better than this series.
13 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
So many stupid cliche's and in the 10's everyone is a lesbian on TV
calpurnia-6232921 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I did like it at first. As many have pointed out the first season was pretty good but it went down hill in the second season. The oldest sister fighting with her husband seemed very realistic about how a lot of married couples interact. Everyone on TV in the past 7-8 years or so is a lesbian. You can't watch a streaming drama, movie or TV show, set in the present time without a lesbian couple or two. 15 years ago you never saw it or once in a blue moon. The lesbian angle is not shocking and ground breaking and cutting edge. No instead it is the cliché' of the '10s. The way it is presented on these shows it would appear that 50% of all women are lesbians. Now BOTH sisters are lesbians? What was the whole point of the younger Ali meeting the guy at the beach? What a waste of film, it had no point. Ali is a total spoiled brat and doesn't even look for a job. Ack I feel like I should finish all of it though, I am at the end of season 2 but I'm getting more and more annoyed with the idiotic plots and the annoying people. Like they were really going to kill Ed? They were all yapping about doing something that is illegal? Maura is great but his kids suck ass! That rabbi would not look twice at the ugly and non-religious son. His son Colton looks nothing like him, just not believable at all. I am going to plow through but Ali bedding Syd just is ridiculous and the Feminist professor plot line is also ridiculous.
15 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
I swear I tried.
hivepressings29 September 2019
I truly enjoyed this show. It was enlightening, educational, transformational, an d humanly awkward. I also love musicals. I love the break to song when emotions grow unspeakable. This should've been a huge win...

This. Is. Utter. Garbage.

The quirkiness of the characters that made them barely likable in the series lended to them being messy, and human. We're not all likable. We're not always funny. Sometimes we're obnoxious and weird. The series walked that tightrope beautifully.

I hated every character in a way that I did not expect. which made me kind of sad.

The series felt like it was made for everyone to learn, laugh and love. This finale felt like it was written for an audience of no one.

They should've let sleeping accusations lie...
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed