Pan (2015) Poster

(2015)

User Reviews

Review this title
215 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Missed the point of Pan
michaeltong-291809 December 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Pan is one of those films where it's hard to pinpoint what is wrong because the answer is basically everything. I'm confused as to how they managed to turn such a simple story into such a convoluted mess.

At his core, Peter Pan is just a boy who escapes to a magical fantasy land because he doesn't want to grow up. In Neverland he leads a crew of similarly disenfranchised kids, plays games with Indians, swims with mermaids, and fights pirates.

Simple right? Well not according to Joe Wright and the producers of this film. For some reason they felt the need to cram in every single cliché possible in order to 'modernize' the story despite the fact that the themes in Barrie's stories were already timeless.

Levi Miller stumbles here and there but he was well cast as Peter. However the script doesn't support the role. At certain points he becomes secondary in his own story. His desires don't move the plot forward and after the first 20 minutes he has very little to do except "learn how to fly". We never seem him turn into the character we know as Peter Pan except for the fact that *spoilers* he flies at the end. And don't even get me started on 'The Chosen One' thing.

Tiger Lily, played by Rooney Mara, is bland, and I'm not talking about the color of her skin. She's your typical warrior princess and for some reason they try to set up a possible romance between her and Hook. She's basically around to be walking talking exposition.

Jackman also does a good job, but his character, Blackbeard, isn't interesting. His motivations are paper thin. He wants to mine some fairy dust in order to live forever which doesn't even make sense because Neverland supposed to be a place where people don't age. Blackbeard is just shoehorned in there so they could have a villain other than Hook.

This brings me to one of the most pointless things in the film: Hook being Peter's ally. It doesn't amount to anything. You never get a sense of conflict between the two. You keep waiting for a point when Hook is going to betray Peter but it never happens. You want to see that scene where Peter cuts off his hand and feeds it to the crock, but it never happens. Hook's only motivation in this film is to escape and go home. He doesn't seem like he could turn into the devious Captain we know. At the end of the film, Hook and Pan are still friends and they just hint at a possible conflict in the sequel with a throw away line. Also, if you're a kid and this is your introduction to the character of Hook the 'twist' will go right over your head.

And why is Hook American? Who made this decision?

Another problem with Pan is the over-use and reliance of CGI. It looks fake, especially Peter's flying. Peter Pan was better animated in 1953, not in terms of graphical fidelity, but in motion. He had weight, he had grace, and he was agile. In Pan he just kind of floats like he's being dragged by a mouse cursor.

When you stretch the rules of reality too far it becomes unbelievable even in a world like Neverland. You have to have rules. In Pan there are flying pirate ships. Why? How do they fly? It's never explained. The ships can fly both in the real world and Neverland. There is no consistency.

I'm giving this film a 1 out of 10 because they squandered so much potential. The source material is so rich and this is the best they could come up with? I think a live action Peter Pan film could be successful but if they ignore the themes that make the story interesting in the first place it just won't resonate with the audience.
149 out of 212 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Awkward and misguided
eddie_baggins11 May 2016
If there was a more awkward movie than Pan released in the last few years I'd certainly like to know about it as Joe Wright's big budgeted wannabe franchise starter is a lavishly coloured and extravagant picture that lacks knowledge of what it actually wants to be or who in fact it's aimed at and judging by the films flopping at the box office the world over, it seems as though audiences too struggled to figure out who should be watching this revamping of J.M Barrie's classic material or why they should be watching it.

Tonally all over the place and with a story that seems to meander about the motions until a highly lacking finale and lack of answers regarding certain story questions (a glaring one being how Hook and Pan in fact become enemies as they are adventures together here), for the first time in his quietly impressive directing career Wright seems completely lost within his narrative and fails to liven up proceedings despite throwing every known colour onto the screen, plopping in Nirvana songs and letting many of his actors ham it up to level 11 to try and cover up the fact Pan's story is actually rather dull in a world that should be anything but.

Our Pan here is played by newcomer Levi Miller and the poor young performer labours in his first major turn injecting Peter with neither the charm, smarts nor emotion that was needed for the role. When you consider however how his cast alongside a horribly miscast double act of Garrett Hedlund (who continues to frustrate as a lead actor) and the beyond bad Rooney Mara, the child performer didn't really stand much of a chance. The films only saving grace acting wise is Hugh Jackman who has a blast playing Blackbeard the fearsome pirate who will stop at nothing to collect that sought after pixie dust but while he has fun it still doesn't make a whole lot of sense having Blackbeard in this beloved tale.

Whilst normally it would not be something called out for by the masses it would've actually been nice for Pan to stick more closely to the original Peter Pan story that has enchanted readers and viewers for decades upon decades and while its commendable for a big budget film to take such a risk on a new take on a well-trod property, Pan is a stinging reminder of what can go wrong when money is thrown all over the place and scripts seem doctored to tick off as many set piece wish lists as possible and for the first time in his career Joe Wright has crafted an almost irredeemably bad piece of cinematic entertainment.

All those seeking a Peter Pan fix are much better off seeking out a copy of Disney's beloved animated take or even the similarly styled Steven Spielberg event Hook.

1 ½ awkwardly used Nirvana song out of 5
33 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great Movie, wrong audience
emilychantry22 October 2015
I took my nephew and niece to see this movie this past week, and one thing was clearly noticeable. The movie is a bit to overwhelming for small kids.

However, if you don't go to this movie to see a funny and uplifting 'Hook' remake, but instead go to see a more deep and thrilling retelling of a childhood tale, you will be most pleasantly surprised. The movie, from this point of view, is fantastic.

I feel bad that it has received such harsh reviews from parents that apparently took their small kids to a movie without first at least watching the trailer. Its a bit darker then its predecessors, but is clearly shown that way through the trailer.

Let me put it this way, if the trailer looks like a movie you want to see, you will not be disappointed here.
63 out of 110 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I don't care what the critics say, I enjoyed it from start to finish!
mig_gtaiv18 October 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Upon seeing the trailer I was hesitant that it might be good but I decided to give it a shot and watched it during its premiere.

And boy, was I surprised!

I absolutely loved the simple things that foreshadow the events of the actual story: James Hook using a hook in the mining scene, the ticktock of the bomb that he placed to set Peter free, Tiger Lily scaring Hook with the crocodile and many more. I have to give credit to the writer with his different take on the Peter Pan story.

Also, the friendship between Hook and Peter was great, they got each other's backs, with Hook saving Peter and vice-versa, kinda sad that they'll eventually end up as enemies since this movie established that relationship.

Everyone was right for the role, Hugh Jackman was amazing as the villain, how he looked here made me forget that he is Wolverine. Rooney Mara was dashing in her Tiger Lily role and performed well even though she was Caucasian in contrast to the natives. Garrett Hedlund played this cocky, playboy-type, off-character Hook who always provides the laughable comebacks. Levi Miller was great as Peter, that dude's going places.

Although, I have to note the lack of battle between Peter and Blackbeard, since the prophecy stated that the former will defeat the latter. They should have put at least a short duel between the two because that'd be amazing.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed the film, I don't care what the Rotten Tomatoes rating or critics say!
46 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
There is much to enjoy in this film
wheatley-2023016 June 2018
The visuals are stunning. Hugh Jackman is just great, clearly relishing his role. His performance alone makes the film worth a watch. The story is capable of dragging you in. You have to forget your Peter Pan pre-conceptions and accept that this is different. Be prepared to go with the flow.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Cruising through gorgeous visual and beautiful shanties, but unfortunately also on shallow narrative
quincytheodore9 October 2015
Pan bears a lot of similarities to other adventure films, family animation and even role-playing games. It packs myriad of visual antics across the journey of self-discovery. However, it's also painfully one dimensional and predictable, using the "chosen one" plot to a fault. While it's admittedly aesthetically pleasing, this is not the innovative origin story it's advertised to be.

In a world tormented by pirates, one child must discover his destiny. You've seen this before. Some angles have been changed, but this is typical Peter's adventure to Neverland. It's so overused, one might find half the script in Final Fantasy games. Not to mention it's riddled with fantasy genre cliché and uninspiring romance subplot.

To their credit, the actors do a fine job. Hugh Jackman as Blackbeard is a good antagonist, he looks the part by carrying the character with ominous charisma, either it's by his flamboyant dialogues or even timely singing. He can appear funny yet still threatening. Well, as threatening as a villain in family flick can be.

While Blackbeard looks fit for Hook's replacement, Hook himself is played by Garrett Hedlund, who ironically tries too hard to be young Hugh Jackman. His delivery is forced to create a suave persona, but most of the times he just looks out of place. Levi Miller as Peter handles himself pretty well. The story focuses heavily on this boy's fate, and although he can seem rough at some scenes, he brings a commendable performance as the lead.

Graphical prowess plays important role, almost too much, and on its better parts Pan definitely has the stylish charm of fantasy vista. Setting is filled with colorful designs and details, although CGI takes the helm on most cases. Its soundtracks are splendid, it simply doesn't let go. From subtle chimes, loud symphony and even shanty version of popular songs, the audio is brilliant.

Pan would've been great if it didn't copy so many elements from other movies. In nearly every scene, there's a hint of Pirates of Caribbean, Mad Max and multitude of classic Disney flicks. The straightforward plot doesn't help either, it's tedious to see the predictable developments ahead. Ancient prophecies, letter from the past and hidden power manifestation are tired gimmicks. Please, you know he's gonna fly at some point.

For a movie that looks so appealing, Pan never really takes flight. One might find happy thoughts on the visual and songs, but the CGI charm and adventure gimmicks will not last through its boring plot.
50 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent Family Movie.
CarlosEspagna30 September 2015
Pan is a 2015 British-American fantasy adventure film directed by Joe Wright and written by Jason Fuchs, and a prequel to Scottish author J. M. Barrie's Peter Pan story, first staged in 1904. It stars Hugh Jackman, Garrett Hedlund, Rooney Mara, and Levi Miller as the title character. It is an invented origin story depicting the origins of Peter Pan and Captain Hook. The film had its world premiere in London on September 20, 2015.

Plot Of The Movie: The story of an orphan named Peter Pan (Levi Miller) who is spirited away to the magical Neverland. There, he finds the fun and dangers in this world where he meets James Hook (Garrett Hedlund) and helps to fight the evil pirate Blackbeard (Hugh Jackman).

Truly an excellent family movie.
111 out of 220 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastically stunning visual fantasy
JAB-1310 October 2015
Pan is the best movie I have seen in a while. Although it is based on the story of Peter Pan, the story is original. It tells the story of how Peter Pan came to be, a sort of back story. It is the tale of Peter in search of his mother whom he has never met. His search takes him from the ordinary world to the stunningly beautiful Neverland. The cast is great and do a great job. Hugh Jackman is not even recognizable as Blackbeard the pirate. Wow is Rooney Mara beautiful as Tiger Lily. The story flows very well and is worth seeing in 3D on the big screen. It is a very fun movie to watch and worth seeing a second time. Once again the critics are wrong.
58 out of 110 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Close, but no pan flute
undeadbovine28 September 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Pan has all the foundation to make a fantastic prequel for the Peter Pan story, sadly the foundation doesn't have much on it and what's there is shaky.

The main issue I had with this film is that it seemed like it couldn't make up it's mind on whether it wanted to cater to children with goofy and antic like behavior from the characters, or offer up serious and gritty story telling for the adults. It flip flops from one to the other from scene to scene and it's very noticeable. The incredibly cringe-worthy use of "Smells Like Teen Spirit" in the Neverland introduction scene represents my point the best.

I wondered all throughout the movie why they had given James Hook an American Accent, I have seen other reviews say that it seemed like the Director/Writer wanted Garret Hedlund to channel some Indiana Jones for this role. They are right, but I am baffled as to why the Production wanted him too. It makes no sense for what we know he will eventually become.

This movie isn't ALL bad, however. Levi Miller as Pan is a lot better than I ever expected him to be, the kid has some talent and it's going to be interesting to see how he develops as an actor if he sticks with it. Rooney Mara puts in a great effort as Tiger Lily too. Hugh Jackman tries REALLY hard to lift this movie. He is easily the top performance with his Blackbeard and it was easy to see that he enjoyed the freedom of the character. In fact, they should get Jackman to play Hook in the next movie. He'd be brilliant.

Shout out to Adeel Akhtar as Mr. Smee. Outside of Jackman he gets the most laughs in the film and was a great casting choice.

If you have kids then take them to see it, they will like it but be prepared because you probably won't.
28 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best Pan i had ever seen in my life,Hugh Jackman outstanding
hanis-926198 October 2015
Went to this movie without knowing Hugh Jackman was the black-beard.The best Pan i had ever seen in my life,Hugh Jackman outstanding!.Great movie and must watch.i hope there will be any sequel.

Living a bleak existence at a London orphanage, 12-year-old Peter (Levi Miller) finds himself whisked away to the fantastical world of Neverland. Adventure awaits as he meets new friend James Hook (Garrett Hedlund) and the warrior Tiger Lily (Rooney Mara). They must band together to save Neverland from the ruthless pirate Blackbeard (Hugh Jackman). Along the way, the rebellious and mischievous boy discovers his true destiny, becoming the hero forever known as Peter Pan.
67 out of 130 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Exceptional Pre-qual
laddious12 October 2015
This is an excellent movie for the family. They truly did an outstanding job creating a fresh way to present Peter Pan. This movie is a prequel that I feel definitely did an outstanding job filling in the questions we have about the loved character Peter Pan. The visual effects and design were amazing, in my opinion the movie looked as good as Avatar.

The Movie was fun for everyone. It was adult enough in ways to keep parents from passing out and drooling on themselves; and light hearted enough to keep from being to violent to take your children to watch. They had an excellent idea for the fight scenes that I feel most of everyone will enjoy.
67 out of 132 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Why the hate?
dutchs-121 October 2015
Warning: Spoilers
How dumb do you have to be to misunderstand a movie like Pan? Because this movie has generated some of the dumbest review comments I've ever seen. "There's no Wendy." Because this is a PREquel. Look up "pre" in a dictionary. "It's dark." All fairy tales are, and their modern imitations like Peter Pan or Pinocchio have to be, too, to remain true to the genre. Fairy tales originated in a time when meeting wolves and bears in the woods was all too likely, and they weren't cute and anthropomorphic, either. And the original Grimm stories, unlike their sanitized modern retellings, carried the clear message that Awful Things happen to Naughty Children Who Don't Obey The Rules. The prize comment was someone complaining that a flying pirate ship over WWII London was unrealistic. So name some historical periods when it WAS realistic.

Overall it's a satisfying action story, and wholly undeserving of the scorn some reviewers have dumped on it. The weakest links are Garrett Hedlund as Hook (still a good guy at this point) and Rooney Mara as Tiger Lily. Hedlund tries to be Harrison Ford, complete with Indiana Jones' hat and Han Solo's flying off to save his own skin but coming back to save the day, but he just doesn't have charisma. Neither does Tiger Lily, who's pretty but bland, and goes through life with a deer in the headlights expression. They're both stiff and lifeless.
43 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Damn you Warner Bros for greenlighting this garbage.
just_in_case10 December 2015
When this was first announced they sold it as being different and man the tone of the early trailers just really made me feel like they were going to go deep and abstract. The trailer song made me shiver. My dumb ass thought it might even be something like "The adventures of Baron Munchausen" full of metaphors and abstractions like "What dreams may come". Like it was going tell a more emotional story about the relationship of the main actors.

Nope boring run of the mill peter pan adaptation with a couple characters swapped to claim uniqueness. Damn I just rewatched the first trailer and it totally sold me on a different story.

What makes matters worse is the world is very well designed and there's several hints at what could have been a really trippy adventure, but for some reason they went incredibly cheap on the CGI which in several spots is just unbearably bad.

The story doesn't really make any sense. "chosen one"? For what? and what exactly does he provide? He can control fairies? but the fairies were perfectly capable of throwing a couple pirates around. The relationship between Blackbeard and his mother was really dumb and illogical, there's so much more they could have done with that. In general it just felt crap and plodded along and then just rolled over at the end.

Man I'm just so angry. I would have killed to have Terry Gilliam to do this, or David fincher, Darren Aronofsky. It sucks because Hugh Jackman was wasted. Thats the one thing they got right. The design and portrayal of Blackbeard was cool, but his story was so Blasé. I liked the inclusion of modern music but instead of making it a theme with a story nope you get one cool song and then generic music for the rest of the film.(I know there was another one but it sucked)

Damn you Warner Bros for greenlighting this garbage.

Im giving this a 1/10 because of how insultingly wasteful they were with such a great idea. I've seen better execution of concepts like this out of 50k indie movies. When we talk about twist of fairy tale concepts I have to give the nod to Maleficent. Again the trailer was chilling and though the movie had innumerable flaws it was the mature emotional experience we were looking for. Guess now were just going to have to wait for the Fables trilogy they'll inevitably screw up.
56 out of 109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Peter Pan Movie
angiewinslett11 October 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I really, really liked it. It was so refreshing and well produced. Tiger Lily shouldn't be Rooney Mara, I agree, but somehow she made me forget that the princess is a Native girl. I think Rooney did an amazing job and I understand her emotionless face as the way Tiger Lily found to look tough.

Garrett was also brilliant and I think the script brought a happier Hook and yeah it was off character, but I think it made the movie lighter. I really like the fact that Hook and Pan were friends. It's a cool new view of their relationship.

Hugh Jackman was just fantastic in his role. I didn't even recognize him and it was a surprise read his name in the credits. He made such a good villain, the kind you love-hate because he's mean as hell, but also funny and smart. It was one of the best part of the movie, no doubts.

Levi Miller is a really good actor and who doesn't agree, didn't watch a lot of movies with kids as the star. It's hard to find kids that don't look too forced or too young to be acting. He's in a spotlight along with Dakota Fanning, Abigail Breslin and Freddie Highmore.

Miller's Pan was so likable that I just want to pinch his cheeks forever. I loved how the character was growing alongside with the movie and in the end, the cheeky Pan was so amazing to see and hear. I really loved Levi acting and I think he's gonna be huge!

Smee was so so good that I don't have words. It's like he jumped out of the book right into the movie. Really loved Adeel Akhtar.

The effects were amazing just as the rest of the movie. The photography was perfect. The colors, the scenarios, everything.

The soundtrack was really good to listen and I think it worked really well in the movie. The script was really well developed and I really wish there was a book about this version of the story.

People who didn't like the movie must be one of those people who can't stand movies that isn't about deep thoughts and philosophy. I think Pan is a movie really cute and well done. Good acting, good script, good timing.

I really want to watch more movies like this in the next years.

Amazing.
49 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing movie!! Don't listen to the critics!!!
pitbull_z2810 October 2015
Absolutely fantastic movie, DO NOT READ THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS, COMPLETE LIES!!!!! I'm so glad I didn't read them before watching this movie, what a sin critics are unfairly slamming this masterpiece, they'll eat crow once audiences have a chance to see it for themselves. After watching it, I was so moved that I wanted to read all the rave reviews online, only to be irked by the negativity surrounding this beautiful epic. I am so annoyed that you are reading my first review ever posted on here. This story is so cool, I've always wondered about how Peter Pan came to be, and the storyline is truly magical. Bravo to the writers who completely nailed it! And the kid who plays Peter was absolutely PHENOMENAL, where did they find him? What a talent. Rooney Mara was the perfect Tiger Lily. I will say the only "meh" thing was a CERTAIN actor's campy accent (you'll know exactly who I'm talking about once he appears, I don't want to ruin it) but it's not THAT big a deal and it kind of grows on you as the movie progresses. Other than that, this movie is completely EPIC!! Hands down one of the best children's movies made in decades..my kids were blown away. Shame on the people bashing it - my guess is there must some hidden Hollywood agenda going on here because this movie rocks! Go see it with your kids, you will all be in tears!!!
72 out of 146 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved it!
tsel-310 October 2015
Look, I like Peter Pan. It's always been one of my favorite stories. I've got a super cute picture of me at Halloween of my kindergarten year in my award-winning "most original" Peter Pan costume. So while I realize that there's a lot of things that are problematic about the book, I still think there's incredible value in a story that suggest to children that viewing their own inevitable deaths as "an awfully big adventure."

If you are not a person who appreciates Peter Pan, don't go see the film. It's not like Hook, Robin Williams isn't there to charm you despite yourself.

Pan is a damn fine reimagining of the story you already love. It's visually stunning and occasionally bizarre, surreal like the best dreams. The soundtrack was great, and I liked the 3D effects, although I noticed my friend occasionally having some trouble with them.

I was pretty pleased with the acting. Levi Miller was engaging and believable. Rooney Mara was one bad-ass young lady. Hugh Jackman was his own insane pirate - not anyone else's. And Garrett Hedlund seemed aware that he was not Dustin Hoffman or Cyril Ritchard and took his character in a very different.

I was also pretty pleased with the way the movie handled the whole issue of "Indians!" Basically, they weren't presented as Indians at all, just a really interesting tribe of people. There were certainly cultural elements, but the visual was way more "raver" than anything else.

I feel like I should probably come up with some strong conclusion here, like the value of friendship, or whatever, but honestly, if you are a fan of the whole thing, you should go. If you aren't, you're a cynical jerk and I probably didn't like you anyway.

TLDR: Up yours, hater critics.
45 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Lotta Hard Work, Which Pays Off Something Amazing on This Earth
ChristinaBarrett-USA19869 October 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Spoilers: I mention the 1960 Peter Pan, Barney's Christmas, the Chronicles of Narnia, the Oz Books, Alice in Wonderland, and Harry Potter.

This movie tells me movies are getting better and better, and I like movies of this dynamic.

What drew me in was Tiger Lily and probably Blackbeard. Peter was such a good actor and such a sweet boy. He actually began to look like Peter Pan, which reminds me of the 1960 version with the lady playing Peter. I remember Wendy was good in that one, too. I used to watch it at my aunt's and have seen it at school a few times for music. I also used to watch Barney's Christmas, which reminds me of that version of Peter Pan; I actually loved Barney until kids in school said it wasn't cool again and I finally seemed older.

My favorite was after I came back from the bathroom (had to go twice tho it was so short) and saw Blackbeard together with Sam Smiegel. The dynamic of their acting was so good. I 1st connected with the character of Sam Smiegel. Then, I grew to find Blackbeard acted well, except of course that he killed Peter Pan's mother. If he didn't murder, I'd like him. I liked him as an actor. I figure they dumped his character as a murderer and made him a warrior. His mother was an innocent maiden or something. It's sad to say I liked Blackbeard and Sam Smiegel over all the others.

Tiger Lily made this movie.. a movie. She is so beautiful and sound. She is an excellent actress. She was flawless and the best. She is a beautiful young girl. She's a wonderful budding actress. As a person, I think she is very kind, good, and cool, very deserving. I'd like to see her now next to other stars, like Chloe Grace Moretz, Bella Thorne, and the girls from Pitch Perfect 2. I don't know what would happen if she acted for Tim Burton, but he sounds like a tough director, maybe wants actors to be more independent to let their creativity out and make creative choices.

I rate this a 10/10. It contributed so much intelligence to the world with the cool acting. I really truly like it and hope others found themselves in it, too, and look forward to more movies as good as this in certain ways.

I read a review that said it didn't really cover much fantasy, and I'm beginning to think a lot of people agreed. Fantasies like the Chronicles of Narnia, the Oz Books, Alice in Wonderland, and Harry Potter provide more magical ideas. It's hard to say I'd watch this again on my own, Pan, tho I loved it so much. I go to the movies about every week, tho. I'm sure you could really get into this. You'd have to do a lotta work if no one else is as into it, like posting on the board. A lotta people were fans of things like Pirates of the Caribbean and Star Wars.

..I used to do this for Sweeney Todd, watch it a lot. It's a lotta work to make a movie, a good movie. I was hoping for more things like Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, like from Tim Burton since he does so much and you should always be moving up, knocking all the pins down, eventually, and getting there. I don't know who'd argue this popular belief that supposedly everyone loves. So, Pan is a good new classic work of art.
43 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Wonderful Family Movie That Even Adults Can Enjoy
bellagoestothemovies9 October 2015
When Mom and I decided to go to the movies last night I thought we might to go "The Walk". Instead we saw "Pan". To get me ready we watched "Hook", and few other earlier "Peter Pan" movies. I didn't understand why they needed to make a new one but this story was different. The other "Peter Pan" movies deal with The Darling family. This one featured Peter.

The movie started out with Peter as a baby then moved into his transition of becoming an enchanted boy who could fly. Usually the bad guy in these movies was "Captain Hook" but in this movie Garrett Hedlund played Hook and trust me he was not bad at all. Rooney Mara was great as "Tiger Lilly." Hugh Jackman played "Blackbeard". I am not used to seeing him looking that ugly but he was good. Levi Miller did a great job as "Peter Pan". When you see these movies you don't realized that the actors are not reacting to anything initially. All of the creatures are put in later.

THe special effects were beautiful. I loved all of the fairies. I also loved how the movie moved from an cold, sad London of WW2 to Neverland. It was great.

This movie is rated PG and has a good story so if you want to take your family out for a cinematic treat this weekend. I think "Pan" would be a good choice!
37 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Coplete mess
said-buet1021 July 2017
This whole movie is just wrong. I'm not familiar with the original Peter Pan story but I hope that has very little resemblance to this disaster. This is a complete waste of money and acting talent.

The whole making was all over the place. Extensive use of CGI on something which is far from mere average. Everything seemed unorganized, even sometimes forced. The acting was mediocre. One can even argue that there were nothing to actually act on. Very little to no character development for the supporting roles. I was seriously wondering who thought this story might actually work!!

To the people who haven't seen this I must say....don't waste two hours of your life on this.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
No Wendy!
danaalbasha15 October 2015
Brace yourself to be blown away! But prepare yourself: it's a Joe Wright movie, so it's so different and perfectly magical, it will change your previous knowledge of who Pan truly is.

If you are going to watch this movie you must know it's not a remake of Peter Pan, this is a story about who Peter Pan actually is, how he became "the Boy Who Wouldn't Grow Up" and how Hook became Captain Hook and who princess Tiger Lily is.

It's amazingly beautiful and the soundtrack is phenomenal! My husband and I absolutely loved it.

All I want by this point is part 2! I want Joe's version of how Wendy Darling enters the story.
36 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I'll Always Believe in You, Peter Pan!
timewhorl18 October 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I admit, Peter Pan is one of those stories that just draws the child in me to it. Who doesn't want to learn to fly, be friends with pixies, or never grow up and have all the anxieties of life? And whenever a new Peter Pan story is made into a film, I generally wind up seeing it. At last count I've seen Disney's animated Peter Pan and Return to Neverland, Mary Martin's Peter Pan, Cathy Rigby as Peter Pan, Hook, Peter Pan (2003), Peter Pan Live!, and now Pan and read Peter Pan in Kensington Gardens, Peter Pan and Wendy, Peter Pan in Scarlet, and Capt. Hook. So you might say I am an old hand at this...

Pan is a lively, different take on the tradition of Peter Pan...not quite as bizarre or hilarious as Hook and not as accurate to the original story as Peter Pan from '03. But what I know from having read about Mr. Barrie's life was that he edited Peter Pan numerous times when it was on stage and was always looking for a way to liven things up...so this Pan keeps with that tradition! It is a fun, rollicking adventure about a boy with a destiny, a savvy yet heartfelt pirate tag-a-long, and a warrior-princess...all battling the despotic Captain Blackbeard.

SPOILERS AFTER THIS: There is something absolutely charming about this version of Hook who is given the full emotional treatment of a person with an actual past, not just a guy missing a hand who wants revenge. Mr. Hedlund was the ideal casting choice because he can be gruff and still very likable.

And for all the complaints about Tiger Lily NOT being cast as Native America, might I suggest an alternative view for this? There is no way to give viewers a 100% authentic, First-Nations approved version of Tiger Lily. Why? Because the way Barrie wrote them was racist and you cannot escape from it...ever. But if you decide to make them Native-Neverlanders instead you remove what could be insulting by making them a new group of people that has no connections on earth. Instead, the Native-Neverlanders were a beautiful, eclectic tribe of people living in the trees like wood-elves (!) in bright tents and clothing, with skilled warriors and artisans. There was never a moment of disrespect to other cultures that I found and it this movie set apart from the others. Rooney Mara was a solid choice for Tiger Lily, enjoyable, spunky and given some really cool fighting scenes.

Blackbeard is a great villain with a purpose and Hugh Jackman was remarkable in the role, per the usual. His clothing and hair was flamboyant but not out of place in a world that is rather flamboyant and imaginative...and yes, he can be cruel and vicious. This is not a film for little wee-uns, as Blackbeard does kill children (implied, no impact seen).

And Peter Pan himself is a pretty brilliant marvel. Zachary is a newcomer but a fine young actor, quite likable and holds an impressive array of emotions. Peter is his usual self, albeit in a slightly different story, marked by determination and ability to lead. Unfortunately, this story did kill a little of the child-like wonder and glee Peter usually has but then...so did the film Hook.

I am giving it 8 out of 10 stars because the casting is very solid, character development is good, setting is spectacular, and plot is mostly sound. The only things I didn't like were the sorta Oliver Twist beginning (with mean nuns, which has been done to death, folks) and the plot hole of what happens to all those men and boys in the mine? Did Peter just leave them there or did he return them home? You decide.

But I recommend it wholeheartedly, just beware that it can be a bit scary and some smaller children may not do so well. On the scale of favorite Peter Pan films, it ranks just behind Cathy Rigby as Peter Pan and Hook, which isn't bad at all! It keeps Barrie's fun story alive for a new generation...until the next one is made! See you at the movies!
27 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fab adventure from start to finish
randallfish8 October 2015
We (1 adult + 3 x 12 year olds) absolutely loved this. Let me start by saying I am a fan of The Pan, and so was worried before seeing this that it would not come up to scratch. So we were lucky enough to win tickets of the preview, and I have to say I loved it. It was a film full of adventure and goes along at a cracking pace. There is not much back story or character development but the Pan universe is not supposed to be "Tolkien Deep". There is enough reference to JM Barrie's classic play and the iconic lines that we all know and love. The casting was good, the portrayal of the iconic characters was excellent. Ignore the negative reviews, leave the grumpy adult at the door and enjoy.

NB: we saw this in 3D , and it was exceptionally good use of 3D visuals, I've seen a lot of 3D films (have 3D TV setup at home too) and rate this very highly for effects, I actually jumped/ducked on quite a few occasions!
39 out of 79 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Best Pan Movie.
lovellallen22 October 2015
This is without a doubt the most enjoyable pan movie I have come across. I have just reached home from the cinema, and want to go back so I can watch it all over again.

I was able to watch this film in 3D boy did it stimulate my acrophobia,there was some view and angles from some amazing heights that I literally held my breath at times,

The film had some truly amazing sets,and scenery with a melody of vibrant colors and musicality from you entered into Neverland, with the aforementioned heights and the displays of camera movements to fully embrace the dreamy state of it all was beautifully done

It was great to see this rendition of Peter pan answering such questions as,why Pan is able to fly? and why he has so much confidence?

Pan ended with you (me) wanting more, needing to find out what happened between Pan and Hook.

It has everything you want in a family movie.

The only down side in my opinion (not the strange songs that didn't seem to fit because I did sing along in the cinema), but the natives? who actually looked like a bunch of kidnapped Londoners who escaped and put on colorful native clothing.... They didn't look native at all.

I need it to do better, because ... I need Pan 2.
35 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Awesome, i honnestly don't understand why is getting so criticized
vitormenezesdemattos10 October 2015
Warning: Spoilers
WHAT A MOVIE! I ONLY DIDN'T GIVE IT A 10, BECAUSE THE "BAD" IN THE MOVIE, ARE GOOD THINGS THAT COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER!Is hard not to compare with the first chronicles of Marnia movie and i really don't know why, but there are several similarities.Hugh Jackman is obviously sensational, Rooney Mara too, and she will shut the people who signed that ridiculous petition to change actress, Garrett Hedlund is good too, many people have denied that, but the character, in the way he is in the movie, it did get well played by Garrett, And the boy they have chosen to play Pan, Levi Miller, THEY COULD NOT HAVE CHOSEN ANY BETTER! He just rocked, is amazing how good he can act being that young. He was my first concern about the movie because the main acting is the most crucial, and it would be a kid, and is hard to find a kid acting good, so this was a crucial point that would be hard to make work, and they did, Levi Miller was just amazing, i think he can be the next DiCaprio, after all, looks like a young version of him, A LOT, jUS HOPE HE DOESN'T GET TO BE THE NEXT DICAPRIO BECAUSE....Oscar. Do i need to say any more? He also (last time i talk about his acting, u must be like "yeah we get it, the kid is good") rocks in the scenes which he's tied up and black beard is killing all the fairies, he cries and yells, ILL DO ANYTHING JUST STOP!! ANYTHIIING!! AMAZING! and when he meets his mom, cries, and show a perfect mixed expression of sadness, happiness, and satisfaction! this boy just...wow! Now i don't understand the reason of so much hate, there are critics that complain about the lack of magic and wonder in Neverland. What?! mermaids crocodiles, giant floating water balls, a "space" before Neverland, skeletal birds, the fairy kingdom, how is it without magic? And they also complain about the nirvana scene that doesn't make sense but....THE MOVIE DOESN'T MAKE ANY SENSE! U CAN SAY THE SCENE WAS BAD, BUT COMPLAIN BECAUSE DOESN'T MAKE ANY SENSE, COMPLAIN ABOUT THE WHOLE MOVIE THEN, WHAT THE HECK MAKES SENSE IN THIS MOVIE? I feel deeply sorry for the people who worked in this movie that i loved, and i have seen how hard they tried (i have came along with the news of this movie's production since December of 2013 when it was announced)and see how hard they worked, to get these reviews of the movie that i personally loved, made me feel kinda sad 4 them, also for Levi Miller, to know that his first major movie, that made him cry when knew he was gonna be a part of it, being so criticized, at least almost ALL the reviews are loving him as an actor, and trust me, this boy is gonna steal every1's heart!Lets see how he's gonna handle it
34 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Well, this happened...
TinkerLily17 October 2015
Sassy British descendant of Time Lord Cosette and Thumbelina's Prince Cornelius is orphaned with his flute necklace and surrounded by ninja-kicking nuns who sell children on the black market. After being abducted by Jean Valjean the Nirvana-loving dictator, he befriends Indiana Jones, who falls in love with Emily Blunt's Native American alter ego. He is then saved from flying crocodiles by the Cara Delevingne mermaid quadruplets (with glowing Rapunzel hair) who live in a sea of memories. He proceeds to discover he has the force, pixie-edition, and saves Atlantis the lost fairy-kingdom empire, adopting the title of "The Chosen One". And after all of this, we still don't find out what caused the proverbial bad blood between Peter Flute and Captain Indiana Hook. So there's that.

Despite all of this (or maybe because of it), I actually did enjoy the movie quite a bit. Even if the singing of Smells Like Teen Spirit left me confused and thinking of Moulin Rouge.
25 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed