Scorched Earth (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
50 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Award for the Most Hilarious Premise in Winter 2017/2018
Tweetienator3 February 2018
Almost the whole humanity was killed by climate change and catastrophes related to those changes and after billions are dead a few guys and gals still driving cars are threatening the climate and therefore hunted down by bounty-hunters - wanted dead or alive. Well, that's a well-dumb-crafted premise I must admit :D

What more to say!? Movie is so so but only if you are a BIG-time fan of the (pos)apocalyptic genre. No new The Road, The Book of Eli or Mad Max etc. here. Tastes like a C-Western, good enough to kill some spare time with nothing else to do.

Only for die-hard fans of the genre who must watch 'em all.
46 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Neutrally ok.
collinsburns577 February 2018
Watchable, giving the plots partly similar to both Clint Eastwood's "Unforgiven" and "Pale Rider" with a bit of Mad Maxish's enemy wasteland cars. Though none of the editing scene to scene were irritating throughout. The actors are average but not imposing enough with the exception of Gina's acting, she is certainly suited for more kick-ass heroine roles in movieland.
18 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Gina what's happened?
phillip-henry6 March 2018
This is a poor movie, that should be on in the background whilst you do something else, you shouldn't put any time aside to actually watch this, I like Gina and she had great potential to become an action star so why get involved in his drivel. Also, just a small point about the costume designers, one of the premises in the movie is the toxic atmosphere and the reliability on masks and silver?? None of the masks had filters on them which really bugged me, do some research people, masks need filters...
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Scorched Script
tedg25 January 2019
Well, it seems that all women on a path to stardom have to go through this, a cheap revenge movie. I think this actress has a future, and I suppose she knew that this would be a risk. The movie itself is unremarkable. What is mildly interesting is the setup. The movie wants to be a western, but it gets there by a strange setup.

An event in the future creates a Mad Max environment, that just happens to have Western sets, produce cowboy guns and cowboy-like dynamics and costumes, and get this, a silver mine with old fashioned gear and dynamite. The only difference is an air pollution that requires the bad guys to wear filter masks that resemble the bandanas of original movie westerns.

Why? What is gained by giving a familiar setting by such a strained setup? Let's assume it was designed and the intent was to make the story we see more real by contrasting to the setup which is goofy and fakey.

And you know, it works, sort of -- making this seem less terrible than it is.

You can do something better with your time.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good 'B' Movie
stevendbeard3 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I saw "Scorched Earth", starring Gina Carano-Deadpool, Fast & Furious 6; John Hannah-Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D._tv, The Brendan Frasier Mummy movies; Ryan Robbins-Van Helsing_tv, Falling Skies_tv and Dean S. Jagger-Game of Thrones_tv, Travellers. This is a 'B' movie-that was made in 2016, thank you credits-about a post apocalyptic future that looks like a cross between a western and Mad Max. Gina plays a bounty hunter that likes to ride a horse and drag her catches behind her in a coffin while Ryan is the bounty that likes to drive vehicles and swing a sword around in the air. There are some vehicles with gun turrets mounted on top. Dean is Ryan's right hand enforcer and John is Gina's friend and he also helped train her. John is also a doctor, which comes in handy when Gina gets beat up. Gina also has a past connection to John, which 'Makes this personal'. As you might guess, there's not much new here, but if you are a Gina fan-I am and have been since Haywire-you might enjoy it. It's rated "R" for violence and language and has a running time of 1 hour & 36 minutes. I would buy it on DVD-I'm a Gina fan, remember?-but if you are not, it would be alright as a rental.
16 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Ok Western
rhinestonelife12 November 2019
I like GC and will try any movie she's in. This one combines some of my favorite genres: action, apocalypse/dystopia, revenge. It's nice to see a female action hero like her that can fight and also resembles a real human woman that can take on a 6'-5" man and throw him across a room but still look beautiful doing that. I think the plot was thin, and some of the costuming was distracting. But generally an interesting take on the loner revenge western and a good vehicle for Carano's action star skills.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Gina needs more good scripts and bigger budgets.
sullyfaucher2 February 2018
Gage is a bounty hunter in the future where silver powder for breathing masks and water tablets are the commodities needed to sustain life. John Hannah plays a former hunter now a doctor due to injury. They have good chemistry and are even a bit funny. The action is great as Gina kicks ass everywhere she goes. Her sister was taken when Gage was younger and has nightmares about the incident so that when she goes after the guy who is the largest bounty, she finds out that he is the one who took her sister. The acting is good, all are believable and give good performances. I'd never seen any trailers and was surprised when I found this one and was not disappointed. It won't win any Oscars but was a good watch. I gave it a ten because at 3.7 of a rating, I felt it was unfair. Gina may be an ex MMA fighter but she's developed into a pretty good actress. I agree with the other reviewer that Gina needs better scripts and bigger budgets.
34 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
B for beige.....
s327616914 February 2018
B for beige applies to a good number of second tier films and Scorched Earth is no exception.

I must say I was surprised to see the talented John Hannah in this science fiction Western. His presence was a welcome addition, however, that said, it is still not enough to save this production from mediocrity.

Pretty much everything found in Scorched Earth has been done before in one form or other. That in itself is no sin. Where it falls down is in its inability to cash in, offering up pedestrian narrative and no real breath of acting performances. The action scenes do not stand out in a meaningful way either. Its strictly by the numbers stuff, which fails to impress.

All in all a rather "ho hum" affair that's a marginal watch at best. Five out of ten from me.
11 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Oh Dear. Do they really still make movies like this?
dubwize3 February 2018
This is 2018. To sit through this felt like I was back in the 1980's. If it was made back then it would have been a great movie, however this is the 21st century and movies need more than over extended low grade long winded dialogue scenes and cheesy acting. As Megatron from Futurama says: "That was so terrible I think it gave me cancer."
31 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Scorched Bank Account, more like.
deathlightdb9 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
When you walk into this, you get the feel that you're going to be watching some pretty good over-the-top camp. But you don't get the elements of good camp here. It sits squarely and firmly in that awkward place, where they either needed to improve the drama, and make this a serious film about global warming, or push it further, and give us some humor and outlandish action. You get neither of those things; just badly choreographed fist fights.

With the exception of Jackson, who might have some acting chops (he actually emoted! gasp!), the acting is tediously mediocre. I wouldn't let the inclusion of most of these actors deter me from future films, but if they weren't in this movie just for the paycheck, and doing their bare minimum, they need to find new careers or ramp up their lessons. And it's just not bad enough to loop around back to so-bad-it's-good. It feels like a cheap made-for-TV, late night slot time Syfy filler flick.

The props, I'll admit, are lovely. But they should have taken 75% of the prop budget and put it into writing and casting instead. I made it all the way through the movie, I'll grant it that, and maybe a single star isn't really warranted. But I feel like if you're going to be bad, be gloriously bad. Don't be this painfully forgettable mishmash of nothing impressive at all.
19 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
When Sean Bean turns you down,you know you have a bad script
Eddie_weinbauer10 February 2018
This script is so bad,it makes American Ninja look oscar worthy. You can clearly see why Sean Bean turned this down. It comes off as a really bad rip off,from Clint Eastwood's Pale Rider.

The biggest problem is the bad script,the horrible acting.It has clearly all the signs of a Western,only it has been pushforward in the modern day of age.Added a dose of doomsday and end of the world.

GIna doesn't even look like she is trying to act,but then again,neither does the rest. The story is: that the world has been devastated by man made disasters,caused by global warming.And that everyone who drives a vehicle based on combustion engine.Which uses gasoline and spew exhaust, is considered an outlaw, and are thereby by hunted by bounty hunters.

The problem is,there's no explanation as to where the government get data/information about who drives what,and where. Nor how they communicate with the local law offices, around the wastelands. There is some talk about how they drop by every now and again.To leave silver and water purification tablets,which work as the payment for the bounty hunters. But nothing,bout how they get from A to B. There are Horses as transportation,but it doesn't seem like everyone has them. Which coincidentally is why this movie doesn't work. Neither as a western nor as a mad max movie .

Gina was super great in haywire,but this..This is below her level. Oh GIna if you needed money that bad,why didn't you just pose for playboy.I',m sure they would have paid a lot more.
19 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
These are two hours of my life I am not getting back.
MissTuesday26 February 2018
I have to say that I started this film figuring already in advance that it would be the perfect kind of film to eat in front of (meaning I wouldn't need to pay much attention as I ate serenely). Well hell. I was so right I actually didn't need to look up from my pasta. Or from my phone. Or from playing with the cat. It's too bad, the idea could have been funny, like in the film "Bounty Killer" except here it just ends up feeling like a cheap try (really, everyone is dying of poison air and water and the 'authorities' are worried about people driving cars? seriously?). Maybe I missed the big picture, I'm sorry, I got lost in the bad acting, bad costumes and bad special effects (no, let's be honest: there weren't any). Seriously speaking though, the main character was probably written to be an 'anti-hero' (what a shocker, it seems like everyone is following that trend) except that the writers don't seem to have looked up the definition. An anti-hero doesn't lack all morals, they simply go about their world saving in an obscure, unconventional way usually motivated by a dark past. Ok, so they got the dark past somewhat covered but the rest was just rush-write bullcrap. One moment she's this big bad, unemotional killer who doesn't care for anyone but herself and the next she's crying out "Nooooooooo!" to the ditzy young blond whom she's just met and who (litteraly ten minutes ago) just turned on her and got her beaten almost to death? Here is my final words for this film: "Whyyyyyy?"
15 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Bounty Hunter in future !
saptesh78619 November 2019
Story from future. A bounty hunter hunts a deadly killer. Good action by Gina Carano. She is perfect in bounty hunter. However movie trails between time and climax is as expected. Watchable for once
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible terrible movie
edwinchoy13 March 2018
Please start to create the minus -10 . Low cheap budget movie, no actors, dialogue by force, no production, no director, this is a cheap low budget movie made by a bunch of neighbors in California, no story no history, nothing, no FX nothing, really terrible movie no waste your time download this horrible terrible movie. For sure the good comments are the families and neighbors of the kids and the poor producer and director. This people and his director must be ban to produce or make another domestic VHS home movie.No real story, bad acting. Waste of time
13 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Only and only..Gina Carano !!
prince-5473726 March 2018
I enjoyed watching this movie but only because of Gina Carano. She is very talented and quite super fit for big budget action flicks .
9 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Zena meets a B style mad max
jezustolemyboat20 May 2018
I'm up for most anything but this is literally Zena the warrior princess meets a B version of mad max...it's painful
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I am a big fan of post apocalypse and this movie is awesome
ukrainian-0291625 March 2018
Many people there talking about cheapness and low budget but I did watch the whole film and didn't notice any cheapness. Quite the opposite I saw the interesteed scenario and the memorable characters. I feel sadness when people write bad about this film. Maybe people prefer the other kind of films that I don't prefer. But by their's low ratings of this film people like me will never see the sequel.
9 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Seen Quick and the Dead? You know the entire story line for this film already.
mikeallen2121 April 2020
But........ Gina Carano carries it and it's still pretty good! EVERY single thing is copied straight from the 1995 western. They did make it in the future and they have gas mask on 1/4 of the time, but the rest is straight a western with all the same characters. Still pretty fun to watch.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
An unexpected gem of a film
applecrunchvape9 February 2018
I watched this film the other night and i must say i was surprised at just how much i enjoyed it. It came with a slow start but having watched it i understand why. It reminded me just how human nature would act and turn at a moments notice if one thought their demise would be at the cost of natures doing. absolutely worth a watch. Cage is our heroine in this flick and played well. There are some laughs along the way unexpectedly which gave a breath of fresh air to a dire situation our characters face in this "each for their own" flick. To me she was likable from the start and her doctor friend was equally good. Think the Walking Dead in the later series, just without zombies Thankyou for reading
10 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Great Surprise!
hackraytex6 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I enjoy the movies and usually go once a week or more. That is a benefit of being retired. I had never heard of this movie until today and decided to check it out since a change in plans gave me an open day today.

It has at least two elements that I really enjoy in a move. It was a syfy movie and also a syfy movie with a lot of western elements but was not a "modern western" set in dystopian future. The action scenes were great without a lot of bodies blown to bits. There was no division between the sexes as far as the action went. If it had a limited budget, I did not see it. I was not familiar with any of the actors and they all delivered a solid performance. In researching them I saw that they all have a lot of performances under their belts. This is definitely a WOW movie for those who like action, syfy, and western movies and it will not disappoint most viewers. I think there is room for a sequel for the two surviving actors.
8 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Don't waste your time
bahnjee28 October 2019
Bad acting, bad writing, bad directing, stupid story. Nothing worth seeing in this crap-fest.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
First take?
maximovlE20 September 2019
This could have been a good movie. It could have been a great movie! Maybe it was? However, I have a feeling the editing department messed up and released the initial dress rehearsal instead of the actual movie. Yeah that must be what happened, because no-one could possibly consider this acting!

I need to look up more Gina movies because I keep hearing she's a good actress, but I didn't see that here.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Another Movie Based From PC Game
Coogan-012 February 2018
Yes, that is what this appears to be, another PC game (Fallout) turned into a cheesy movie. I gave it a 5/10 just to remain neutral. I'm sure the averages will go way down from there.

Coogan
13 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A great film and on a far smaller budget than Mad Max Fury Road.
guyrayment-677655 April 2018
Mixed reviews but so unjust. If you liked Mad Max Fury Road then this film delivers copiously.

Lead actress and supporting actors are excellent, story is well delivered and the props etc give it a real feel of a future world.

You empathise with the characters and their beliefs, the criminals are bad, the goodies are good in a bad way. Tarantino Dusk Until Dawn.

I hope they make another. Enjoy it for the great viewing it is and ignore the crap ratings.

Leading lady also needs to re-appear.

Loved it.
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Better Than Most
mdb-871518 September 2019
I agree with most reviews that the cast and crew of Scorched Earth will not be walking down the red carpet at the Academy Awards.It's a standard sci fi cowboy film with not much to recommend it, except for one thing. Gina Carano. She is a female version of Clint Eastwood in "Man With No Name". Calm, cool, collected, with some snappy comebacks. I would normally give this 5 stars since I did watch it all the way through. However, I'm adding the extra stars for Carano.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed