Bent (2018) Poster

(I) (2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
54 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
A rehashed idea, done a thousand times and 999 times better!
makka-0095510 March 2018
A weak storyline, poor script, slow pace and ham acting, make for a less than enjoyable ride. A rehashed idea, done a thousand times and 999 times better! Our lead, Karl Urban, makes Matt Damon seem to have limitless emotional depth. He permanently looks like he is suffering from hard stools - maintaining the same expression throughout. The wardrobe department wasn't too taxed, given he wore the same outfit the whole movie, but for a t-shirt change. Continuity need sacking; cops break our hero's tail light and 20 seconds later it is fully functioning and undamaged again! Make-up is a bit odd, a punch in the nose illicits much blood after a thousandth of a second and one character shot in the final scene bleeds out immediately from the head and body, despite being shot only once. One character dies from a non-lethal wound! The storyline is simple enough. Man accused of something he didn't do goes out to prove otherwise and uncover a thinly-veiled conspiracy. I lost interest so many times, due to the slow pacing and poor script. The movie is lacking in drama and you become disengaged from the plot really easily. In short, it's not good.
48 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
"Hey there, my names Karl Urban"...
thebigrip-110 March 2018
"Hey there, my names Karl Urban. I'm known for my films where I play Karl Urban and most recently, playing the exciting new role of Karl Urban. This time around, I'm a cop who was framed for murder blah blah blah now out of prison blah blah blah finding out the truth behind blah blah blah bring to justice, etc. It's a real fresh concept on the genre. The script for this movie is genius in that it feels like someone wrote the entire thing in Mandarin and then transposed it to English using Google Translate. Not only that, but Sofia Vergara is in it so we have an excuse for a poorly executed love interest that comes quite literally out of nowhere. She's terrible, but she makes out with a chick so it's worth it. I spend most of the movie hunting down the generic bad guy within 7 days, during which time I conveniently have a "guy" for everything to help assist the plot along, without the need for unnecessary things like exposition. Need a licence plate run? I know someone in the DMV. Need to check my car for bugs? Got a guy in a garage. I'm just like John Wick! I also have two sets of clothes for the entire god damn movie, it's really remarkable. Anyway make sure you catch this film before you completely forget it even exists, which is a real possibility."

I'd rather clean all the bathrooms in Flinders Street station with my tongue than watch this atrocious drivel again.

2/10
64 out of 96 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Its ok to watch from home!
astodghill0117 June 2018
Not the best/worse movie I have ever seen but it was ok.
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Shamefull
trojun_7412 March 2018
A derivative plot and a flop that is sure to ruin the reputations of all involved.
22 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Can a plot be any more unoriginal?
elizrug10 March 2018
"On his latest private investigation, a shamed former cop connects a murder case to a government conspiracy involving rogue agents from a top spy agency."

Does anything about this description make anyone want to see this movie? How many times has this been done before? How many different nuances does the government conspiracy movie genre need? Or how about the spy movie genre? There is literally so much going on in this world that would make for an entertaining tale, that no one even has to come up with anything on their own. They could embellish any existing story in our world's history and have a good storyline, but no, they went ahead with another trite, been-there, done-that, man in a black leather jacket fighting corruption, straight to DVD, too boring to watch while stoned, too stupid to watch while sober, movie.
28 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Two Separate Stories, One Connecting Character
lillinfields9 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
It wasn't bad and it wasn't fantastic, it fell somewhere in the middle. I'll watch Karl Urban in pretty much anything so I went in with the mindset of a fan. I didn't like how they had two separate stories going on it kinda made the film have a disconnecting feel. However I did like both storylines. I would have liked them as two separate movies...that actually would have been a great idea. I liked Urban's acting hence the 6/10 stars. But for the movie itself I'd say 5.5 or at most a 6 would be acceptable too. I liked Urban's grit. I didn't guess the ending so that was something else that made the movie decent. I'd recommend it if you're a Karl Urban or Andy Garcolia fan otherwise it's just another B rated cop movie with some plot disconnect.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Slow paced revenge-ish movie.
CousinBagunca11 June 2018
Bent (2018) is about a former cop that was framed, lost his partner and now is seeking out revenge, while battling his inner demons to just call it quits and stay with his all time love.

It has an OK plot and I like what they did with it, but they make things way too big and never explain them enough. A conspiracy? Is it Goverment related? Is it only about rogue agents fighting over money? In the end, all that doesn't matter.

It's not an action movie. It's about seeing an investigation unfolds and it's kinda bland. There are some curveballs, but they are rather weak.

Overall, just an OK flick.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Simply bad.
filiptp21 March 2018
You thought Sofia Vergara is a bad actress? You should see Karl Urban's performance. It's a primary school's acting level, but less entertaining. Also, the story is a text book cliche, thriller with no thrill at all. I really want to know who invest money in projects like this. And why?
18 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Boring, slow, and bad.
TheTopDawgCritic25 March 2018
The 96 min length felt like 3 hours in this overly dragged out slow paced mess. Was there even an editing department involved with this production? The writing/screenplay and directing by Bobby Moresco was atrocious - a high school drama student could have done better. The score was all over the place. The acting was OK for B-grade actors except for Karl Urban, who's performance was a disaster. His monotonic dialogue and wax expressions made it seem like this was his first acting role. It's also pathetic to see all 8 and above reviews only reviewed this film, thus all fakes. Sad to see the producers needing to trick the viewers in seeing this disaster. It's an honest and generous 3/10 from me.
22 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A serviceable low-budget noir police story
ginocox-206-33696812 March 2018
"Bent" is a fairly typical low-budget direct-to-video noir police story with a few satisfying plot twists, adequate production values and a good performance by Andy Garcia in a supporting role. It is not cathartic or cerebral and doesn't offer anything memorable in terms of gunfights, pyrotechnics, stunt work, stage combat or car chases. Even Sofia Vergara's first onscreen shower scene is unfortunately not particularly memorable. The script is weak and needed a couple of rewrites before it would have been ready for production. The opening scene is not sufficiently well crafted to justify or explain the consequences.

I watched this film shortly after viewing "Downsizing," which I knew had received discouraging reviews. I wasn't even particularly intrigued by the story, but it had a great cast and a big budget, so I decided to give it a try. I wound up watching it in about six segments over three days. "Bent" was produced with perhaps a tenth of the budget and without some of the top-level talent, but it held sufficient interest for me to watch it in one sitting, although I admit to engaging in a little multitasking during a few of the slower parts. It is not a great film, but suffices as a pleasant diversion.

Sofia Vergara delivers a credible performance as the femme fatale. Karl Urban does as well as can be expected with the material he's given, as a brooding detective out to clear his name. Andy Garcia delivers a nuanced, multidimensional performance. The major problem is the script, which is underwritten and relies too heavily on exposition.

I'm giving the movie eight stars, which is generous to a fault, but intended to offset a few reviews that seem unfairly harsh.
17 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Its ok
pambosk23 July 2018
I quite liked this movie, just above average. I don't know why so many people had reviewed this film and say that it is a rehash, been done so many times before. Er hello, what film has'nt been done many times before. Even classics like the Big Sleep were done before. Superman....he can fly and can save the world..rehash. Detective or detectives find out who the bad guy is. NCSI. CSI...Sherlock Holmes. Just because the film did not have a shoot out and car chase every five seconds, does not mean it was a bad film. Or was it because people had to concentrate on the dialogue. As I said its an ok film.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good watch!
jmarykay13 March 2018
I really enjoyed watching Bent. Some of the plot lines were predictable, but this movie had some big twists which caught me by surprise. Enjoyed the opening sequence, made me jump in my seat. I hope there will be a sequel!
17 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Well worth watching
bill_212213 March 2018
Urban is tough and gritty as always. Good storyline as well.
16 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Unoriginal
andyharm29 September 2018
Come on - this plot has been done before- the summary at the top says it all - yet this film flops hard on its face with delivery. Sorry Karl, better luck next time! In saying that, the cinematography and soundtrack were ok...
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great plot! Loved the classic cinematography.
miguelasomartinez12 August 2018
Some say its not original, but i think it has the best of other movies. I personally liked the plot and storyline and actors. I dont usually watch movies like this but i thought it was GREAT. Loved the cinematography as well.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Just a Ball of Confusioin
jb_campo21 July 2018
Bent starts out with promise but quickly goes downhill and never rebounds. Urban as Detective Gallagher has that cop look and voice, but he's about the best actor in this mess. The best scene is 2 minutes in when his girlfriend, a singer, rips into Ball of Confusion, but then, yep, you get confused.

Then there's a gun scene on a boat with unexpected consequences, and nothing gets explained. Urban meets Andy Garcia, and we have no idea who he is. Sofia Vergara shows up, no clear idea who she is. There is absolutely no character development, so no clue who these people are. Gallagher seems to be on his own, disavowed by the police. He drives here and there and everywhere, but no clue what he's doing. That pretty much explains the movie.

What's worse is that the acting was inexplicably bad. Andy Garcia had this crying scene about Gallagher, with his wife, and you have NO clue why she's upset and why he's crying. There's another scene with another cop who investigates an attack on Gallagher, and this guy was just a terrible actor, like he was reading off the cards. Sofia Vergara walked her way thru lines and her character did some stupid things.

Then suddenly you get to the end and Gallagher has everything figured out, but no clue about how he got there. It was a very confusing movie with really bad acting and poor character development. The scenery and setups were ok, but really a sub-par detective story. There are so many better detective cop stories than this. Really, don't waste your time. Dr McCoy should have just stayed on the Enterprise instead of beaming into this terrible movie.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
WELL WORTH THE WAIT
layala441 April 2018
Having read the book, Deadly Codes, I eagerly awaited the movie version. I was not disappointed, Bent (title change) was engaging, clever, suspenseful, well written and well acted. I was hooked from the electrifying opening scene to the very satisfying last scene. I love Danny & Kate & hope for a sequel to see where their story takes them. 5 stars!
11 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome!
Aligrace1213 March 2018
Suspenseful. Emotional. Clever. Really enjoyed this movie from beginning to end. Loved the plot with a twist and the cast was fantastic! It was great seeing these characters come to life on the big screen. Check it out, you won't be disappointed.
14 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fun Thriller with a Great Story
seanghz-8861010 April 2018
This film was an amazing opportunity to see the main character (Gallager) navigate his way through a bunch of different obstacles as the suspense builds throughout. The plot is based of the book series (also a 10 out of 10) and the director did a great job with the adaptation. The case is full of A-listers and I would recommend this movie to anyone in search of a great thriller with a well developed story
11 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not the best movie, but definitely better than the poor reviews of others!
drefm19 August 2018
This is an easy going movie. OK, some predicability in the plot, but there were a couple of interesting twists. One of those movies you can watch while you are working at your desk. Very good twist at the end. I wish the movie had incorporated more of New Orleans in it, but still good never the less. An enjoyable hour and a half well worth the watch!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very entertaining
ggovin25 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I'm assuming the people that gave this movie terrible reviews are the ones only entertained by zombie or superhero movies. I thought Karl Urban did a good job and I liked the story. I was a bit confused by the "N.O.P.D." driving European cop cars though. I still really enjoyed it. Good action, Urban and Garcia do a good job, not a terribly confusing storyline, yet had some twists.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic Thriller
nicoleharringtondmd2 April 2018
Engaging story-line, with lots of action and suspense. I loved the surprise ending which was absolutely worth the wait. I would highly recommend this movie- you won't be disappointed!
8 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not bad at all
aramt-0793516 May 2019
I really like Karl Urbain and it nice to see him not in a sidekick role) Nothing special,but enjoyable little flick to spent some time... not as bad as some say...
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It's ok
heydiddlediddle00726 November 2018
Like other reviews, it's not the greatest movie but not bad either
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Sturdy showcase neo noir falters with pacing
shakercoola22 November 2018
This film set in Louisiana is about a discredited former policeman. It starts with themes such as a quest for justice, and the path of revenge that destroys the soul, but mostly gives up on these and morphs into an intricate who-dunnit about a government conspiracy. Aside from Karl Urban and Andy Garcia most of the supporting cast gave below par performances from which the overall impact of the drama is lessened. The third act is a big letdown with a clichéd monologue that belongs to a 90's era gangster movie.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed