Bunheads (TV Series 2012–2013) Poster

(2012–2013)

User Reviews

Review this title
33 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Way better than you expect
spirit-of-196917 July 2012
Look, I'm a 22-year-old male, not exactly this show's target audience. I only caught it because I was watching the hilarious train wreck that is The Secret Life of the American Teenager (god what an awful show).

I was expecting more of the same from Bunheads (I have to echo everyone else's sentiments here: that title is terrible). Instead, I found myself totally engrossed. Sutton Foster is an incredible find -- bundles of charisma, great comedic timing and the ability to pull off the dramatic stuff without being cheesy. The conflict between her and Fanny is well pitched and comedic and should carry the show far. The teens are all great actors considering their age and the fact that this is ABC Family, and have a cute camaraderie that will be fertile ground for drama later on (you can see the writers already laying the foundation for this).

The best part, though, is the show's humor. Michelle name drops Kirsten Wiig and it's a good comparison -- manic, physical but always with intelligence and heart. The writing obviously never reaches the heights (or the grossness) of Bridesmaids, but Bunheads is honestly funnier than any network comedy not airing on NBC.

If you liked Gilmore Girls, or want a family comedy-drama, or are just bored on a Monday night, I highly recommend checking out Bunheads. Even if you're a twenty-something guy...
69 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
gilmore girls with dancers-- sold!
akayeh83-117 July 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Yes-- 'Bunheads' is a repeat of Gilmore Girls, but with ballet dancers. I firmly believe that the conversation around casting Michelle went as follows: find someone who looks and acts exactly like Lauren Graham, but who can dance. Enter Sutton Foster-- the perfect Lorelia substitute. She's got the 'Gilmore' tempo down cold. It's almost like her only acting direction was to mimic Lauren Graham, from the inflections to the facial expressions. However-- as someone who loved 'Gilmore', this is not necessarily a bad thing. If you loved 'Gilmore' for it's quick pace, amazing whit, and sarcastic tone, this fills the void.

Even better is the fact that it features ballet. I've been a dancer all of my life and what I love about this show as compared to all of the other dance 'things' out there is that the girls are real. Not only are they real dancers, but they talk and act like real dancers. I always feel like no one ever gets the 'dancer' character right, but somehow, Amy has done it. I'm only a couple of years younger than Michelle and the transition that she's beginning to go through--almost too old to dance, but not ready to let it go--thinking teaching is the end--is something that is very real and very difficult, and I love how it's being portrayed.

Kelly Bishop, as always is incredible. She has taken the stereo-type of the 'ballet mistress', but has added heart and genuine love for her girls. While the banter between Fanny and Michelle is reflective of Lorelia and Emily, this relationship doesn't have the baggage of the Gilmores--Michelle has made the choice to stay with Fanny and doesn't seem to be treating her as an obligation or something she is constantly trying to escape (at least not yet). I'm anxious to see how their friendship continues to build.

To sum it up: if you loved Emily and Lorelai, Stars Hallow, and the fast paced smart referenced chatter of Gilmore, you will love Bunheads!
23 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great new show with a lot of potential.
itsknotfair29 May 2012
Most pilots aren't great, but when they are, you know that you have something special. Such is the case with Bunheads. While the title leaves much to be desired, the plot and characters, not to mention the acting fulfills a need for something witty and possibly touching.

After just one episode, you get a great sense of the story and who the characters are. After watching the pilot, you will want to see what happens next.

Michelle is a professional dancer whose career has taken a dip in recent years, and fails to amaze at yet another audition. Feeling low on herself and her lackluster life, she decides to marry a kind admirer.

Upon arrival at his small town, Michelle meets his mother, a dance instructor. After butting heads at first, they discover a common ground and seem to get along.

The ballet students seem to cover a great variety of what one might expect. The thin waif who has ease and skill with dancing, but not the motivation, a girl who wishes more than anything to be more graceful than her body type will allow, and another whose larger bust proves difficult (a challenge for any dancer.)

The final moments of the first episode set up the direction for which the show will take, and leave the viewer with chills.

I found it quirky and smart and I cannot wait for what lies ahead with this series.

5/5 stars.
50 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I love this show! Sutton Foster and Kelly Bishop are amazing
mzaiontz-934-88192918 June 2012
Warning: Spoilers
This is my first IMDb review, and well worth it, because after only watching the first episode, I have to say I love this show! It actually kind of inspired me to wanna take ballet and dance classes. I've watched the pilot episode three times now before the second episode aired. It's that good! Sutton Foster and Kelly Bishop have great chemistry, I have to say, Sutton Foster, who is normally a HUGE two time Tony Award winner, makes a great TV debut with a very strong character, and after watching the pilot episode three times I notice and catch more good parts in it. The pilot has a lot of good one liners! It's very funny. And the pilot has a shocking twist that might bring this series to a different but interesting place, I will still watch it. A lot of people are comparing this show to Gilmore Girls because the woman who created Gilmore Girls created this show, as well as Kelly Bishop playing a mother. I've only seen Gilmore Girls a few times, I didn't really get into it, but I have to say I'm into this show! I cant wait for more episodes! I hope ABC Family keeps this show on the air for a long time! My one complaint is to ABC Family, whose cable company is only Direct TV. I think more people would be able to watch this show if you would put it on a normal cable channel. I have to watch Bunheads online, so that might affect your ratings sadly. That is all.
25 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What a delightful surprise!
queenbeemarian9 February 2013
I can't even believe I love this show, since I have never been a dancer, but I checked it out simply for the amazing and wonderful Sutton Foster and have stayed for the rest of this talented cast. The characters are interesting and the dialogue is the best reason to stay focused. I laugh out loud A LOT every week, and that's saying something these days. Witty and clever is not the norm with most TV shows. I'm not sure what the deal is with all the haters on the reviews here, unless they can't get over the fact that this isn't the Gilmore Girls. I never was able to watch GG, so maybe it's easier to enjoy this without expectations. Anything that gives Sutton Foster exposure to a wider audience is a blessing for us all.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Refreshingly different and absolutely hilarious
heidihaas8817 May 2013
I love Bunheads and I think it stands out in all the TV shows of today, I was told to keep it simple so here are reasons why you should at least give Bunheads a chance:

1. It is truly funny, we are talking quick and sassy dialog! 2. The actresses (and the fewer seen actors) are outstanding and believable, from the slightly crazy dance instructor, to the not so ballerina looking wannabe bunhead to the over-achieving nerd who waits tables.... 3. The dancers are professionally trained and don't just act as dancers 4. Sutton Foster and Kelly Bishop 5.The quirky small town setting including all the hilarious characters

If you like good dialog a pinch of drama and quirky characters you will not be disappointed!
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
See you later, Smash
rjheckma17 June 2012
With Amy Palladino and Kelly Bishop at the helm, you have a good chance that your ship is going in the right direction. Bring on the talented Sutton Foster and sail away. While the beginning had me concerned that Sutton was just another Lorelei in Broadway clothing, by the end of the pilot she sets her own character.......and does she ever. The Amy Palladino clever dialog and oblique references are still there.(Those that endeared me to Gilmore Girls which was the best comedy of the '00's). With the surprise ending of the pilot, one can only guess where the plot lines are going next, but I can't wait. Fresh and entertaining and a MUST alternative the the Bachelor and Bachelorette. Bet Lauren Graham is glued to her TV set.
23 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Bunheads
koleenhansen7 October 2013
to whom may concern: I love this show I am sad they have cancel a just fun show there seem to cancel all family fun cute show bring bun heads I love Gilmore Girls I love Amy Sherman Palladio show she write family show. I prefer family show over most show on TV this day please ABC family channel bring Bunheads show back on the air. I miss deeply everyday I watch Bunheads and Gilmore Girls once a day everyday so I wish for more Bunheads episode.

please I would appreciate it ABC family or any other TV channel please pick up Bunheads and renew this wonderful TV show bring it back to the air. best wish Kaoru Tomoe
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Loving it so far.
rainzsim12 January 2013
I loved, loved, loved Gilmore Girls, so thought I'd give this show a whirl. On episode 3 and so far, like it! Thank you Ethan for taping it and letting me watch. Very similar vibe to Gilmore - with great writing, repartee and lovable, kooky characters. If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Sherman-Palladino's script is as witty as ever and love the fact that they brought in a great Broadway actress/dancer. Sutton Foster is likable and funny. Similar, yet different to Lauren Graham. Good to see Kelly Bishop back. Difficult not to compare to Gilmore Girls really, but as I love that show and they've stopped making it - I have to fill the void with something. I love ballet too, so like that addition to the story. So great that there ARE ballerinas and dancers that could also act. All those dance movies with the plastic 'acting' were depressing me. A great pick-me-up show. So you can add this to The Big Bang Theory and Modern Family as my favourite comedies!
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent!
Suze31339 November 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Bunheads, a very appropriate title as it does focus on a group of 4 ballerinas and their teachers. What really grabbed me from the start was the fact that it followed in the Gilmore Girls show path, in more way than one. Many lovable characters were brought in from that show but what I truly loved was that this was another quick wit, keep you on your toes dialogue. Michelle, who enters town as a stranger, becomes the center of the show quickly and keeps you on your toes (pun not intended) with her quick wit, humor yet also keeps your interest when she's in a "down" mood. That doesn't happen often. Her mother in law, played by Kelly Bishop, is eccentric yet also down to earth. A relationship that starts very rocky turns around slowly. I like that they did it in real life mode, not made them love each other within 3 shows. I found all of the characters endearing and was as hooked on it as quickly as I was to Gilmore Girls. The 4 main ballerinas, whom are high school students, are endearing. They face life's true problems just like any other high school girl. I highly suggest you watch this if you haven't yet. *if you haven't seen this show, DON'T READ THIS!* I'm still left wondering why they cut this show short. Everyone that I talked to who watched this show, loved it! I really was hoping they'd reconsider and bring it back but it's been obvious to me for a while now that isn't going to happen. It's hard to find shoes like these and was really disappointed when I learned there would be no more Bunheads. It was a great show for my daughter and I to watch together, she's now 21. It wasn't just for the high school crowd. Bummer!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A show ahead of it's time
musicgirrl1613 July 2018
This show was the best, before it's time. It would have an audience even now. I don't know what company was in charge, The WB, CW or ABC Family? (They missed the ball) I watched the show when it came out in 2012 and now again in 2018. (Big thanks Hulu!) This could have been as big as "Jane the Virgin" or "Crazy Ex Girlfriend". I would love to see this relaunched, (that's all they're doing these days) But honestly, this was only the show it is/was because of the cast and creators (Sutton Foster and Kelly Bishop, love, love and the girls, and my favorite content creator Amy Sherman Palladino)
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
I'm trying to like this show, but they're making it hard.....
msels19 June 2012
Warning: Spoilers
SPOILERS BELOW

Having seen many Broadway shows, and seeing Sutton Foster in several of those, I'm trying really hard to like this show. I actually liked the Hubbel character and would have liked to see that relationship grow.

The problem I'm having here is in the second episode, after Hubbel's death, nobody seems to be upset. The mother, who in the first episode came off as a smart woman, is off her rocker and showing no signs of sadness, the girls are making jokes about it and not one person is crying. I can't figure out if this is supposed to be a dark comedy or a dramedy or what. But there seems to be no compassion at all.

I don't get it yet and I'm not sure how much more time I'm willing to put into it before I do because this is a bit annoying.
11 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Cute pilot but worst plot twist since Big Love finale
ianisalifestyle18 June 2012
Warning: Spoilers
This whole review is a spoiler if you haven't watched the Bunheads pilot (or the Big Love finale).

I hate it when writers throw up huge plot twists to challenge their characters or move the story with no thought to what the audience might enjoy. Big Love did it for most of their last season - making our favorite characters unlikable, destroying things that had been building for years and finally giving their lead a nothing death just so we could see how everyone else reacts.

After just one episode, I am worried Bunheads is already on the same slippery slope. They spent most of the pilot laying the foundation for a quirky, original love story unlike anything I have seen in a quality drama, only to give their male lead a nothing death during the last 30 seconds of the show.

Despite the good acting and witty dialog, I don't think I am invested enough to watch a bunch of women I've only known for one episode grieve my favorite character from the pilot. I am tired of having the rug pulled out from under me with manipulative plot twists that make an otherwise great show less enjoyable. The writers should earn an emotional reaction from their viewers, not do the creative equivalent of giving us a cute puppy just so they can take it away.
9 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Brilliant TV
lavanyaxoxo11 September 2014
This show reminded me of Gilmore Girls, right from the first episode, before I knew it was a Palladino thing. Not in a predictable way, rather the quick wit writing unique to Amy Sherman Palladino.

Bunheads is brilliant TV, it's funny and interesting but can take on a sad angle wonderfully too. The actors are amazing, each and every one of them, and the dancing is beautiful!

Highly entertaining and heartwarming, you grow to love the characters. and feel personally involved in their lives (I'm not weird, I swear). Paradise is such a nice little town with its eccentric inhabitants.

I particularly like the female-centered cast, they pull it off brilliant. Don;t be discouraged, though, it isn't a "girly" show.

If you like ballet, witty dialogue and little towns, give this a shot. Heck, give it a shot even if you don't; you will be hooked by episode 3.

PS. I'm heartbroken that Bunheads has been cancelled.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Promising Show
delightful-life12 June 2012
Hope you have read the story line. Beyond that: The girl (Sutton Foster) is a 30 something girl, life has passed her by in the dancing business and she is now an ordinary show girl in Las Vegas. She has a 40 something guy who sees her show all the time and is a big admirer.

He keeps courting her all the time and finally she relents and marries him, seeing that she has no further career in her present life.

The show moves along fast, and its once she reaches the guy's hometown that the real story begins.

The whole cast seems nice, especially Sutton. And the direction and editing was really tight, a very good indication that some good guys are behind this, so I think this has promise.

I can't give a full recommendation, but I am intrigued and will continue to watch.

Give it a shot, just 5 mins would be enough and you will know if you like this kind of show.

Cheers!

---------------------------

Review after seeing episode 2:

I was so disappointed. The quality has gone on a nose dive and the show has become silly. The one actor that I was rooting for, he was just eliminated all together, now all that is left is a group of really silly, artificial people with mediocre acting.

The teenage girls that they showed in episode 1, the students in the dance class, they are just horrible. I guess the point is to show them slowly evolving over the many years this show might run, but its going to be really difficult to live through their bitching and super idiotic behaviour.

Opinion - If you are someone very much into ballet, you should give this show a shot, else its just not worth our time considering that there are better shows like 'The Newsroom' running on TV right now.

Cheers!
19 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful. Completely awful.
taylorhammons16 February 2016
Let me start by saying Gilmore Girls is my favorite show. Ever. I have seen the entire show all the way through 4 times and still go back to watch my favorite episodes. And when I found out Amy Sherman Pallidino did this show, I was so excited. But I watched the pilot and have never seen such garbage. The show is about a Vegas dancer who is basically being stalked by that awkward guy from Ferris Beuller. Despite the fact that she has been blowing him off EVERY MONTH for A YEAR, Ferris Bueller's buddy just doesn't get the memo! He spends tons of money to buy her things and take her out to dinner, but I don't think he knows anything about her. And then she agrees to marry the freak??? Now, granted, she does not appear to be the brightest crayon in the box. So maybe this seemed like a good idea. Who knows. But at this point I am so turned off by the completely awful, acting, ridiculously far fetched plot, and pathetic and hate able characters that I turned it off. I wanted to like this show. Really. Truly I did. Especially when people compared the humor to Gilmore Girls. Do not be fooled. It is not funny. It is not creative. I cannot think of a single redeeming quality. Don't waste your time.
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not enough dancing!
dramaqueen-jennifer10 July 2012
Warning: Spoilers
This show is such a disappointment. Hardly any dancing! Boring. Long drawn out awkward sentences from the main character meant to be funny. But not. I wanted to watch this show for the plight of professional dancers. not the plight of a washed up Vegas show girl who's occasional moves are mediocre at best. My favorite part is the intro! at least that has some dancing. And the part when Trudy says she blames Michelle and Michelle agrees with her? So annoying! its Trudy's fault for hitting Hubble with the car! hello!! Last episode, Boo didn't make the audition. I guess the writers think they can make it so she gets in next time. But honey, the shows not gonna last that long. Not funny, not interesting, I have no emotional investment in the characters, and NOT ENOUGH DANCING.
7 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Bummer
jessicahll29 June 2012
I WANTED to like this show. I love love love Roseanne and Gilmore Girls, both ASP shows, but this one just didn't do it for me. It feels like she's trying to make Michelle a new Lorelai, but Sutton Foster is no Lauren Graham. And I get that producers often have favorite actors they like to work with, and I don't contest Emily Bishop's talent, but really? And she's not the only one who who's returned. Rose Abdoo (Gypsy) was in the dress shop in episode number one and Gregg Henry (Mitchum) played some random bar tender in episode 2, which was SO weird. AND the music is the same, it seems.

It's almost as if ASP was P/Oed she had to leave GG, so she's taking some of the things she wanted to do in Stars Hollow and transplanted them into Paradise. IDK... Just my two cents.
17 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Thank the good lord that this show was canceled
bookmel10 July 2019
Hate hate hate this show! Lousy writing and this girls....argh....
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
This show blows
bookmel10 July 2019
Those kids need acting lessons. It's like a ballet Gilmore girls... who the hell needs that? Nobody got time for that crap!!!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not amazing but cute
chloereist11 February 2019
This show was the best to put on in the background when you're in a bad mood or just need something fun to watch. It's nothing intense and makes me want to move to the middle of no where and take ballet haha! Overall it's not a show I would tell people to watch but it definitely is a cute show to binge on a lazy Sunday.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
18 episodes, not enough!!
twinklesparkle00223 December 2018
It just unexpectedly ends! No conclusions!! Ugh sad face. Loved this show!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved this show
Mliss491 October 2018
I took ballet for 14 yrs and this program brought back great memories. Why take it off the air? It was clean wholesome show. Maybe that's why they canned it.😢
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Amy Sherman's new series
SnoopyStyle21 August 2013
Older Vegas showgirl Michelle Simms (Sutton Foster) finally relents and accepts a marriage proposal from admirer Hubbell Flowers. She moves to Paradise, California but he quickly dies in a car accident after one day of marriage leaving her with everything including a dance studio. With his mother Fanny Flowers (Kelly Bishop), she takes on the shock of her new life. Boo Jordan, Sasha Torres, Ginny Thompson, and Melanie Segal are four of the young teens attending her class.

Amy Sherman (Gilmore Girls) created a new series. The premise is a little awkward at the beginning. Foster has plenty of energy coming from years on Broadway. The four girls are an appealing bunch with good chemistry. It never hurts to have Kelly Bishop return to Amy. Overall, everybody is likable but it doesn't have the natural flow of Gilmore Girls. It does have a fake feel although I don't buy the Shonda race complaint. It's a good show and I wish they lasted more than just one season.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great show, horrible name
ltifft14 August 2013
I just started watching this show on amazon. I have to admit it was a lot better than I anticipated. It sort feels like Gilmore Girls (many of the same actors play town people) but different scenario. The main character is a ballerina turned Vegas show girl who marries a fan she barely knows and starts a new life with him in his hometown Paradise, CA. A dance studio is the back drop of the show but it's the small town charm that sucks you in.

When I saw the promos for this show last year, I thought it was going to be really bad mainly because of the name. The fear of it being like the after school special The Secret Life of an American Teenager was also a deterrent. It wasn't until the boredom of summer programming kicked in that I decided to give it a shot on amazon prime. Hoping there will be another season.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed