Once Upon a Time (TV Series 2011–2018) Poster

(2011–2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
452 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
1-6 FAB Series 7 - not so much
cmorrisroberts14 August 2018
I absolutely loved series 1-6. I couldn't stop watching. I think I must have watched them all in less than a month. It took me to a land far away, and into that little fantasy world that's not reality world. BUT. I'm sad to say that series 7 is such a disappointment. I'm only on episode 6, and instead of watching it I'm writing this review. I wish I was one of these people that can give up and didn't have to watch the entire series of programmes. I'm going to pretend, after watching series 7, that they all lived happily ever after, after series 6.
33 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
First Six Seasons are Awesome!
pat-085147 September 2018
I loved the first six seasons of Once Upon a Time, and actually binged all six seasons twice and eagerly awaited the arrival of season 7. There are few shows I can recommend more highly than the first six seasons of Once but seven was beyond disappointing. I couldn't make it through the first episode. Not even Colin O'Donoghue and Robert Carlisle could save it. I hated all the new and revamped characters. They lacked the class, style, fun and imagination of the original cast and the story itself was absolutely lackluster.

If you want to continue enjoying Once Upon a Time, do yourself a favor and rewatch the first six seasons.
40 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The first few seasons were the best!
allisonnp25 August 2018
Seasons 1-3 were excellent! I could not stop watching. Then 4-6 came along, and I thought they were pretty decent but definitely worse than the first three. I think that the show could have just ended after season 6 but nope... They had to make a terrible 7th season

Overall though, this show is great
33 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The previews sparked my interest and the pilot just hooked me.
zactac20 October 2011
Once Upon a Time already shows much potential with a great pilot episode. It really got to the point without giving everything away. It basically tells the background information behind the story seen in the shows fictional town of Storybrooke. It does this in just the right way so that the viewer won't get confused or bored from just hearing the talk of fairy-tales from the side of a little boy.

It's simply about Emma Swan and the destiny she's unaware of. Before she was born a prophecy was foretold that an evil curse would befall all of the inhabitants a fairy-tale kingdom sending them to a world where they no longer remember who they are or the happiness they once knew. In the prophecy it is foretold that Emma would be the one to return and save them from the dreaded curse.

Now while there are many other characters in the story it is meant to revolve around Emma and the issues she must face in order to overcome the curse. The story shows much promise already and with no doubt it is sure to progress as the show continues. Morrison (Emma), Goodwin (Snow White), and Parrilla (Evil Queen) have already hit all of the right notes in just the first episode, Parrilla I loved mainly because she makes a very worthy villain in the show.

Even though it has only begun there is great room for success and progress. I think this could be the show of the fall/winter TV season to watch. If any one decides to watch just one show this fall then let it be Once Upon a Time.
215 out of 278 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Please Let it end!
Andries-J-Els22 October 2017
I enjoyed the first 6 seasons immensely My Rating 10 but the current one no 7 is SOOO BAD!! My rating 3 :( Dania Ramirez looks old and like she is always in pain here we have a nearly 40 year of woman playing Hendry's Cinderella but looks more like his MOM probably double his age and looks it to :( and her acting is sub-par!! she should go back to Devious Maids where not much acting is required. I was looking forward to this now I'm just fast forwarding hoping this is a nightmare scene and we all go back to Storybrook with a Happy ending not the Disaster!!
68 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Should have stoped at season 6.
riannedeheij11 September 2018
I realy liked the first 6 seasons, but i simply do not understand why they made a 7th season. Wich does not even have a original start... If you can't think of something new, just don't make a new season then.
25 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Creative
Jedi_Rumor24 October 2011
I really enjoyed the pilot episode. It was refreshing to view a show that was not another reality series or "dare" show. This series brilliant mixture of classic fairy tales that adults have grown so familiar with and blended it with creative story lines. The acting was well done and the special effects were as well. The casting was well done and I couldn't imagine any other actor/actress playing the parts. Without giving too much away it's worth investing the hour to view! I can't wait to see the second episode and recommend this to any one who is/was a fan of Disney movies/Lost. Older children may even enjoy watching the series
149 out of 215 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Enchanting Story
killer1h6 December 2011
Going into this show I wasn't quite sure what to expect seeing as how it was only partially laid out. However to my ever happy surprise this show is amazing, beautiful acting, terrific plot lines, and they weave it together so perfectly that you really just have to applaud the way its done.

This show is about 3 key elements, henry(the boy) he's basically like the guide he tells his biological mother(Emma swan) that the entire town is filled with fairytale creatures and that his adopted mother(Regina mills) is the evil witch that cast a curse upon the town and made everyone forget about their fairytale endings, and now its up to Emma to bring them back. The reason that this show works so well is that it introduces the very seldom seen both sides of the coin element. You see what it looks like in their "modern" town and then you see what happen in the past to lead up to the series of events. All and all it works just right. 10/10 We couldn't have asked for a better show keep up the good work!
98 out of 142 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Don't watch all the seasons
unityhimym21 November 2018
A very interesting concept for a show, the first season was rather interesting and had an compelling storyline. The way the fairytale world is mixed with the real world is beautiful. The main characters in the first season, regina and emma, are interesting and the storyline is wrapped up nicely by the end of the season. In the second season, there is a lot of character development and more fairytales are connected with the characters, again done beautifully, fairytales are intertwined, resulting in an exciting storyline. In the third season, new characters are introduced and they travel to new locations. This season is overall less compelling than the first and second season, and slower-paced, but still enjoyable to watch. Although the first half of season 4 still shows some enjoyable content, this is the turning point for the series, after this it seems like show was just going on for the sake of going on. Season 5 isn't gripping at all and it feels like they just ran out of ideas. Season 6 is a weaker version of season 5 and season 7 is just plain boring. Watch no further than the first 3 seasons, and maybe give season 4 a shot.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Starts good, gets rather bad.
rovex326 January 2018
I have to say when I started watching I thought it was a bit different and pretty fun, and for 4 seasons it was. Season 5 however was the turning point.

Season 5 was a mess, a drawn out convoluted mess, and it just stopped being fun. It was downhill from there, and season 7 is just a different, inferior show sadly.
15 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Goodbye Unce upon a time.
henricito14 October 2017
I must say that the first 4 seasons captivated me, but I know that everyone has felt like the series was losing quality consistently, if the fifth season was bad, zero creativity and banal clichés, the sixth was worse, forced and repetitive without taking advantage of the characters or history, a shame, but this seventh season is a mockery, a story mediocre, absurd and absurd, the casting is incomprehensible, and what but what they have done with the old characters have destroyed their performance. Sad way to end a series that started well. Not worth wasting time watching this mediocrity. Goodbye Unce upon a time.
14 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Season 7 is terrible. Everyone is gone.
diananikolovasweden6 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The only good thing in season seven is Lana Parilla. Hook and Rumpelstiltzkin look incomplete without their female counterparts. The new Henry is just not suitable... where is the old Henry? Where are all the lovely characters from the previous seasons? Snow and Charming shouldn't have disappeared. I hate the new Story Brook! The show is totally spoiled.
23 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Season 7, what a tragedy.
lin_mehmed10 January 2018
It's so sad to say this but I used to really like this show, up until season 6, when things should have ended. Why did they decide to do a season 7 with the same story line as before, my brain will never understand. I despise season 7. I can't stand "Cinderella"s character or the actress. The character just seems so weak, without any motivation or attitude to live life or to act, which isn't how I pictured Cinderella. I thought she would be more rebellious and have more of a spirit. Don't even get me started on the actress - she has no acting skills, I feel like every line is improvised and the directors just went with the first shot they took. At least try to pronounce words correctly.

So please next season - improve acting, improve story line, be a bit more original, and get some good actors, seriously !
15 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Lately disappointing
aaaurora20 February 2012
I must admit I loved the beginning, but lately it has been extremely disappointing. I feel absolutely no progress in terms of the characters' evolution and every time I think something will actually happen - it is postponed at the end of the episode.

To be honest, 3-4 episodes ago I started ironing during them, as they just do not capture my attention any more .. Now it is more like - whatever...

I am really sorry about the show - it was so nice in the beginning, and now it reminds me an endless loop, like Lost (which is why I hated this one) I hope something will change..Or at least somebody is reading the commentaries, as people start to get frustrated.
166 out of 267 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Season 7 is completely unnecessary
StorieLuver29 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
(This review is strictly for the new season; if I were rating the show on the first 6 seasons I'd probably give it an 8). So apparently ABC/Disney doesn't know the phrase "Get out when the getting's good." OUAT came to a perfectly natural, satisfactory conclusion at the end of Season 6 and they should've just let the show end there. But no, they had to insist on a reboot, and it's basically a dumpster fire. Specifically, the casting of the 3 leads is awful. The new Cinderella is a 40 year old trying to play a 20 year old. (There's nothing wrong with older actresses getting parts, but when they do they should act their age. Instead, we get a 40 year old trying to dress and act like a hip millennial and failing miserably; she even has a stepsister young enough to be her daughter). Maybe it's because Cinderella is trying so hard to fit into a role that's too young for her, but there is absolutely ZERO chemistry between her and the new "adult" Henry. Now HE is your stereotypical millennial, and I don't buy him as either Cinderella's love interest or the new kid's father figure. At least in the original series, young Henry was cute and endearing. The new girl is whiny, obnoxious, and far from cute. If I was rating the new season on just these three, I'd be giving it only a single star. However, there are the redeeming features of the Hook/Alice and Drizella/Rapunzel stories, and they are the only parts that caused me to give this 4 stars and keep watching. Without those secondary stories, I would've stopped watching this show back in the fall.
17 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pilot was fantastic!
lostarkeo17 October 2011
I saw an exclusive screening of the pilot at New York Comic Con and the show has a great start and a lot of potential. The plot and characters are well established during the pilot and by the end of the episode you're just thirsting for more! The episode consists of "present day" followed by back flash sequences in a very "Lost" fashion and it works well with this fairy tale genre. Just so you know what has been planned for the show, the writers at the NYCC panel said that further episodes will focus on the background of the characters. Tune in October 23 at 8PM for the pilot episode and support the beginnings of a great show on the ABC Network.
114 out of 188 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Sadly, this show has become childish and stupid
krushmeat3 November 2014
I used to look forward to watching this show. Now it's become so infantile, it's barely watchable. It's like someone at the top said, "let's make this more for kids", and they translated it to 'stupid kids'. Just as 'Once Upon A Time In Wonderland', the stupidity and childish nature of this show has pretty much done it in for me. Clearly the demographic that they're targeting is junior high school kids. Oh well. Goodbye Kitsis and Horowitz. I've enjoyed your creations before, but now they're simply banal. I guess you won't mind losing the intelligent portion of your audience, as long as you keeping setting your sights at the lowest common denominator.
39 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
i'm in love
golden-silence21 October 2011
Such an AWESOME pilot!

I really hope the story lines stay as interesting every week. While I do agree with some of the reviewers here about the fairy tale parts being a bit unbelievable, everything else was perfect. Even the fairy tale parts were acted well. Great cast with believable chemistry.

I've been waiting for a show like this. As kids, we all grow up with these stories, it feels great to see it come to life mingled with reality.

Definitely on my list every week from now. CANT wait for the rest of the season! WOOP!

:)
77 out of 125 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
once upon a time...an amazing show began.
audrey-sondheimer30 October 2011
to be honest i hate all that fantasy crap, like harry potter, twilight, true blood, and i also hate all the shows that nbc and abc brings to the table. But the other night I was bored and a re run of this was on and I thought what the hell, I'll give it a try. This show is mind blowing. I am officially addicted. There are some questions I have, as the whole present time vs story time doesn't make a whole lot of sense. But the end of the first episode got me so insanely hooked. This show is definitely better than grimm. I don't know how there going to make seasons out of this show, but I am very excited to see. I gave it a 9 only because I am a bit confused on who some of the present time characters are. But besides that, amazing.
105 out of 179 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Promising
sodhym30 October 2011
Great cast and a very promising pilot. It captures the essence of a classic fairy tale and incorporates it with a modern setting where the real and the imaginary merges.

To be sure, it does not have a dark atmosphere and if you're looking for one, this is not the show. But I think there are a lot of dark and gory shows out there, so this one looks fresh and deserves a try by anyone who likes fairy tales and fantasy.

The cast is great. It is clear that there is much effort in that section. I believe I watched Ginnifer Goodwin for the first time and I knew that Jennifer Morrison was in the show, so when I see Goodwin I though she was Morrison. This might be due to my ignorance about the actress, but given the story, the resemblance makes some sense. I don't know whether this is intentional though.

Overall, pilot is a 10, and I hope it will continue this way.
56 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Once Upon a Time is Fairy Tale full of fantasy , set in Storybrooke where fairy tales are to be believed
ma-cortes19 September 2019
Centuries ago in a land of the Enchanted Forest Disney Hero's and Villians alike are frozen in time by the Evil Queen Regina Till (Lana Parrilla) who is also the Mayor , a savior (Jennifer Morrison) was born by Snow White (Ginnifer Goodwin) and Prince Charming (Josh Dallas) will come to a quaint little town of Storybrooke, Maine . It's a quiet, little New England town filled with friendly and peaceful people , there is drawn a young woman with a troubled past . And to vanquish the dark forces stalking the small town in Maine it is up to Emma Swan (Jennifer Morrison) to come and save all things evil happening in our world and protect the citizens of Storybrooke as the Evil Queen cast a Dark Curse over the land at the realm that started it all. As it is centered around Emma Swan who takes on her unlikely destiny in a small town . As Emma contends Queen's Curse that has trapped them here and placed her in near-complete control . Emma Swan has a son , Henry Mills (Jared Gilmore) , Regina's adopted son , who also develops his own adventures . Several conflicts and quarrells threaten to destroy there entire world and all their happy endings of the fairy tales . Magic is coming (season 1) . Storybrooke has frozen over (season 2) .They have no real memories and no real hope. A curse broken, a hero reborn. Beware a new curse. There is a new Dark One in town. The Final Battle between Good and Evil. Long live the Queen. A little magic goes a long way. Sometimes it's good... to be evil

The series formed by 156 episodes, 2011-2018 , developed in seven seasons , including colorful scenarios and state-of-art FX . Fantastic series blending fairy tales , necromancy , witches , wizards , betrayals and curses , as the fate of happy endings lay in the hands of these unlikely new heroes. But unlike the "happily ever after" you may have heard about , their stories continue and end into twisted and complex denouements . Displaying a lot of flashbacks revealing the World of Fairytales where take place conflicts between King Arthur and Merlin , between Snow White and the Evil Queen , between our StoryBrook's characters and the dark beings and anything else . Among these roles establishing numerous relationships that are deeply forged , while others are destroyed . Many references have been taken from ¨Lost¨ series as well as a lot of actors and actresses from Lost have shown up in this series , including as follows : Lana Parrilla, Emilie de Ravin, Rebecca Mader, Jorge Garcia, Alan Dale , Naveen Andrews , Elizabeth Mitchell , Patrick Fischler, Daniel Dae Kim, among others . This is a nice series by two splendid creators : Adam Horowitz, Edward Kitsis . It's plenty of worderful happenings with magic , monsters , witchery , incredible heroes , and all of the characters we all know from stories growing up as Robin Hood ,Captain 'Hook' , King Arthur , Merlin , Cruella De Vil , Peter Pan , Mulan , Maleficent , and many others .

The motley group of protagonists , Lana Parrilla : Regina Mills or the Evil Queen , Robert Carlyle as Rumplestiltskin who was written specifically for him , Mary Blanchard is well played by Ginnifer Goodwin who really married Josh Dallas as David Nolan or Prince Charming , Colin O'Donoghue : Captain Killian 'Hook' Jones , Emilie de Ravin : Belle French , Rebecca Mader : Zelena , Beverley Elliott : Granny Lucas , Sean Maguire : Robin Hood , Lee Arenberg : Leroy , Meghan Ory : Ruby , being well accompanied by great guest stars such as : Jamie Chung as Mulan , Gabrielle Anwar , Barbara Hershey , Etham Embry , Diana Ramirez , Alan Dale , Giancarlo Esposito , Tony Amendola , Eion Bailey , Sarah Bolger , Sonequa Martin-Green , Emma Caufield , Sebastian Stan who married Jennifer Morrison , Agnes Bruckner , Tzi Ma , Jorge Garcia , Christopher Gorham , Oded Fehr , Amy Acker , Joaquin de Almeida , Richard Schiff , Robin Givens , John Rhys-Davies , Brad Dourif , among others . The series was well directed by a plethora of TV professional directors , such as : Michael Schultz , Kate Woods , Nina Lopez-Corrado , Steve Miner , Ralph Hemecker ,Antonio Negret , Ron Underwood , Guy Ferland , Jon Amiel , Mario Van Peebles , Mick Garris , Michael Waxman , David Boyd , Greg Beeman , Andy Goddard , Alex Zakrzewski , Ernest R. Dickerson , creator Adam Horowitz , Rob Duncan , Eriq La Salle , Jennifer Lynch , Craig Powell , Bryan Spicer and even Lana Parrilla herself .
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Loses plot per episode, goes literally nowhere
SherbetDLemon27 September 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I am so surprised, and wary, of all the positive reviews. Maybe it's one of those troll phenomenons where bad product gets critiqued highly or maybe it's all based on the first season. Anyways...

As a viewer if you're looking for a TV show that challenges you and makes you think, you're at the wrong place.

As a viewer if you're looking for weak plots, weaker plots and weakest plots, congratulations.

I know what you're thinking, why did I consider a show based on fairy tales for intelligent TV viewing?

I hadn't. It was by complete chance that I stumbled upon the first episode and it intrigued me. The first season was done remarkably well but as with most shows the problem generally arrives after the first season.

Second season was made up of a lot of about-turns and the general tendency of this show is, if there is a snag in the storytelling, throw in more characters. The amount of irrelevant characters they put and pull: amazing. For that, I guess, we can give the writers credit. It does cause people to overlook how tedious the story progression is.

And as all shows, when nothing goes right, sprinkle romance.

Again, you might ask, why would I not expect romance in a show based on fairy tales?

Because it started out as a good adventure based show, I could actually see it turning it into the likes of Merlin where the focus is more on the fictional setup. By season 3 all their magical back-stories were, I don't know put on hold maybe, and they had 2-3 new guys for the love stories. There never was a chance to get invested in those love stories/triangles as they were sudden and lacking any emotional growth.

If they lose half the unneeded cast, try to find one story which the show can stick to, give the characters a break-free path to grow upon, this show might regain it's charm. Otherwise, well a lot of people liked Twilight (The similarities are uncanny when we compare twilight to the main lead Emma Swan's so-called romantic 'problems'), and I guess if this made it to fourth season, a lot of people like this too.

I have to admit I stopped caring around halfway season 2 but I still made myself watch till the end of season 3 because I kept feeling like this was such a wasted opportunity and oh this could have been so much more than a soap drama. I guess that's the only reason I care enough to write this review even though I'm not gonna continue watching it. It's just sad to see so much potential executed so badly.
26 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Jumps More Sharks than Evil Kinevil Jumped Buses
robastyk7 November 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I am a storyteller who's been immersed in folklore, myth and fairy tales since boyhood. The collected tales of the Brothers Grimm, Alexandr Afanas'ev and others over the last 2 centuries are the way we convey the wisdom, beliefs and ethics of the past to the present. That said, I'm not a purist. The Grimms' tales had been revised many times to make them comport with the prevailing religions and mores of the tellers' changing times. I dearly love re-imagined classic material such as Neil Jordan's The Company of Wolves (1984) or Terry Gilliam's The Adventures of Baron Munchausen (1988). The only versions of such tales that I truly despise are the Disney versions. Give me Jean Cocteau's Beauty and the Beast (1946) any day over the sickly sweet Disney version. That said, after a weak start, I tried with all my might to allow Once Upon a Time to grow on me.

I never watched Lost seriously. I found that show more pretentious and self-involved and just confused, never deep. I was always afraid this show would fall prey to similar script problems. Even so I had to give it a try.

That the first episode was weak isn't entirely a fault. The whole hour was exposition. We had to get from the story books to Storybrook before the real action could begin. The second episode actually had good transitions from past to present. I also wanted to be impressed the 3 main lead women.

And though I despise Disney-fication of fairy tales, I must say that turning Jiminy Cricket into a psychiatrist and a possibly corrupt one at that is a stroke of brilliance.

Ginnifer Goodwin's Mary Margaret Blanchard/Snow White isn't much of an actress sadly. She seems to have escaped directly from a senior class play onto the set of this show. I think it was Dorothy Parker who criticized Katherine Hepburn as having an emotional range of from A to B. Ms. Goodwin is much less gifted. Lana Parrilla's Mayor/Wicked Queen struts angrily about the set and snarls when she's not whining. She's neither wicked enough to be a wicked queen nor pathetic enough to gain sympathy. Her tragic back story is just a cliché. Ms. Parrilla needs a script and a verbal dope slap or two from her director if she doesn't give us a richer, more nuanced evil queen yet all she has is horrible, flaccid, clichéd writing. I knew that the show was in trouble when the writers' love affair with psychological; gobbledygook explained Lana Parilla's character as a poor, misunderstood victim of a more evil mother and thwarted love. I think the writers decided that she really does care for Henry and can't be all bad. But a fairy tale must have a focus of evil against whom all other must strive. Making Regina wishy-washy necessitates Barbara Hersey's Cora as the ultimate evil. Even this duplicative mess hasn't taught the scriptwriters a lesson and we're in danger of having Cora excused as an overwhelmed mom just trying to do right by her ingrate daughter.

I like Jennifer Morrison. Her Allison Cameron on House was one of a very few actors who weren't blown off the screen by Hugh Laurie. Her Emma Swan in the initial episode was one of the best things in the hour. However, she has no script worth playing and she's fallen into the trap of lazy actors who rely on standard expressions, mannerisms and deliveries if their directors aren't pushing them or they aren't pushing themselves. Unfortunately the writers haven't given her much with which to work. The crux of her problem is that there's just no chemistry between her and Jared Gilmore's Henry.

I've been a fan of Barbara Hersey's work for decades. Her best hope in this series is for Cora to find a quick death so that she escapes further embarrassment.

As for the men, what is Josh Dallas doing on camera at all? I understand that the show needed a pretty boy for Prince Charming he started the show in a coma and as far as I can see has never come out of it.

Robert Carlyle's Rumplestiltskin/Mr. Gold grabs the camera the moment he enters and holds it until his but too often descends into a lot of scenery chewing. Still even he can't work from the vast emptiness that passes for a script.

I've kept watching for about 2 and a half years hoping week in and week out that this show would grow into something extraordinary but I've given up. Just because these fairy tale characters are archetypes doesn't give license for them to be as flat as the pages of a story book. Rather it offers the opportunity to show us ourselves through them. The greatness of fairy tales is that they deal in absolutes. There is definite evil. There is definite good. Usually the hero or heroine of the story must make a journey of discovery from which he or she returns wiser, more mature and more powerful. Upon the main character's return he or she is equipped to overcome life's obstacles. There is precious little ambiguity. All clouds hanging over the characters clear and the couple, if there is one, can love "happily ever after" exactly because they have the experience to overcome difficulties that are far more petty than those they have already faced. Once Upon a Time founders about in a sea of ambiguity and bad writing and has just become unwatchable. It is infinitely less interesting than Grimm on NBC which also has far better writing. And it's a lot less go-for-broke exuberant and edgy fun than SyFy's Lost Girl. ABC needs to toll the bell, close the book and snuff the candle to exorcise this turkey from its roster even a second hour of the gawdawful America's Funniest Home Videos would be an improvement.
41 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Meh
rebbekcah13 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
The only way I can describe this show is meh. The premise seemed promising but before the end of the first season, it turned into a fairytale soap opera for 12 year olds. Some of the little subplots were entertaining, such as Ruby/Red being the wolf but this only lasted an episode or two. I was torn between clawing out my eyeballs and falling asleep during all of the Snow/Mary Margaret and Prince/David crap, and the whole thing about Regina/Queen and Emma fighting over Henry got old really fast. The one part of the show that was worthwhile was Rumpelstiltskin/Gold. His character was amazing and he was the only reason I watched as much as I did. Overall, it was pretty cheesy and random, but I am giving three stars for Rumpelstiltskin/Gold.
20 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Once a upon a time, a series began by hitting the right note...
MarkoFromWreath21 October 2011
Warning: Spoilers
In 2004 millions of people were hooked to a series right from its pilot. The series- "LOST" went on for six successful seasons and ended on a high note. It is far from forgotten, many are introduced to it everyday through home video and it had become a part of the present pop culture.

From the same show's writers comes 'Once upon a time', starring Jennifer Morrison(House MD) as Emma swan a loner who on her birthday is visited by her son(Henry)(Actor:Gilmore) whom she had given up for adoption a decade ago. While trying to get him home ,Henry tries to convince her that she is a part of the "Fairy Tale" world like all of his neighbors in 'Storybrooke'. He even points out that his mother(Parilla) is 'evil'. Emma of course, never believes him. After meeting his teacher Mary(Goodwin), she realizes his life is not unlike hers. Orphaned at birth, lonely and in need of love. She also sees why Henry would find it hard to like his adoptive mother who she thinks is a "Hard ass".

Meanwhile, like their previous series, the writers have infused this one too with parallel flashback sequences. It takes place in the fairyland where snow white(goodwin again) and her husband-prince are trying to find ways to beat the evil queen's(Parilla!) impending curse.

The pilot hits the right note everywhere. There is not a moment of unnecessary drama, action or even unwanted CGI. Morrison seems at ease with her role as a clueless 'chose one' , who needs to slowly unravel the mystery of the town. The supporting characters seem perfectly cast and the child actor Gilmore does real fine acting for a 10 year old. The plot looks promising too.

However if past instances have taught us anything it is that even great series can take a fall by- 1. Running out of good ideas(like Heroes) 2. The channel canceling it abruptly due to poor Nielsen rating(V).

If 'Once upon a time' can survive these two dreaded pitfalls, then we may have a potential 'LOST' in making. This one is surely the season hit!
60 out of 99 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed