A Dog's Purpose (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
401 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
One of the most heartfelt movies I've ever seen
jgtornado1226 January 2017
A Dog's Purpose is an awesome movie about a dog's love for their human. The movie literally portrays so many different ways that dogs are treated. A Dog's Purpose did an amazing job at building up raw emotion in a short amount of time. Very similar to the way we felt in Marley and Me. It is an absolute shame that this movie will be swept under the rug by many people because they believe everything they read on the internet. The videos show that "Hercules", the dog in the scene that went viral, was apparently being forced into the water. Hercules was chosen to do this scene because of his affinity to water. He was trained to jump in on the opposite side of the pool to what was shown in the video. After the trainer tried to calm him by letting him test out the water and the dog still was spooked, they stopped attempting the scene from that side. There were multiple people in the water if something happened. There was even a diver constantly under the dog at all times. However, PETA and every news organization does not want to report this because they just hop on a hot topic without any research. I have 7 dogs, 4 are rescues, and I used to work at a veterinary clinic, so I have seen so many cases of abuse and a dog getting wet is not a form of abuse. The movie builds a human's love for their dog, and it really portrays how a dog is truly a man's best friend. If this movie wasn't boycotted, I honestly feel like it could have led to many people adopting dogs from shelters so they can feel the same love that us dog owners have.
413 out of 491 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
great heartwarming film
kategcom29 January 2017
those who have read this book will not be disappointed, as always the book is still better than the movie, but for a movie based on a great book, they did a really good job. the story is heartwarming, and has a few tearful moments, but all in all, it was a happy ending. as someone who almost always cries at the sad movies, i give this a 3 tissue warning. i truly enjoyed this book, and all W. Bruce Cameron's books, and the idea of making a movie from such a great book is always troubling, but the process here was well done. the actors representing the characters did a great job of embodying the personalities, and no one can complain about Josh Gad voicing the many lives of the dog. bravo to the producers and the director for doing such a good job with the story,
150 out of 178 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful Movie
poisoncupcake7427 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
*Spoiler alert*

This movie is about a dog who is trying to figure out why he exists. He goes through 4 different reincarnated "lives" of various types of dogs, until he ends up finding the boy (now a man) who he was with in his first 'life', thus ending with his analysis on what his purpose is. If you see a bad review, most likely they were objecting to that video and not the story or the movie. Because it is seriously the most incredible, heartwarming, lovely movie and all the dog's are beautiful. This movie will have you crying at least 4 different times, laughing, happy and remembering all of YOUR dogs/pets you've ever owned. This movie has an IMDb rating that is extremely low because of fear that the dog in the "k-9 unit" scene was hurt. This is not a rating on the movie though, it is more of an objection to it. In truth if you were to rate this on the quality and beauty of the movie and only for that reason, it would most likely receive ratings between 8- 10. I saw this with a focus group and all 6 of us thought it was a 9 or 10, not one person did not like it. All of us-both males and females shed tears, all were emotional. All said they loved it. And afterward all shared stories with each other of their own pets they have had in their lives. Go see this movie. Its beautiful.
171 out of 208 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Movie!
matthewbabstock26 January 2017
I know, the scandal video made the movie's reputation go down drastically, but this movie is great! The dog wasn't actually harmed at all during filming, so there's nothing to worry about. The movie left me feeling happy. The movie was very enjoyable and I would recommend that you go and see it. The movie was very touching. I hope this movie does well because a lot of time and effort was put into it, and it did pay off, but the video stupid TMZ posted made people come and review this movie based on the scandal, before they had even SEEN the movie.I also recommend that especially dog lovers/animal lovers go see the movie because it's more understandable from an animal lovers/owners point of view.
234 out of 296 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good family movie, don't believe the lies
bpeterson8227 January 2017
This was a tear jerking, laugh inducing, emotional roller-coaster of a solid family flick.

While it isn't quite Marley & Me, it was as close as you can get. The acting was adequate and the writing may be forgettable but the love between of Man's Best Friend and the many characters in this film is palpable.

I was hesitant to spend money on this film after hearing the negative animal abuse allegations against it, but I found them to be false. Apparently TMZ made it up.

So get ready for love, pain and lots of laughter that makes this a must see for every family! Just be sure to take tissues with you.
196 out of 249 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Surprised by the low rating- it was an excellent movie
claudjak-864-69940027 January 2017
Let me state up front that compared to "other movies" this movie is not a 10 but for what I expected it to be -a kid friendly, fun-loving movie that is relatively straightforward- it gets a 10. My 8 yr old son and 10 yr old daughter loved it, and so did I. It was sweet and heartfelt.

I cried each time the dog became another dog, and I don't think I am that sensitive.

In fact, this movie reminds me a bit of look who's talking, in the mind of a baby but in this movie, in the mind of a dog. It may feel realistic for some and not for others but who cares, it is a movie to make you smile and it is definitely not reality.
172 out of 219 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Amazing Movie
xdarkxcondor24 January 2017
Despite what TMZ and PETA have lied about. This is an amazing movie. I saw an early screening of it on January 18th and it is one of the best movies I've ever seen. I for one do not believe everything I see on the internet, therefore I had no reason to believe the video that "supposedly" showed animal abuse. Footage is very easily manipulated. People need to learn that. This movie is absolutely incredible, the story is amazing, and it made me cry at least five times. Overall I recommend the movie, and I recommend you not believe everything you see online. I had a great time watching this movie, I truly enjoyed it, I even plan to see it again when it is officially out.
290 out of 380 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Dog's Purpose smear tactic
larryhou26 January 2017
Don't believe these people that were paid off or have an agenda regarding the success or failure of this movie. TMZ and others are scum for doctoring the footage.

Go see it. The rescue animals deserve their recognition. Perhaps the dog was not used to the generated waves created by the machine. He probably enjoys swimming and jumping in pools of water. The handlers may have not been patient enough or understanding what the director was trying to accomplish. I'm certain that if you saw the tape of the dog after the scene was filmed, he was thrilled to be participating in the water scene. Did you happen to watch Kevin Costner's Wyatt Earp where there tossed the dog into a man-made river where the dog was doing everything it could to keep its head above water.
249 out of 327 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Disappointed by the ratings...
tientv20 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
As a dog lover, I felt kind of disappointed and a bit upset when I saw the ratings of this movie. All the hard and brilliant work of the actors and the cute dogs seems to go down the drain just because of people being mislead by some fake footage. So everyone, just please actually WATCH the movie and enjoy it, and give it 10 out of 10 because it truly deserves that!
26 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An AWESOME movie!!
lindaslattery29 January 2017
Saw this movie on opening night and absolutely LOVED it! Bring your tissues but also prepare to laugh and have fun! This is a great family movie.

The message is about the bonds that humans and dogs share. Love never dies! This movie will also help with people dealing with the loss of a pet. It's not just a movie for dog lovers, but animals of all kinds!

Everything about this movie is top-notch. The acting, writing, and production value are all excellent! Dennis Quaid in particular turns in a very heartfelt performance. The movie overall is very positive and uplifting. I will be going to see this movie again!
53 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Feel good movie w/ wet eyes
beamerskzp5 March 2017
The choice was Moonlight or A dogs perspective. The dog won.

Without giving spoilers, anyone who has owned a dog, and has seen his life end, and then another one, and another one, this movie will touch you. My wife told me I was not allowed to cry, well its not the first time I have not listened to her. Have your man-card stamped for showing emotion, and have your napkin ready.

Its nice to see a story with a happy ending, and a good movie period.
19 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Seriously, good movie underrated by mass-brainwashed people
psychoalexander10 April 2017
Those who just buy whatever celebrities tell you and call yourselves intelligent people who care about social affair, justice, human and animal rights, keep telling yourselves how great you are and keep sucking on TMZ or whatever it was that brainwashed you so hard.

I never believed in mass brainwash and I come from a communist country. It is you people who gave me a hard lesson and now I do believe in it: people can just be dumb enough to believe whatever the media tell them and won't dig into the facts to objectively see things. Grow up? How old are you guys?

Again, very good movie and worth every penny to see. I wasn't gonna give it a 10 star rating but just to counterbalance the brainwashed low ratings, I just had to give it a 10 star and won't change it until this movie's rating get back on track.
38 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautifully written movie of the love of dogs and humans
randi-464-99015329 January 2017
I've been waiting for over a year for the opening of this movie. After reading the book, which was fantastic, I heard the movie was being made. The movie had all I expected, and more. I laughed, I cried, I remembered past pets. As the title mentions, a dog's purpose, I had never really thought of that before. Each of our dogs has had a purpose. Our first rescue, he made my husband LOVE dogs. We will always be at least a "one dog household". The casting was spot on. Young Ethan, teen Ethan and Dennis Quaid, grown Ethan were all wonderful. The dogs used were entertaining, and loving on the screen. Josh Gadd's wonderful voice was the true voice of all the dog's. Thanks to the author, W. Bruce Cameron for writing such a wonderful book, and to his wife, and the woman the book was written for, for writing the screenplay! If you love dogs, animals of any kind, you would be missing out by not seeing this film. I'll be back again and again to see it!
40 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Enjoyable with an inaccurate rating.
cinemacookie-0867121 February 2017
Not the best movie I've seen but it was surprisingly good. Animal lovers will really like it. Ignore the idiots who spammed this with 1 stars. People overreacted after reading an article with a malicious narrative. Those people are morons and have tainted the rating of a rather likable film.
30 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great family friendly movie
jmassengill-8387929 January 2017
An enjoyable family movie. The TMZ/PETA video came out at a very "handy" time. They had the video for 15 months but decide to publish it a week before the movie came to theaters. It all seems to be timed to ensure this movie took a hit to its profits. Nothing but a good time to be had watching this movie. This movie had me both smiling and shedding a tear. Very worth a trip to the movie house to see this movie in person! Dennis Quaid played a great roll and the production values of this movie were fantastic. It didn't have as much detail as the book but I expected that to be the case. Most good books made into a movie would take 3 plus hours if they followed the book to the letter. Worth a second or third watch in the future.
41 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Dog's Purpose
sharonstacy29 January 2017
This is the most refreshing movie that I have seen in a while.It will tug at your heart strings and then make you laugh and smile. It tells of the most unconditional love between a dog and his human. This movie gives you an insight in to a dogs mind and helps you better understand what they think and feel. W BRUCE CAMERON HAS NAILED THIS FEELING AS NEVER BEFORE. The love and loss of a dog is very devastating for most humans.This brings light to that loss, that helps ease the pain and the loss of a piece of your heart that you think will never heal. But it also brings you hope that all can be good, for who knows your next dog maybe your dog. Priceless is the word for this movie.
43 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I loved this movie more than I ever imagined
leeesmond27 January 2017
I loved this movie more and more.

This movie is swirling in my head two hours after seeing it! It touched my heart, made me think and grateful I acted on a rescue. It made me remember my furry loves and hopeful I may see them again.

It made me cry and then it made me laugh. Most of all it let me forget for 100 min all the hate and negative in the world!

Go see something innocent sweet and kind st it's base level!

I took my ten year old she was the perfect she. I took my mother 85 she was the perfect age!

Bring your tissues and best friend! Make a friend while you ate there!
83 out of 116 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Great Family Film for Children of all ages!
JRPActor29 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
We saw the movie A DOG'S PURPOSE on Thursday January 26 at the Riverside AMC. This is a great family film for children of all ages. The film has so many LAUGH OUT LOAD moments interspersed with TEARS FLOWING moments. Dog lovers will especially relate to all the comic and heartfelt moments of owning a dog. We look forward to seeing it again and reading the books written by W. BRUCE CAMERON!

Now you may have heard that there are several moments in the movie where the dog's die. Yes, this movie's theme is that one dog is reincarnated many times and those transitions, though heartbreaking and sad, are done tastefully with a simple blurring of the image into a kaleidoscope of colors that blends into the next scene. Adults will understand this as "transitioning" and young children will just get a sense we are on to the next story. The only disturbing image was of the Police German Shepard Dog who was shot...again nothing that hasn't already been shown over and over again on television or in other movies.

Audiences are loving the movie and the site CINEMASCORE, which hands cards to moviegoers to rate the movie, announced the average of all those attending the movie is a grade of "A." If we had to grade the movie we would have given it an "A+"
47 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
*** Excellent movie *** Don't believe the fake bad reviews ***
p-ratto31 January 2017
I never review movies but had to after seeing all of the FALSE BAD REVIEWS that were posted for this wonderful movie, the vast majority of which are clearly from people who have not even seen the movie! I would normally rate it 8/10, but am giving it a 10/10 to try this do what I can to help offset the ridiculous amount of false bad ratings (⅔ of ratings as of this posting are 1/10, which is blatantly absurd, and obviously mostly from people who haven't seen the movie and are reacting to the false bad press about animal abuse without investigating the true situation).

FALSE ANIMAL ABUSE ALLEGATIONS: The false bad reviews are apparently all based on a TMZ story that showed a dog strongly resisting being thrown into turbulent waters while filming the movie. These bad reviews pretty clearly seem to have mostly been written by people who didn't even see the movie and who believe everything they hear without ever looking into it. Had these allegations not been baseless, I also would also have passed on the movie and told everybody I could about the abuse, but after looking into the it, it wasn't actually that big of a deal. My own dog resists in the same way when I try to put it into the bathtub, there were plenty of people around to help the dog out if anything bad happened, the dog is completely unharmed and there were no other scenes in the movie with any potential for animal abuse.

FAMILY FRIENDLY: Some people also say that the movie isn't appropriate for kids, which I believe is also false. This is a wonderful and touching family movie, with scenes no more violent or scary than what has previously been shown many times in old family classics such as Lassie or Rin-Tin-Tin.

The movie tells the story of a dog that is reincarnated across several dog lives and shows the close and loving relationship between man's best friend and its owners, with a nice twist at the end of that I won't mention here. Each dog life is a nice story in itself, and my only negative comment is that I feel that they spent a little too much time on the first life, which I believe made the movie drag on a little at the start.

These unfounded animal abuse allegations are massively unfair to the makers of this wonderful movie, who did an excellent job and are being unfairly targeted. WATCH THE MOVIE AND YOU WON'T REGRET IT!
34 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing Movie
nicklreeves27 January 2017
Great movie! Had some great life lessons in it. Whole family enjoyed it, and everyone left happy! Dennis Quaid did a great job as usual.

I think that it gives some great perspectives on life. A dog's point of view definitely simplifies things. I feel that the point of the movie is to remember to enjoy the little things in life. While life can be hard, one must remember to enjoy the little things. If not, what's the point?

I also like how it shows different people's lives and their way of life.

If you are a dog person, you'll love it, go see it!
47 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent movie!!
brwnidgrl-6358928 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Contains spoilers Don't let the ridiculous claims that TMZ and PETA made, spoil this beautiful story for you!! Do your own research, and then go see this movie!! The book was a great story to start with, and story was translated perfectly through the movie! The scenery, the music, the acting, all wonderfully done! The little boy who plays Ethan, Bryce Gheisar, does a wonderful job portraying the love between a boy and his dog. You'll love the beautiful animal actors as well! You'll laugh, you'll cry, and then you'll laugh and cry some more. And don't worry, there's a happy ending. Take your tissues, and go enjoy this movie today!!
32 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Not yet seen, but....
furshurxx26 May 2017
I only add this comment to clarify that the ASPCA has confirmed that the footage showing a dog being forced, under distress, to be in rapid water is a FAKE. Please stop commenting about how awful doing this was since it never happened. I'll take the ASPCA's word on that. So who is likely to post a fake video. You decide, but remember, only someone with an agenda has motive. The most likely motive is to censor animal movies, and those would be radical animal groups like PETA. I have owned and loved dogs (and some cats) my entire life. They are domestic animals that could not survive in the wild. They are a part of our lives, just as we are a part of theirs. I have had to bury so many because of their relatively short lifespan, and the fact I am now 67. My heart breaks each time and I have never forgotten even one. So to those who think all animals should be free, I say this: go see what happens to a "free" dog: they end up dead, or sick, or starving. I know. I own a farm and people have dumped their dogs on my property for 25 years. Sometimes I only find them in the field, dead. So, PETA, stuff it. I'm politically liberal, but I find your attitude. nauseating and ill-informed.

Now to go see the movie. I will add my real review to the this comment then.
20 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
It was an enjoyable 7.7 out of ten
wknehrboss11 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I'm the biggest movie snob. I refuse to watch a movie that gets below a seven, but I made an exception for A Dog's Purpose as I read and enjoyed the book. And I was not disappointed.This movie was touching,enjoyable,funny and most importantly not cheesy.The fake reviews given by animal rights activist who didn't even watch the movie are total mischarecterizations of this well done film. It was not a ten stars(though I gave it that to help balance out all the fake reviews) but it was enjoyable and worth watching. For those of you who read the book and are afraid the movie will spoil the book the movie did Bruce Cameron's work justice. So please ignore the dismal overall rating and go and enjoy The Dog's Purpose.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Ignore PETA and their smear campaign. This is a wonderful film for the entire family
michaelbuday-6501829 January 2017
This is a wonderful, heartwarming film about a dog that lives several lives with different families via reincarnation. Oh yes, and the dog is the narrator too.

A little hokey? Yes.

A perfect film? No.

Does it satisfy the needs for parents wanting to take their kids to a film that celebrates how awesome dogs are? YES.

Will dog loving audiences enjoy this film, absolutely.

Given all the bad press and reviews of this film, I was expecting the theatre to be empty, but it was packed. Further, everyone applauded at the end. And it deserved that because it was fun and brought smiles and tears aplenty.
28 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
PETA backlash just trying to ruin this great movie
samsterdhamster29 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Me and my bf really wanted to see this movie, but did NOT want to support any kind of animal abuse. So we both looked into it and it turned out that the film in question (the German shepherd being forced into the water) had been edited together after being taken over a year ago, which is when it should've been brought to light if they really had been mistreating any animals. After finding out a few more things about it and looking at everything from all different angles, we decided to go see the movie and I'm glad we did. The scene with the German Shepherd jumping into the water wasn't even filmed with an actual dog, it was CGI, which I assume was because the actual dog was too scared to do the jump like that. Also, the movie was just great in general. It was a literal emotional roller coaster, making me laugh one minute and a sobbing mess the next. But even though it had me crying at some points and thinking about my first dog, Belle, and how much I miss her, the happy moments really made up for that. I've always been a huge dog person, I loved Belle like she was a third guardian, always watching out for me and my brother, and I love Grace like my own baby and my best friend. And this movie made me appreciate dogs even more and how much they do for us without even realizing. If anyone out there decided NOT to watch this movie just because of one video from TMZ and PETA (of all people), do some more research into it and give it a chance, because it really was an amazing movie
28 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed