Ben 10 (TV Series 2005–2008) Poster

(2005–2008)

User Reviews

Review this title
39 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Ben 10 rocks....
kassakate4178 May 2006
I must say that "Ben 10" is awesome. I really enjoy watching the show, and just watching it progress further and further from where it started. The characters and voices are great (especially Gwen's...he he he). I think that its worthy of watching every Saturday morning on cartoon network, so everyone should give a chance before they say anything, and no one should be saying that its just like "Teen Titans". Because it isn't, it's "Ben 10"...So all that being said, I hope that everybody gives the show a chance. Be sure to catch the new season because it's going to be amazing...Good job to everyone on the show you all deserve some praise because you all truly are amazing!

--Kassandra Kate
56 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Like a tight spring: lots of energy, and most of it's potential
MountainMan22817 July 2006
I was like (almost) everyone else in my initial reaction to the torrent of advertisements that Cartoon Network ran on a new series about a boy with a watch. It was mainly along the lines of, "Oh, wonderful. Another pointless show to displace my favorite regulars." Rarely have I "Ben" more wrong, and rarely have I been this glad to be wrong.

My brothers were watching it long before I saw my first complete episode, but they will watch anything that moves on the television screen, so I thought little of it. After my first episode, I watched another, and so on. Yes, I noticed that it was primarily for 8-14 year olds, but I still found it entertaining. Here's the thing, though: yes, my brothers like it, and they are the target age group, I like it, and I am 18 years old; my dad even likes it, a little, and he's 40 and hates cartoons. I humbly submit that age has less to do with it than one might think.

To those of you who have not seen the series, watch it (at least one episode, start to finish) before you criticize. Okay, fine, the presentation is aimed at the younger audiences, but the concept is solid super-hero-hits-sci-fi awesomeness: A person finds a watch-like, alien device that is "the key to an ancient power-struggle..." (Presented like that, I'm interested already). This person (a kid in the cartoon (probably) because that is their target audience) decides to use the abilities of the watch fight for good and serve those around him. But his struggle is not so easy, as the forces of the galaxy are not all so benevolent. An alien warlord wants the device to equip an army to conquer (it's not cliché, it's classic). Now he must do battle with the evil in his own people, as well as that within other races of the galaxy. And he must do it using the powers of a device that does not enhance his own power, but gives him the great strengths of others.

I'd be sold after a description like that, but that's not the point. The point is that it could be one of the great superhero stories along the lines of Batman, Superman, Spider-man, etc., and maybe even a live-action movie. Maybe one day, but for now, I can't wait to see how the next episode turns out.
29 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Goodbye 10-year old Tennyson, It's been a good two years.
benfreak-130 June 2008
Two very short but good years. 'Ben 10' is a good show for kids, and I'm proud to say I like it. It is somehow different from the other TV shows, like Totally Spies and Teen Titans. Well, actually, I can point out some similarities between Teen Titans and Ben 10. It's about a boy who has a alien watch that can change him into 10 different aliens. No matter how lame it is , it's pretty smart for a kid's TV show. I think the animation are occasionally good and pretty flashy, but not always. The character design could be better. Much better, the character could not be any shallower, and sometimes it's very, very predictable, especially the dialogue. It deserves more credit than it is given, because it's way better than the other shows. It's moderately successful, but completely satisfying. Cartoon Network was once a good channel, but now it has shows that are just plain bad and makes you disgusted that someone has come up with the idea to make it. Not this show. Sure, it's not as brainy as The X files, but it does well compared to the other shows playing on Cartoon Network. For some people, Ben 10 is a slow paced, ridiculous show with forgettable lines and an uninteresting storyline. But for others, it is a excellent show that is exiting and funny at the same time. The TV movies are pretty bad, even for a TV movie, but the spin-off show, Ben 10 Alien force is just as good, getting better and better with each episode it progresses. Thank you 'Ben 10' creators, for bringing a good, decent show onto Cartoon Network. I give it a 8/10, but not worth to but the DVD.
16 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My Fraroute show
www-jats19 January 2010
must say that "Ben 10" is awesome. I really enjoy watching the show, and just watching it progress further and further from where it started. The characters and voices are great (especially Gwen's...he he he). I think that its worthy of watching every Saturday morning on cartoon network, so everyone should give a chance before they say anything, and no one should be saying that its just like "Teen Titans". Because it isn't, it's "Ben 10"...So all that being said, I hope that everybody gives the show a chance. Be sure to catch the new season because it's going to be amazing...Good job to everyone on the show you all deserve some praise because you all truly are amazing!
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The End Of A Glorious Era.
Piccolo_King12 October 2014
The original Ben 10 series is one of the better Cartoon Network shows I can remember from recent years. In fact, its end coincided with the end of a glorious era of adventure-oriented animated shows that were smartly written and could be enjoyed by adults and kids alike. To summarize everything in two sentences, Ben 10 tells the story of a ten-year-old boy whose boring summer vacation with his grandpa and his cousin takes an exciting turn when he -- not quite by sheer luck -- gets his hands on the most powerful device in the universe, The Omnitrix. He now has the dream prize of every narcissistic bad guy out there and that's not a good thing, to put it mildly.

Where to start the praise from? I guess the animation art isn't too bad; it is great, as a matter of fact. The colors aren't too bright but of the right measure, and the scenery in the background always has a realistic feel which befittingly captures the vivid imagination of its talented writers. It's not too conspicuous but that's a good thing. An integral facet of every episode, it can be safely said.

As for the main characters, all of them are likable as well as relatable. Ben reminds the viewer of a more mischievous incarnation of their childhood self: a not-so-typical good-hearted douche bag with a penchant for adventures which at his age is understandable. Max is the perfect blend of a strict but caring grandpa who treasures whatever little time he gets to spend with his grandchildren. The man is dignity and warmth personified. Ben's cousin sister, Gwen, is a little obnoxious (I won't sugarcoat it) but as the show progresses you tend to start acknowledging her complementary role -- accepting her nerdy but interesting ways.

I absolutely love the villains, most of whom are given their own menacing angles and evil motivations. Vilgax, Enoch, Zombozo, Dr. Animo, Kevin -- all made invaluable contributions to the charged, tense atmosphere of the show. Hey, the hero is only as good as the villains he's up against and Ben 10 comprehends this as well as anything.

This review would probably feel incomplete if I didn't give a description of the very thing that's the root of this see-saw battle: the darn watch. The Omnitrix operates by attaching itself to the holder's DNA who can then morph into any available alien of his choice. Each alien has a unique ability, and it's said that the Omnitrix in total control can unleash an army strong enough to conquer the whole universe. Talk about the very definition of a crippling responsibility. The existence of extraterrestrial beings has always been a fascinating subject of discussion for me and maybe that's why I find the concept of Ben 10 engrossing.

Aside from the aspects I've mentioned, the show expertly examines simple but relevant themes of good vs evil, being there for your family, and respecting the perpetual and inexplicable powers of the the earth and the universe. With the advent of technology and the increasing cockiness of the human race, such issues are more important now than ever before. That's exactly why I feel that Ben's (man) judicious use of the powerful Omnitrix (technology) in the show is a truly commendable example to its viewers. The dark themes are presented in a palatable way. For instance, the masterful episode "The Last Laugh" is about confronting your inner fears/demons (do not miss this one, by the way).

Ben 10 also has fantastic voice acting. You can expect nothing but the highest level of quality from Tara Strong and co.

For me at least the Ben 10 series ended with Ben still a kid. The way I see it, the new series with a teenage Ben simply isn't the same; it just isn't. The great action sequences, witty dialog, and clever storytelling are a Ben 10 trademark and Alien Force has none of the exuberance that made Ben 10 awesome in the first place. All good things come to an end, I guess, but at least I'll always have those fond memories in my heart. You rule, Ben!
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Decent show, even with its problems
TheLittleSongbird17 August 2010
I will admit I do prefer Ben 10: Alien Force where the characters are maturer and the episode ideas and writing cleverer. That said, Ben 10 is a thoroughly decent show. Is it the best show on Cartoon Network? No, Dexter's Laboratory was my all-time favourite. Is it the worst? No again, Johnny Test is one of the most unoriginal and annoying shows I have seen recently.

So what about Ben 10? Well I really like its energy, each episode goes at a great pace and there is a lot of spirit. The animation is colourful and quite detailed, while the theme song love it or hate it is pretty good too. The story lines are predictable on occasions and the characters have their annoying moments, but they do have their interest points, plus the writing is funny and energetic. The voice acting is also solid.

All in all, not a bad show, not outstanding but I was expecting worse. However if you want something more mature and clever, which is probably the case with some people here, watch Ben 10: Alien Force. 8/10 Bethany Cox
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Ben 10 is Cool!
lordzedd-311 November 2006
Warning: Spoilers
This is the best thing come from Cartoon Network's Cartoon Cartoon Friday. Even though it's not the best animation in the world but compared to Ed, Edd and Eddy and Cow and Chicken it's bloody great. The creature designs are cool, the characters are well written are likable. The entire story work, the episodes are cool and likable. Ben's hero alien monsters are cool. There isn't much I don't like about Ben 10 and I am happy to see that other people like it as well. The dialog are kind of cool and the guest voices are cool. The voice over actors do a great job in acting and the sound is crystal clear. So for all the good points that outweigh the bad parts I give it...9 STARS.
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
amazing show
hs-264799 May 2016
I really liked the starting of the show .

The characters and the aliens are really cool.The story is cool that how a watch transforms a boy into 10 different types of super cool aliens.

The characters like Gwen , Kevin , Grandpa Max etc.....

The forever knight is awesome.

The best alien in the first series is Heat Blast.

Overall the show is really amazing , adventures , entertaining and the best.

There are total four Ben 10 movies out of which 2 are human movies and the other 2 are animated.

(I really liked the human ones)
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The show that started it all
bluhmfamily29 December 2010
Warning: Spoilers
NOTE: This review will maybe contain spoilers.

I first heard of Ben 10 in early 2006, The first episode I ever saw was "Ben 10,000". Later in the middle of 2007 I when I started watching it the most. My favorite aliens are. XLR8, Heatblast, Ghostfreak, Diamondhead, Benvicktor, and Cannonbolt.

The show is really cool in my personal opinion, but there are some little things I complain about, one is the silly plot holes and acting in most episodes. In 2005 when Cartoon Network was showing previews to the world, it probably sounded silly to some, but creative and original to others.

The first two seasons took the levels of cool to the extreme by doing interesting and scary and dark villains such as: Vilgax, Dr. Animo, Kevin 11, and Ghostfreak; yes Ghostfreak escaped from the Omnitrix and became a villain.

In the first season, Ben started with 10 aliens named: Wildmutt, Fourarms, Greymatter, XLR8, Upgrade, Dimaondhead, Ripjaws, Stinkfly, Ghostfreak, and Heatblast. I can't believe I memorized the order and names! In the second season, Ben un-locked 2 new aliens named: Cannonbolt, and Wildvine. They both are pretty cool actually! In the third season, in which were most of the stuff changed, Ben got a few of new aliens such as: Benwolf, Benmummy, Benvicktor, and Upchuck. I think that a little too much aliens were in season 3.

In the fourth season, Ben got 4 new aliens (including the one from that terrible movie), aliens such as: Ditto, Eye Guy, Waybig, and Eon.

The last episode, I didn't really care for because it seemed like they just rushed through it so they could get ready for the next series.

Overall, I give Ben 10 and 8 out of 10, I subtracted 2 points because of the silly stuff and some really poor episodes.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Oh great, another rubbish Cartoon Network show?
Tom-AVA11 February 2008
Being 16 years old i guess makes you too old for children's TV programmes now. But luckily i have a lot of younger brothers and sisters and so it gives me an excuse to go back into my adolescence every once in a while. When i was a kid, the best super-hero show on TV was the original Power Rangers. Come on, they were awesome. About 10 years after the Power Rangers first became good, the youth of today is being shown the rubbish that is Operation Overdrive. I'm sorry, but its time to lay the Power Rangers to rest, because the shows are getting worse and worse. This, in short, is a perfect demonstration of terrible children's TV has become. And so when my 2 younger brothers began getting mad over some programme on Cartoon Network called "Ben 10" i naturally assumed that it was just another rubbish children's show. One day when i got home from school i found my brothers already watching TV, and this programme Ben 10 was on. The options were to either do homework, put a DVD on or play on the xbox 360. Being incredibly lazy, i decided to just sit down and watch the TV. 2 hours later i had watched 4 episodes of the show and couldn't believe it. I mean, Cartoon Network had finally made a show that is half decent. Lets face it, the show has every cliché in the book, its fairly predictable at times and also very convenient how there's always a monster around whenever Ben is there. But what show isn't a little rough around the edges? Ben 10 is something fresh and relatively original. I think Cartoon Network Jetix, Nickelodeon and other kids TV channels should learn from this programme and then perhaps children's TV might get back to the glory days of Power Rangers.
19 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
excellent show
DarkestOperator6 July 2006
I was flipping channels when I saw this show. I'll admit what caught my eye was Gwen: she's pretty cute/good looking for a cartoon girl. She was the original reason I wanted to start watching this show. And if you think I have nothing better to do, no I don't and before you start making fun of me for that whether I see a good looking real girl or cartoon girl makes no difference-I see a good looking girl and that's that, real or not. That said, when I started watching this show, it caught on to me that this was a really good show: currently it is my favorite show on TV right now. Everything else is so overrated. The characters are nicely designed (Gwen's hot and Four Arms reminds me of myself-the way he talks and acts) and it's just a good show. The concept is very original and you don't have to be a kid in middle school to enjoy it. This like 30 year old guy I know said it was good when I told him about it. So give Ben 10 a chance. I did and now it's one of my main interests. 10/10. Better than teen titans.
19 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My First Cartoon Network Show
barbaradavis-3957827 November 2017
in case you didn't know ben 10 was my first cartoon network show not the power puff girls not foster home not teen titans this is my first cartoon network show ben 10 was about a 10 year old boy named ben tennyson having a alien watch called the omnitrix that he can turn into 10 aliens my favorite aliens is heat blast upgrade and diamond head my favorite characters in the show is ben tennyson Gwen tennyson and kevin levin when he's all grown up in alien force this show is amazing i love the creators who made this show and i know that cartoon network made 4 ben tens they made alien force ultimate alien omniverse and the reboot which was terrible this is like naruto when naruto was young and then becomes a teenager and he now hokage what this is nothing to do with naruto what am i saying the ben 10 reboot is awful but the other ben tens are amazing this is why ben 10 is my childhood show but people saying that ben 10 is overrated how is it overrated fidget spinners are overrated so that's it ben 10 came out in 2005 i was born in 2005 so that's why it was my first show ever
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Ben 10 series (Spoiler)
christian-970626 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I think that it's an OK series overall. I don't like though that Ben has a hard time figuring out throughout this series the genuine reason for why he should be a hero. I feel like that was a concept that he should have figured out during the first season.I like all of the aliens that Ben gets to be throughout the series. The last episode was random though. I thought that it was weird that he told his classmates and teacher within a very short time about the omnitrix.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Better than expected...
crowrobot20 February 2006
Warning: Spoilers
When the first commercials for 'Ben 10' arrived, my thoughts were this: "They (Cartoon Network) just canceled 'Teen Titans', and now we have another Americanime show? Count me out." Once I actually saw the show, however, my opinion changed. 'Ben 10' is a fairly decent superhero show. It's not as good as 'Teen Titans' or 'Justice League Unlimited' (it's certainly aimed at a younger audience), but it's a great way to kill time.

'Ben 10' actually has a pretty good starting point: Ben Tennyson (voiced by the immortal Tara Strong) is a normal kid traveling on the road with his Grandpa Max and cousin Gwen. Ben finds a strange watch that allows the wearer to transform into ten different superheroes. Problem is, evil aliens want the watch and begin invading Earth to get it. Now it's up to Ben to (recite in unison) save the world.

Like I said before, 'Ben 10' is not the travesty anticipated by the commercials, nor is it equal to the aforementioned 'Teen Titans' and 'Justice League'. It's mildly diverting, and 10 year-old boys should bet a kick out of it. You could do worse than 'Ben 10'.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Don't listen to the people who hate it
Friday_Saturday7 April 2008
Warning: Spoilers
My little brother and I have watched it from, like, the 1st episode onward. I'm 15, a girl, and in high school, and I LOVE THIS SHOW!!! The humans, while their drawing is a bit flawed, are very good. I was a little skeptic about the "two kids, a old dude, and a magic watch" deal, but my brother wouldn't let me have the clicker and I didn't want to go downstairs to watch SpongeBob (our basement's COLD, man), so i sat on my butt and watched. WOW were my original skepticisms misplaced!

The alien designs are incredible (Wild Mutt, Heatblast, and Upgrade to name a few). The evil aliens are pretty awesome too...Vilgax (or however you spell it can) survive jut about ANYTHING!!!

Some of my fellow commenters on this show have pointed out the unlikelyhood of an evil alien/human/wizard being in every single place they go. Weeell, I noticed that myself, and I have a few theories on that topic: 1)The bad guys/aliens are following them. 2)The bad guys/aliens are following the Omnitrix's signal (maybe it leaves some kind of radiation footprint whenever Ben uses it that makes it trackable, I dunno!). 3)The grandfather fights evil paranormals, so maybe HE'S tracking the bad guys, not the other way around. 4)Weird things happen everyday around the world, maybe it's just chance! I've seen a UFO, buildings are haunted, Nessie's been sighted (if they do an episode at Loch Ness, THAT I'd like to see. Or maybe Lake Champlain.). And 5)THEY HAVE TO HAVE A BAD GUY THERE OR NOTHING WOULD HAPPEN, THE SHOW WOULD GET CANCELLED, AND THEY'D REPLACE IT WITH DORA THE EXPLORER!

Bottom Line: Give this show a chance. The voices suit the characters (Tara Strong, you ROCK). The aliens are cool. The villains are freaky. There are some awesome gadgets. Grandpa, Gwen and Ben make a kick-ass team. Just sit and watch one full episode; you might be surprised.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ben 10 is the best cartoon ever
joaotomas_1012 October 2008
the Ben 10 series really impressed me what i really liked about Ben 10 is the aliens and the fact that the characters are funny especially grandpa. Gwen and Ben always fight and that makes me laugh a lot. Gwen and Ben are always calling names at each other vilgax and Kevin 11 are the strongest villains. i only missed one episode and i cant wait until its on the TV so i wont miss it this time. upgrade and greymatter are the strongest aliens but upgrade is harder better faster and stronger.just to finish i rate these series 10/10 voilà

ps here is my top 3 cartoons 1.Ben 10 of course 2.tom and jerry good classic 3.the powerpuff girls
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Because y not
sureshmonick15 May 2019
I love it to the core and it made my childhood.i really love those characters
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I still love this show 13 years later.
Emma_Cat16 December 2018
This show has always been compelling, full of action, awesome aliens, and awesome main characters. Ben and Gwen's shenanigans are still hilarious. The alien fights are still great, and the characters are actually interesting, funny, and smart. When I have kids, they will watch this show! You can't beat the classic Ben 10. <3
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Child hood memories
WeAreLive27 August 2017
When I was 7 I used to be scared of aliens and supernatural things but when I saw Ben 10 then I really got interested and less scared. I even remember coming home from school and looking forward to evening the time when I would watch the show with my sister and sometimes my dad. Call me weird but I actually asked for an Omnitrix toy for my birthday as well. My favorite alien used to be Wildmutt. Vilgax was definitely scary when I was younger.

The best episodes of the series are "Secrets", "Back for Vengeance", The purple lighting arc, "Perfect Day" and the Negative 10 arc.

I also liked the Ben 10000 episodes especially since Greg Wisemen (the creator of Young Justice: very good show by the way) wrote those episodes. He also wrote Under Wrap.

If you haven't seen this show yet I would honestly recommend it. Please don't watch that horrible reboot it is nothing more then a poor excuse for a Ben 10 series and just a show which is just made to sell toys.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A little too close-minded, there.
LordJazor27 July 2006
The previous comment was made by someone who is simply a critic and has no interest in just sitting down and watching a TV show without pointing out their perceived "faults." I think that this show's originality is splendid, if the plot perhaps a bit slow. It is also the same animation as the Teen Titans Animated Series, so they compare in some areas (especially Star Wars rip-offs. Titan Series fans know what I'm talking about). Perhaps if there were more internal struggles within the trio rather than new aliens popping up conveniently everywhere, the show would have more direction and not be as predictable. But I do think that this show's potential to become a cult classic (among various age groups) is becoming increasingly more likely. I enjoyed it without being too critical.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good as cartoons go; lots of room for improvement
fixinnixon21 July 2017
Let's start with the good. Ben 10 is a fun show with an interesting premise and a decent execution. The show centers on Ben Tennyson, a ten year-old boy, who stumbles upon an alien device that allows him to transform into different aliens. In effect, he can give himself different superpowers for a short time. It follows that the device is sought-after, creating the setup for a good story. Along with his cousin and his grandfather he begins fighting various villains they run across. The characters are real and likable and the plots are well-executed. In short, it's good entertainment.

Where does it fail? The most obvious failure is that Ben 10 — like so many of its cartoon brethren — lives in a limbo between an episodic style (villain-of-the-day, rather than a comedic Spongebob-style) and wanting to have an overarching plot. The short of it is that you can watch any episode regardless of chronology without feeling like you've missed something — not a good sign for a show trying to tell a larger story. Character development could, likewise, be improved. At the start of the series Ben is whiny, annoying, and rash. By the end of it? Slightly improved, but not as much as you'd assume from what he's been through. Gwen too is not developed to her full potential, while Grandpa Max is, frankly, underutilized as a character. The relationship between Ben and Gwen is also left under-developed. Generally speaking, character-developing moments just aren't seized and are left to flow by without mention. Ben and Gwen are the same people leaving the series that we meet at the start of it.

The action is cartoony, if entertaining. The fights are largely there because we're supposed to see some fights rather than because of natural conflict. Like most cartoons, there's lots of hitting and flashiness, but little that's actually damaging. It divorces us from the action by giving us no real sense of anyone's strengths or weaknesses. This helps hinder development even more.

In the end, the worst I can say about Ben 10 is that it doesn't live up to its immense potential. There's nothing wrong with it that isn't wrong with most cartoons, and Ben 10 among its peers is by far one of the better cartoons you could watch. The show is entertaining and fun, and while it probably won't satiate any hunger for deep stories and/or engagement the same way Avatar: tLA might that's not to say it isn't worth watching. Do I wish it could have been better? Of course, but that's only because it's so good and interesting already. There are many shows that can strive no higher than being episodic, villain-of-the-week pulp cartoons, but Ben 10 is not one of them.

…It certainly makes the 2016 reboot all the more disappointing.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This is my childhood.
vishanttomar-884863 October 2018
This is one of the best animated series for childrens especially. Those parents who says it is too dark don't know how world works. This series was the first one that i saw was so diverse and intelligent. Well today the parents wishes have been heard and now they have converted ben 10 to a rainbow freak show with lego aliens(i mean really) today money comes first then anyhting. This show taught me reality and creativity with some other shows included. But, now they are impersonating sweet dishes which are dancing around in sparkle and colourful worlds. There are literally no good cartoons right now as there were back then.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
childhood classic
finaldishonored21 May 2017
this was great ben 10 Gwen grampa max all of it was so good Saturday morning cartoon used to watch it every time every week I had the box set it was amazing I'm currently rewatching it and i can tell you that it never gets old ghostfreak Greymatter heatblast and four arms in the wrestling episode were amazing
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
The evilest road trip EVER.
Spacetree4 June 2006
Is it just me, or do villains pop out everywhere Ben and his family travel to? Arizona? Lightning aliens! Old folks home? More evil aliens! New Orleans? Necromancers! Suburbs? Evil geek! Circus? Evil clowns! Well, clowns are always evil. But in any case, it seems that bad guys either follow Ben around, or show up conveniently when he shows up. And most of the time the bad guys aren't in anyway affiliated with the main alien enemies trying to get the Omnitrix back. It's the same most episodes. Bad guys with unexplained superpowers show up, Ben fights them. WITH HIS 10 YEAR OLD COUSIN AND GRANDFATHER. You'd think a person with 10 varied superpowers could handle this with out putting elderly and young family members in mortal peril. But I guess not. It's the villain-of-the-week formula, people. It's unoriginal and (in this case) jagged in plot structure.

What this show desperately needs is some plot cohesion. The action is pretty good, Ben (as a character) has a lot of potential. The back story involving his grandfather is interesting. The main alien antagonist is a good villain. But all of this is hampered by writing that never stays on one subject. Coming of age story? That could work. Coming of age story one episode... PSYCHO FISHERMEN NEXT EPISODE! Not so much. If this show could give reasons for the various super-powered fiends (and not just HAY LOOK AT DEEZ BAD GUYZ!!!1), then at least I could get into it. But how can you when each episode is completely random and pointless? They've managed to do this with other shows. There's a reason the good guys fight and a reason behind the bad guys. The Teen Titans live in a world of super-powered beings. That's why the bad guys are super-powered. In Ben 10, Ben just seems to go with the flow. Travel on summer vacation? Bad guys on the way? Sure, why not. There's no motivation, no logic, no reason.

This show could be SOO much better if the writers, I don't now, picked up a book? Watched The Godfather? I understand a Saturday morning cartoon can only do so much, but it just seems like the writers are lazy.
28 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Cartoon Network's Shows Keep Declining...
Horseman12316 September 2006
Warning: Spoilers
There are definitely a few problems with this show indeed. While I understand this is a kid show even Teen Titans did better than this crap. First of all why does Ben NEVER lose. You'd think after about 50 alien fights he'd lose at least once. Oh I get it, he typed 'godmode' in the console. Second point is the danger. Why would a grandfather take his ten year olds to face dangerous aliens? It doesn't make any sense at all. There are so many dangerous situations in the show and every time when someone is about to meet their doom they get saved in the nick of time. The Aliens are too American and they seem to speak perfect English. while I understand you can't have subtitles for each alien if they were speaking a different language and just to keep the show going they need the aliens to speak English. I'm talking about all the aliens that come to earth like malfax, the trio that wanted that huge thing to suck the life out of the earth, the ones that wanted to steal the watch etc...Including ghost freak who escaped. You think they might mispronounce words, talk with an accent, or might even from time to time talk in their native language. Even the attitude of the aliens are so American it annoys me. What happened to the good old days when Cartoon Network played GOOD shows like Outlaw Star and Tenchi?
13 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed