Love & Other Drugs (2010) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
238 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Portrayal of degenerative disease SPOT-ON
carlabag2 December 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Like Maggie, I was diagnosed with a degenerative, neurological illness (with no cure or treatment) in my early 30s, and also met my husband around that time. Hathaway's acting (and the script) captures with devastating accuracy the emotions one goes through when confronting a degenerative illness at an early age, particularly when falling in love (i.e. trying to push someone away/set them free before you become a burden on them; stubbornly seeking independence/avoiding vulnerability, though in real life, you really do need someone to love and take care of you; wanting to avoid the grief inherent in your diagnosis, and particularly, wanting to avoid pulling someone ELSE into that grief; going out and seeking support groups, and feeling empowered by this; getting angry at your partner's refusal to accept what is; etc. etc.)

I agree that portions of this movie were VERY Hollywood and over the top,and also that it was trying to be everything for everyone (love story,guy's flick, corporate commentary, light-hearted comedy, melodrama,etc.) Regardless of any criticisms, though, I was sobbing like a baby during the last third of the movie. It was just too real, too familiar,too spot-on, and I know that unless people have walked in similar shoes, they wouldn't be able to fully grasp the depth and grief of what was unfolding on screen. In a way, I'm grateful for all the fluff and comedy, because I wouldn't have been able to get through the movie otherwise.

So I say, overall, this movie was incredible due to its sensitive and accurate portrayal of Maggie's illness, and all of its emotional ramifications. Good job.
74 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
More complex than the trailer suggested, more enjoyable than the poster suggested
pedrothefish1 January 2011
This film surprised me in a good way.

From the trailer and the posters to be found in many of the bus shelters of our town it would have been fair to have expected a routine rom-com. The pose struck by the leads Jake Gylenhall & Anne Hathaway on that poster just screamed "knock about rom-com,just like hundreds of others" It isn't though and that was a pleasant and engaging surprise.

Jake Gylenhall pulls off the role of super bright but super slacker son Jamie in a high achieving family well and is convincing as a magnetising presence that women find irresistible.

The absence of Anne Hathaway's character Maggie in the first segment of the film is the first suggestion that this will not be a routine paint by numbers romance and Maggie's introduction sets the scene for the complex character she successfully portrays.

This film covers a lot of ground and both of the leads are engaging and believable.

Issues such as serious illness, the workings of the big pharmaceutical companies and their attempts to influence the decision making of medical professionals, the struggle people have to pay for treatment and a believably complex love story are woven in without significant signposting or obvious plot twists.

Once again, the two lead actors were excellent and overall this made for an enjoyable and engaging film
133 out of 169 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Expected what I saw in the trailer and got more
hyprsleepy9 December 2010
Despite what some may say, Love and Other Drugs wasn't like other romantic comedies I've seen except in the most general of senses, in that it was a romantic comedy. I hadn't seen one set in the environment of pharmaceutical sales or with a main character who had Parkinsons disease, a setting which is very interesting as there are a lot of things wrong with health care and the system today. It gives one something to chew on while watching the rest of the movie.

There's a lot to like about the relationship between Jamie and Maggie. They have a raw intensity and passion for each other that was a bit much for some viewers, but in my opinion it was there to show how connected they were both physically and mentally. I thought their banter and teasing nature was cute. Nobody got wounded or sulked when teased but just laughed and teased back. The initial attraction between them started as an understanding of each other's loneliness and vulnerability that allowed them to feel like someone else finally got them after easily charming others with nothing more than a fascade. Their relationship had passion, love, and a roller-coaster of emotions.

There was a scene midway through the movie where Maggie tells Jamie that even though she may have many other moments like the ones that she shared with him that it will never be as special or mean as much to her and my heart wanted to swell because I knew exactly what she meant and what it is like to love someone that much.

As they grew together, both characters changed and let go of their issues with commitment and love. They tore down the walls they'd built to protect themselves and just let themselves fall. It was beautiful to me and I really enjoyed Love & Other Drugs.
132 out of 175 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Slow Start, Great Finish... Anne Hathaway is Wonderful
sacflyzone8 December 2010
The movie starts out as a generic and even pedestrian romantic comedy and appears to be headed in the typical cliché driven direction but, fortunately, evolves in to something more. Jake Gyllenhaal's character and his alleged "funny" fat side kick are established almost purposefully as illustrations of what's wrong with most romantic comedies. It's Anne Hathaway's character that is the catalyst for the transformation from two dimensional rom-com to something deeper and more enjoyable. As she is fleshed out (pun intended because the more Anne Hathaway nudity the better) her character forces both Gyllenhaal's character and the film itself to grow (almost Viagra like). What follows is a deep, sometimes moving and genuinely interesting film. Commentary about battling illness, life and enjoying the moment are all relevant and poignant. Even supporting characters are given moments to shine. Oliver Pratt's drug rep has a wonderful scene delivered over dinner and there's even a smart drunken ramble explaining what is wrong with being a doctor and a commentary on the state of the Hippocratic Oath. From an emotionless and even tedious start, this film surprised me and is worth the price of a ticket.
116 out of 158 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
not the average romantic comedy ( and thats a good thing)
mooviefan-891-87957425 January 2011
This is one of those movies that have a weird marketing campaign, the studio wants to sell it like a romantic comedy when its more like a drama with complex and real characters. Anne Hathaway and Jake Gyleenhaal have good chemistry on screen and secondary characters help to bring equilibrium to a movie that other way could turn to be a little depressing. I also think that this movie doesn't deserve the R rating just because it deals with sex ( I live in Mexico and here we have something like PG-15)hopefully people don't feel to uncomfortable with the sex scene because it gives more credibility to the story.In the end the film works better than others of its genre and its worth a look ( probably not for a first date) but if you are already on a relationship it will give you something to think and talk about.
60 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good chemistry is the best drug for any standard romance
Movie_Muse_Reviews25 November 2010
Love stories are essentially the same -- it's a matter of how you dress them up. Many will see through "Love and Other Drugs" and count the romance clichés and formulaic characters, others will find the 1996 setting and the pharmaceutical angle refreshing. Both forces are hard at work in this film, but the tipping point goes in favor thanks to the leads, Jake Gyllenhaal and Anne Hathaway. There's a reason most romantic films are judged based on the chemistry of their lead actors. When it comes to romance, it's not about how cleverly written the two characters are and how unique and special they feel to us. What counts is whether they can convince you of their attraction/love and get you to -- without blunt coercion -- invest in what happens to them. Gyllenhaal and Hathaway have what it takes to do just that in spite of a script that sometimes tries to lean too hard on conventional tactics of boys meets girl. Gyllenhaal plays Jamie, an expert salesman who lands a gig as a pharmaceutical sales rep for Pfizer, right before Viagra hit the market. He's also adept at landing any woman he desires. He epitomizes a Don Juan and he's plays the type well, but when you can predict that he'll end up in bed with the next attractive woman that shows up on screen, the writing has taken it a bit far. As good of a filmmaker as Edward Zwick is, his best credits include "Glory," "The Last Samurai" and "The Blood Diamond" -- not exactly romance. He co-wrote the script (based on Jamie Reidy's memoir) with longtime collaborator Marshall Herskovitz and thriller writer Charles Randolph ("The Interpreter"), so no real romantic comedy prowess exists among them, hence the tendency to stick with genre conventions. One such convention is Jamie's brother (Josh Gad), who plays the little brother crashing on Jamie's couch who has a porn addiction and makes clueless statements, usually to the tune of no laughs, but he does help break the tension. Enter girl. Jamie meets Maggie, a bit of a free-spirited cynic who (in a unique twist) has way early onset Parkinson's. Many will be quick to jump on the "diseased girl" archetype, but don't judge Hathaway's prowess that quickly. As completely pathetic as Maggie's self-esteem might be and how strictly anti-commitment she is, when her character caves in to the romance as they all do, Hathaway gives Maggie a believable fragility rather than a melodramatic tone. Jamie's motives for wanting to spend more time with Maggie and not simply continuing his streak of banging all who possess lady parts are reduced to the reason of "she's playing hard to get," which is not the best of reasons. The same can be said about Maggie constantly accusing Jamie of having pity sex with the diseased girl. However, watching these two charm each other and overcome the cliché has a definite appeal. The two spend a lot of naked time together, making "Love and Other Drugs" the best date movie this holiday season. But on a serious note, the drug angle and the "recent past" setting give us something else to chew on, which is nice. Zwick never truly marries that story line with the romance except "Jamie sells drugs and Maggie has a disease that lacks an effective one." The thematic ties are not quite there despite the plot coincidences and the fitting title. "Love and Other Drugs" is hardly the cure for the common romantic comedy, but the consistent dosage of its two stars by and large pushes away those symptoms. ~Steven C
58 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Blunt and provocative feel good enjoyment film driven by plenty of sex, yet it proves hot feel good sex can lead to love!
blanbrn4 December 2010
I must say that "Love and Other Drugs" is clearly one of the better films I've saw in awhile. For a variety of reasons for one the chemistry between Gyllenhaal and Hathaway is in perfect form as the two worked together before(as a couple in "Brokeback Mountain"). Second it's an emotional story that involves sickness and finding unexpected love. And finally what can I say the film has plenty of passion, lust and hot steamy love scenes so plenty plenty of sex! So aside from those reasons this picture can best be summed up as a kind of old fashioned romance falling in love story that touches your emotions as you feel the couples(Jamie and Maggie)growing pains of trust, sickness and feel good pleasure. Still the sex overshadows those ingredients leaving a happy and feel good side effect for a viewer like me and it helps because I'm a big Anne Hathaway fan and with this picture you get to see plenty of her skin.

Set in the mid 1990's when the economy was booming you have Jamie(Jake Gyllenhaal)who's a young playboy from a well to do family and his biggest love in life is going to bed with hot young females. Then Jamie decides to get a little bit more power hungry when he becomes a pharmaceutical sales rep. he's taken under the arms of an ego driven boss Bruce(Oliver Platt)and the catch and sale of the game is for Jamie to use his charm and good looks to help sell medicine like Zoloft and Viagra(remember the wonder pills of the 90's!). Plus his connection with a cocky Dr. Knight(Hank Azaria)helps his climb and profile in the drug selling world too! Now that Jamie has became a hotshot pharmaceutical rep. he now meets his match in one of Knight's patients that being the sassy and witty sharp tongued free spirited sexy Maggie Murdock(Anne Hathaway in her best and most sexy role of her career)as you can see a lot of adjectives to describe her. Only blemish with the beautiful Maggie is that she has stage one Parkinson's disease. Never mind these hot young attractive singles hit it off perfect as this quickly becomes a relationship of no strings attached lust bedroom making very hot passionate sex(I must say the bed and love scenes were very hot for an R rated film). And this is what both enjoy lots and lots of sex.

Yet as the charms of Jamie continues to go both for Maggie and his business he unexpectedly starts to have feelings for Maggie has he finally meet his match can he charm the stubborn sex magnet Maggie? The film is blended well with both comedy and drama as Jamie's slob geek overweight brother Josh(Josh Gad) provides laughs trying to score and it's fun seeing he's addicted to watching internet porn and sex tapes. Plus the scene of Jamie's boner from taking the Viagra pill was down right funny. Still Maggie is a serious go getter by traveling even to Canada to Parkinson support groups in the search for new cures and ways of living with the disease.

This film thru it all is wonderful as the sex and hot lustful passion make it a tasty treat to watch and enjoy as the strong chemistry of Jake and Anne is great as Hathaway is sexy as ever. Those factors alone make it one of the better films I've seen. And adding the sickness theme of Parkinson's makes it depressing to some still it proves that anyone can be loved and that it's unexpected and everyone needs someone. Most of all it proves that sex and hot passion can easy lead to strong emotions of feeling and yes you guessed it as this film proves love. Love & Other Drugs is a feel good film that's enjoyable it touches emotions leaves you happy and you don't feel any side effects only love in the end.
46 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A movie that feels like a very long trailer
SaMoFilmGuy7 November 2010
Warning: Spoilers
A disjointed series of scenes, some quite funny; none, not one, poignant – and that in a story about a Parkinson's sufferer. It feels like TV: things happen because they have to happen at a certain time, not because the characters have put them into motion. Thus, Jake must meet Anne, learn about her disease, face her doubt about him, deal with her leaving him, go to rescue her – all this because that's what the story should do. But the scenes between the two of them are just like a well-acted acting class-type escapades, with Jake very good and Anne always a little over the top. They, the scenes, don't add up to anything satisfying.

Zwick can't quite get the feature thing down. All his movies lack a real resonance; they don't hold together as a whole. You don't feel you've seen a real story because he understands writing and directing scenes but he does not understand that plotting is an emotional thread that builds into something more than just the addition of one beat on another. He simply cannot develop a satisfying feature script. His movies are like watching a very long trailer.
88 out of 153 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Tired, old manipulative plot
famdoc-319 October 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Hard-partying, emotionally-detached man meets sensitive, artist woman with fatal disease. They fall in love. They fall out of love. Will man come to his senses? Will woman allow herself to feel love despite downhill course of disease? Will the sappy music ever stop? Will we keep watching this dreck? Will attractive people getting undressed and having sex keep our attention? You know all the answers to these questions, as this film is just a rehash of dozens that came before it.

The film raises, without subtlety, some questions society needs to confront: the role of the pharmaceutical industry in the medical-industrial complex, how we treat people with incurable diseases, how people with incurable diseases search for cures and what to wear to a pajama party.

Perhaps I should give this film more credit for avoiding flatulence, it nevertheless gives us a few laughs on the subject of erectile dysfunction and its cures, masturbation, three-way sex and internet porn. So original.
89 out of 163 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Nutshell Review: Love and Other Drugs
DICK STEEL8 January 2011
The first part introduces us to Jamie Randall (Jake Gyllenhaal), a good looking schmuck who gets his way around women always, possessing an irrepressible charm that make them all feel weak in their knees. Being kicked out of his job at an electronic store for his amorous ways, he soon finds himself applying his innate ways with women into his selling routine, now working as a sales rep in the medical industry for Pfizer, which when he joined hasn't created the magical blue pill called Viagra yet.

I'd always wonder whether Pfizer was totally OK with the use of their branding, just like how Up in the Air featured Hilton. After all this section of the film relentlessly pummels you with their sales strategy, arguments and counter-arguments where some aren't really flattering, or even ethical to begin with. It's like a statement of how numbers and quotas are being chased no matter the cost, and their sales training made for some comedic fodder. And to make matters worst, it puts up front how the use of freebies can open up doors which are closed, and to Jamie it also means manipulating women to get at what he wants, especially an account with Dr Stan Knight (Hank Azaria) who in one scene opened up and blabbers about how corrupt the entire industry could be in demolishing one's medical ideals.

So I suppose it's fair game for Pfizer since the story, or at least this part of it, is based on the book "Hard Sell: The Evolution of a Viagra Salesman" by author Jamie Reidy, himself a former Pfizer sales rep, because at least it gets itself everywhere in the film by virtue of Jamie's job. Besides the lessons learnt and applicability in the corporate world, I totally agree with how being good looking puts one at a certain advantage because people like aesthetically pleasing things and beings, or try as hard to deny that such things exist. Things work, appeals work, and just about everything one touches turn into gold, or you get a leg up in your mission in life. This entire part on the bubbling new career of Jamie's I enjoyed and had a huge chuckle from for its bold portrayal of things that cut close to real life.

Then there's the romantic portion of the film that kicked in once Anne Hathaway's Maggie Murdock comes into the picture, piquing Jamie's interest when she revealed a boob and caught him ogling. The love between the two is anything but simple (and I touch on this in a while) since she wants to keep her emotional walls up to prevent from getting hurt again. They reach an agreeable compromise in establishing a relation that's built on purely physical terms, and try as hard as they can to avoid falling into the usual relationship trap. Through their interactions we learn a lot more about their characters, and in these moments come the expansion to prevent them from lapsing into caricature mode.

Both Gyllenhaal and Hathaway score in their respective roles, so much so that it earned them a Golden Globe nomination each. Gyllenhaal's Jamie develops from schmuck to an all round nice guy, something which love does of course since it forces you to care about somebody else, while Hathaway has to mimic an early stage of Parkinson's for her Maggie role, and brings to light some basic understanding of sufferers for the disease in which there's still no cure. After all, modern medicine seems to be interested in developing products that have mass market demand (like Viagra) appealing to the primal desires of men (and women too) which automatically translates to profits. Needless to say having been on screen together (sans clothes too in Brokeback Mountain) meant some natural chemistry already established and which they shared

But the third part to the film was the home run for me. It defines the concept of unconditional love, other than the innate one that a mom will always possess for her kids. You'll know someone is right for you, and there's no point denying it anyway, when they choose to stick by you when they know the going will get tough, that things will turn out quite the nightmare and disadvantageous, but decide to do so nonetheless. It takes the concept of "in sickness and in health" and weaves a strong emotional narrative around it in this film, where a couple not yet bounded by matrimonial vows, decide to adopt its concept implicitly. One is a sufferer from an incurable, long term disease, afraid to get too close to someone in fear of being pitied upon, or unfairly bogging down and clipping another's wings when the other half has opportunities to take off and fly.

But no, the film isn't that sombre in mood always, and contains plenty of comedy also courtesy of Oliver Platt as Jamie's sales manager, and that of Josh Gad playing Jamie's uncouth brother Josh, a one time internet paper millionaire until the dot com bubble burst, having to live on the couch in Jamie's apartment, the details of his shenanigans best left for you to find out from the film. The strength of Love and Other Drugs come from the development and transformation of characters and their relationships with each other, which dialogues that reminded me of, of all films, Jerry Maguire, set against an historical backdrop of developments in the medical industry that shook up the whole world. As I said, it's smart and all encompassing for a film like how Zwick likes his films to be, and I'm sure has elements that you'll identify with and enjoy.

I'm firmly putting this in my Highly Recommended list, and an early shoo in as one of the best of this year, even though it's early. Now excuse me as I go practice my Hey Lisa routine!
45 out of 79 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
'Love and Other Drugs' are enticing
TheBobbyjames30 November 2010
Jake Gyllenhaal and Anne Hathaway deliver inspiring, charismatic and dimensional performances in Edward Zwick's latest directorial venture. The film, like the performances, arcs from shallow objectives and arguably questionable behaviors to capturing the essence of love. It's the classic tale of boy meets girl except as Maggie (Hathaway) puts it, "...this isn't about connection for you, this isn't even about sex for you. This is about finding and hour or two of relief from the pain of being you, and that's fine with me because all I want's the exact same thing." Maggie's quote is perhaps the single most foreshadowing moment that will cause their parallel paths to intersect, putting forth a moving story of human compassion and love. Jamie (Gyllenhaal) is intent on becoming the most successful sales rep for the pharmaceutical giant, Pfizer. His aspirations are simple; sex, the Viagra account, and getting to Chicago. Maggie's objectives are a bit different. While she too is intent on the escapism she finds in sex, it's subtly presented that her goal is to be an artist - a goal that may be no longer achievable. What transpires is a character arc for each person and the realization that meaningless sex may have led to the ultimate human goals of companionship and love.

'Love and Other Drugs' is a nicely told story that keeps you laughing and hoping but will ultimately leave a tear in your eye. It exudes, to perfection, human emotion and leaves you feeling the reality of the situation and of each character, while doing its best to present a diagnosis with antidepressants and Viagra. It's cinematically beautiful and nicely paced to deliver a stand-out film containing all the chemistry Gyllenhaal and Hathaway had in years prior while filming 'Brokeback Mountain'. Acting is where the film garners much of its success through beautiful nuances, flawless delivery and strong eye contact. It leaves you hoping for the future, of both Maggie and Jamie and of a reuniting of Gyllenhaal and Hathaway.

Grade: A+
51 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
The cardinal rule of a romantic comedy is broken: you don't care whether they end up together or not
Likes_Ninjas9030 November 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Ladies man Jamie Randall (Jake Gyllenhaal) is a super smooth talker working in an appliance store. When he is fired for having sex with a co-worker he is pressured to find a new profession. His brother, a lazy overweight computer geek, has already made a fortune selling computer software to pharmaceutical companies. As such, Jamie uses his charming persona to become a sales representative for a drug company, working to sell drugs to local doctors and GP's. It's a cutthroat business, but he still manages to work his way around people. He meets his match when he meets Maggie (Anne Hathaway), a slightly neurotic artist who initially holds him in contempt but then grows to appreciate his fleeting nature. She is only interested in casual sex but slowly Jaime becomes more attached and more concerned about her wellbeing.

Love and Other Drugs was adapted from the book "Hard Sell: The Evolution of a Viagra Salesman" by director Edward Zwick. With Marshall Herskovitz and Charles Randolph, he also wrote the screenplay too. It seems like an oddity for Zwick who has mostly specialised in action films like The Last Samurai, Blood Diamond and Defiance. His lack of familiarity with the romantic comedy genre is most evident with the jarring changes of tone of this film. It starts off as a quirky comedy but there's also a distinct lack of wit in the screenplay. Jamie's supposed charm and suave is so overdone and phoney that is difficult to believe that any of the women in the film could fall for it. Annoyingly, they do repeatedly. The intrusion of Jamie's overweight brother, the typical fat character employed for comic relief, is a superfluous addition too that adds little to the narrative. In the second half, the film is nearly two hours, the story attempts to change gears to become a medical melodrama, as Maggie's illness deteriorates. At this point the film seems to becoming more thoughtful and smarter than the typical Hollywood romantic comedy since Jaime has to find a balance between his work and looking after her. However, it's undone by an extremely safe and predictable conclusion, complete with the kind of mawkish speech that only a romantic comedy could provide.

Jake Gyllenhaal and Anne Hathaway have worked previously together in the film Brokeback Mountain. Gyllenhaal though is an unusual choice for what this particular role demands. He seems miscast because his smoothness and supposed suave is so artificial. He overplays it entirely in the opening scene. His choice of stealing drugs from rival companies seems like an incredibly unlikely practice. After he transforms into the typical nice guy in the latter portion of the film his character becomes bland, rather than sincere. This is more the fault of the screenplay as the inner life of his character is particular uninteresting. The only particularly memorable aspect about his character is that he never managed to finish medical school. Hathaway is rather spiteful as Maggie, not always likable in the way that she treats Jamie, particular in the second act. The women in the film generally do not come off well here as they are either gullible or in Maggie's case, plain irrational. Notably, the love scenes shared between Jamie and Maggie are more frank than most mainstream comedies. It's just unfortunate that the film is a lot less interesting when the characters have their clothes on. Ultimately, the cardinal rule of a romantic comedy is broken: you don't care whether they end up together or not.
24 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great romance, great comedy, great cans on Anne
dexmike3 March 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Saw a preview tonight. Really, really good. Plenty of nudity from the leads....always thought of Anne as too skinny, but yowza! Quite the tear-jerker, yet finds time to be charming and funny. Anne Hathaway was totally off my radar but I was totally in love from the 1st wild sex scene. Lots of Jake whoring around too. The brother was a poor man's Jonah Hill, but he was quite entertaining in the end. Some pretty gross moments, especially one involving a sex video but it really made me laugh. Judy Greer of Arrested Development was cool in a small role as a naughty nurse. Story of a sales rep for Viagra who falls for a beautiful artist with (no spoiler here). Well paced, well acted and well written.
43 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't waste your time
shallow594 January 2011
Warning: Spoilers
What was Anne Hathaway thinking? Did she fall for the 'to be taken as a serious actress you have to do lots of tasteless panting sex scenes and flash your bare breasts as often as possible?' She didn't even look particularly comfortable in the sex scenes - it was as if she was imitating an actress from a cheap porn movie.

Improbable storyline, improbable characters and extremely crass dialogue. And what genius thought up the brother's character? All the characters were hard to like but he was positively repulsive. Why on earth didn't Jamie just kick him out? I certainly would have been a lot happier. Ugh, the entire movie left a bad taste in my mouth. Extremely disappointing. I wish I'd walked out.

And who knew that everyone with Parkinson's has a potty mouth? And that was meant to show us something of who they really were? I don't think so.
42 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent story of redemption of the heart
vday_now5 December 2010
Warning: Spoilers
The acting of Jake and Anne are excellent portrayals of two characters who each have significant personal issues that prevent them from finding fulfillment in love; that is until they meet each other. The story centers around Jamie's overwhelming desire to hide his insecurity of self worth by being an overachiever in his work and social skills. Whereas Maggie's incurable Parkinson's disease, with it's progressive lifestyle deterioration, causes her to protect herself from those who would pity her or not be able to carry the burden of the support she will ultimately need.

The story presents these two characters with extreme passion for life and sexual prowess, that at first hides their personal issues from each other, but which also increases the desires of both to connect more fully with the other. The juxtaposition of these two very intelligent and talented characters makes for an intriguing portrayal for their discovery of love for each other.

That desire is largely manifest by Jake's character (Jamie Randall) in that Maggie makes him desire to be a better person thru her insightful understanding of his weaknesses, yet her total acceptance of him. Ironically this insight makes her feel less threatened by Jamie, yet very concerned about letting Jamie see her trials with Parkinson's disease.

I found this story to be completely engaging and well performed by all the actors and the director. This is an intelligent film and should be recognized for its achievement as such.
19 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
An easy formula that insults my intelligence (once again)
mirwais-orbit23 June 2011
Here's a recipe to make a romantic comedy about an annoying couple:

01) Jake Gyllenhaal's butt. 02) Anne Hatthaway's tits. 03) A lot of sex scenes to attract men audience that are there just for their wives/girlfriends that wanted so bad to watch it because, you know, men are sexual. 04) A lot of drama scenes to attract their wives/girlfriends that, until that moment, wasn't interested about Anne Hatthaway's tits because, you know, women are sensible. 05) An infamous discussion about love, leading to nowhere. 06) A very uncommon disease but not cancer, because cancer is now cliché, so... let's talk about Parkinson's Disease, that happens 99,9% of the time into old people population, but they decided to make a movie about the 0,1% of young people that can be affected because, you know... 27 years old Anne Hatthaway with Parkinson's Desease is now prettier than 81 years old Clint Eastwood. 07) A (un)funny-fat annoying ugly character to make comedy time effective. 08) Some unnecessary war between sexes for later discussions. 09) Some lack of rationality. 10) Confident-hard-as-rock characters that are able to hurt each other but deeply they have sensible souls. 11) And finally: the birth of love no matter its obstacles.

That's it. You just have to mix it all and the success is granted and then the movie is able to receive unbelievable 7.3 of general ratings.

Awful movie using the same awful formula for an awful easy money return. Not even Jake Gyllenhaal's legs can save it.
52 out of 107 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Soulless Corporate Film-making
flapdoodle6412 September 2011
This is a good movie for people who want to see Anne Hathaway naked, as you will see quite a lot of naked Anne Hathaway body parts in this movie. Also, the sex scenes seem to be of longer duration than is average for our times, suggesting that someone might have wanted to pad the running time. The scenes are of such a duration as to become somewhat uncomfortable for the audience, unless of course one is watching the film alone and with the freeze frame control handy.

Otherwise, this film can summed up as a very uneasy attempt at combining sophomoric Owen Wilson/Ben Stiller type humor with a few token elements of RomCom or ChickFlick, such as Judd Apatow was able to pull off with his highly successful 'Knocked Up.' There is nothing inherently wrong with Hollywood making sophomoric adolescent male comedies, nothing wrong with making a RomCom, nothing wrong with making a ChickFlick. But a director needs to have the guts to commit to one vision for a film, and not try to hobble 3 incompatible things together in a soulless and cynical attempt to please focus audiences and demographic groups.

In this film, the humor runs out of steam about 1/3 way into it. Worse, there is a major subplot involving Anne Hathaway's character suffering from Parkinson's disease...this issue, a character suffering from a chronic incurable and debilitating disease is for the most part shown in a silly and dismissive way, so as to be a slap in the face of people and couples everywhere facing serious health problems. There are a couple sequences where the director seems suddenly to realize the seriousness of the affliction, but within the superficial and silly context of this film, these sequences come across as an attempt to manipulate the audience into thinking they are seeing a film not totally devoid of emotional content.

There is another subplot involving the way citizens of the U.S. are neglected by their government and exploited by the pharmaceutical companies. Here is another place where the audience is teased by content of potential relevancy to the human race but again the material has been carefully neutralized so as not to offend the sensitivities of the ruling class.

The good thing is that the naked scenes of Anne Hathaway all occur in the first half of the film. The best audience for this film will keep their remote controls handy.
19 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
"Love and Other Drugs" has a few problems, but it is still a beautiful story of boy loves girl
napierslogs24 November 2010
Set during the rise of Viagra, "Love and Other Drugs" follows Jamie (Jake Gyllenhaal) trying to sell drugs and trying to bed women. Women are easier.

Gyllenhaal has the finesse to turn a womanizing pharmaceutical sales rep from a cliché character into an astute and caring man with actual depth. Anne Hathaway more just likes to prance around naked. Hathaway's Maggie suffers from early-onset Parkinson's disease, and has closed her heart to love. There's not much more to her character probably just because she has the body to shoot sex scenes.

"Love and Other Drugs" suffers from an inability to turn its dramatic scenes into poignant ones, and the many drug and sex jokes into thoughtful commentary. And most of the minor characters, all played by stellar actors (Hank Azaria, Oliver Platt, etc.), remain in supporting roles without further advancement in who they are. Despite these problems, at its heart it is just a story of boy loves girl and Gyllenhaal and Hathaway portray that beautifully.
16 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Skip it!
bellnatalie27 November 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I have never reviewed a movie before, but I disliked this one enough that I felt the need to express myself. I was really expecting a lot from this one because of my respect for Jake and Anne, but whether it is because they are both so good-looking and successful in real life, or because the production was that bad, I found the whole movie completely unbelievable and I was incredibly disappointed.

There was not much in this movie I could relate to. I am in love, but I didn't feel happy for them, especially not when Jake has to go sleep with other women just to know how he feels for Anne, or when Anne keeps taking off her clothes and jumping him and then telling him to leave her alone. Really, the nudity in this movie seemed there just to distract the audience from the fact that the dialogue was actually really unoriginal. In an interview I read with Anne, she says she thinks nudity is important to the movie because both characters express themselves through their bodies while at the same time, shutting off their minds. I get her explanation, but I didn't get this from the movie.

The really good parts centered around the discussion of Parkinsons and the world of pharmaceutical drugs. However, I feel that the actors involved wanted to produce a blockbuster with lots of boobs, not a serious movie that centers around these issues. The movie was reaching to get to a point that it could never achieve. I personally came away feeling that I wasted my time.
28 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
What in the world
mastersond7620 November 2010
Warning: Spoilers
My wife and I really, really like the two lead actors. We like Anne so much we watched that Bridezilla movie she did. We ignored the reviews and saw Prince of Persia and while it wasn't terrible it was a long way from Donnie Darko.

We got to see Love and Other Drugs early after we were turned away from another movie screening the week before and we could not have been more excited. The previews are great, the commercials are funny and it seemed to have plenty for both of us.

The first third is actually the movie the in the commercials. Jake and Anne meet, fall in love and start to hilariously change each other for the better. Then it hits, she's dying and the movie does a 180 and the next 90 minutes are a mixture of them naked and her getting worse.

If we had paid to see this movie we would have demanded our money back. It is not a comedy it's a sad, selfish movie about death.
29 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Looks more Amercian Pie without the laughs
anseam8 January 2011
Another sleaze from Hollywood.

Do not be seduced by the romantic tone of the poster.

Although the storyline is not common, the film resembles more American Pie (without the fun) than a romantic love story.

I was never a fan of Edward Zick and probably hesitate see his movies again.

He seems to get some of the interesting stories to tell (Blood Diamond, The Last Samurai),with charismatic actors (Jake and Anne in this film are gorgeous) but every time, you get a bitter feeling of dissatisfaction, when you leave the theater.

The film is not a romantic comedy, not sensual (despite Anne stripping naked at the drop of a hat), does not make you laugh, does not make you weep...just nothing.
22 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It remains consistently laugh out loud funny the entire film while giving entertaining characters, serious dramatics, and a deep, pounding, emotional heart.
Cunnilingilator24 March 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Just saw it at a screening in Orange County. It was much much better than I expected going it. I was expecting something good from Ed Zwick and Anne Hathaway but Jake Gyllenhal really tore it up. This movie is very, very good and will be a huge hit commercially and critically when it comes out. I will say it is long. It has the perfect mix of gross out comedy, serious dramatics, and emotionally connecting love story. The film is really stuck in my head since i saw it. I go and see as many films as I can, and have seen many but this was a fantastic DRom Com. It was parts of Knocked Up, Funny People, and 500 Days of Summer, but with some Up in the Air and Thank You for Smoking and genuine Julia Roberts love story territory. But I must say, as a 20 year old guy, it was very goddamn good.

Anne Hathaway was very convincing with her Parkinson's. The film does a great job with teaching the audience both about Parkinson's and (legitimate) Pharmaceuticals sales. She is stage 1 and acts the part. She is a rebel girl and does a great job. She is EXTREMELY sexy in this movie and this will probably get her voted #1 Sexiest woman in every magazine on earth next year. Brave girl and completely sexy and tasteful...most of the time.

This is absolutely, hands down the best role Jake Gyllenhal has ever played. He might have been dramatic and gay in Brokeback but he is so comfortable as the smooth talking, answer for everything, sex seeking Jamie it really shocked me. I actually have faith he will be good in Prince of Persia after seeing his range in this. He is the cocky part of Thank You For Smoking, with better and more prolific dialogue, but the heartwarming lead of 500 Days of Summer, but with even more redeeming qualities.

The movie was laugh out loud funny the entire film. It never let the film get too serious without a few laughs or the characters making a few jokes about the drama. Supporting characters were great. Oliver Platt played a great typical Oliver Platt role but with great writing and no restraint. Judy Greer was cute and bitchy Judy Greer. Hank Azaria was also quite memorable and hilarious as a womanizing doctor. Jamie's brother is definitely a Jonah Hill type/looking guy but as the movie goes on you can't help but like him. He is in some of the best scenes in the film.

The chemistry is off the charts between Jake and Anne which is obvious but the other characters do a fantastic job standing out as well. I have seen a lot of films and enjoy good films of all genres but this might be the best Romantic Dramedy I have ever seen.
29 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
The same story... ugh
dg-op14 March 2011
It's very difficult to give a higher rate to this movie. It's supposed to be presented as a different romantic comedy, yet, it's the same old story that bores to death. The promiscuous irresponsible guy ('cause men are always like that) and the promiscuous irresponsible girl (she's just that way 'cause she has a broken heart, 'cause women are never like that) played by Gyllenhall and Hathaway are just not convincing. Their respective friends -his loser brother and her gay black friend (sounds familiar?) are just useless for the plot.

The "originality" is in the "dramatic" story of Hathaway's character and the 90's background, with its medical consumerism and the negotiation with the health system. Yet this two aspects, perhaps the less bad things of the film, are poorly treated in the script. Such a bad cinematographic experience. The movie is not only bad, is not even funny!
16 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Could have been an awards contender
Greatornot19 December 2010
I think it is a shame. The storyline was very deep and the twists in the film, magnificent. The acting was good and just seemed like a film that would be Oscar worthy. Now here is the problem. The film veered, in and out, from a dramatic effort to high school/college fratboy humor. This was lethal for the esteem of this film. Humor would have been fine but the over the top humor that this film resorted , did not fit the sensitive, serious nature of the film. The basic premise of the film was a womanizing,goofball pharmaceutical salesman falling in love with a young lady with some issues. I will leave this vague. I thought it was a creative , refreshing effort but the sellout to the fratboy humor I alluded, took this film from extraordinary to ordinary.
16 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Oh my god....
aziz_a_m14 December 2010
It was so boring i wanted to shoot myself. Almost no good jokes and it made me fall asleep. I have lost the respect of both Anne Hathaway and Jake Gyllenhaal. The only good thing about this movie is Anne Hathaway naked. Since thats in the beginning of the movie it became boring. I recommend not to watch this movie. It will be a waste of time.

Stuff u can do instead: Go outside, Go to a bar, Read, Play video games, Have Sex, meet your family, Meet your friends, etc.

But if you are going to watch this movie I strongly recommend you to let others see it first before you see it yourself.

This is my first review so I hoped you liked it.
16 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed