State Property: Blood on the Streets (2005) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
9 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Terrible
Aiike10 December 2007
OK heres the deal. If you do not want to read a bashful review. Don't read this then. If so, read on. I will only make out a few points. If i were to write a full review you would be here all day reading.

The plot of this movie is so straight forward that it seems that it was derived from a rap song. Honestly it was rubbish and if you don't believe me watch it. (btw you know that movie they showed in the ring (the horror movie). Where you die if you watch it. Well this is what they were talking about)

As for the acting. Well think Drew Barrymore meets Paris HIlton. Extreme maybe, but nonetheless revleant. I cannot think of a movie which has had a gun battle where all the people involved stand around and shoot at point blank range mind you. AND MISS. They empty eniter clips and not one shot lands. Not one cop rocks up. And not one single person ducks in cover. See the reason why this bothers me is because they (the producers) were trying i assume to keep this movie real. And in doing so missed the point. This is meant to be movie on gangsters right? And from what it seems the directing missed that. This was more a movie on how not to shoot than to. Look if you have seen this movie you will get the idea.

Secondly the dumbest use of people in the movie. Each cut scene a new rapper or singer would be there. Making it seem more like a comerical than an acutaly cast of actors. Look in plain language stay away from this like the plague. All people involved should have had some acting lessons rather than making fake cut scenes. Saying lines is not acting. Acting is also an emotive thing.

PLEASE STOP THESE MOVIES. By the way: holding a gun sideways does not make you look cool. It makes you stupid.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Why musicians should stick to music
itssosublime8 July 2007
I can't say there weren't a handful of somewhat enjoyable moments in this film, most of them simple, gratuitous comedic moments. But to be brutally honest, you would have to be very easily entertained to enjoy this flick. It's kind of like the producers just took small pieces of what worked in similar films and applied them with cut & paste. The plot line is extremely pedestrian and even less discernible. This worst thing about it though is that it's a blatant exploitation of the urban Black culture. Essentially every character is a drug-dealing, gun- toting, wanna-be mafioso. The characters and their lifestyles are of course part of American society, but is there anything positive or beneficial in exploiting this stereotype? I get that it's not supposed to be "Boyz n' the Hood", but there's simply nothing here of any redeeming quality. This has nothing to do with the color of the actors, simply the fact that the movie is a huge waste of time and completely intellectually devoid. It's a prime example of why most musicians should never think of crossing over into the realm of acting, unless of course they're simply making the movie for their own personal amusement. Otherwise, leave it to the professionals, please. 4/4
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Damon Dash hung up the phone...
UrbanFilmCritic12 April 2005
A young film student whose dreamed of making a movie his entire life sits in his writing chair and drops his head in disgust. A rejection letter falls to the floor. The seventh one this year and it's only April. He wheels over to the computer, logs into a chat room to discuss what's wrong with Hollywood. The rent is due.

A small waiting room packed with 20 or so. He stands in the corner and smiles. The others in the room don't faze him. He got a callback. All the sacrifices are finally paying off. This is his audition. He's ready. The intense method training, the workout, the teeth whitening...it's his day. It's only 3 lines, but it's the happiest day of his life.

A rap mogul sits by the pool. Bored with platinum records and clothing lines, he smokes a blunt and ponders his next project. "I know!" he exclaims, "We'll make a movie! All of us...well except Jigga. But all the rest of us!" A nameless groupie who normally doesn't speak interjects, "But Dame! Yaw can't act and outside of Scarface don't know much about good film-making." She stumbles on the last word realizing that it isn't her eloquence with words that keeps her around. "But if anybody can do it, you can!" She quickly recovers. He rebukes her insolence with a stare and continues," Once I get all the fellas together, N.O.R.E., Beans, Cam, Juelz, The Gunz, and my man Kanye it's ready! Lace everybody in RocaWear and State Property gear, (because the importance of saturated product placement is so much more important than a good story and can not be overstated) and just let them be themselves...well their rap images anyway! And one day, my grandkids' friends will sit and discuss with me the importance of my movie and how it impacted their lives, the same way Roots did for my Momma." The entourage sits quietly, reluctant to agree but eager to be on camera. Finally, they begin to stroke the ego of the man that picked up the tab for the last few years...and a piece of crap is made. It's an American Dream.

Fans of The Roc will support the movie and may even enjoy it. However, fans of movies and just plain logic may vomit. I'm hating again, aren't I? Too extreme? I'm sorry. I'll try again. The storyline was not that bad. A little comedy mixed with a little thuggin' almost made it decent. The complication came with the editing and the ridiculous amount of extra characters. I can think of epic battle scenes that didn't have as many people in it. And every time a new character was introduced there was a stop, flashback scene and voice-over before returning to the story. It happened too many times. If you don't already know who all the rappers are, you might find yourself confused as the story progresses.

And to add insult to the injuries of my feminist sympathies...The three main characters, Dame (Damon Dash), Beans (Beanie Sigel) and El Pollo Loco ( N.O.R.E.) are all three grossly overweight. But the women in the movie did not have a combined ounce of body fat between all of them. What are we saying here? The women have to be flawless, but the men get to look like big fat pigs? I've digressed. That's another discussion for another web page...
53 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
the creativity is refreshing
SIAURA23417 July 2005
When I first saw the movie, I did get a little confused with all the characters and voice-overs. But, thats what style is all about. Doing things different,new, your own way. These may be rappers,but they are very intelligent and wealthy.I can appreciate the busy story telling.What would the movie world be like without pioneers.Look at Citizen Kane, a movie that wasn't given its credit until twenty years later because of new techniques and ideas. Now its a classic movie studied by many.I wonder why wealthy hip-hip moguls are bashed when creative,but what about the low budget likes of Napolean Dynamite. The days of the 3-part traditional movie format is over.State property is making a move in the right direction,with multiple narration and flashbacks.
13 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
You'll just want it to end!!!
jtindahouse4 January 2007
This movie moves way to fast to keep up with what's going on. It doesn't help either that sometimes it's impossible to understand what the characters are saying. It almost feels like there should be subtitles down the bottom. Basically, as far as I can tell anyway, the story moves from one character to another and shows their involvement in the overall plot. Then at the end it tries to explain itself, but by then the audience is already so lost as to what's going on that it's pretty pointless anyway. It also seemed as if the writers really believed that massive shootouts in the middle of the city still happened every 5 minutes and that no one took any notice as if it was an everyday occurrence. It really seemed as if they believed those scenes to actually be possible in todays world.

Not one that's going to be remembered as great by any stretch of the imagination. There isn't a type of person in existence who would enjoy this film, and that probably includes you so stay away.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Seamless Continuation
jfgibson7330 December 2014
Warning: Spoilers
If you liked the first one, I can't imagine why you wouldn't like part two. It's a low budget movie, and if you aren't expecting certain limitations, welcome to the medium of film. But I would say many of the performances seem totally naturalistic, something I notice in a lot of these low budget "hood" movies. A lot of the actors and actresses really just seem like they're "being." Of course, there are some totally wooden performances too. The story of Beanz follows him into prison and we meet more colorful characters--sometimes too quickly. When Mariah Carey showed up listing off complaints, I really didn't know where we were or what was happening. The flashbacks are harder to follow than they need to be, and we go off on too many tangents, but we get to where we're going. Oh, and sorry for the spoiler, but finding out that Biggis is El Plaga was a fine little reveal, even if it didn't have much shock value. I liked his little tic, by the way, where he only gets mad if you ask him to repeat something. Also, ending was cool. I will probably watch this one over again from time to time. Lay down, Ceasar.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Twice as good as the original
p-stepien5 November 2011
In a movie, which starts off with a pitiful retcon, plot barely registers as an meaningful ingredient. After the graphic death of Beans (Beanie Sigel) during his own trial, which punctuated the badness of the first part, it turns out that the gangsta was just playing and you know... that never really took place. Hence we follow Beans inadvertent incarceration and his laughable attempts at leading his crime empire from prison. Two other criminal mastermind-wanabees also feature - Dame (Damon Dash) and El Pollo Loco (Noreaga). Full with constant voice-over, where we find out the intricate thought processes, which take up most of our antiheroes comprehensive and intellectual capabilities, leaving them with little or nothing left to actually think through their actions.

During the movie we are introduced to some prison code, when Beans discusses business with his crew. 'Surprise parties' are nothing more than gang-organised armed robberies and honestly by the end of the movie the gut feeling is that you have just partaken been the victim of such a party - robbed of time and energy. It must be however said, that despite everything Damon Dash's movie is significantly better directed, than the first part and the story is much more cohesive, even though plot devices are poorly used. Nonetheless he even attempts a plot twist, which however signalised it may have been, actually provided a backdrop for some passable build-up.

Cinematography and to a very limited extent acting (overly self-serving and contrived) is much improved, which shows some professionalisation of the filmmaking process was achieved.

Within a few days of watching the movie is already blurry, so I'm rather certain that the only signature proof of my ever viewing "State Property 2" will be this review.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Better Than The First
Johnnycitystar24 October 2007
Maybe Not a classic but this film is decent.A big step up from the first one better characters,better acting and better funnier scenes but this movie has too many problems.It's Very long,the pacing is strecth out,and the plot just like the first is very confusing but in the end it's not bad for a gangster film.

The film leaves off where Beans The main character from the first film has been sent to jail for lots of reasons and crimes.now he is serving 15 to 30 years in jail.in jail he meets a couple of new characters Free and "El pollo loco" who help him to get out of jail if he decides to join together to become the number one guys in Philly.but the only way is stopping them is Beans' rival Dame who still has a score to settle with Beans and doesn't like the fact that he isn't given a shot to become number one in Philly.so both crews from Beans and Dame go at each by killing each others robbing each other and etc.when Beans comes out of jail he's mad that his crew has been slacking and making him look bad while out of jail him and Dame confront each other and they find out that they were getting played by "El Pollo Loco" in the end Beans and Dame team up to get back at "El Pollo Loco" but Loco finds out that his close friend betrays him just to get money and he sets up the whole thing about Beans and Dame Loco finds out and Kills him in the end and Beans and Dame have ended there beef...For Now.

Now the plot at first is straight forward but just gets lost and confusing at times With too many flashback scenes that have you lost but if you watch it a couple of times you may understand it.The pacing is long and drags.but the reason why is that this movie is a little long so maybe that's the reason.

as for Character development it has stepped up since the first film.You know a lot more about Beans and Dame's characters how they started,how they became drug dealers the thing about Beans and Dame is both are drug dealers but have different personalities Beans' is rough,tough and does it the dirty way.While Dame does it professionally and clean without getting his hands dirty it sucks that this development wasn't shown in the first.

As for the acting it's a mixed bag.there are no stand-out or memorable performances but it's decent.For Beanie Sigel he has step his acting game a little bit and show inspiration and that thugness that makes his role believable.same goes for Damon Dash as he fits in his role and plays his role so smoothly and is having fun with his role.N.O.R.E. does a good job playing the comical "EL Polo Loco" as his character brings the humor into the film and gives an a good performance.Freeway is given yet a Dean-pan role so I can't say much about his performance Omillio Sparks gives the same performance that he gave in the first and isn't as funny as he was in the first film just annoying.as for the rest of the actor the all do a so-so job so good,some bad.

Overall it's a decent movie go watch it if you haven't seen it.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Whats The Ending Credits song
dahulk28 June 2006
Whats that song near the ending scenes, were Beans is sat down with Dame in there little mini truce, there's one song-possibly soundtrack- in the back It goes on to the ending credits as well, it was also played when Beans, ABM and Dame n his gang were battling with Nore. I have typed in various songs in Limewire, but i still cant find this particular tune anywhere. Someone must no the ending credit song, with all the Chain gang in it, Freeway, Beans, Young Gunz and possibly Sparks and Oshino. I appreciate anyone who nows of any sites which contain track listing for State Porperty 2 or any other films done by Roc-a-fella.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed