Ellen: The Ellen DeGeneres Show (TV Series 2003– ) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
44 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
THE FUNNIEST THING EVER
aliveandblessed7 October 2003
Warning: Spoilers
The Ellen Degeneres Show is the funniest talk show ever. She tickles the funny bone and doesn't crack a smile while you are dying from laughing.

Ellen has had some ups and downs in her personal life but she has always been sincere and honest with the public and it comes across that way with her guests and with her rapport with the audience.

I have never known my husband to become hysterical while watching any comic but he almost passes out from sheer laughter while watching Ellen.

I wish Ellen the greatest success ever and know I will always be an avid viewer. You couldn't go wrong watching this show.

Remember Ellen is bringing laughter back to daytime television. :)
71 out of 105 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Best Daytime Talk Show
ForReal8420 February 2004
The Ellen DeGeneres show is so funny; she is great at what she does. I believe that she is one of the funniest comics alive, she doesn't use dirty humor she uses everyday experiences to get a few laughs. The way she interacts with people is probably the funniest aspect of the show. All in all she is doing an amazing job, I hope that this show is around for a long time, Ellen deserves to have a hit. If you've never seen it WATCH it, it's amazing; it's one of the best hours of television. A+ This talk show gets four stars!
45 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Romper Room
wahoo888813 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I haven't seen this show for years because I work during the day. What has happened to it? Who is the target audience: 40 to 50 year old women with the mentality of a 12 year old? When will Americans get tired of watching millionaire celebrities getting paid millions of dollars to slobber all over their millionaire friends on TV who get rich from the millions of saps just like those that make up the audience who pay to see the crap they churn out in record numbers. It's no wonder Nigerians are phoning Americans scamming for money. We are a nation of idiots. And she still does those ridiculous dances at the beginning of the show. Why would anyone watch a show where you are constantly talked down to, demeaned and treated like an idiot? On the bright side, you'll probably get a reward just for watching.
36 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Bob Newhart/Seinfeld/Larry David rolled into one person!
frankeeholly15 January 2004
Warning: Spoilers
I find Ellen to be a combo of Bob Newhart and Jerry Seinfeld/Larry David. She has Newhart's dry, deliberately paced wit and the Seinfeld/Larry David (to me, these two are one unit) style of questioning society's everyday idiosynchrasies and playing devils advocate in a "curmudgeon" style of questioning many things that society deems proper and obligatory, like making small talk with people you can't wait to get away from...

She has no problem admitting that on most nights she is asleep by 10:00 p.m. and leads a fairly "normal" lifestyle (as much as a true celebrity can, that is). She is so NOT pretentious...

She's even "invented" her own little dorky 30 second dance that she struts in front of the audience with the help of her in-house musician, not caring whether it's "hip" or not...

i don't think she's capable of using profanity, so her show is about as clean cut, family fare as you'll find on a non-cable station (but NOT syrupy sweet) --- YET, she's as funny as the best of the x-rated comedians, just like Bill Cosby can be...

She's also likable because she is humble and often self-deprecating; she underplays her achievements and accomplishments...

And, she's extremely respectful to her guests, letting them completely finish talking before asking her next question. So many talk show hosts (Larry King being the worst offender) simply butt in mid-sentence to a guests reply and want to steal the limelight. Even Oprah would constantly butt into Dr. Phil's conversations when he originally started as a regular on her show.

Go Ellen!!
31 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Best talk show ever!!!!!!!
cabasaexpert35125 February 2005
This is by far the best talk show that has ever been on television. Ellen is hilarious without being rude. Whenever I have a bad day watching her show will instantly make me laugh. She is one of the best comedians ever and one of the nicest most down to earth people ever. Her talk show is very unique and she has a variety of guests on her show both celebrities and everyday ordinary people who she has found a reason to recognize them. I also really love celebrity pets where people send in pictures of their pets saying they look like a certain celebrity. Tony, the JD on the show also is very funny and down to earth. This is definitely one of my favorite shows on television.
38 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
One of the worst shows on the air
sunbreak7-14 July 2017
I despise this show. I can't stand the focus on dancing people or Ellen dancing in the aisles. It's not funny - just stupid - the kind of stuff that's made for 10 year olds. It's the same routine - bring in some band that you can get up and dance to or bring in some so-called amazing kid to interview and/or do their thing. Not interesting at all.
16 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Hyper-commercialized circus and welfare-tainment
VHSdynamite5 March 2019
The Ellen show is an important cog in the Hollywood machinery, combining lottery, tv shop, talkshow and gameshow. I like the talkshow and gameshow parts, but every spare moment is used to promote Ellenshop, Ellentube, Ellenworld or whatever. It starts to seem a bit like a person cult, and the crowds go wild whenever she buys their trust with gifts hidden under their seats.

Isolated from the hyper-commercialized circus that is the show, Ellen the comedian has a rude kind of humor that I like. But I'm not a fan of how she for comedy's sake exposes and humiliates her staff, goes through her guests' purses, and confronts people who try to sell the goodies they get on the show. It's borderline abusive, and Ellen is so powerful that one has no other option than to play along. Her motto, "Be kind to one another", feels a bit hollow after all the mean things she makes a living from doing.

Lastly, I'm deeply troubled by the show's self-appointed role as welfare system. Unfortunate people are carefully selected and awarded screen time and a check - all in calculated order to promote Ellen the brand and the company which provides the check. It's frightening to see such welfare-tainment, with people's futures in the hands of a powerful individual instead of a functional state.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Could've worked, if they hadn't done everything they could to make it mediocre
suicidea27 September 2018
Ellen DeGeneres's talk show is no different than anything else that includes her name: Full of fans screaming their lungs out every time she says something, or makes a joke, or simply stares. All the fans (who are often invited to the stage during the show) come running from their seats, scream for about a minute, then catch their breath and have a "Oh my God, I can't believe! It's Ellen!" shouting period, then go on about how Ellen is great, because she's amazing. Ask them why Ellen is amazing, they say because she's great. And this vicious circle goes on and on.

The first thing you notice on this show is how limited the vocabulary is. Words like magnificent, wonderful, splendid, brilliant, gorgeous, stunning, excellent, charming, delightful etc. do not exist in the Ellen universe. All the guests, and all their work, whether it's movies or music or shows, are described as either "amazing" or "so good." You're more likely to hear "your show is so good. Sssoo gooood. Ssssssooo goooood" than something in the lines of "Your show is excellent."

Once I actually witnessed her saying to her guest, "You're amazing, you're just amazing, simply amazing. Your movie is really amazing and... (waits about 10 seconds here, trying to find the right words, and finally: ) ... it's just amazing." These five "amazing"s in a row prompted me to write this review. On the other hand, the audience doesn't seem to mind. In fact, they look like they would find it off-putting if she tried to use a more extensive vocabulary.

It's sad really, because in the rare instances where she breaks out of script and speaks as herself, Ellen can actually be funny. But the show is written exclusively to emphasize the "amazing because she's great, great because she's amazing" persona that she has built over the years, and that really brings the whole show down to an everlasting mediocrity.

This persona is something that could only work in our times: She gives away money and gifts in every episode, but only if she can make a huge deal out of it and remind it in the following episodes. She often invites nobodies as her guests, people who have become famous for nothing, and goes on about how amazing they are, expecting the same high praise in return. 5 minutes of the show is simply showing funny videos from the web. Another 5 minutes is often spent on some little kid who can do dance moves, whom Ellen noticed on the web and invited. Add these together, and more often than not, 10 minutes (that's 25 percent) of every episode is just fill-in stuff from the web.

Another few minutes of every episode is filled (or wasted, depending on your view) by Ellen promoting her merchandise and turning airtime into adspace for her personal shopping mall: We get to know about Ellen underwear, Ellen t-shirts, Ellen socks, Ellen mugs, Ellen water, Ellen bottles for Ellen water, Ellen cups for Ellen water, Ellen handkerchief for wiping your mouth after drinking Ellen water from Ellen cup... you get the idea. All this stuff is presented as if they are miracles of modern design and technology, while in fact they are the same stuff you see anywhere else, only with the name Ellen plastered on them.

What I personally find annoying, though, is the way she talks to her guests. She almost always repeats their answers, such as

Ellen: So what did you do with the prize money?

Guest: I gave it to charity.

Ellen: You gave it to charity.

And on and on, she keeps repeating almost all their answers, so the talks with the guests feel longer than they are, although in reality they speak even less than they would in another talk show. During games with audience members, she keeps interrupting whoever is speaking with a non-stop verbal barrage of "Yes. OK. All right. Yes. All right. OK." with no attention to what the other person is actually saying. And the worst is: if a guest or audience member says something truly funny and kind of steals the spotlight, so to speak, Ellen is visibly annoyed, and tries to interrupt in a hurry. Not a good sign for a host.

"A wasted chance" could be the best way to describe this show. She can be funny when she wants, and she does invite interesting people every once in a while, and the show is obviously quite costly, no expense is spared. Most importantly, Ellen is a very respected, beloved figure that could actually have an impact with her show, speak to people's intelligence, rather than their most basic "gimme stuff!" feelings. But this talk show has no appeal to anyone that's looking for interesting dialogue, or any kind of dialogue that contains more than 50 words.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
best talk show yet
lindahaycock22 January 2005
Normally I am not a big fan of talk shows, not so with Ellen! I love Ellen, her dry humor about everyday situations is hilarious. I love how she opens each show by dancing, and watching the show just puts me in a great mood. I notice most of her guests can't help but laugh at some of her comments! All in all, I have never watched the show without laughing, and I need that every day!!! Nothing is too heavy or depressing, or controversial. I watch this show at every opportunity I have. She is easily one of my favorite comedians, and I am happy to see she has succeeded where many have failed in the talk show business. Keep up the great work Ellen!
21 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Best Talk Show On TV!
shrek200417 December 2003
Ellen DeGeneres is finally back! See, for those of you who don't

know, Ellen DeGeneres is a comedienne who had her own sitcom

"Ellen" that ran on ABC from 1998-1994. But the ratings started to

decline after she came out of the closet in the last season (I think it

was the last one). And it wasn't because people were homophobic--it's just that that's all she started talking about! Anyways after another failed sitcom and a public breakup Ellen

stayed out of the limelight for awhile. Then she appeared as "Dory"

in the hugely successful "Finding Nemo", and now she has her

own talk show! Unlike other talk shows (Oprah or Rosie), Ellen doesn't really suck

up to the guests. She makes jokes with them and acts like they're

her friends, instead of huge special people. And unlike Oprah or

Rosie, Ellen is not always shrieking or screaming, "Oh My

Gaaaaaaaaaad! We're going to have Sting! Oh my Gaaaaad! You

just have to buy his book....girl!" And the studio audience isn't

annoying either.....they actually let the guests and host TALK! I only get to see this show when I stay home sick from work. I wish

they'd show it in prime-time too!
19 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A childish mishmash, with a very annoying presenter
DavidYZ20 April 2017
Ellen DeGeneres thinks she's funny, but instead is very annoying and arrogant when presenting this.

This show is a silly hodge-podge of different things - and much of it is childish messing around.

The only reason that I watched several episodes of this was to see the interviewees. However, her interviewing style doesn't allow them to talk freely.
13 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Biggest Narcissist
randbark-212 October 2018
All she does is talk about herself. Me me me me me me me me me!!!!!!!!! She takes personal credit in others becoming celebrities, even Lady Gaga!!!!!!!!! OMG, what a swelled, inflated ego. And all those ridiculous games on the show. The games are only a muse for her ego. And, has anyone ever heard any meaningful academic or philosophical come out of her mouth. She is just an uneducated woman who used to make people laugh, and made it. Not an original thought in her head. She even inferred that she should sell space suits in the Ellen Shop, based on the movie First Man. And, most of all, all she does is throw money at a lot of guests, treating them as being destitute. Pathetic, tasteless daytime TV.
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Stop Being Serious and Start Having Fun!
Sylviastel10 September 2007
Ellen DeGeneres is one of the best known lesbian talk show hostesses around. That's because she does not use her show to preach or force people to accept her lifestyle. Her show has fans that range from conservative Christians to left wing liberals like myself who do appreciate that Ellen uses her show for good rather than protesting. I think that's why she went away. She allowed her sexual orientation to define her rather than having her own identity. I think she's better than that because she does admit to it upfront. Audiences do want honesty and truthfulness. They don't care about it but they don't want to be deceived or lied too. It's better to be clean and upfront about her personal life especially if you are doing a television show like this. While I think she's secured a niche in daytime television, she uses her comedic humor to poke fun as life in general. I think she's best when she's non-political because we already have enough politics for the next year with this 2008 election. I don't understand why she's winning Emmys because even though she's great most of the time. The show's momentum has passed. It can be silly, serious, and straightforward at times. She dances in the beginning because we don't get enough of it. Ellen might be a great role model for lots of confused teens out there but she is seen as a great role model for all of us because we don't have to grow up and stop having fun. I think that's what the message of her show is about, stop being serious and having fun.
13 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Surprisingly great
boston214315 October 2003
I really liked Ellen's sitcom and her HBO special ("The Beginning"), but in recent years it seemed like Ellen might be losing her comedic touch. NOT SO, I'm glad to say. Ellen fits perfectly into her new environment, because interacting with people of all kinds is exactly what she does best. Ellen is quick-witted, amiable, and often laugh-out-loud funny. She has a very distinctive style that I feared may get old after all these years, but it still feels fresh because it's authentic. Ellen deserved another chance to conquer television, and I believe she just may pull it off this time. Wayne Brady should enjoy those Emmy's while they last -- there's some fierce competition in town, and it's not Sharon Osbourne.
10 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Just hate this show!
mm-3931 October 2018
Just hate this show. Not Ellen personally but more the format. Ellen dose the hyperbole. Are we having the best time ever?! Isn't this the best show every? Audience screams, yells and over reactions just like a trained animal act. The usual liberal flavor of the day causes. Sensationalism with a push to show that everyone cares. The formulated media template of any of these talk shows. Opera, Ricki Lake etc. There will be an animal act, a sensational family problem, a display of really caring of the current hot topic homeless etc. I find I only watch a day time talk show for the guests. I guess there is an audience for the formulated day time talk shows but not for me. 5 years down the road just change the name and there will be another show just like Ellen almost exactly, but with a different face. Similar to family sit coms, which I just can not digest anymore. 2 stars.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
BORING
plargreg11 February 2019
Just kinda a lame boring mind numbing pointless experience it is watching this show
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I simply love The Ellen Degeneres show
shandiagardiner1 July 2007
i love Ellen she is fantastic, i try to watch the show every day at four o'clock back in the Bahamas. when I'm at work its sort of hard to view the show but i sure make up for that on off days.

i think Ellen is doing an awesome job by making others smile. she is so funny and I'd love to meet her one day soon.

if your sad and depressed all one has to do is turn to the Ellen show and your sure to pick up a smile or two. she is so nice and has a great personality, she is truly a blessing to the industry. i would love to attend one of her live shows. How awesome that would be. she is so great with kids. animals everything and one. she has hilarious written all over her bright face.
9 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Talk Show!!!
sharna-n-horn16 February 2015
Ellen is the most talented actress and comedian in Hollywood. I never miss her show because she always makes me smile. I appreciate her humor and the emphasis she places on giving back to others. She is genuine and has not forgotten where she came from. I like that she is humble and that her humor is not at the expense of others. Keep up the great work because you are making lives better through your kindness and compassion.I have been going through a tough time and I know that for at least 5 hours a week that I will have a smile on my face and forget about the tough times. She paved the way for the GLBTQ community and would not take back her decision to come out for the world. Good for her! Great example of living openly and honestly.
7 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funny AND Positive Show!!!
lizzie112512 November 2004
...and yes, you do learn something.

Ellen, of course, is hilarious but _never_ in a demeaning or crude way. Always positive and complimentary in a honest (I feel) not fake way!

She changes things up a little and I am liking that. She also has some fun people on. I have so far saved only two episodes to tape: James Spader speaking so eloquently after his Emmy win and Jamie Foxx doing some wonderful music! I'll be looking for Jamie Foxx's upcoming CD.

Just a lot of fun and sincerity on this show -- oh, yes, and dancing.
8 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Ellen
rob_412 September 2018
I'm disappointed in you Ellen. I worshiped you because you were open,but never demanded that everyone should be like you or you wouldn't tolerate them. Now you've turned to spreading hate,using your venue. You're a disrespectful,intolerant&hateful being. You've joined the gangster bullies of Hollywood,&you had the perfect chance to be a role model for the good😢I owned all your dvds&was a fan&I'm 💔.
5 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I love Ellen!
crazee4brownees19 January 2006
My mom and I watched Ellen last summer while we were at work. I loved it. I left for college this past year, and I still watch Ellen almost everyday. My roommate hated my love for the show at first, but after a while she really got into it. Now we both watch it. This semester I have an 1130 class and will have to miss Ellen, I don't know what I'm going to do! I love Ellen. She is so funny, I laugh out loud whenever I watch her show. She is so funny and I love how she interacts with her guests. I also love the dancing. I would go see Ellen live in a heartbeat, she brightens my day! Her guests are so wide. She had Kanye on the other day, and then before that she had stars from Lost! Anyone can have fun on Ellen, and I think that most of the stars do! My roommate said that this coming semester we are going to try and get an Ellen watching party everyday, even when I have to go to class. We want everyone to enjoy Ellen just as much as we do!
7 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Hilarious!
Kate-16225 September 2003
This new show is so funny! I love Ellen. I'm so glad she's back, and she's better than ever. This show shouldn't be missed. If you're going to miss it, tape it! Her guests are great, her comedic timing is impeccable. She's perfect for daytime and should not be missed... watch out everyone, Ellen's back, and she's kickin' @$$!!!
7 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
awful
josephbrewer-8253116 April 2019
Awful don't waste your time. I don't recommend! hate it, just awful.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Total Disgust
rob_44 September 2019
Ellen is disgusting in a perverted way&she wants to recruit everyone she can!Maybe this has been on her agenda all along even back when she was funny and likable!I would never in a million years let my child or grandchild be on her show!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Ellen
beads1102 May 2006
This show is hilarious. My favorite episode was May 1st, it was a dog show. Paris Hilton came and brought her four chihuahuas, and they played a game called "Pardon Me, Is this your dog?". Also Kellie Pickler (My favorite contestant from American Idol) came. She also sang "Walking After Midnight". And, the tallest dog in the world came! He was 6 feet! He was a great Dane and Ellen let him play with Paris Hilton's chihuahuas! Each of Paris' dogs got an award! Ellen brought her small doggy! He was SO cute!! Kellie danced around! It was funny and cool! Ellen was funny! She danced funny! There was a tape that was called People who Look like their Dogs" It was so cool!!
7 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed