Ant & Dec's Saturday Night Takeaway (TV Series 2002– ) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
12 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
yay!
DoyleLuver15 March 2003
When it's Saturday night and you're wanting something good to watch and all the TV shows that feel they've been on for centuries are dragging along then keep watching for this! A wonderful, entertaining series with two presenters that quite a lot of people have grown up with. The two Geordie lads are very funny and give the show that extra sparkle. The idea of being able to 'grab the ads' that you've seen is original and throw in a few other extra tidbits like 'what's next?' and 'Jim didn't fix it for me' and you've got a good hour long series that makes you wish it was on everyday. Now as a 15 year old I'm trying hard not to point out that Dec is very hot and that is a very appealing 'must-watch' thing but it's true, and he can't get away without a mention so there it is lol. Overall the show is a great family show, suitable for all really, very entertaining, very funny with two fantastic presenters. Yay!! Don't miss it!
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Funny but stupid....
emmageorge11 June 2005
All I want to say is this. This show isn't gonna win any Oscars, lets just get that thing straight. But if your having a Saturday night in and fancy a chuckle, tune in.

The thing about Ant and Dec is you have to forget all the stupid, unimpressive things they do and really persevere because every now again they'll deliver a line that'll get your sides splitting. I think they're much better just improvising - working without a script. They are charming at times, any one has to admit to that. But sometimes, the things they do, I mean, they put a bit of plastic on their face with a huge camera following them around, and they expect people to believe them to be normal people? Er....no.

So all in all it isn't the best thing you'll ever see but it's far from the worst.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Another fab Ant and Dec Show
Lehane25 November 2005
Ant and Dec are amazing no matter what they do, but ITV had the right idea when they stuck them on prime-time Saturday night TV. TV on a Saturday really does suck, but when another series comes on you know there'll be something decent to watch. Little Ant and Dec are fantastic, I mean how many pre-teens have interviewed Tony Blair and Kylie Minogue? Lets not forget the gotcha's which are hilarious. Sure, Noel did them first, but Ant and Dec have brought them into the 21st century.

Thank you guys for bringing laughter and entertainment to our Saturday nights.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ant & Dec's Saturday Night Takeaway
jboothmillard19 April 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Hosted by PJ and Duncan of Byker Grove and the stars of SM:TV, Ant McPartlin and Declan Donnely, this is brilliant. They do many hilarious and wonderful things to themselves, celebrities, the audience and us at home. There is always the chance for us at home to win fantastic prizes in Grab The Ads or Jiggy Bank, and to get into the studio audience to Win the Ads, or even get picked out for something. There has been many good things on the show. Little Ant and Dec interviewing many famous people. The part of the show unrehearsed or trained for called What's Next? and Ant vs Dec. And already-filmed parts, Ant & Dec Undercover, where they set up a famous person in disguise, and Beat the Boys, where TV duos race the boys. A brilliant show that deserves its awards and hosts credit. With Ant & Dec there would be no Saturday night in! It was nominated the Lew Grade Award at the BAFTAS, it won 3 British Comedy Awards from 4 nominations, and it won 3 National Television Awards from 4 nominations. Ant and Dec were number 56 on The 100 Worst Britons (why?), and they were number 7 on TV's 50 Greatest Stars, the programme was number 87 on The 100 Greatest Funny Moments for the Simon Cowell Undercover, it was number 2 on ITV: 50 Greatest Shows, and was number 60 on The 100 Greatest TV Treats 2003. Outstanding!
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
By far one of the best shows on ITV
redcrper12 October 2019
This show has the best Geordie duo in the UK, but for Saturday Nights every 7 weeks from February you can see the best things you've seen including the best segments like Little Ant and Dec, Ant VS Dec, etc. This show has everything fun you could possibly want and writing this comment now is that I'm hyped to see the duo again in 2020, watch it if you're in the UK, IT'S WORTH IT
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Childish messing around
DavidYZ14 April 2017
Why is this childish mess broadcast on ITV1 during the evening? This should be on children's television. I can't see how any adult (or teenager for that matter) can enjoy this silly mess of a show. The presenters are now in their early forties, but behave like ten-year- olds.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Yet more rubbish for Saturday night
chris_gaskin1232 November 2004
Ant and Dec's Saturday Night Takeaway is just one of the many rubbish and childish shows that have been on over the years on Saturday nights. This should be on late afternoons or in the mornings with the children's' programmes because that it what is seems like.

The show usually includes Ant and Dec showing off, a prank on a celebrity which includes them dressing up which makes them look stupid and young Ant and Dec interviewing a celebrity (more showing off).

Despite all this, this show is quite popular and has even won awards. Certainly not family viewing, for younger children only.

I find this show very childish at times.
9 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Fantastic piece of comedy
HShire13 January 2005
Saturday night take away is one of the most fantastic and entertaining shows on British TV at the moment. Hosted by two of Englands biggest and lovable stars, Ant McPartlin and Declan Donnelly, takeaway is a refreshing piece of comedy. Including many sketches with celebrities and the wonderful,Little Ant & Dec(James & Dylan) it is a show not to be missed. When thinking of this show and what it could compare to think of shows like SM:TV Live meets Noel's House Party meets Tiswas. This programme is a show that can be enjoyed by all ages of the family from 3-103, there is something for everyone,without getting bored. The amount of awards this show has won, this cant be a mistake Not to be missed
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
When Saturday night TV was plagued with Dale Winton's quizzes and Denis Norden's laughter files, Ant and Dec saved the day
Greatwhitewhale18 October 2003
Ant and Dec have created another SM:TV Live for evenings! Good competitions, guests (well, debatable when they get people from Reborn in the USA, Coronation street and other ITV programmes) and bits of shows. Great evening TV does it again!
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
This show needs to come to the states
KEERON25 June 2003
This was one of the most entertaining shows that I saw while I was in England. Every Saturday my roommates and I couldn't wait for "Ant and Dec" to come on. Other than Banzai this was by far my most favorite show to watch in England. I only wish it could be shown in the states.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Saturday Night Takeaway warmed up
studioAT5 April 2014
I think Ant and Dec did the right thing resting this show for a few years. Towards the end of it's first long run (around 2009) things were getting a bit stale and the items on the show a bit dull (escape from Takeaway prison being a low point). You can have too much of a good thing and I think the show and perhaps all involved needed to go on to other things.

However, fast forward to 2013 and the show was back with a new energy, new bits of fun and games and it was like welcoming back an old friend. Ant and Dec won awards, scored a number one record and all was well.

This latest series (2014) hasn't been quite as good but the standard remains very high. Long may it continue.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Refreshing change to Saturday Night TV
Izak8616 January 2008
Saturday Night Takeaway is a refreshing change from an evening TV that is mostly filled with Reality-TV.

First aired in 2002, Ant and Dec took the 'Noel's House Party' formula from the 1990's and reintroduced it with success, features include 'Little Ant & Dec', 'Ant & Dec Undercover', 'Beat the Boys' and 'Ant v Dec'. All these add up to a fun-filled show that doesn't involve voting off celebrities or hopeless singers and I really enjoy it.

I don't feel the show has quite the same atmosphere as 'Noel's House Party' and sadly some of the features such as 'Little Ant & Dec' and 'Ant & Dec Undercover' have seemed to have disappeared from later series but other than that, this is a great Saturday Night show.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed