Spun (2002) Poster

(2002)

User Reviews

Review this title
202 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Tie me off and shoot.....
FrankDamage20 April 2005
In the genre of "drug films" this one has to be, in my opinion, one of the best. The aesthetics and dynamics are spot on. The gritty, filthy and discordant atmosphere encrusted around the typical meth-head's life looks and feels like the real deal here. John Leguizamo and Mena Suvari are dead on in their portrayals of two dysfunctional people in a relationship mixed with sex, love and drugs (or more appropriately, love FOR drugs). Mickey Rourke's character conveys a menacing presence delivered through the actor's characteristic cool and laid back style. Of course Brittany Murphy's character is a continuous delight and pleasure to behold in every way. Even the police presence is entertaining.

The whole package gives the feel of being right there. Not to mention a "healthy dose" of delusional hallucinations for you to chew on in between heart palpitations. If you're looking for a great "druggie" film with a strong comedic undertone, I guarantee you'll get your fix with this one.
80 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Excellent!
Rooster9917 October 2003
This film was great! Many people have compared it to Requiem for a Dream, however I preferred this movie. Requiem accurately depicted drug addiction and how low some people would sink for their next hit. It was a very depressing and powerful movie, not one I would ever want to watch again. You leave the theater feeling extremely drained. Spun is altogether different. The only thing they have in common is their central theme. Spun centers around Ross, the fairly normal speed freak as his addiction takes him farther and farther away from reality.

Initially, I thought the characters were grossly overacted, however as the movie progressed, the opening sequences did not seem as far removed from Ross' world as I had originally thought. It was very interesting to see Ross' character move farther and farther away from reality. It was only a 3-day all-you-can-consume speed trip, however he started off as a normal guy with a drug problem and ended up on Mars, completely detached from reality. I also thought the cartoon sequences were very effective, they accurately demonstrated his impoverished state of mind while he was tripping. The audience got the impression he really was flying in his own world. It was interesting to see the lifestyles of the other people involved in the drug trade, most had been completely dehumanized by their dependence, living in squalor yet completely unaware of their surroundings.

A great film! One that I can watch again for entertainment purposes only, but which also drives home the anti-drug message without being preachy. 8/10
83 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
People looking for a plot are missing the point
myke-1512 October 2004
This movie is a realistic portrayal of the meth lifestyle, not because it's a realistic movie, but because it's a bunch of tweakers very busy doing nothing. My friend and I laughed during the whole movie because we both knew people who fit the characters in the film perfectly. If you don't know anyone into drugs this movie probably won't appeal to you. The moviemakers get a lot of facets of the lifestyle spot-on, like the importance of the car. The main character is the most important person in the movie, even more important than the cook, because he's got a car. A lot of the movie is spent driving around on various crank-related missions, most of them pointless. And that's really what being a crankster is about, getting high for the sake of getting high and finding ways to fill all that extra time they now have. If the characters come off as blunted and one-dimensional it's because that's how the people they're portraying are.
170 out of 195 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
humanizing
hengehbm23 July 2005
I Love this movie, A lot of people might dismiss it as needless strange or, worse, unnecessary. It is great, because it humanizes drug addicts. it shows that a speed freak is never just a speed freak, but a person with a life in distress. too often people with drug addictions are dismissed as eyesores or vagabonds who deserve harsh treatment, but the movie takes us into their lives. Most Importantly, the characters are not supposed to be heroes, they are just a cross-section of junkie culture. plus, the scenes with the cops are hilarious, and seeing Debbie Harry throw a six-pack at a guy's head and then kick him in the gut was priceless. To review, deals with oft over-looked subject matter in an objective way, some great cameos, imaginative film-making, I give it an A-Plus.
65 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Eyes wide open!
NeonlikeCookie20 April 2003
My eyes were wide open through this roller coaster ride of drugs, sex, violence, and drugs. If you are familiar with meth and its addicts, I think, you'll enjoy and at the same time be more sadden watching this film because what you'll see is bits of the truth in the world of meth-heads. Although, I think, some people instead of feeling sympathy for the characters might just be in for a laugh.This film was wonderfully done and casted. All actors in this film, I believe, portrayed their characters very well. They were right on point! Watching this... I got irritated and anxious. A great film and excellently directed. I actually watched this film twice. Yeah... I'm a loser, what can I say?
58 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A wild ride
mrchaos336 July 2003
Spun is a wild ride, an ADD movie that seems to say, `If you don't like what's on screen right now, don't worry it'll change in the next ten seconds.' Director Jonas Akerlund, cut his teeth in the frenetic world of music video and it shows. Spun spins out of control from its opening minutes, shooting out images and plot points willy nilly. This makes Snatch look slow by comparison. If you can keep up with the pace, there is something here. Akerlund takes us deep inside the crystal meth culture, and it is an unnerving but hilarious journey. We meet a group of characters tied together by their association with one man, the crystal meth cook. We get a good sense of the lives of these characters, and even like some of them, no matter how addled they are by their addictions. What we see in Spun isn't story driven as much as it simply a slice of life – a dirty, sped up slice of life. Good performances compliment the material, particularly from Mickey Rourke as the Cook, Jason Schwartzman as the likeable speed freak and John Leguizamo who sheds almost all his inhibitions in this role.
40 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Oscar worthy movie, no doubt
Firecracka_NFB23 October 2007
This happens to be my favorite movie of all time. A lot of people misunderstand this movie when they watch it. YES, the movie does not have a real point, but it does show you how the speed life is. This movie does a great job portraying that, better than any movie i've seen. You could categorize this movie as educational if you wanted. If you know anybody on speed and you you want to know how it's like, watch this and you'll get the picture. This is the best movie in drug cinema. There need to be more films like this.

It also has a great cast. I'm surprised and disappointed to see this movie never got to the mainstream. I guess people shy from the truth.
23 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Totally Spuned
Darkest_Rose11 July 2003
Spun is a tale about drugs, sex and addictions. Ross(Jason Schwartzman)who is a speed freak along with Nikki(Brittany Murphy) are introduced to the perfect speed made by "The Cook"(Mickey Rourke). Along with some other speed freaks including dealer Spider Mike(John Leguizamo) and his girl Cookie(Mena Suvari) their addictions will come to some crazy consequences that could affect their entire future. This was a very crazy and wild movie filled with humor and excitement. The performances are excellent by all actors and their characters were very believable. I would give Spun 7.5/10
34 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Gutter grandeur
Chris Knipp25 April 2003
Warning: Spoilers
Jonas Åkerlund's "Spun" certainly is fun, of a very grungy sort. It takes a foreigner, this time a Swede, music video director Åkerlund, to see the grotesquerie and absurdity of America and to cherish this country's most garish and tasteless details. For Åkerlund, a motel room, a sleazy strip show, an old trailer, or a convenience store are all wonderful rinky-dink artifacts worthy of a Saul Steinberg drawing.

Because everything has an outer layer of strangeness, the danger and toxicity of the world Åkerlund is examining are considerably lessened and even the most menacing street tough turns into a goofy pushover. The world "Spun" focuses on is suffused with drugs and because of the insane glamour of oddity Åkerlund finds in it, there's a kind of aesthetic distance. Deadly intoxicants are seen so coolly that though the users are wasted and lost, sometimes the drugs can actually be fun and also quite sexy, though as in "Macbeth" the stuff may well promote the desire but decrease the performance. Åkerlund has found an excellent cast and created a bustling mood.

His plot doesn't go anywhere much, but then dopers' lives don't either. If you see the movie as nothing but a series of brightly lit, manic vignettes, you'll have a good time. It's funny to see choir boy type Patrick Fugit of "Almost Famous" as Frisbee, grunged down and covered with obviously fake pimples that change position from scene to scene. Brittany Murphy (Nikki) and Mena Suvari (Cookie) are tightly wound, scantily clad floozies. John Leguizano and Mickey Rourke have a good time. "Spun" never ceases to take itself lightly.

Åkerlund's movie instantly invites comparison with Arnovsky's "Requiem for a Dream," whose appeal to the young and hip was surprising in view of its relentless moralizing and audience manipulation. To some extent "Spun" is an homage to Arnovsky's arch condescension, but with a decisive difference. "Spun" has a similar intensified color scheme and expressionistic visual style and uses much the same vertiginous quick-cut editing to convey the first rush of a drug high, but unlike "Requiem," it is blissfully free of any point. Whereas "Requiem" presents its cautionary tale with irritating repetitiousness, "Spun" reads as a wild crazy ride even though it goes nowhere. "Requiem" deals with heroin addict youths and a mom on diet pills, but "Spun" enters a scummy lowlife subculture of crystal meth, though it steers clear of the actual speed freak world of bikers and criminals in favor of a few kooky individuals.

We begin in a bombed out looking apartment (like the seller's flat of "City of God" in its last stages) where sits Fugit, a doubly addicted youth (whose 400-pound mom we later briefly encouner) haplessly playing an obscene violent video game. In the room with him is John Leguizamo, as Spider Mike, a paranoid, preening dealer, and his girlfriend Nikki. Along comes Ross (Jason Schwartzman, star of "Rushmore" and principal in "Slacker")), a middle class white boy whose life's gone down the tubes as his need for crystal meth has enlarged, looking humbly for a fix. Whatever follows from this, follows.

As in real life drug experience, trifles become tremendous. Spider thinks the cops are outside his door. Looking for a lost stash becomes a global enterprise. Whether or not they'll have sex that day becomes a couple's only issue. The big excitement is to meet the man who makes the product, the Cook (Mickey Rourke), and the ultimate experience is to encounter the drug lord, The Man himself (Eric Roberts, with wig and two pretty boy body builders), who sets up The Cook whenever he has to move, and who with populist lust worships him as the ultimate Macho Man. Spider's girlfriend freaks out because her tiny green-dyed dog is sick -- she thinks; and so a trip to the vet is another major enterprise. Since Spider has no car and Ross drives an old Volvo, Ross becomes the taxi-man, and that's pretty much the plot. Once in a while Ross goes back to his motel-like apartment where (he keeps forgetting) he's got a girl tied naked to a bed and they're spied on by a lesbian neighbor (Debbie Harry). What happens with this drug is that everything becomes intensified beyond logic or imagining or time.

The funniest sequences perhaps are in the convenience store where a pair of Latina twins flirt with The Cook and dis a streetwise punk who fancies they're his girlfriends. The climax occurs when the dense Frisbee (Fugit) gets forced to wear a wire by two crooked cops who work for a certain tv real crime series and when he gets caught, Spider shoots Frisbee where it hurts the most, standing wearing nothing but one sock, as in the famous Chili Peppers album cover. To say this scene is pushed would be to forget that in "Spun" everything is over the top.

This is where the movie shines: its visual style involves magnification of everything into pulsating, seething images that make it all so transcendently hyper-ugly it transmogrifies into a wild outcast kind of beauty. Luscious girls and young flesh look better sometimes in a bed of grime and Åkerlund and his cinematographer, Eric Broms, know this. Even the old Volvo seems to be having a joyous heart attack and we see its wheezing fan belt in a quick inserted closeup every time it starts or stops. Color is highly saturated, then drained out. Every pimple, bit of dirt, bad tooth, needle in the arm, even bowel movement, gets a closeup, with appropriate cranked up sound effect (again there is a debt to other films that have been there before, like not only "Requiem for a Dream" but "Trainspotting" and the absurd caricaturing of drugs in movies like "Reefer Madness"). Ross has a "nice" girlfriend Amy (Charlotte Ayanna) who's dropped him and whom he owes $400. She's done with him, but he doesn't admit that. Restoring her trust is his only dream, an impossible goal under the circumstances. The wonderful thing about it all is that he's not addicted; he can stop at any time -- just not right now. Lots of trips back and forth, always in a race against time that's useless because these people have lost their sense of time.

Mickey Rourke is in good form and high spirits and rolls his eyes in a way he never has before. His snakeskin boots and tight jeans and cowboy hat fit him like a glove. So does his fiery finale, the traditional end of all meth lab operators, which happens in a tiny Speedstream trailer. Other than that explosion the movie just seems to end. Ross has met with his girlfriend, only to be kissed off. When the movie climaxes he's sitting in his car doing nothing.

Writers Will de los Santos, whose life this purports to convey, and Creighton Vero, know whereof they speak. A drugalogue like this needs no moralistic overtones. Sure, there's a tacky glamour about the addict world, sometimes, and fun, and sexiness, and excitement, and laughs too. You don't have to point out that these lives are down the tubes.
38 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fast and Furious
mcnally10 September 2002
I saw this film at the 2002 Toronto International Film Festival. Boasting a raft of young talent (Jason Schwartzman, Patrick Fugit, Mena Suvari, Brittany Murphy), this is a frantic tale about a group of methamphetamine addicts. Raunchy, disturbing, and often very very funny. The pace does tend to wear out the viewer, though. Since we saw the "unrated" cut, expect the final "R" version to be more manageable in length. Brittany Murphy and John Leguizamo do amazing work here. And the use of sound is quite jarring and effective, too.
28 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Addicted to Spun
PeteGallo21 July 2003
About a month ago my friend told me about this movie, after hearing about it on Late Night with Conan O'Brien or Carson Daly's show, which ever. So I went to the website and was immediately enamored. Being that it was not out in ANY theater within a 150 mile radius of me, I did what any blue blooded American would do. Download it. Unfortunately, I was only able to download the first half. Well, the first half kept me begging for more and for four weeks I waited for it to come out, watching the first half at least once a week. Today I finally purchased it, and I am not disappointed. Such an amazing movie should be up there with Requiem for a Dream and Trainspotting. If you can take a great dark comedy, go check it out. Get Spun.

-Pete
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One of my favorite drug flicks
silbaughkj19 April 2006
Warning: Spoilers
As other commenters said, it's hard to relate to this film unless you've been in the users' situation. In my case, I'm in the center of a bunch of users. This film moreorless glamorizes the drug Meth, until it get towards the end. It is a little unrealistic in some scenes, but overall the idea of being spun and doing absolutely nothing constructive is very realistic. The soundtrack to this is A+, I wish they'd release it.

The actors are all amazing, and I'd say at their best in this.

The story isn't really the most fantastic thing you'll find, but what is really fantastic about getting high of chemicals?

The directing was phenomenal! It's amazing what you'll pick up every time you'll watch it. Any indie film lover will begin pointing out film-geek things like the symbolism of the car. A run down dumpy Volvo that is an ongoing symbol of the main character. Just overworked, clocking mileage, and always getting dinged up here and there... stuff like that.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved It!
chelebug051119 June 2006
From an ex-tweeker as well. Fortunately I kicked the habit too. When I watched the film, I laughed mostly. Because I'm thinking, 'oh my god, I did that', 'I looked like that', 'How did my family not know?'. One of the best films I've seen. I agree though, most people don't appreciate this film. But most people aren't very sympathetic towards drug users. If you like this film you must see 'Requiem for a Dream'. I viewed it in my Avant Garde film class in college recently. It is obviously about drugs but it's more serious than Spun. I honestly would've cried had I not been at school. So check it out, you will enjoy.... guaranteed! I need 10 lines so.... the soundtrack is really good as well.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Artistically Capacitated"
yael4ever26 February 2003
While standing in the Neverending lineup for the Toronto Film Festival, I couldn't help but think about if it was really worth it to be wasting hours of my life just to be seeing a simple little film called "Spun". Now that I have seen it, I shock myself when thinking about how after waiting in a 2 hour line up - I was ready to leave. Jonas Akerlund's work on Spun is nothing but "truly genius" when it comes to cinematography and creating structure for the New Independent Films. My attention was held through every scene and after hearing his "Media conference" it is obvious why. He is such a creative man with a knowledable grasp of what is different. I can't help but shudder when thinking about watching most movies/films that are related to drugs, but this one was different. This film was artistic and expressive in showing the many pros and cons as well as the lifestyle that is ingested when you first consume your first feeling of "ecstasy" (being speed in this movie). I truly hope that there are more directors and filmmakers that can take tips from Mr. Akerlund and apply them to their own movies because there is nothing that is more worthy of time. If you are looking for a Hollywood "Studio Type" Business Blockbuster - Look elsewhere. This film is artistically clever and is more than enough to feed the spirit of anyone who is in need of a different taste in film.

I'd give Spun a rating of 4**** because of its creative genius as well as Casting transitions. The actors and actresses were truly remarkable when taking on roles and characters that they had never worked with before. From Jason Schwartzman going from the clever and childishly geeky Rushmore student to a Mature (aside from drugwise)manly and entertaining characater that you can't help but adore, to Mena Suvari the annoyingly perfect, sweet and beautiful "American Pie" actress to the angry, unattractive, raging lounger.

It seems like an all star young adult cast that is just not properly exposed to the media. You want acting skills? These are actors!

Wonderful Film that makes me crave more of Jonas Akerlund. I could hardly be more impressed.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
That's gotta hurt.
bergma15@msu.edu18 April 2006
Spun is all about methamphetamine addicts and their supplier (the Cook). The film is an incredible mix of humor and desperation showing addicts losing everything to get their fix. All of the characters are at the lowest rung of society whether they realize it or not, but somehow the movie finds humor in a place that most would describe as hell.

Ross (Jason Schwartzman) is a meth addict whose girlfriend has left him. His connection, Spider Mike (John Leguizamo), keeps losing the supplies that he gets from the Cook (Mickey Rourke). Among Spider's usual gang of idiots includes his significant other, the annoying Cookie (Mena Suvari) and Frisbee (Patrick Fugit) who seem to just want to hang around and get high. On one visit, the Cook's girlfriend, Nikki (Brittany Murphy) recruits Ross to take care of the Cook's transportation needs (Ross seems to be the only one of them who owns a car). Frisbee gets busted by the cops and is set up as an informant to get Spider and hopefully someone further up the chain.

The film is what I assume being on meth is like (I've never done it and have no urge to do it), it's fast paced at times, but seems to be intentionally slow at others. The director used quite a few clips of things that already happened, hallucinations and animation to show what is going on. Sometimes directors go overboard with these techniques, but here it really works. You feel like these things are happening in the characters' heads and that they're on a roller-coaster. What really makes this film work is the cast. This is definitely an ensemble. In addition to the actors I already mentioned; Deborah Harry plays Ross' lesbian neighbor, Rob Halford of Judas Priest plays the porn shop clerk, and Billy Corgan plays a doctor. Eric Roberts makes an appearance as the Man (the Cook's boss), and Pete Stormare and Alexis Arquette as a pair of cops who want to bust the meth ring.

I really enjoyed this film, but it is a trip. After watching it, you feel strung out.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Wow. Gross. Funny. Sad. Great.
angeladenis13 December 2018
After 16 years it's amazing and depressing how relatable it still is! Cameo's were such a surprise: Debbie Harry, Alexis Arquette, Eric Roberts - everyone did great. Casting was superior!

The show is also extremely gross! Mena in the bathroom was funny & true, but...yeah, I'll save that for you to see for yourself. If you are someone who can't or shouldn't watch graphic scenes of using - this is a big no go for you. Nothing if left to the imagination.

Huge fan of Mr. Rourke- thrilled for his getting back into acting.

Above all lease it made me realize that I miss seeing Ms. Murphy on screen. Amazing actress who left entirely too soon.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
great drug movie
matadecoco20 April 2005
I used to be a speed freak and this movie is the hands-down best depiction of the life. My hands clutched my nose in remembered sweet pain with every snort, and I cringed at every stupid argument. So many drug movies are filled with righteous indignation and heavy-handedness (even the good ones) and this one is just darkly hilarious. I loved Mickey Rourke as the Cook, and the tiny bit of Eric Roberts made me wish he was working more. Everybody turned in good performances. I don't recommend this if you are a newly clean crank case - it is too close to home. I am definitely glad I don't live there any more but it was a fun visit.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
ignore these negative reviews
uncola197919 June 2003
this was a great movie.. jason schwartzmann was great as ross. I agree with the person who said this movie is about taking responsibility for our actions.. and also about the lies people tell themselves to avoid having to change or take responsibility.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Phenomenal piece of gut wrenching drug cinema
NateWatchesCoolMovies2 August 2015
Jonas Ackerlund's SPUN leaves you feeling dirty, breathless, scuzzy, and like you've just watched a parade of every single facet of Chrystal meth addiction unfold in front of you like a horrible carnival of lost souls and ruined lives. It's a hard flick to sit through, but there's a brutal poetry and gutter stained beauty to the characters lives, and the events that unfold are a nonsensical, dizzying merry go around of calamity, confusion and speed addled insanity. It's my personal favourite film of about drug addiction ever made. Jason Schwartzman plays Ross, whose mission in life is to score the next hit. After a delirious opening sequence set to a calming rendition of Number Of The Beast, he arrives at the home of Spider Mike. John Leguizamo has never had a shortage of energy, and here he lets the ripcord fly off the handle, handling his role like a squirrel stuck in a vat of distiller caffeine, bouncing off every wall in sight and chewing the scenery like a plastic straw. Mena Suvari plays his equally addicted girlfriend Cookie. Brittney Murphy bring surprising depth to her role as a girl who Ross strikes a friendship with. The two of them eventually find their way to the house of The Cook, played by Mickey Rourke. From there the film heads down a scum encrusted rabbit hole of nonsensical run ins, hapless failures and an eventual rock bottom inevitability where every character finds themselves at a place where if they go any further with their lifestyle, there's no return. Rourke finds the emotional anchor in an otherwise manic roster, and even though he's off the wall for much of the film, he has a monologue in the eleventh hour that grounds his role in tragic regret. Very underrated performance from him. Murphy balances the ditsy slut aspects with a maternal yearning for something better than the road she went down. There's a whole rats nest of other assorted characters and cameos running around, from Peter Stormare's aggressive, hilarious narc, to Patrick Fugit's grotesque Frisbee, to Debbie Harry is from Blondie fame as a nosy feminazi. Even Eric Roberts shows up for a brief reunion with Rourke. The film has a heavily stylized, go for broke attitude that pushes the boundaries of what movies have been able to do, in the best way possible. It shows you not from an outsiders perspective what it might be like to observe people on this drug, but gives you a very intimate, non judgmental day in the lives of these manic, lost soul pixies, ghosts of their former selves, enslaved in the mania and constant need for a fix that is their own design. If you can handle this sort of stuff and like the sub genre (Trainspotting, Requiem For A Dream, The Salton Sea etc) then this is a heavy hitting visual and auditory blast of pure experimental cinema, and a total joy to watch. Just bring a barf bag.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Frighteningly Accurate
cjb-in-usa27 May 2005
Spun accurately demonstrates the lives of some of the drug addicts in our world. Even though the drug of topic is methamphetamine, this movie just as easily could have been about cocaine or heroin. By that I mean in relation to how the addiction works and how the addict behaves. This movie delivers a powerful message and a great lesson if you are able to derive it. What happens in "Spun" is frightening, but it does happen and is very real. The cast does such a great job that I almost want to believe that they have some first hand experience. That could mean either living it or witnessing it, I will leave that for you to decide. And remember, "Friends, ask not what the p^$$y can do for you, but what can you do for that p^$$y!"
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Dark Drug Induced Drama
bpwexler9 May 2014
Spun is an action packed dark drug induced drama revolving around a creative and complex character base. The theme of the movie is addiction and paranoid reality of meth use in small town America.

I really enjoyed the characters and cinematography. This was the best cast I have seen for a drug movie which includes the following:

Jason Schwartzman as Ross John Leguizamo as Spider Mike Mena Suvari as Cookie Patrick Fugit as Frisbee Peter Stormare as Mullet Cop Alexis Arquette as Moustache Cop Deborah Harry as The "Neighbor" Eric Roberts as The Man Chloe Hunter as April Love Nicholas Gonzalez as Angel Brittany Murphy as Nikki Mickey Rourke as The Cook Charlotte Ayanna as Amy

Thanks!

www.commachargers.com
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Awesome Realism + Damn Funny = Damn Good Movie
anchovyd10 May 2012
I started to watch this movie having no idea what it was about only that it had Mickey Rourke, who I am a fan of, and Brittney Murphy who my wife likes.

All I can say is that this movie is awesome. Yeah there isn't much of a story, it's just a four-day window on the lives of these freaks. Not much going on here storywise just people driving around, hanging out and spinning their wheels doing nothing. The only real story element is the drug raid towards the end of the film.

What makes this movie great is the acting, scenery and cinematography. After watching this film for a while you start to feel as if you're tweaking with the cast. Murphy and Rourke are great, I think that I just fell in love with Murphy after watching this. Also Leguizamo, who I normally can't stand (hated his one man show and the Mario Bros. movie) was incredible in here as Spider Mike. There is a lot of comedy here too that works.

It starts off a little slow but once the police raid story line comes in the movies gets 10 times more interesting and I couldn't stop watching. My wife on the other hand bailed after about thirty minutes since the movie seemed to be going nowhere and she was disgusted with the grotesque condition of the flop house, near vomit inducing. I stuck with it because of the great cinematography and I was falling for Murphy.

Bottom line: The movie takes a while to get going, but the cinematography, humor and accurate depiction of tweakers and flophouses keeps you on the hook until it gets interesting.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
See this movie!
snorkleburgers29 July 2006
This movie is incredibly realistic and funny. There were a few problems (what with Jason Schwartzman not being skinny enough to be a speed freak and one or two cheesy scenes) but the acting is fantastic. I was even able to forget about Jason Schwartzman not being tiny and really get into his character. The cinematography is truly fantastic and has a style of its own. However, you wouldn't exactly want to see this movie with your parents. But, over-all the story is realistic without being over-done, and the soundtrack is amazing. I would definitely see this movie. P.S. I hear from an inside source that Brittany Murphy was just as neurotic as her character off-set.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good drug movie
robertocoombes27 May 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Well i did not see why everyone hated this film... I mean it seemed to be OK with its fast editing and great acting plus a amazing performance from Mickey Rourke as The Cook. It is a good little film which follows Ross a college drop out who is addicted to meth, he ends up as a sort of taxi driver for The Cook, this is where he meets Nikki and one of the many misfits who inhabit this film. Ross gets into a series of weird episodes and meets some even weirder characters like Spider Mike a off the wall drug dealer and Cookie his even more crazy girlfriend. It is one strange story but one that keeps you entertained and immersed in a world where all people want to do is to score. Maybe for die hard fans of drug films only but one to definitely at least rent.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not bad but definitely not the best drug movie
lord-of-the-garbage19 March 2006
This movie left me confused. It was thrilling, you felt that you are somehow on speed too and you just can't get out. The movie is visually awesome, most of the time crazy like when someone takes a sniff, the screen goes wild, but thats about it. The story was really predictable and linear... It goes on so slowly in the beginning that you almost fall asleep but then it speeds up a bit. The characters' characteristics are supported by some really good actors. It was fun to watch but don't expect something psychological or any kind of a drama. Seemed more like a comedy to me. If you are a fan of crazy-cut music videos stretched into a half an hour this is the movie you are looking for. You might not like it but i think it's worth a try, because it's a really good movie for a newbie. And i must admit that i fell in LOVE with it! It's a hella wild ride
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed