The Animal (2001) Poster

(2001)

User Reviews

Review this title
135 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Exactly what I expected...
MMartian1 June 2001
Let me preface by saying I am a fan of Rob Schneider, and of Adam Sandler. I enjoyed Deuce Bigalow, and all (except for Big Daddy) of Adam Sandler's movies. So I basically was expecting some (Ok, a lot) of low-brow humor, a decent plot to keep rolling through, and to laugh throughout the movie. This movie provided just that. It wasn't the greatest comedy in the world, or a landmark motion picture, and it wasn't made to be that. Colleen Haskell's skills at acting reminded me of when they put a "famous" non-actor on Saturday Night Live, and don't give them too much to do in the skits. She's only in the movie probably a total of 15 minutes, but does what they ask of her, and does a decent job of it. The movie is a hoot, and doesn't actually stoop to every joke being a f**t joke. I laughed about every 3-4 minutes, and enjoyed the ending as well. If you're expecting something similar to Deuce Bigalow, you won't be disappointed.
37 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I Have To Admit: This Is Pretty Funny
ccthemovieman-115 February 2007
This was just plain funny and very entertaining throughout the goofy 83 minutes. Crude? Yes, at times, but what modern-day comedy isn't lately? The PG-13 rating is a joke. With all the sexual stuff in here, "R" is more appropriate.

Some of that sleazy stuff, to be honest, was pretty funny, though and there isn't much profanity.

Rob Schneider, as "Marvin," lays his goofy Deuce Bigelow-type character on us, trying to get the pretty girl "Rianna" (Colleen Haskell).

I really thought this would be a stupid film but Schneider's animal imitations are hilarious and, overall, this a very fast-moving, silly-but-lots of laughs film.
29 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pure Awesomeness
davishasrisen27 January 2003
Rob Schneider cracks me up. This movie is absolutely one hour and 20 minutes of pure awesomeness. Not making the movie long is great. The guy from office space is so funny. Everything about the animals is hilarious too. This movie is one of my top 5 comedies. I love any body from SNL. This is just another classic. Rob Schneider is absolutely one of the best comedians out there.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I laughed till I cried!
dizzycris1 June 2001
What a great movie! Rob is one of my favorites anyway so I went in expecting to like it and I came out loving it. Top notch comedy! I was really impressed with Coleen Haskell. Rob was just too good though. I love Duece Bigalow and I liked this one even more....I took my Mom and she is now a big Rob Schneider fan. If you need a good laugh go see this!
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Enjoyable!
famousgir19 November 2001
Marvin is a wimpy guy, who's determined to follow in his fathers footsteps by becoming a cop. Things aren't going well, until Marvins in a car accident and when a very strange scientist finds him, he uses animal body parts to rebuild Marvin. With all the animal parts in his body Marvin gets very energized and leaves all his weakness behind, which them leads him to become a cop and a famous one at that. Something he's of course always wanted. Life is going great for Marvin until his the animals in his body start taking over his body and makes him do the strangest things like falling in love with animals and eating from bins. With all this going on, Marvin has to remain the perfect gentleman to his new love, Rianna, which leads to a strange and quite predictable twist at the end.

The Animal is produced by the brilliant Adam Sandler, who also has a really funny cameo as a Townie in this movie, which stars Rob Schneider, who also wrote the screenplay here. Rob really funny. Schneiders love interest is Colleen Haskell, from the US reality TV show, Survivor.

After the awful Freddy Got Fingered, I wasn't to sure what I would make out of The Animal, but it was good. Not the most brilliant movie around, but good. Rob Schneider is great in his role here too. There are some funny bits in the movie too. All in all, enjoyable stuff.
18 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not bad. actually funny
Skeletors_Hood2 December 2001
I liked this movie, even though I feel the trailer made it seem more funny than it actually is. Still, its enjoyable, and has the type of unbelievable humor that I like, that goofy off-the-wall ingredient that really good comedies have. Worth a watch or two.
22 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
why rating is just 4.8 it deservers more than 7 atleast
rrv-7939413 March 2018
Really funny.you cant control your laughter. Rob is phenominal as doggish Man.You are fan of rob or not just watch it.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Way better than I expected
joseayarza31 March 2002
When my family rented this movie, I was just expecting a stupid movie with a stupid plot and stupid jokes. Well, let me tell you, some jokes are unpredictable, and will cause you to laugh very loudly. Of course, there many other jokes that aer too silly (and sometimes very disgusting), but overall, this movie is a good and highly entertaining one. I really recommend it to you. Sure it´s silly, but aren´t comedy movies supposed to be silly after all?
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
great flick
iceman0697 June 2001
If you liked deuce bigalow you'll love the Animal. Rob Schneider is at his best. The plot was not realistic but come on do you really need a plot with sandler producing the movie. A definite must see for the people that love the humor of Saturday Night Live.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Unleashing the animal in all of us.
reviewguy2 June 2001
Being a big fan of Rob Schneider had me wanting to go to this movie from the time I first heard about it. I really don't know what to expect when the movie is produced through Adam Sandler. Sometime it's a hit , sometimes a miss. This movie falls somewhere in the middle. We follow Marvin as he tries to get his big break and become a policeman. Standing in his way are other cops, and also his lack of physical prowess. That is until he has a horrendous accident, and is repaired by a mad scientist played by Michael Caton. He suddenly has the abilities of different kinds of animals, and also there instincts. That's the funny part about this movie as he tries to control these conflicting feelings going through his head. Colleen Haskell plays his love interest in the movie, and she comes off as the sweet, innocent she is supposed to be. Her main goal in life seems to be to save as many animals as possible. This is one more in a fine line of comedic performances for Rob Schneider who seems to have found his niche playing the underdog role.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A delectable tale of man's nature and Badgermilk
eric-63631 January 2005
I was kept on the edge of my seat during this Herculean cinematic experience -- the question of one's very identify with one's self is set against a backdrop of hilarity and monkeys in skirts. The question of police brutality in our society is dealt with on a Ciceronian level as older policemen are cast as blood mongrels and middle aged police officers are cast as muscle headed steroid-freaks -- a casting delight surprise from Office Space is in store for educated viewers.

A dramatic tale from start to end, even the farm animals are in the winner's circle when the time come to roll the credits. Happy Madison productions has done it again. Bravo!
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Hilarious, SNL Castmember Makes a Good Movie, First in a While
GoatmealCrisp3 June 2001
I will be honest with you, I went to see The Animal for Norm Macdonald. But what I saw was one of the funniest movies I've ever seen. Not only is Colleen Haskell a pretty good actress, but Rob Schneider was even funnier than in Deuce!!! And Did I mention Norm's line "I'm not gonna be in a mob to kill a black dude" Funny!!!
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Happy Madison productions brings you another hysterical movie!
emilyblunt1 June 2001
Happy Madison productions brings you another hysterical movie! Granted, anybody who has ever known or been around animals will laughter a little harder, but still this is the funniest movies in quite a while.

Rob Schneider was the perfect man to pull this puppy off. He's, um, er, petite and we bought the loser turned animal bit- a little too easily perhaps. The story was surprisingly unique and fast paced.

You'll want to avoid and kind of intaking of a beverage natural while viewing this movie, because dollars to donuts it'll come blasting out of your nostrils onto the guy in front of ya-- trust me.

Story goes... Marvin Mange (Rob -If he were only a smidge taller- Schneider) is a wimpy asthmatic loser with exponents the size of Benicio del Toro's thighs. He's desperate to get on the police force, but as he's failed the obstacle course four times there's a better chance of Rosie O'Donnell being straight...

He's left alone one day while the rest of the boys form the precinct are out playing some ball. He gets a 211 (armed robbery) call and has to go it alone. Enroute he is derailed by a circus seal mysteriously blocking the road. He flies over the cliff, in one of the funniest car-over-the-cliff- scenes I've ever seen, and is left a broken man- literally.

A strange ranger sort saves him by rebuilding him a' la the six million dollar man meets Dr. Doolitle. So Marvin's more of a Frankenweenie human with a keen sense of smell that's perpetually in a state of heat. See, Marvin gets his new chance at life after miscellaneous animal parts are transplanetd through a proceure known as "Radical Transpeciesoctomy" or some such nonsense. And after a whole week's recovery (go with it) he's back in the world of Human Erectus'.

Problem is his new animal parts he inherited are taking' over the his normally dormant animal instincts. The hilarity begins.

He meets a pretty gal and animal activist, Riana (Colleen Haskell-yes, that girl from Survivor- who happens to have a degree in theater. Hmm. Nah, that show was real. It wasn't a fix. The cast was really just everyday actors-er-models-er-folks like us). Will the love bug bite or Marvin?

Then just as poor Marvin finds happiness, some manbeast is ripping apart cows at night. The village people want blood, Marvin's blood. That and to carry their lit torches in an angry mob!

What's to become of the elfin Marvin? Will he be hunted down like wild boar, and his bulbous head mounted on the mayor's wall? Or will he settle down with a nice Billy goat from the right side of the tracks and start a small herd of his own?

You'll have to just go and see, because this one is highly recommended.

There are a couple of other cast members that need mention. Norm McDonald, who I'd jump on like a rabid rhesus monkey given the chance, plays a callous mob member riddled with confusion at how the whole darn mob mentally flows. Of course Adam Sandler makes an appearance- ever so briefly- to cheering audience members. That was weird. And Marvin's nemesis the sargeant at his police department, played by John C McGinley, is as obnoxious as any drunken bleacher quarterback in the cheap seats at the superbowl. Brilliantly funny!

Hmm, I use to dislike Sandler so very much. Now there's this new funny trend he's jumped on. I may have to rethink this year's ASSCUKA (American Sandler Sucks-Cocky-Unfunny Kreep- Association) membership dues...Cause the boy can pick them. Funny movies to produce I mean.

Snack recommendation: Badger milk and semi-chewed earthworm.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Dr. Moreau Meets Police Academy
mike481285 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Plays better on cable with 4 minutes missing. A funny premise that borders on the obscene, as Rob Schneider's animal instincts take over after a zany mad scientist puts him back together with animal parts and glands after a near-fatal car crash. Originally meant as an Adam Sandler vehicle, Rob does a masterful comical performance in a really silly movie actually funnier than "Ace Ventura Pet Detective". Because of his "special abilities", "The Animal" can smell heroin being smuggled in an airplane passenger's body and saves the mayor's child from drowning. He is hopelessly harassed by his boss as he tries to survive probation on the police force. Right up there as a farce reminiscent of "The Man with Two Brains". Like "Blazing Saddles" it even has several uncomfortable "black prejudice" comments by the only black man in the film. Look for Ed Asner as an old policeman in a very insignificant role. Collen Haskell is really cute as the love interest who ends up being part "Animal" herself. ("We have the same doctor.") Rob tries to hump everything in sight, gorges on cattle and wakes up in a butcher shop window, stuffed with salami and ham. It even makes fun of the Frankenstein movie's torch-lit mob scenes. A short funny movie, very well done, but with low-class humor, to be sure. Not for young children, although much more is suggested than actually shown.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Looks like I'll have to defend this one
Spleen8 June 2002
No, it's not well-made, as such. And perhaps its greatest virtue is purely negative: contrary to what you would conclude from the fact that it was released in 2001 and concerns a man who has been given powerful "animal" instincts, it DOESN'T rely - not even once, so far as I can recall - on gross-out tactics. (The closest we come is when Marvin takes out a package of raw mincemeat and eats it when he thinks nobody's looking. Really, that's the closest we come.) It's NOT nasty, it's NOT unpleasant. And to move on to positive virtues: it's actually funny. Yes, I was as surprised as anyone else.

The writers are often content to stand back and let the premise do the work, but at least the premise and the fairly obvious situations that follow from it are inherently amusing. A man humping a goat isn't funny; a man fighting his urge to hump a goat because he knows it will be frowned upon, is ... actually, this particular part of the movie isn't THAT funny, but other parts are, and it's because the principle is the same throughout. When the animal humour wears thin there's often a good unrelated gag to supplement it. "That's good badger milk," says Marvin, as though badger milk were like wine and he wasn't certain what kind he was going to get. "Don't be ashamed, son," says the police chief. "I'VE eaten out of the garbage, too..." (Not THE greatest line, I'll admit, but Ed Asner gets points for delivering it in an inspired way.) And there's the guy who asks a series of questions that reveal the shy delight and eagerness he feels to be part of a mob.

I didn't know, before reading other people's comments, that Colleen Haskell was a star of one of those schlocky reality TV shows and that this was her first acting role; people who DID know this, it seemed, noticed all manner of deficiencies in her performance that simply weren't there. Haskell plays the cute chick who ends up falling for the hero. The ROLE is limited. I honestly don't see how Haskell could have played it any better than she did. (In fact, more experienced actresses usually get it wrong, and Haskell doesn't.) And at least she, unlike most actresses called upon to play this kind of role, really is gorgeous.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Very Funny
amazing1-21 June 2001
This is a very funny movie. Take it for what it is...lowbrow humor. We aren't talking a Merchant Ivory production here. To get an idea of what we're talking about: the funniest part was the "purple nurple" that Schneider gives the orangutan. Survivor's Colleen holds her own here as far as acting goes. And she's so cute Meg Ryan had better watch out because Colleen can outscrunch circles around her!! Overall, I'd give this movie a 7 out of 10.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Movie
mohosoqueso2 June 2001
This movie is pretty funny. The gags are spread throughout the movie, so you'll be laughing the whole time you're watching. I know I couldn't stop laughing. This is a great movie that deserves to be seen by anyone who loves comedies. The ending was predictable but it was still a good ending. It's just as good as the other happy madison movies (Little Nicky,Joe Dirt, Deuce Bigalow)and if you like those movies, you'll like this as well. Overall,it's better than joe dirt, but not as good as little nicky or deuce bigalow.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
"He wasn't much of man... And now he is not much not an animal"
theinaniloquent3 November 2011
After receiving organ transplants from various animal donors, a man finds himself taking on the traits of those animals.

To start, I am a pretty big fan of Rob Schneider and his competitor Adam Sandler. They both provide that entertainment that sometimes we need to take a break from all the seriousness in this world. In the Animal, frankly I wasn't expecting the best movie ever. Nor was I expecting an Oscar. I expected a film with great laughs and a nice movie to chill back to and enjoy the little things. And yet again, I got what I had came in for. Of course, the movie doesn't provide an intelligent plot nor does it provide great characters, a great plot, or great cinematography. But once again, people still complain that DID expect this. The movie does provide great laughs though, indeed. And that's EXACTLY why the movie came out. To provide some uplifting in life. No, it is not the best movie ever. Nor is it a great movie. But if you outlook the problems and in look the good things about the film; your good to go! So that's about a wrap up. Expecting the greatest movie of all time? No way, get out! Expecting a nice, fun movie? Here you are. 6/10.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great comedy flick.
Johnrx8621 March 2002
Lol funny funny movie. It took me a little while to get into it, but it had a solid middle and end. Norm McDonald was wonderful. I recommend it to any adam sandler fans.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Rob Schneider Future Superstar !
sb-292 July 2001
Ok, I liked Deuce Bigalow a lot. This movie is not quite that good, but it starts to showcase Rob Schneider as truly one of America's best hopes for comedy superstardom (like Jim Carrey and Eddie Murphy before him). His timing is perfect and the film's direction is as good as it could be. Don't get me wrong, its a stupid movie and the plot is really terrible. However, it has enough well-directed funny interludes to keep you going. But just to watch Rob's screen presence is amazing. See it many times and I'm sure you will agree, Rob is the next big thing in Hollywood comedic film. Who knows?, after another 8 or so of these, he will move into dramatic acting. As this film has made back its money big-time at the box office, we can be sure to see many more of these. Keep it up Rob ! Great job!

My favorite scene ? Got to be his cat imitation near the fish tank.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good for a giggle.
aramo117 November 2001
Hypochondriac loser Marvin is not a real police office but an evidence clerk. While answering a 911 call he suffers near fatal injuries and is refurbished by some mad doctor with spare animal parts [for exact list see cuts]. Added to the is a 'boy meets girl' story and 'my boss hates me' story. The boss is very well played by John McGinley. Also included are some decent man-as-animal stunts and a good 'torch & mob' scene. Most of the comedy is action based fortunately the movie steers clear of slapstick (almost). Good for a giggle with perhaps a little too much cutting to meet the PG-13 rating.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Hilarious
porter-429 May 2001
After a flood of really gross gross-out comedies, it's refreshing to see a comedy that's not gross at all, and actually genuinely FUNNY. Just like Deuce Bigalow before it, The Animal is a well-made, well-acted, and very funny film. Best part is it doesn't feel like someone took the teeth out of it just to make it a PG-13, unlike two other movies recently released by two of Schneider's former SNL castmates.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best feature length, live action, slapstick, animal based comedy of the year
frog20773 October 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I think you have missed the point of 'The Animal' completely. It is truly brilliant.

First off there is Schneider himself, with the acrobatic dexterous slapstick genius that is only equalled by Keaton and Chaplin while his characterisation of a failing, loser, police office evidence clerk is the equal to any performance put in by Brando, Olivia, Hopkins or Curry.

The production values, while not overly high, portray an attention to detail unrivalled by any feature length, live action, slapstick, animal based comedy that came out that year. Whilst the script is as cutting and contemporary as anything produced by a Hollywood studio, the directing demonstrates a brilliance that a comedy (even of this calibre) rarely get the luxury of having.

The over loud animal noises, the nob gags, the bum gags, the brilliant juxtaposing of 'funny' animal related physical jokes and human social events that on the face of it a 7 year old could have wrote but in reality could only have been penned by a genius.

The plot is brilliant, inspired and in places truly emotional. (I don't want to spoil this truly great movie so don't read on if you haven't seen it).

Mourning the loss of his father, Marvin has to come to terms with his inability to find a companion and his spiralling out of control lack of self confidence. Ostracised by his work colleagues, ritually abused by his neighbour (and her viscous dog) and devoid of any and all satisfaction personally and professionally. Its to this backdrop that Marvin suffers a hideous debilitating car accident but is miraculously saved by having his DNA spliced with an unknown amount of domesticated animal DNA and having some body part replacement.

The movie covers politically hot topics such as whether using animal DNA in humans is acceptable, the ethics of breeding animals for body parts, the threat of hunting on animal populations and the cost of animal conservation, that cannibalism is acceptable and that bestiality is…OK. This is not to mention the exploration between god, man and animal and the questions regarding animal consciousness.

This is apart form the everyday elements of work place rivalry, racism, fat-ism, sexism, gun control, murder, meat eating and monkey jokes.

On a personal level, I have watched this movie 1000 times and have yet to not find it funny, I literally end up doubled up in pain, crying.....with laughter its just that good. I challenge anyone to get through this movie and not laugh at one joke, its not possible. Brilliant brilliant brilliant.

The bit where the scientist suggest Marvin get rid of his latent aggression fuelled by his sexual urge by sleeping with a chimpanzee in a pink tutu is possibly the funniest thing I have ever seen in my life...my life!! If you don't laugh at this movie your just dead inside.

Mr Schneider we salute you another fantastic movie, lets hope he ignores the billions of ignorant critics, the unjust reviews and the failing box office returns and goes on to make the animal 2 and 3. Brilliant!
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
that man is
thisanant27 January 2018
I am honestly surprised at the low ratings of this movie . it is a hilarious comedy and it really does not deserve such ratings . It is really funny , from the start to finish . the idea is new , the jokes are cool , may be a little on the animal side .
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great movie
Mulletboy9 June 2002
The movie in itself was great, but I liked the side story. This is what I mean, the whole thing where the black guy (I forget his name) was saying it was racist that people were being nice to him because he was black and that they were trying to make up for so many years of injustice and racism. My favorite line comes at the end, spoken by Norm McDonald, "I'm not going to be part of mob who kills a black guy."

Another great movie from Happy Madison.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed