Tosun Pasa (1976) Poster

(1976)

User Reviews

Review this title
30 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
The funniest Turkish film
cankirmizi11 April 2001
Tosun Pasa is the masterpiece of Kemal Sunal's career, and the funniest Turkish film i saw.It is also the funniest film i saw after "Airplane!".In this comeedy classic, Kemal Sunal is the stupid housekeeper of the "Tellioglu" family who turns out to be playing the role of "Tosun Pasha", the most powerful Pasha of Alexandria, to gain ownership of "Green Valley". Sener Sen and Kemal Sunal do magnificent acting in this film which i recommend everyone to see.
57 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
You gotta know Turkish...
ilker-taysi12 October 2005
One of the funniest Turkish movies Tosun Pasa requires that it must be seen in its original language Turkish... Unfortunately, if a non-Turkish speaker tries to enjoy the movie via subtitles, s/he will probably fail so. Besides, the movie will appear to be absurd. However, for Turkish people, it is a golden classic as can be seen from the ratings. Kemal Sunal and Sener Sen who were the most famous comedians of that time resembles Jack Lemon and Walter Matthau or maybe Jerry Lewis and Dean Martin. They have many other movies acting together where Kemal Sunal plays the dumb but the lucky one and Sener Sen plays the person frustrated by the acts of the other and unlucky one. "Hababam Sinifi" is another wonderful movie of this couple...
27 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Unconditionally meritorious!
50713 September 2004
This movie is notably one of the praiseworthy Turkish flicks ever filmed. Not only the culminating acting and terrific sense of humor, but harmony among eminent Turkish 'acteurs' are gotta to be seen. Hence, catch it when you recognize.

Kemal Sunal (aka The king of Turkish absurd), Sener Sen, and all others infamous for their fun, have some kind of acting in Kartal Tibet's unforgettable masterpiece.

So-and-so, other Turkish movies like this, include: Davaro (1981), Inek Saban (1978), The Dunce Class on Vacation (1977), Kibar Feyzo (1978), and Hababam sinifi (1975).
29 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It' s a pure comedy
izbe16 December 2004
All the story is about a man who is totally clumsy and unskillful. It's great opportunity for a view for Turkish tradition and ancient lifestyle. All the wits are not only for Turks , i can say all for globally.

First i can say during the one a half hour my brain is totally shocked for the jokes who are very simples and pleasurable. It' s not a sitcom like the American ones. There are many place in this movie who have a historical value.

For the final words i can say enjoy it and if you can watch in original language and customized subtitle.
37 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
recommended
oxumara8 September 2004
it's a real funny film that will guaranteed to make you laugh. an incredible cast and brilliant performances make this film a master piece for Turkish cinema. it's about a poor (and a bit stupid) man who acts as Tosun Pasa who is a strong, rich and famous commander. lucky for the poor man that the people who he tries to deceive have never seen Tosun Pasa before. from then some romance and lots of comedy is waiting for you to watch and have fun. it's not a wonderful story by all means though, but it doesn't mean that the film isn't good. it's a wonderful film that will make you laugh and feel good. definitely 5 out of 5! and if you like this film (you're gonna like it!), then check out "Sut Kardesler" and the series of "Hababam Sinifi".
19 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best Turkish comedy
gokturkdemirel19 December 2005
It is hard to explain my feelings about that movie. However, it is easy to say that it is the best comedy made in Turkey, with no doubt. Kemal Sunal ans Sener Sen, who are the best two actors of Turkey, was reached the highest point of their acting career by this movie. The strange part of the movie is that you can easily find new funny pieces even though you saw it hundred times already. Another is that my father me and probably my son find something to love this movie. This is a movie that anyone from different ages, different social statue, etc. can love and define it as the best Turkish movie that they have seen. Moreover, in my view, foreign people could laugh on it with a well translation.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I intend this to be a plot summary especially for non-Turkish people
aqarius_lem1 August 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I intend this to be a plot summary especially for non-Turkish people. It can contain a bit spoiler though, but if you're still interested...

Two Turkish families lives in Alexandria-Egypt at the Ottoman Empire Era are enemies against each other on account of a fertile valley which they both claim as their own property. The dispute is about to be solved in favor of one of them, because their son is about to marry to the daughter of the local governor. The last hope of the other family is their -dimwitted, naive- butler who they turned to an impostor of a legendary and mysterious (so mysterious that no one including the local governor has seen him before) general(pasa) in Egypt on a visit from the palace of Cairo. But it won't take long to things get out of their control.

I try to say it as simple as I can: its in my top 5 of the best comedy films which was "made in Turkey". It is pure joy and laughter.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
one of the best Turkish films
gi_berg3 October 2004
I think most of the Turkish people are agree with me that tosun paþa is the one of the best films in turkey. First of all in the film there are lots of great players like kemal sunal,sener sen,adile nasit,aysen gruda..etc. They are great players who were played usually in comedy films which become classics like süt kardeþler,gulyabani and davaro. And film scenario was written by yavuz turgul who directed eskiya,muhsin bey and golge oyunu. Well they are great movies too. Finally words cannot be enough to describe the greatness of this great film,you have to watch this film.(but i think its DVD is not on the sell)
17 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
wanna laugh?? Watch this movie
timofte5529 October 2004
This movie is one of the best movies of Turkey. Like "Sabanoglu Saban" and "Süt Kardesler" Halit Akçatepe, Kemal Sunal and Sener Sen showed superb performance. If you want to laugh just watch one of these tree movie. These tree actors really great actors. also Ertem Egilmez (The director of the movie) is a great director. So the product of these actors and director of course will be the best.. The events between two important families "Telliogullarý" and "Seferogullarý", Their struggle for "green valley" was told. The intelligent! man Sener Sen try to get Green walley by introduce Kemal Sunal, the male servant of telliogullarý family, as Tosun Pasha. However, Tosun Pasha is the most powerful Pasha of the Palace.
14 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Exaggeration? I don't think so.
ermactatilde24 June 2014
Sometimes I think maybe we are overestimating the quality of the movies like this and the featuring actors such as Kemal Sunal or Sener Sen as we are originated in the same country as where these masterpieces are produced. But it doesn't take so long for me to deny that.

Look at how Sener Sen transforms from a serious man into a troll face, without making you think he's acting well. He doesn't act in truth, he becomes the character he plays. And he is just one of the actors who can do that in this movie.

All the other great actors and a perfect scenario get together and become this wonderful movie. I wish everyone knew Turkish as much as they could understand the movie.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Many many times
baris-akan3 February 2005
If someone says I can watch a movie 5-10 times a year of course you don't believe. But this film makes it true. In Turkey there is no one who doesn't know Tosun Pasha. When you are a child you watch and laugh at the performers (especially Kemal Sunal, Sener Sen facial expressions) ,then after years you realize the film is satirical by many ways.Every time you watch the movie you can realize a different point.But it is sad many of the performers in this film are not between us.Yavuz Tugrul is a good film writer,still making good films and day by day he is getting better.I'm impatient to watch his last film Gonul Yarasi.
12 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Experience the unstopping laughing action
bbegen30 July 2005
This is what I call comedy. Acting, screenplay, supporting roles, all of them are perfectly matching. Kemal Sunal and Sener Sen are very well known actors in Turkey. Unfortunately, Kemal Sunal passed away couple of years ago. He was very famous with his comedies. Sener Sen is still acting, he is a 1st class actor. I believe if he have lived in US he would easily have got couple of Oscars, he has amazing acting skills both in comedies and dramas. You should most definitely watch his movie, "Eskiya", which was a drama. It is sad that some movies like "Tosun Pasa" have not been known in the international movie industry. I like European movies better, because I think they have a soul not just special effects.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An All-Time Comedy Masterpiece
kadheerjahn12 September 2005
Tosun Pasa, is certainly a Turkish comedy masterpiece, which reflects the Ottoman times in a humorous way. Moreover, beyond its comedy identity, Tosun Pasa also brings a deep criticism to Ottoman bureaucracy and traditional values. Kemal Sunal(aka Saban) and Sener Sen(aka Lutfu) are at their best performance in Tosun Pasa. From the beginning of the film, till the end, Kemal Sunal accomplishes to amuse the viewer. With his gestures and mimics, he definitely shows that why he is considered as the "king of comedy". It's a delightful film to watch obviously, not only for its crew, but also for the unique music and setting. To conclude, Tosun Pasa deserves to be named as a masterpiece of comedy. You gonna love it!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
There's no Turkish person who wouldn't smile watching this.
alfa010229 September 2004
Legends like Kemal Sunal, Sener Sen, Adile Nasit and others are all at their best.

I personally watched this over 20 times in VCD format, and God knows how many times I've seen it on TV.

IMHO this is by far the best Turkish comedy film ever!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The masterpiece of Turkish comedy
bsangria8 September 2004
Thanks to incredible skills of Kemal Sunal, this film is a real piece of art. It also shows us a glimpse of what Sener Sen had in stock those days, when he wasn't as famous as today. Famous Turkish actress Mujde Ar also shows herself in this film. As usual, Halit Akcatepe is the partner of Kemal Sunal in the frenzy. The struggle of two families for Green Valley and their strange methods of occupying the area, women's musical fight in Turkish bath and the moment of truth are to be seen. Although this film looks like Sut Kardesler in terms of atmosphere, in my opinion, Tosun Pasa is the better one for sure. One cannot stop laughing. Non-stop fun!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Really great movie!!!
gokhan_adiguzel21 February 2006
i love this movie very much, especially Kemal Sunal's and Sener Sen's performances are great, in fact all the cast is great. i recommend all of the movies of Kemal Sunal and Sener Sen, all actors and actresses playing in this movie are really stars. also take care of the dialogs of the Kemal Sunal(Tosun Pasa) and Sener Sen. you will laugh too much while you watch it. When you watch this film, you want to watch one more, i have watched this so many times. The scenario is really great and smart. The director of the movie Kartal Tibet is a great director and also great actor, i also recommend the movies of Kartal Tibet. You should see this movie
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
perfect
jesus578615 February 2005
I think that this movie is one of by far the best and funniest movies of Turkish movie-sector.Especially Kemal Sunal is a legend.And Sener Sen is also a master.This movie is about a struggle for a productive area which is called Green Valley.One of the members of Tellioglu family(Sener Sen has thought to make a cheat.He introduced a member(Kemal Sunal) of his family as Tosun Pasa who is the most powerful pasha of that region,to the governor.At first everything was all right but Kemal Sunal as he is stupid he spoiled.After that everything became in a chaos.Tosun Pasa has been shown on TV but each time it has broken the rating records.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pure comedy
ustunel15 January 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Without tracing for the subject of the movie one could watch it just for laughing. In fact it is a story of a man who is forced to act like someone else who has great influence (a magnate&general,kemal sunal as tosun pasa) on behalf of a large family which is one of the two families struggling to grab the possession of a very fertile and rich piece of land, namely yesil vadi(green valley). Besides the leader of the family, Lutfu, takes advantage of fake tosun pasa to get married himself with the daughter of the mayor of the region. The family who has made the fake tosun pasa uses him until the real tosun pasa comes.As he arrives, the real tosun pasa, he starts to act as someone else in order to find who benefits from this situation. After he realizes the situation he starts action and first removes both families from the yesil vadi and marries himself with the daughter of the mayor. This situation is similar to the situation where two people is fighting, another one comes up and beats them both and then leaves. Believe me, even without getting the story you will laugh until cramps start at your cheeks. Vote: 10/10
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The greatest comedy film ever.
muratkara8 November 2019
Everyone must watch this comedy film. The ceativity is wonderful.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Such a great movie!
sywj5210 September 2019
There should definitely be more comments here but it is such a great movie!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Better than new Turkish comedy movies
furkanwintrgames12 August 2019
I'm not kidding. Old Kemal Sunal Movies better than new ones.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Tosun Paşa R
qarizmahmet5524 April 2014
Tyson pasha is very good film but film not in rank i don't understand this why this my god good mood but very good not but sick because its very moody film but good film don't understood this what I'm say to you hello guys sorry about this Im very smooth but you are Not smooth why i said this i am not Curious so Its very good film are u under stood me?good very good guys sorry about this Im very smooth why this my god Jan mood but very Mach not Keane sick because its very why this my god Jan said but very Mach not Keane sick because its this I'm not Curious so Its very good film very but you are Not smooth why i said id film but film not in rank i don't understand
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
About the movie
cemyildiz22 June 2005
During the Ottoman Rule in Egypt, two families claims the "green valley" and after having trouble with each others, both of these families decide to send a groom to the governor to able to own this green valley by the easiest way.

And one of these families decide to cheat and they tell the governor that "Tosun Pasa" (a famous guy in Ottomans) is one of their close familiar and they introduce their stupid servant like he's the Tosun Pasa.

----

I don't think that this movie is really one of the best comedy movies in the world. But it's also a big secret how can "Kemal Sunal" movies are still so popular.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Are we talking about comedy? or NOT
bolcay10 December 2004
The only reason that I wanted to write here is the attack made to movie by the first commenter! He said it is crap and gave a list of movies which are NOT comedy at all! (with out a single funny scene!) And said that these are real Turkish movies. Helloo! Are we talking about a comedy movie or not! If you find this movie than you are looking for a comedy, so you have to judge it by that point of view!

The movie is made with a very low budget, but almost all the "onetime-most talented and funniest comedians" acted in it. The story is very simple but do you realize that sometime it needs a genius to create the simplest thing!

As I said they have no budget and story line is simple, lacks of directing, yet the act is wonderful and the scenes, wardrope and background details fantastic, it gives a feel of Ottoman Egypt.

They keep showing it on Turkish TV all the time and whenever I see it, it kept me focused on it, although I had watched it a 1000 times.

By the way, I am a director and script writer who also writes comedies which consists a different style of comedy! So guys honor the people who opened the ways to us! Although they are not "complicated" as we are! (and do not call their work crap!)
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Timeless Classic
pkalyoncu198121 August 2006
I have watched this movie for more than 20 times.

Every time I see it, it really cracks me up. I believe this movie is a timeless classic.

You can experience probably the best performances of Sener Sen and Kemal Sunal in this movie.

However, it would be unfair not to mention "Sut Kardesler" and "Sabanoglu Saban" which are the movies of same period, with almost the same cast.

No doubt, that period was the golden age for "Yesilcam" and Turkish comedies.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed