The Others (2001) Poster

(2001)

User Reviews

Review this title
1,126 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Chilling!!
ca_localgirl24 October 2001
This is one of the best movies I have seen all year, and one of the top horror stories ever told. It's creepy, simplistic, and eerie.

I was impressed by the enchanting simplicity of the plot, the lack of need for "Hollywood" special effects, and the haunting atmosphere that loomed over everything from beginning to end.

The first half, or even three quarters, seemed to move along a bit slowly, but it felt necessary to build the suspense to the point where I was biting my nails in anticipation of the inevitable.

Nicole Kidman's character, Grace... I was torn between empathy and disgust for her at times, but she definitely succeeded at captivating me with their lives and story. Predictable in parts, but it still leaves you guessing. This was a quality ghost story, with an old fashioned ambiance; downright spooky.

I was in awe of the ending, a fairly intelligent premise. It's the kind of movie that lets you escape reality for a while by entertaining you, but at the same time, returns you to the "real world" with your spine tingling, wondering if there isn't some possibility of truth... Chilling.
260 out of 295 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Subtle, genuinely creepy and ... SUBTLE
Coventry4 November 2004
The Others is a very remarkable film from more than just one viewpoint. In an era where you can only impress young horror fanatics with bucket-loads of blood and gross-out effects, Amenábar actually re-teaches his audience that fear is especially caused by suggestion and the absence of explicit images. The Others is the first intelligent horror film in years, completely relying on atmosphere and eerie set pieces. It's such a relief to finally see a subtle film that is also effective! I'm normally not much of Nicole Kidman fan but she's very convincing as the prudish, over-concerned mother who desperately tries to protect her children from the outside world (daylight in particular). She lives in a remote mansion and waits, along with her 2 children, for WWII to be over. With the arrival of 3 servants, strange events star to occur in the old house and the daughter spots 'intruders' everywhere. The screenplay - by Amenábar himself - is not totally unique (filmfreaks who're familiar with expressionism highlights from the 60's will quickly guess the hidden plot twist) but it's filled with ingenious findings and sublime dialogues. The Others reminds you of 'The Innocents' and there are far worse films to get compared with, if you ask me! What also is rather amazing about this production is that Amenábar seems so confident! This is his first giant Hollywood adventure with stars in the cast and American money and yet he has total control over everything. The acting is great, the plot actually scares you and the directing is solid. The Others is a total winner and easily one of the greatest genre-films of the last few decades.
221 out of 250 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"THE OTHERS is a creepy film... that reminded me of an old 40s or 50s ghost story."
SteveMadcow2 December 2001
The Others is yet another in a long list of great horror movies of the new millennium. I have always loved ghost stories, and this film has easily become my favorite ghost story ever. It's like one of the great old black and white ghost stories but better. It takes you on a slow, and uncomfortable ride.

The story is simple. Grace lives in a mansion with her two children, both allergic to sunlight. That little twist on the story was just great. It makes the film completely opposite than other ghost stories, with Grace not afraid of the dark, and making sure to keep the light out, to save her children. This provides us with a very creepy, and dark atmosphere. Plus the mansion is also a creepy place. Not to mention, that in the film everyone who enters the house, must close the previous door, before opening the next.

Nicole Kidman is perfectly cast in The Others. This may be one of her best performances ever (She was also great in this years Moulin Rouge). She was really very believable in the part. The two kids in this film were also fantastic. Alakina Mann as Anne was terrific. She played the bullying sister great. She and James Bently, who played Nicolas, really seemed like siblings. Awesome job by both. Fionnula Flanagan was also fantastic as Mrs. Mills. She really creeped me out, and I didn't know where she stood. Was she good or bad? I didn't know, but her acting was right on the ball.

Alejandro Anemabar directed The Others with such atmosphere. The dark lighting is creepy, and the cinematography is beautiful. This guy's has got a bright future. To accompany all the atmosphere we get a fabulous score by the director, Alejandro Amenabar. The music is creepy, and really adds to the feel of a 50's ghost story. It also sets the mood of the film, and makes the scary scenes, even scarier. The score is fabulous. Not only did Alejandro Amenabar direct, and score, but he wrote the great, and well-developed screenplay.

The Others is not without a great twist ending, that should shock everyone. I did not see it coming, and it's such an original concept to use in a ghost story. It worked well, and I was speechless after the film. Outstanding finale.

This film is yet another horror film that proves that big budget special effects suck! This film is scary, and it only had a $17m budget. The Others did great at the box office, and deserved every buck it earned. It's a creepy film, that has its very scary moments. This is a film that will not be forgotten. It'll be stuck in my mind for a long time. This really reminded me of an old 40's or 50's film. I highly recommend this film to every fan of ghost stories.

The Others: 10/10, A+
140 out of 158 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Beautiful Drama Entangled in Intense Thrills and Chills
mercybell10 August 2001
It's funny that I see this movie the way I do, perhaps I'm more perceptive to little dramatic, human touches, but I saw this movie and was satisfied with it. In fact, I fell in love with it. This movie is chilling, very spooky, with a few moments that will make you jump, but it's a movie that works itself up, and by the end of the movie you feel scared, and like someone has zapped you a few times, chilly from inside out, but fulfilled.

People have been comparing this to "Sixth Sense". Though the movie may share similarities, this stands on it's own. It's content is not trying to send a message, except for a universal theme that you want to grasp onto. There is historical and religious content, purely in context for the twists and turns and nuances to make this film so complete in every aspect. Everything works so well. This movie takes pride in each scene, and each is set up so that you get the most of it. Everything relates to everything, you are given clues the entire movie, but it's set up so masterfully the ending is the suprise you've been waiting for.

The performance by Kidman and the two children are one of a kind. It's a realistic interaction between siblings and a controlling, dysfunctional, but loving mother. The acting and writing (the script) is so well done, it adds for scattered scenes that will, hopefully, stick around with you for a long time. There's this one beautiful scene in the movie, it's where Grace (Nicole Kidman) is hugging her son, and her daughter (who is slightly estranged from her mom) runs up and hugs her, and there this look of absolute release on the face of Grace. Another great scene is when Grace carries her rifle around the house (shoot the ghost!), and she's desperately trying to protect her house and children. There are more like that, so keep your eyes open.

The cinematography is innovative and brilliant, camera angles and the lighting set everything up so well. The lighting is very important as well, in fact, the subject of "light" is so well mixed into the story, the dark feels safer and more secure than the light does. There are times when you long for the darkness, just as the characters long for the darkness (due to a part of the plot including a health condition of the children, which serves a basis for the mental thrill fest to come). To finish off this concoction, try to listen to the score, because it's very fitting.

This is more of a drama than a thriller, though it deserves to be a thriller (it's scary), but the power of it's dramatic side comes bursting through. This is a beautiful movie, it has overtones of a more serious side, and it's a movie that hardly belongs in the horror section because of it's beauty, but it's too darned eerie, weird, and chilling to fit anywhere else.
112 out of 130 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Nicole Kidman rules!
overthetop1015 August 2001
If I had to sum up this movie in a word, it would be "chilling." The Others is a delightfully atmospheric suspense film. It's tense, scary, and very memorable -- I don't think I'll ever forget the image of a terrified Nicole Kidman clutching her rosary beads around her shotgun as she tears down the halls of her dreadful Victorian mansion.

Writer/director/composer Alejandro Amenabar creates a dark, dark atmosphere, in which you feel like you can't trust anyone. Nicole Kidman, in her brilliant performance as Grace, is supposedly the "heroine" of the film, but as I watched the movie I found myself more frightened of her than rooting for her; steely and overbearing, with a hint of psychotic hysteria in her icy eyes. And then the children, (held their own and even stole a few scenes from the more experienced players) were just hellishly creepy. The little girl was one of the most ominous characters I have ever seen in a film. And the servants (who were also finely played) will keep you guessing the whole way through. Every time you think you have it figured out, some of the household help will pop up and throw the whole framework off-kilter.

The real attraction in this film is Nicole Kidman, following up her bravura performance as Satine in "Moulin Rouge" with a woman teetering between insanity and iron control. Grace has so many layers, and Kidman reveals almost all of them through her face. The film is anchored by her presence, and she plays off the other actors extremely well -- note the tense relationship she has with Anne, her daughter. When the two lock eyes, it's like watching two trains crash head-first into one another.

The only disappointment in this movie is the ending, which is slightly anti-climactic. When you get to it, you'll be satisfied, and it ties up everything that's happened in the movie up to that point quite well. But it seemed almost anti-climactic, and I was left feeling a little bit let down.

Overall, I gave The Others a 9/10.
126 out of 151 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Perfect.... a master at work
BermudezLievano26 November 2001
Alejandro Amenábar is a very young and talented director, born in Chile and raised in Spain. He revolutionized Spanish cinema when he arrived on the scene with Thesis, at only 24 years of age. The came Abre los ojos, a very powerful second film that immediately put him aside some of the leading directors there, like Pedro Almodóvar, Carlos Saura, or Fernando Trueba. The others is only his third film and you can now see a hint of who may become one of the best around in a couple of years (he's only 29).

The best comparison I can make of this film is to a piece of clockwork. Precise, exact, nothing is gratuitous or excessive.... What a subtle charm this film works on you as a spectator. The screenplay is one of the best of this genre I have seen in the last few years, very carefully revised and misleading, yet at the end everything makes perfect sense, not the mention on the second time you watch it.

It is true that many of the film's features and details may be traced to classic films of the genre, but there is nothing wrong with that. The director himself said it was an homage to directors like Alfred Hitchcock (to whom he has been compared somewhat prematurely.... he may reach such height but he still has a long road to walk). That is one of the great things about the film; it takes the best of the genre, the best that has been made by the best directors... it's a film lover's delight.

I had never thought Nicole Kidman could have been at the height of the project, as I really have never considered her a great actress. All I can say is I am still dumbfounded by her extraordinary performance... really, a large percentage of the film's success can be related to her. Sober and discreet when needed, yet grand all the same... It does remind some of the most elegant names of classic Hollywood cinema like the Bette Davis of All about Eve or the Katharine Hepburn of The African queen. But it would be really selfish to give her all the credit when she was supported by an extraordinary cast. Fionnula Flanagan (the sweet old lady from Waking Ned Devine) is trully magnificent as the governess, Mrs. Mills, and very surprising performances of a mute and an old gardener are given by Elaine Cassidy and Eric Sykes. The children (Alakina Mann and James Bentley) are also fantastic.

Finally, I cannot but mention the crew of the film. It is even a more fantastic job when you consider that the film (many people don't realize this) is chiefly a Spanish production. The production design by Benjamín Fernández and specially the cinematography by Javier Aguirresarobe are extraordinary. Just as in the best painting of figures like Goya or Rembrandt, light and shadow reveal the objects and the people.

I do not hesitate to say that this is really one of the best films of the year 2001. I am still waiting to watch Le fabuleux destin d'Amélie Poulain, La stanza del figlio, The shipping news, The hours and Italiensk for begyndere, but I know it will remain amongst those at the top. A 10/10 is really fair for a film that has it all, a perfect machinery that arrives at a time when we seriously need intelligent films and not blockbuster deceptions. I can only say I hope its director won't jump to Hollywood in search of big-time projects that waste his potential.

It is a film to feast on.. to savour, to enjoy, to remember....
183 out of 227 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Suspenseful, stylish horror film ***/****
LtCol_Kilgore26 September 2001
The others ***/****

"The Others" is a suspenseful horror film unlike many these days. Most are concerned with blood and gore, teenage girls getting naked, body count, and not scary. "The Others" is atmospheric, spooky, bloodless, and carried by strong acting and fleshed out characters. Yet, it takes too long to make an impact and the final payoff is not as shocking as it should be.

The plot is simple and not especially innovative (your average ghost story), but it seems fresh thanks to strong acting and a well-crafted, eerie atmosphere that rivals that of a Tim Burton film. Nicole Kidman is Grace, a beautiful young married mother who must raise her two children, Anne (Alakina Mann) and Nicholas (James Bentley) alone in their gigantic (actually, ridiculously large) mansion on a British isle, around the end of WWII. They are alone, for the husband and father has been at war and has not returned, and their housekeepers mysteriously vanished. Suddenly, a trio of friendly caretakers arrive one day. Mrs. Mills (Fionnula Flanagan) is the amiable old lady, Lydia (Elaine Cassidy) is a mute young girl, and Mr. Tuttle (Eric Sykes) is the not-so-social gardener. However, there is a strange, arcane facet to the trio; they have little background and had no way of knowing that Grace was offering positions at her manor. Aside from this, Grace must deal with her children, who have a deadly allergy to light, which means that the house must be dark all the time, allowing for a spooky dark, shadowy ambience. Anna and Nicholas, most importantly, have been visited - by a family of ghosts. Noises - crying, piano music, and running - have been heard. And curtains that stop light from entering the house are opening and closing by themselves. The film is based around Grace's efforts to solve the enigma.

I love the atmosphere of "The Others," set in a nostalgic and ominous 1940's estate. Snowy mist blankets the grass and crisp fall leaves. Murky waters of a lake border the chateau. Elegant furniture, polished marble and wood floors, neatly-woven blankets, tautly fabricated furnishings of wood and olive green cloth, coal black German sedans, lightly wrinkled sweaters and jackets are all seemingly authentic from the era. One spectacular and tense scene has Grace haplessly stumbling through an impenetrably thick ocean of milky fog that weaves through overhanging trees and a ground of crunchy bronze and russet leaves.

The action takes a while to get started up, which is a major negative. This is due to the director, Amenabar, spending time to develop an involving plot, 3-D characters, and the aforementioned décor. While Amenabar succeeds in those respects, we find ourselves wishing something would happen. Many people will easily become bored, feel tempted to sleep or leave, etc., but I, while not exactly enthralled by that point in the film, was still enjoying it.

When we finally are treated to doses of suspense and chills (not so much horror and terror), it is satisfying. You most likely will find yourself on the edge of your seat or huddled in a ball anxiously awaiting the potentially fatal results of Grace's investigation. This is not so much because you care about her character, but really because you expect a sudden scream and heart-stopping outburst of maniacal ghosts. Most scenes are chilling, including the door shutting in the piano room, the old lady in the white dress, and the final chaotic conclusion. However, I can not say that I was truly horrified and paranoid from this film, unlike "The Sixth Sense," where I was freaked out for months. I was still very entertained.

I must commend all the actors in the film, especially Nicole Kidman. The acting was down to earth and realistic, despite Nicole Kidman forced into saying some foolish lines ("Something.. Diabolical!). The two child actors, Mann and Bentley, were excellent in a fairly difficult role for children.

Another important downside to the film was the "shocking" conclusion. While I must admit that I found it brilliant, it lacked the powerful punch I wish it had. I don't know why this is, it just isn't. I am disappointed at how much potential the ending could have packed and how little it did.

Overall, I found "The Others" a highly entertaining thriller with magnetic milieus and plenty of startles.
96 out of 122 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
They Are Here, Invisible, but Here.
nycritic10 May 2005
Warning: Spoilers
The Stewart household is a strange one. An isolated house in the Isle of Jersey, it's constantly enveloped in thick, blue fog, all doors must remain closed, and drapes block the sunlight because the children suffer from an illness in which they are extremely sensitive to it. Grace Stewart (Nicole Kidman, finally coming to her own in a story worthy of her talents), wakes up one morning screaming from what may have been a nightmare. Three strangers arrive to the house and they tell Grace they are replying for her request for domestic help -- and almost immediately, though subtly, strange events begin happening and it slowly becomes clear that there are other unseen, unwanted people occupying their quarters. This only becomes more evident when Grace discovers, to her horror, that these servants are more than what they seem to and that her own reality is not what she believes it to be.

Alejandro Amenabar had already caught the attention of Tom Cruise who produced and starred in his own remake of OPEN YOUR EYES, which gave Cameron Diaz a nomination for Best Supporting Actress, and here he establishes himself for the American movie going public with his follow-up. Again going for clever storytelling -- even if it takes a while to take off -- and relying on atmosphere rather than on expensively produced special effects, it's a showcase for Nicole Kidman who carries the entire film on her shoulders and who conveys furious determination to protect her household and absolute terror at the unknown forces against her with intense verve. Fionulla Flannagan and Christopher Eccleston provide some interesting foils to her dominant presence, but the real star is the film itself, who never goes for a quick cheat to fabricate its denouement (diametrically opposed to what M. Night Shyamalan's style where the twist is everything). Already a contemporary classic, it will go down in cinema history as an updated take on THE HAUNTING, with more finely tuned performances, even darker atmosphere, and a rising sense of dread.
31 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Brilliant!!
bettajosh16 February 2019
Can't say much without it spoiling the movie! Rating 9 because a lot of it moved a bit slowly but I guess that was all for a reason!

Movie was fantastic but the ending was even better!!

Definitely worth a watch! If you get bored by any chance, stick through it, trust me!!
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
What a twist!!! Scary to the last moments, specially at the last moments
Kyle00711 March 2005
First of all, i have to say that this year (2001) is the one that established Nicole Kidman as a superstar, she was an "A" actress, but here she became "A+", first and mainly with Moulin Rouge and then with this superb movie, i have to say that i saw a few people who gave this great movie a 10, i rate it with a 10 only because there is nothing higher, but i'm sure it deserves a lot of credit.

And i have also seen many people complaining of the "borrowed storyline" (Comparing "the others" with "Sixth sense"), bah they touch the same topic of life (and death actually), but this one has a more religious view, and makes you think a lot about that.

Nicole did a great job in this movie, nobody can't deny it, her role as a lovely but at moments almost gone crazy mother of 2 was a dualistic and strange thing that fitted perfectly well in the story. All the supporting actors did a great performance as well.

The plot, the plot, i think it couldn't have been better, i don't want to tell you anything about it, so you can have the surprise i had when i first saw it, but the best of all is that you are almost as surprised the first time you see it than the second, and the third, and the fourth...... You just want to see it again, because you experience a feeling that only a few, but a few few movies give you; a strong chill crosses your whole body, it is fear, but you like it anyway, it is a fear that awakes curiosity, curiosity for what is happening next...

And what a spectacular, but necessary addition is the environment of the movie: an old mansion at the times of War world II, permanent darkness and haze, dead-like servants, photosensitive children so that the house had to be kept in an absolute darkness, no electric light........could it be more scary?? I don't think so.

And by the way, this is a proof that a movie doesn't need amazing special effects, even more, i think this movie doesn't even have special effects, it is all in the way the story is told, nothing more....and nothing less, something that seems to be hard these days.........

But i'll stop talking, if you are reading my comment, just stop and go to your nearer video shop and buy it, or rent it at least..........you won't be disappointed..............believe me.
57 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A throwback to the great spooky Gothic films
FilmOtaku6 November 2004
Rarely does a scary film come around that isn't schlocky and obvious. 'The Others', directed by the great Alejandro Amenabar (Abre los Ojos) is a stylish, spooky and fun film to watch that doesn't cheapen itself like so many in the genre. It is 1947 on the island of Jersey in England, and Grace (Nicole Kidman) is the mother of two small children, Charles (Christopher Eccleston) and Anne (Alakina Mann) who are allergic to the sunlight, so they are not allowed to go outside. Moreover, any room they are in has to be locked with the curtains shut, a cumbersome task in their mansion with its 50 doors. Mysteriously, the mansion's staff left the week before, which precipitates the arrival of three new servants; a gardener and two housekeepers who are promptly hired. Further complicating matters is the fact that Anne keeps talking to an unseen child, and unexplained footsteps, opened curtains and doors opening and shutting are starting to wear thin on the already uber-fragile Grace, until the occurrences threaten their lives.

With 'The Others', Amenabar gives us a truly spooky and stylish thriller. The foggy atmosphere outside of the mansion, the dark rooms lit by candles within the house, both of these are just many of the beautiful stylistic areas of the film. Kidman is great as the incredibly brittle and mentally frayed Grace. While she puts on a cool, haughty façade, the circumstances she finds herself in are clearly eating away at her sanity. The actors who play her children are actually quite good themselves, particularly Alakina Mann, who holds her own in her confrontational scenes with Kidman and others. The screenplay, also written by Amenabar is quite intelligent, and if you haven't heard the 'twist' at the end, it is pretty ingenious. It is ingenious and well-written regardless, but the impact upon discovery is pretty decent.

'The Others' is not a phenomenal film by any means, but it is a refreshing change from the standard thriller/suspense fare, because it adds a truly intelligent and stylish bent to the genre. Other than children, (obviously) this film can be recommended to pretty much anyone, as long as they don't expect it to be the frenetic, jump-cut fest that is so prevalent nowadays. 'The Others' takes its time to get to its reveal, and it is worth every minute. 7/10

Shelly
70 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Before the death, inside the illusion
Vincentiu24 December 2006
Warning: Spoilers
What is the death? What is the fear who make this sleep a huge problem? This movie do not presents a way to understand the future life or the secret of another world. This film talk about the knowledge and the innocence. About an inside solitude and the words of this empty space. Grace Steward is the perfect mother and a perfect wife. But his perfection is his fundamental sin. The fear and the waiting, the love and the sacrifice spirit. Like the Old Lady she believes in the reality and must protect his personal world of the dangerous contacts. The house is a grave, but his silence is the honest price for live. The rooms are cells but this is only way to save the essential. The sick of children is a wall for a good protection. Bertha Mills and his companions are not only the enemy, guides or strangers. They are the end of waiting. The killers of the Grace's reality. The death is yours master piece. And the verdict- a word of children's lesson.
23 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fairly decent and original concept.
Manthorpe23 January 2004
I'll have to admit that I put off watching this movie despite being told by several friends that it was pretty good and worth checking out. That's mostly because "scary" movies usually turn out to be nothing but crap riddled, cheap thrill fests with terrible acting by actors just looking for their next handout...not to mention directors that care nothing about the progress of their careers. That and the slew of B- horror/thriller movies that seemed to come out very close together along with this movie made me a little apprehensive. However, I was pleasantly surprised.

First off, I'd like to say that I have yet to see The Sixth Sense, so I cannot comment on any similarities between the two films that I have heard exist.

Grace (Kidman) and her two young photosensitive (X.P.) children live in a sprawling old house together in England in the 1940's and await the return of their father and husband who went off to fight the Germans in WWII. As a result of the children's very rare and dangerous skin condition, all of the house's curtains must be shut during the day and all of the doors must be closed and locked to prevent any accidental solar exposure to the children. Despite the warnings from her children and new found servants, strange things begin to happen in the house which Grace chooses not to accept or investigate...partly because of her zealous religious beliefs which leave her closed minded and ignorant to things outside her psychological realm of thinking. Sooner or later, she will have to come to terms with what's going on...

Kidman's acting is admirable in this movie, and although I usually have a hard time enjoying her films, I felt she did a very decent job here. I think she was born to play a stubborn, hard nosed, uptight tart, and that's not necessarily a bad thing. I especially enjoyed the acting performances from both of the children. Both are talented child actors and were definitely helped by the script which captured what it's like to be a child. I was constantly reminded of my own childhood amongst the belittling and teasing between the two, and of course the naive and adorable fears. The film is shot beautifully and has a lot of atmosphere, partly due to the fact that since the children are photosensitive, the house must always be dark, and the director definitely likes to play with that. There's something else that helps the film's atmosphere as well, the fog, which obviously adds to the general spookiness. But I'll leave that one alone as it plays an important role herein. The score helps as well, and is well placed and executed.

Overall, I found this to be a very respectable and enjoyable film in almost all respects, and I no longer consider Kidman a pretty face begging for nude scenes. I felt it was very well thought out, and if it weren't for a minor plothole involving Grace's husband, I would have ranked it higher.

Easily a solid 8/10.
73 out of 104 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of The Best and the Most Original Ghost Stories of Haunted House Ever Made
claudio_carvalho8 January 2012
In 1945, in Jersey, Channel Islands, the widow Grace Stewart (Nicole Kidman) lives in a lonely old house with her daughter Anne (Alakina Mann) and her son Nicholas (James Bentley). Grace lost her beloved husband Charles (Christopher Eccleston) in the World War II and their children are photosensitive and Grace keeps the curtains and the doors closed to protect Anne and Nicholas against the sunlight. Grace raises her children with strict discipline and following religious principles.

Grace hires the strange housekeeper Mrs. Bertha Mills (Fionnula Flanagan), the mute maid Lydia (Elaine Cassidy) and the gardener Mr. Edmund Tuttle (Eric Sykes) that have asked for a job. Out of the blue, mysterious things happen in the mansion and Anne claims that there is a boy named Viktor that visits them. Grace unsuccessfully seeks out the intruders until the day she has a revelation about the house and its intruders.

"The Others" is one of the best and the most original ghost stories of haunted house ever made (the best is actually "Haunted"). Nobody can guess the final plot point that has one of the best twists of the cinema history. I saw "The Others" for the first time on 28 June 2002 and today, almost ten years later, I have enjoyed almost the same way I did in 2002.

This is the third film made by the excellent Alejandro Amenábar, who is the director, writer and composer. The plot is very well disclosed and the entire cast has magnificent performances. Nicole Kidman is very beautiful before her plastic surgery of the nose and has a top-notch performance. My vote is ten.

Title (Brazil): "Os Outros" ("The Others")
16 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
remarkable
Kirpianuscus29 July 2018
After each occasion when I saw, I define it as masterpiece. sure, many explanations. but something is real impressive - the plot. the science to explore each emotion, expectation, thrill, supposition about story, characters and end. the performances are more than beautiful. the atmosphere - you feel it . the tension - real embroidery. the great good point - it is a film about yourself. about fears, certitudes and appearances. and that does it a magnificent film. and more. a remarkable masterpiece.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Rather Effective
Theo Robertson13 January 2005
I watched THE OTHERS simply because Christopher Eccleston in it , a future DOCTOR WHO in a scary movie , now this I've got to see , but to be honest Eccleston's role is little more than cameo while the always consistent Nicole Kidman isn't the real star of the movie - It's writer/director Alejandro Amenabar

From the opening shots where the servants arrive at Grace Stewart's house I had the story pegged as to where it was going . Grace is an absolute nutter isn't she ? But then the story twists and turns a little and then I thought she might be a victim , I mean these servants ... But the story keeps twisting along nicely so that the script is one step ahead of the audience . There is a slight problem though if you're familiar to Amenabar's work , especially ABRE LOS OJOS and that is that he's a master of the shock twist ending and I thought with the appearance of Eccleston's Charles Stewart half way through the movie I had the story sussed . I actually did work out how he fitted into the story and was correct in guessing his fate but I never believed in what the twist ending was so well done Senor Amenabar

There is a problem with this type of story and THE OTHERS is no different in that respect - You can only enjoy the movie once since you know the shock twist at the end when you see it a second , third , fourth time and there's another very successful film ( No clues but you'll know the one I'm talking about after you see this ) that has the same idea which means comparison's are inevitable , but it's difficult to compare to one another . Certainly THE OTHERS has a more creepy atmosphere and probably a better pace and cast with special mention going to Alakina Mann as Anna who plays her role as a totally convincing horrid brat , nice to know Amenabar has resisted the temptation to portray the children as sugery sweet little cherubs which is often the case in Hollywood movies , you might not believe this but THE OTHERS in fact is a Spanish film
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
perfect suspense movie
ankitbbd12 February 2016
Story-A woman who lives in a darkened old house with her two photosensitive children becomes convinced that her family home is haunted.

The others is surely one of the best suspense movie ever made.Story is the uniqueness and hero of the movie.

Full marks to Alejandro Amenábar for writing and directing such a wonderful movie and that too without any action scene.

Nicole Kidman played role of a mother who loves her children and is perfect in her role.This may be her best movie.Both children were also good.Rest of the actors also provided the exact efforts that was required by them.

Movie may seem little slow in the starting but suspense movie needs to build characters and story otherwise audience may not digest the conclusion of the movie.

Just watch this movie as a regular drama horror movie and by the time this movie is finished , you will be a fan of this movie.

Overall this movie can be watched again and again and is a must watch(especially for suspense thriller lovers).

I give this movie 10/10
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Nicole is two for two
WiseJoeyD4 November 2001
Warning: Spoilers
Nicole Kidman is a lucky girl. She's got two great movies out there. All in the space of a year and both showcasing her ample talent. The Others in particular, while devoid of OTT performances, costumes and sing along songs, will appeal to a lot of people. People who enjoyed 'Sixth Sense' in particular will enjoy it, and those who're into ‘X-Files' will surely enjoy this too. However, it isn't a slasher thriller, with some ditzy teenagers running around a school chased by a homicidal fisherman. No, it's much more intelligent and, to me, seemed a far slicker movie than even 'Sixth Sense'

It's focus is on a family, after the war, living in an old mansion (prime ghost story location! Why can't they have a nice semi detached?!). The children are photosensitive and the house must be kept in darkness and this creates an imposing atmosphere from the off. The characters, including the mother played by Kidman, seem to have more to them than we are led to believe at the start. There are noises in the house, the children say they've seen people walking around, the mother seems to on the edge and about to break, and all the while, the creepy atmosphere grows and grows.

It's strength lies in the fact that it doesn't simply throw the characters into scary situations, (e.g. some man chasing them around the house) to get a reaction from the audience. It instead creates a sense of dread. The director uses the camera and sound to merely suggest what's there. The viewer's mind is allowed to make up the rest (and is much more effective than several million dollars of special effects). The sound of whispering in an empty room, or the haunting sound of a piano playing from a locked room. And having creepy maids and gardeners puts the audience at unease, trying to second guess if they're good, bad or evil.

The story takes a lot of dramatic twists and turns. And in the end, everything is, to paraphrase one of the characters, "...Changed. It'll never be the same again." The conclusion is one to rival 'Sixth Sense'. You're feelings are towards the characters are completely different, and "The Others" of the title are not who you'd have thought they were.

The mother is, of course, the main focus of the story. Treading, it would seem, a fine line between exploding, and being ready to give up. At first, it seems sure fire who's good, and who's bad. But then you feel a growing antipathy towards some characters, and to a certain extent, the mother. In the end, though, you only feel extremely sorry and sad for the characters, yet angry at some of them too.

This movie, along with ‘Moulin Rouge' was a pleasure to see (well, it was a pleasure in hindsight. It was definitely in the `too engrossed to move' range when I was in the middle of watching it) and I would recommend it to anyone (except those with baby's or heart conditions)
15 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
No one can make us leave this house.
Spikeopath30 May 2011
The Others is directed and written by Alejandro Amenábar. It stars Nicole Kidman, Fionnula Flanagan, Christopher Eccleston, Elaine Cassidy, Eric Sykes, Alakina Mann & James Bentley. Amenábar also scores the music and the cinematography is by Javier Aguirresarobe. Plot sees Kidman as Grace Stewart, the mother of two children who have an allergy to sunlight. With her husband still missing in action during WWII, Grace and the children reside in a remote mansion on the isle of Jersey. When one day a trio of house servants turn up looking to fill the vacancies at the mansion, it coincides with strange supernatural occurrences around the home. Are the children being mischievous? Is Grace losing her mind? Or is there indeed something not of this world at work?

The haunted house creeper has had a number of film version tellings over the years. A different kind of horror film, it's a sub-genre that relies on suggestion and atmospheric shocks instead of rampant blood letting. The Others is one of the finest of its type, a wonderfully crafted chiller that thrives on old fashioned values to deliver its scares. The set up is standard formula stuff, a big gloomy mansion that's nice and remote with rolling gardens and finds itself often cloaked by impenetrable fog. A couple of cherubic kids, classically inviting creepy activity, and servants that have foreboding written all over their respective foreheads. Throw into the pot the lonely female trying to hold her self together as things threaten to unhinge the family bond, and it's so far so formulaic. But Amenábar, for his English language debut, has a great sense of mood and pacing, slowly unwinding the coil to reveal a sense of impending doom, playing it out amongst eerie sounds and deft camera movements about the house. That the kiddies have a light sensitive problem gives Amenábar the perfect excuse to keep the whole thing dimly lit: to great eerie effect.

With unease in place and the small band of characters firmly established, the other key element of the film starts to kick in, namely the mystery element. Just what exactly is going on here? The children, excellently played by débutantes Mann & Bentley, garner much sympathy, but at the same time we suspect they might be at fault for the ghostly activity. The servants are led by the officious looking, but gently spoken, Bertha Mills (Flanagan superb), you sense something isn't quite right but all cards are played close to the chest so as to not reveal anything. So much so that when the reveal does come, it's a doozy, firmly rounding out The Others as a classic of its type. The trump card here, tho, is Kidman. Pale faced and cold to the eye, she nails the plummy English accent whilst turning in a classic performance of a repressed woman battling against-it seems-everything and everyone. Following in the footsteps of Deborah Kerr and Julie Harris, Kidman's ability to make Grace's mental disintegration believable marks it out as one of the best horror sub-genre performances ever.

Suspense, scares and some tricks up its sleeve, The Others is every inch a quality bit of psychological horror. 9/10
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
"The others said they wouldn't. But they did." Warning: Spoilers
Imagine: Someone makes a scary thriller...and it actually has a BRAIN! Well, maybe I'm exaggerating, because some other thrillers do. Take "The Sixth Sense" or "Vanilla Sky" for instance. They had plots, and made you think. But take, say, "House on Haunted Hill" (the remake)? Blood. Sex. Gore. Bad special effects. Scares? A real plot? Any reason for making the movie whatsoever besides cheap thrills and money? I think not. "The Others" isn't gross at all. The character development is good, and the musical score and sound is outstanding. And Nicole Kidman gives one of her best performances to date.

Kidman is Grace, a prim, religious 1940's mother with two photosensitive children, Anne and Nicholas. Every day, instead of school, the children study the Bible by candlelight. (By the way, the setting for the story is great, too. Almost the entire film is shot inside the beautiful but very dark house.) At the beginning, three mysterious servants come to work at the house--even though the advertisement Grace meant to send out never got mailed. This is because, they say, the servants worked in the house before.

Soon, Anne begins mentioning Victor, a boy that assumingly keeps talking to her. While at first it looks like a good plan to scare Nicholas, eventually Grace hears noises in the abandoned room upstairs. The old forbidden piano starts playing after the children and servants are asleep, and even though a door isn't supposed to be opened without the previous one being closed first, Grace keeps seeing the door behind her in the corner of her eye open.

This might not sound interesting or scary, but you have to see it. The setup for each sudden, frightening moment is about three-quarters of what really scares you, and that's true for most other movies, too. I probably shouldn't go on with the plot, because this is one of the only movies where just one little spoiler ruins the entire movie.

"The Others" is also probably the only movie that scares you out of your wits every time, not just the first time, and at the same time doesn't give you nightmares for weeks. Probably because none of the scary images are really enough to stick in your head.

The children, Alakina Mann and James Bentley, are excellent young actors, especially James Bentley. He deserves the Young Artist Award he received for this picture, no question about it, and Alakina Mann deserves her nomination.

I hate to break it to you fans of gory thrillers, but blood and guts just aren't scary. Sure, they're gross, but they're more hokey than frightening, and it looks as if the filmmakers haven't got anything better to lengthen the movie with, like actual content. Movies like "The Others" really deserve praise for using things important to the plot, or at least explaining them at the end. I recommend this to anyone who's in the mood for a good scare without the gore.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Creepy movie builds taut by showing virtually eerie images , unsettling score and evocative cinematography
ma-cortes5 January 2014
Thrilling and surprising story full of chills , plot twists , intrigue and excitement . The movie opens with Nicole Kidman, in voice-over, reading a story. She begins with the words, "Now children, are you sitting comfortably? Then I'll begin." As a woman named Grace Stewart who lives in a darkened old house with her two photosensitive (it is very strange with roughly a thousand people in the world that have it) children (the disease they have is an actual disease known as Xeroderma Pigmentosum). Grace , whose husband (Christopher Eccleston) has never returned from the war , becomes convinced that her family home (the house - supposedly on the island of Jersey - is actually located in the north of Spanish , in Las Fraguas , Cantabria , Palace of Hornillos) haunted while overprotecting her two young children (Alakina Mann and James Bentley were cast after an intensive search that encompassed 5,000 children). They will live alone there with oppressive, rare and almost religious rules , until she needs to hire a group of servants (Eric Sykes as Mr. Edmund Tuttle , Elaine Cassidy as Lydia and Fionnula Flanagan as Mrs. Bertha Mills) for them .

The motion picture displays genuine chills , suspense, mystery and dark atmosphere with a twisted finale . Packs excellent creation of tension , thriller , emotions and terror . It's an exciting , bizarre film ; skillfully written and proceeded by Alejandro Amenabar and turns out to one of the most unusual Spaniard suspense movie ever made and certainly one of the most unsettling .The basis for this movie is an episode of the British series 'Armchair Theatre' called 'The Others' made in 1970 and remade as a movie called 'Voices' in 1972 , this version is more elaborate but the story is the same. ¨Los Otros¨ comes from a peculiar cross-section of production cultures ; it stars an Australian woman playing an Englishwoman ; it was written and directed by a Spaniard, backed by Americans, set in Jersey but filmed in Spain. Plenty of twists and turns , the strange images deliver the excitement united a thrilling musical score by the same Alejandro Amenabar . He along with screenwriter Mateo Gil appear in one of the photographs of dead people . Furthermore , Alejandro also wrote the interesting plot , embarking into the phantasmagorical, psychological or even quasi-surrealist story . Intelligent edition, special use of luxurious sets by Benjamin Fernandez and slick utilization of shock images make this one, a magnificent film . Colorful and glowing cinematography by Javier Aguirresarobe which heightens the suspense . This was the first film ever to receive the Best Film Award at the Goyas (Spain's national film awards) with not a single word of Spanish spoken in it and his film went on after its release , to become Spain's biggest grossing domestic film of all time. The film opened in the US at number 4 in the box office charts and stayed around that figure for its initial run. Seven weeks into release it actually climbed up to the number 2 spot.

The picture was very well directed by Amenabar in his third movie, after he achieved various hits . Since his perhaps best-known early short-film "Himenóptero" in 1992, in which he directed , produced, acted and wrote the script and the music, Amenábar progressed and reached his first commercial success in 1996 with "Thesis", Amenabar was 23 when he directed this his feature debut , a film which undoubtedly showed that a major new director had arrived on the scene . And ¨Abre Los Ojos¨ that was remade in Hollywood by Cameron Crowe as Vanilla Sky (2001), starring Tom Cruise who in ¨The others¨ was executive producer along with Paula Wagner and this marked the last collaboration between Cruise and Nicole Kidman prior to their divorce . ¨Los Otros¨ (2001) was released a few months prior to Vanilla Sky (2001), the American remake of 'Alejandro Amenabár''s Abre Los Ojos (1997). Ironically, it starred Nicole Kidman's then estranged husband Tom Cruise . "Los Otros" confirmed his arrival in the cinematographic world and is Amenábar's first English language film and was the highest grossing Spanish film in the all-time worldwide box office history . In all his films Alejandro also writes the script and the music, as well as composing the music for other films , most notably "Butterflies tongue" (1999). He subsequently directed ¨Mar Adentro¨ with the Oscarized Javier Bardem and finally the epic/historical ¨Agora¨ with Rachel Weisz . Rating : Better than average . Essential and indispensable watching .
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
we all may be assuming the wrong thing about ourselves
lee_eisenberg16 February 2007
At the beginning of "The Others" we get introduced to housewife Grace Stewart (Nicole Kidman) living with her photosensitive children on the island of Jersey during World War II. They can't leave the island as the Nazi submarines have it surrounded. Then, ghostly things begin to happen in the house, and the children say that some other people are living in the house. As time passes, Grace gets more and more desperate and angrily starts carrying a rifle around. And then...it turns out that we've been assuming the wrong thing the whole time.

This movie probably makes a more interesting use of light and dark than any other movie (at least that I can think of). Every scene's contrast makes you think that something terrible is about to happen. Some people have compared this movie to "The Sixth Sense", and I would call that a legitimate analogy. Not only is there the horror factor, but also how the main character is forced to reassess everything that s/he has known...and then we find out the truth. Kidman, whose roles often seem a little too glamorous, here makes your blood freeze and displays a menacing face without even trying.

Overall, I do recommend this one. Just see whether or not you totally trust yourself after watching this.
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Should have been Nicole kidman's Oscar nominated role
StreepFan12631 October 2002
For the year 2001, Nicole Kidman recieved an Oscar nomination for her role in the very overrated movie "Moulin Rouge." I thought that her performance in this ghost thriller was by far one of the best performances I have ever seen that year. It reminded me of Ellen Burstyn's performance in "The Exorcist." In fact, the entire film was greatly overlooked at the Academy Awards. A must for your Halloween library!
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Horror at its best
cosmic_quest19 October 2007
At a time when horror films constitute silly teenagers blindly wandering into danger and unnecessary gore, 'The Others' is like a breath of fresh air. It goes back to the roots of the horror genre, employing an eerie atmosphere and mysterious characters to conjure the chilly backbone of the film.

'The Others' is set in the Forties and revolves around staunchly Catholic Grace Stewart, who lives in an old mansion located on the island of Jersey with her highly photo-sensitive children ten-year-old Anne and six-year-old Nicholas. The house is almost permanently entrenched in darkness, in deference to the children's condition, and Grace's husband is lost in war, only enhancing the sense of gloom to the story. One morning, three servants mysteriously turn up at the door of the Stewart mansion, despite Grace having not yet advertised the posts, to replace the previous servants who had suddenly left their posts a week earlier. Anne then begins to maintain the house is haunted, her deduction supported by the fact locked doors left ajar, closed curtains suddenly being found opened and furniture moving when there's no-one in the room. Grace, deeply ingrained in her religious belief that ghosts don't exist, initially refuses to believe her daughter but soon she questions her faith as she can't deny there is something ominous about the house...

Nicole Kidman gives an excellent performance as the almost cold and aloof Grace, who does love her children dearly even if she doesn't always show it openly. Fionnula Flanagan, Eric Sykes and Elaine Cassidy, as the three servants, are suitably mysterious by showing they seem to know more than they let on, leaving viewers questioning their motives from the start. But it is the young child actors, Alakina Mann and James Bentley, who steal the show as Anne and Nicholas. Despite their age and inexperience, both children given first-class depictions of their characters, showing their isolation thanks to their medical conditions and their reliance on one another despite typical sibling discord at times. Mann, in particular, excels in portraying the stubborn nature of Anne and her precarious relationship with her mother. It is a shame this child never continued her acting career because she is a credit to young British acting.

'The Others' is a subtle horror films for those sick of cheap Hollywood horror flicks and are seeking interesting characters and an intelligent plot. While there are no special effects or buckets of blood in this film, in the tradition of 'The Exorcist' and 'The Devil's Backbone', it instead relies upon more old-fashion methods of frightening the audience, which are far more effective. The story is well-paced, leaving the audience guessing what is happening and what the characters' motives are right to the end.

This film has to be one of the best horror films I've ever seen and puts many films in the horror genre to shame. I highly recommend it to those who appreciate the value of suspense and a good fright.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Haunting of Roger Ackroyd
tedg31 August 2001
Warning: Spoilers
Spoilers herein.

The first thing to decide when creating an intelligent film is who the camera is.

We start out here with one identity and discover that we actually have another. This is a well known if rarely pulled trick in the mystery genre. Films like this are essentially mysteries, following all of the important rules. That makes them more engaging because the viewer engages in a game with the writer (and her surrogate the actor) to outwit each other.

The filmmaker here is very intelligent in leveraging this by exploiting Kidman's rather hypnotizing, slowly incubating terror.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed