Beyond the Prairie: The True Story of Laura Ingalls Wilder (Video 1999) - Plot Summary Poster


Showing all 2 items
Jump to:


  • A version of the "Little House" stories that cover some of the events that take place in the last three books of the series and the book "The First Four Years" Laura is living on the prairie nere De Smet, South Dakota and eventually meets the man that she will marry, Almanzo Wilder. Life, however, is not easy on the prairie and after a crop lost to hail, the loss of their baby son, the burning down of their house, and a terrible bout of diptheria, the Wilders must make some hard choices about how to move on from the tragedies.

  • More true to Wilder's famed Little House books than the old TV series, this time out we first meet Laura as an 1880s teenager, living on the South Dakota prairie with her Pa, Ma, and three sisters. She has to endure the hard prairie life, which includes teaching at a school she does not enjoy, blizzards, fires, failing crops, and death. However, she survives on the strong love within her family and the romance that blooms when she meets Almanzo Wilder.


  • It looks like we don't have a Synopsis for this title yet.
    Be the first to contribute! Just click the "Edit page" button at the bottom of the page or learn more in the Synopsis submission guide.

See also

Taglines | Synopsis | Plot Keywords | Parents Guide

Contribute to This Page

Recently Viewed