Casper Meets Wendy (Video 1998) Poster

(1998 Video)

User Reviews

Review this title
27 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
A Kids Movie
bluzman14 February 2004
As I started to read the prior comment, I thought I had accidentally brought up comments on Titanic or Gladiator.

Actually, I found this mildly amusing, It didn't have that humor/storyline for everyone of a Shrek or Nemo, but that is okay. Not every Kid's Movie has to appeal to the whole family. Since this is a Kid's Movie, and I don't like to rate/inflict adult standards onto purely Kid's Movies outside of appropriateness -- message, if any; language and type of action, etc. The whole thing boils down to "How did the kids react to it?"

Well, the kids liked it a lot. And at the bottom line, when the day is done, that is what counts when you rent or take your kids to see a Kid's Movie. That being said, I am not interested in the complexity of plot lines, holes in story or academy award quality performances.

The kids say 7, and that is good enough for me.
18 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
What a surprise! Fun, fun, fun!
gwshogi31 September 2005
I rented this for my four-year-old son from our local public library. As the third Casper film, and a direct-to-video release (the only advertising I remember was on cereal boxes), I wasn't expecting much from this little venture, but I was delightfully surprised. I actually sat and watched the whole thing, and the climax is quite suspenseful. A great cast, some witty writing, and fine performances by George Hamilton as the villainous arch-warlock Desmond Spellman (am I the only one who thinks this is a dig at Aaron Spelling?), Richard Moll, Vincent SchiavelliĀ—and the three adult witches, Shelly Duval, Teri Garr and Cathy Moriarty. The CGI ghosts are well done.

But the biggest surprise of all is Hilary Duff's sparkling performance as Wendy. Based on all the ditzy teen idol crap she did later-- rolling her eyes and huffing every thirty seconds as "Lizzy McGuire" and singing those plastic pop tunes--I expected her to just float around on her broom and look cute. But this is the best acting I've ever seen her do. I can hardly believe it's the same person. She's a delightful little bundle of energy, delivers her lines intelligently, and really works her little duff off (sorry, couldn't resist that). It's a shame her career took such an airhead direction. This video shows she was capable of better things, but she's already being forgotten.

One caution: The ending, with the swirling "Mystic Abyss", when it seems like Wendy might actually be a gonner, as well as the "possession" scenes might be a little too much for some preschoolers.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A Kids based film...
Viddy2420 December 2004
Warning: Spoilers
I recently got this film on DVD. Hilary Duff is SO adorable. She defanatly stole the movie with her adorable charm. The movie is defanatly a kid based film. Older than 13... probably not going to enjoy it. The acting, GREAT. The plot was cute and had a great meaning. The movie was cute but not the best movie ever. many bits were boring but others were high energised!

***SPOILER*** The movie of course has to include flying and stuff. This films graphics were not good. Yes, it was made in 1998 but the graphics will turn you off. I would give the graphics about two out of ten!

Overall, I think the movie was sort of disappointing but yet it was cute! If you are over 13 years old, I would say, do not watch this film because it is based for children. 6/10
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Fun, Wonderful Family Film!!!
snapper-1210 August 2004
Hilary Duff AAA+++ & George Hamilton AA++

I must say that this is one of the sweetest, cutest films ever made. Hilary Duff is beautiful and her lead role as Wendy the Good Little Witch is pulled up with the alluring spunk and childish impishness that carries this delightful tale of Good over Evil.

And to be sure, George Hamilton as Desmond Spellman the evil Wizard/Male Witch is a perfect choice for the role of the heavey...along with his trademark "Is my hair OK?" self-indulgence and his magical way of being a really bad guy while still being fun. Hamilton is a real meanie, but in a light enough way that the whole family can watch without fear of foul words being uttered from his mouth, or some vulgar ethnic South Central L.A. ghetto gestures that are too overused today in too many movies today. Hamilton brings a classy elegance to the role of a villain we can hate, but like at the same time.

Wendy's aunts and the Casper's 'uncles' are played beyond perfection by each gifted actor/actress in those roles. They are hilariously funny, outlandish and perfect imitations of what the comic books and prior movies have led us to know them to be, all these years. Not remarkably it was like watching my favorite paperback episode come to life. You loved them all, but you really enjoyed it most when Wendy and Casper would achieve the upper hand.

Wendy/Hilary was tremendously successful in her part and viewing the Wendy Meets Casper was an experience akin to love at first sight. Love for the the prettiness of Hilary Duff, love for the sweetness we have learned to expect in both Wendy the Good Little Witch and Casper the Friendly Ghost, and love of a good time where the whole family can laugh at the magnificent special effects and the gaiety in the movie from beginning all the way to its happy conclusion.

On a scale of 1 to 10, Wendy Meets Casper can only be given a full 10!

10 points for Hilary Duff as the perfectly enchanting Wendy. 10 points for all the fab actors and actresses playing the co-lead and support roles 10 points for the storyline...a truly magical event 10 points for the special effects 10 points for Wendy in her dancing dress...*blushes

All in all, a must see for every family.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Old-fashioned slapstick comedy for young children
coyets1 November 2006
The main reason I decided to see 'Casper meets Wendy' was the fact that it was the first one that Hilary Duff acted in apart from being an uncredited extra in 'True Women'.

The leading male character is Casper, an animated child ghost, and the leading female character is Wendy, a girl witch, played by the then inexperienced Hilary Duff. Although the plot, which is kept simple so that the target viewers, young children, have no difficulties in following it, is about the forbidden friendship between Casper and Wendy, in a way a prepubertal 'Romeo and Juliet', the main vehicles for humour are the adult witches and ghosts, the latter contributing many of the slapstick elements.

Adults watching this film, who may well be the parents of the members of the target group, may well find some amusement in the deadpan reactions of most of the adults who take no part in the storyline, but witness some of the extraordinary behaviour of the witches and ghosts. Many adults even enjoy some slapstick humour, and may well find it rewarding to see the more riotous scenes, particularly in the company of some members of the target group. The sartorially-minded will quite probably enjoy the frequent and extreme changes of clothing by the one child and three adult witches. Finally, it is quite interesting to see the main message of 'Romeo and Juliet', 'West Side Story', 'The Color of Friendship' and many other works of art, that it is wrong to stand in the way of friendships simply because two people have different backgrounds, conveyed by a film made for such young viewers.

The casting was brilliant. All of the characters seemed perfectly suited to their role in the proceedings. As the star of the non-animated cast, Hilary Duff displayed a sufficient variety of emotions to keep the viewer involved in the uncomplicated story, while avoiding extremities which could have extended the film into something too dramatic for very young children. It would be unfair, however, to compare her performance with that of the then inexperienced Reese Witherspoon in 'The Man in the Moon', which is of necessity a far more mature and rounded portrayal of the leading character, since it is a very moving and dramatic story. Apart from that, Reese Witherspoon was a few years older when she played the role of Dani Trant.

Personally, I got rather bored by so many slapstick scenes in 'Casper meets Wendy', but I have seen many films that are a lot worse.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Fun, Wonderful Family Film!!! I LOVED it!
snapper-1210 August 2004
Hilary Duff AAA+++ & George Hamilton AA++

I must say that this is one of the sweetest, cutest films ever made.

Hilary Duff is arguably the most beautiful young girl ever to star in a Hollywood movie...on par with Brooke Shields in Pretty Baby... and her lead role as Wendy the Good Little Witch is brightened up with the alluring spunk and childish impishness that thematically imbues this delightful comic book tale with Good over Evil.

As an aside, Hilary's youthful voice with that cute-as-pie chipmunk quality ensures that she is not another one of Hollywood's too-old adolescents trying to play the part of a child. Hilary was the PERFECT choice to play Wendy. She was breathtaking in her winsome appeal before the camera and in her interpretation of the comic book Wendy as I've come to know of her over the years.

And to be sure, George Hamilton as Desmond Spellman the evil Warlock is a perfect choice for the role of the heavy...along with his trademark "Is my hair OK?" self-indulgence and his magical way of being a really bad guy while still being fun. Hamilton is a real meanie, but in a light enough way that the whole family can watch without fear of foul words being uttered from his mouth, or some vulgar ethnic South Central L.A. ghetto gestures that are too overused today in too many movies today. Hamilton brings a classy elegance to the role of a villain we can hate, but like at the same time.

Wendy's aunts and the Casper's 'uncles' are played beyond perfection by each gifted actor/actress in those roles. They are hilariously funny, outlandish and perfect imitations of what the comic books and prior movies have led us to know them to be, all these years. Not remarkably it was like watching my favorite paperback episode come to life. You loved them all, but you really enjoyed it most when Wendy and Casper would achieve the upper hand.

One can read other reviews where ''hate' and 'vitriol' seem to be the main focus of the reviewer's diatribes. But I think it is clear that this movie is much more magical to a younger child or to an adult who appreciates sweet things. This is sugar on candy and there is no use pretending it was meant to be more.

Anyone reading the scathing ululations of some of the other critics, please keep in mind that for the most part those critiques appear to be worse than the movie they imagine they viewed.

Casper Meets Wendy was meant as clean, dear family viewing, where the younger children and their loving parents are the targets of the director's audience...no one else. And in this sense, Casper Meets Wendy succeeded spectacularly well. My family adored it and my children, boys and girls, ask to see it over and over again.

Hilary Duff was tremendously successful in her role as Wendy and when we first viewed Casper Meets Wendy it was an experience akin to love at first sight. Love for the gentleness and caring that comes from within Hilary's young heart...appreciation for the prettiness of Hilary Duff...and warm and cuddly feelings for the sweetness we have learned to expect in both Wendy the Good Little Witch and Casper the Friendly Ghost.

This is a movie where the whole family can laugh at the wonderful special effects and the gaiety in the movie from the beginning all the way to its happy conclusion.

On a scale of 1 to 10, Wendy Meets Casper can only be given a full 10!

10 points for Hilary Duff as the perfectly enchanting Wendy.

10 points for all the fab actors and actresses playing the co-lead and support roles

10 points for the storyline...a truly magical event 10 points for the special effects

10 points for Wendy in her dancing dress...*blushes

All in all, a must see for every family.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
"Meet"-cute...
Mister-69 February 2000
The "Casper" franchise is alive and well and here's the film that proves it.

In "Casper Meets Wendy", Casper and his uncles are back to their old tricks and, deciding to take a vacation, accidentally run into some witches at the same vacation resort. What begins from there is a kind of "Romeo and Juliet" friendship.

Wendy (Duff) and her witch aunts (Moriarty, Duvall, Garr) are hiding from an evil warlock (Hamilton, a well-aged ham) who wants to do away with Wendy, the only one who could challenge his great powers. But in meeting Casper, she ignores her aunts' warnings about not trusting ghosts, as does Casper about his uncles' anti-witch beliefs.

There are even more family-friendly laughs in this film than the first two, especially at the resort dance where the Ghostly Trio possess three guys and hook up with Wendy's aunts. That's a scream. And so is the running gag about Hamilton's henchmen (Moll and Schiavelli) looking and acting like the "Pulp Fiction" hitmen ("You know what they call French toast in France?" "Toast?").

I can see this series of movies growing at a constant rate, especially now that they've finally hit on the right tone for the material; one that kids, ghosts and witches alike can appreciate.

Nine stars for "Casper Meets Wendy". Casper, you're the ghost with the most.
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I can't believe I viewed the whole thing!~
Herbert_West_Reanimator13 February 2004
This is the kind of schlock film you either love or hate. Actually, you can't even hate it, as it's so thin that theres not even enough of a plot to hate. The plot was thrown together, the cast was thrown together, but the quality is thrown-out altogether. As has been stated before, the only thing this film has going for it is that it's Hillary Duff's debut, like One Million Years B.C, was Raquel Welch's debut. Both actresses must be equally embarrased over their debut flicks. Unfortunately, unlike "One Million Years BC," "Wendy Meets Caspar" is just simply bad, as in forgettably poor. Boring. Transparent and far too thin to generate any interest or comment about the actual cast or plot at all. Face it, its just bad, but not nearly bad enough to become a classic for its lack of quality.

Think of it as a extended episode of the old "ABC Afternoon Special" and "ABC Weekend Special" childrens programmes that sporadically aired a decade or so ago. The film might be useful to keep the kids out of your hair for awhile, but don't expect any entertainment.
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
The last is a stinker
bmccree191210 July 2005
Casper meets Wendy lacks the female heroine that was played best by Christina Ricci as Kat Harvey. The Witches in Hocus Pocus are more believable than the witches in this film. Even though the main heroine is suppose to be young and outgoing, I think Hilary Duff was somewhat inexperienced and in a way could not fill the shoes of Christina Ricci. Cathy Moriarty is better as a villain like in the first Casper movie than somewhat of a hero in this one. Casper and the ghostly trio are the best characters and my favorite characters, too. The film is also missing the male hero or main character like Dr. Harvey and the guy played by Steve Guttenburg, who was good in Tower of terror. The main reason why I don't feel this is the best or even as close to being as good as Casper is the plot and lack of some more excellent main characters. I've never heard of this guy who plays Desmond Spellman, but I don't think the villain should be like an evil Businessman. The Henchmen should not look like the men in black with blasters.
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
not another casper movie.
emilie860515 January 2004
i saw through the plot like you see through casper. the first one was the coolest, and maybe the second one, but definitely not the third. like the austin powers francise, you are bound to have a stinker, and this one was it. hilary duff was being told to do this flick, since it is so obvious to me that she was clueless on what her character's stupid jokes meant. tv producers just wanted to get her name out on the mainstream, and that one didnt help, since she's moved on to better things... So, wendy the famous witch from the same company that made casper, meets casper and has fun with him while getting witches and ghosts to combine their powers. what a bunch of garbage, and the corny jokes that are supposed to make the other characters feel dumb and ignorant made the person saying them ignorant. not a laugh was stirring in me at all. the laughing urge wasnt there at all. casper is a cute ghost, and the other three are good too, but leave the dead to rest in peace and if you really need a casper fix, watch the first two or read the comics. (F F-)
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Why do so many people downgrade movies like this??!!
Andrew Hopper18 August 2001
At first when I put the movie on the tv I wasn't that impressed about it as it wasn't really my type of film. But as soon as it came on I was instantly captured by its charm and feeling. When you see the witches you just so want to have their powers, so when someone just gets at you, you could just simply ZZZAAPP! them into or where to you liked!! Wendy in the film and the three witches really add to its wonderful feeling it gives out. While Desmond Spellman puts that on ice while he tries to get rid of Wendy!! I really liked his harsh character, but his mirror on the wall that could speak really didn't need to be in the film. It is better off without it.

Still I gave it a well deserved 10/10!! For it pleased me very much!!
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Be fair the rating shouldn't be this low
Kameeon30 April 2008
Okay now be fair, this is when alls said and done a kids film. I agree with the previous comment and so long as the kids enjoyed it that's what matters.

I found the film enjoyable and even if there are continuity errors so what? This isn't any huge film like transformers it was classic casper it's supposed to be enjoyable not brilliant and thats what makes a film good and I have no doubts that this film is enjoyable.

I feel no need to say anymore, don't apply large standards to it, this is one of the best casper films there is, it's fine for what it is, I say 7 although I'm very tempted to give it a 10 to bring the score back up it does not deserve as low as it has.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A bewitching tale...(SPIOLERS INCLUDED)
ave_smartguy_8722 December 2003
Wendy(Hilary Duff) and her three aunts are hiding out from the evil Desmond Spellman(George Hamilton). While they are hiding out Wendy meets a ghost named Casper. A friendship is formed. So when Desmond goes after Wendy for the greatest witch title Casper helps and Wendy goes thrown down in this warp zone where she will disappear. Hilary shines in this movie. Will Wendy disappear? Find out and go get the movie. This movie is... magical!!!
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Excellent Video Surprise!!!
Guy14313 May 1999
"Casper" is one of the best live-action family films to me. It has the best special effects ever and the cast was superb. On the other hand, "Casper : A Spirited Beginning" was one of the worst made for t.v. family films I can remember. I couldn't believe top stars like Rodney Dangerfield, Steve Guttenberg, & James Earl Jones would star in slop like that. Anyway, I was really scared to try out "Casper Meets Wendy" but now I'm glad I did. I fell in love with the cast and excellent special effects the first time watching it. Shelley Duvall, Cathy Moriarty, & Teri Garr are Wendy's three hilarious witch aunts. The basic plot: Wendy the Good Little Witch and her three witless witch aunts hide out at Sunny Brite Resort trying to escape from the evil warlock Desmond Spellman, played wonderfully by George Hamilton. The ghostly trio has also vacationed at the resort and naturally Wendy meets the lonely Casper the Friendly Ghost, where they begin a boo-tiful friendship that's out of this world. If you thought the original Casper was good you are destined to enjoy this one. Great cast, special effects, and direction will please the whole family. Go rent or buy this film when you have some time. It's worth it! Available on video now from 20th Century Fox.
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Utter, Relentless, Mind Numbing Tripe so HORRIBLE I was Embarrassed Watching it.
Saturns_Illusionist17 January 2004
I thought that it would get better, but a bad movie only got worse. At several points I actually was embarrassed for the movie while watching it, but you know how "time invested" goes. I kept hoping that it might get better. The acting was horrible. Unfortunately, she was surrounded my incompetent actors/actresses and an obviously horrible director. Whoever gave this horrible film anywhere between 6-10 stars has only seen about three movies in their life. This is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. With relentless emotional manipulation piled on top of wooden acting & a dreadful script. See how bad the world treats Wendy. See how good this young witch is to her ghost friend. How pure her love, how corrupt & selfish the "normal" witches/ghosts are. Blah blah blah. Pass me that empty popcorn bag, I'm gonna barf. It isn't that the story hasn't got a point, but that it is horrifically overplayed, the message being delivered in industrial amounts. It's like expecting a teaspoon of sugar in your coffee & getting 8lbs of salt dumped in it instead.T he clumsy manipulation isn't limited to the script, with wooden, cliched characterization & horrible directorial tricks. The budget couldn't have been more than $1000. The lighting and sound qualities were just awful, just horrible. The special effects were cheesy and cheap. Everything seems not to be this film's strong point & wherever there is a chance to drive a point home with a sledgehammer the opportunity is taken to do so with obvious enthusiasm. Horrible cast. Terrible cliche plot. Lame lame lame lame lame jokes (if you can even call them jokes). This movie is the reason ABC is the worst network on television. George Hamilton is simply diabolically bad, unconvincing and puke inducing as Desmond Hamilton. Teri Garr ambles through looking like she's smelt something bad. The rest of the cast simply wallow around, subsumed by the crushing sentimentality.This whole film stinks. Hilary does not shine in this film. Whoever says that she's a good actress has only seen three movies in their life. She's downright atrocious. She makes funny or unnecessary facial expressions. And I'm not going to give her a break because she was 11. I feel very very very very very very very very very sorry for the people who think this film is excellent and gave it ten or nine stars and think Hilary shines in this film. When you consider how many great film ideas never get anywhere you have to wonder just how this pile of dog poop ever got on to the screen. I gave it a "1" on the IMDB voting, but I would have given it a big, fat zero if I could have.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Cute kids movie marking the debut of Hilary Duff
leanne82nw5 January 2004
This is by no means a great movie at all, the special effects are pretty dodgy and the story quite weird also. The main reason why this would be of interest to viewers is that it marks the film debut of Hilary Duff, who is 11 years old in this film. This movie was one of her first ever jobs and she does a good job, given the material she is working with. Her voice is a lot higher pitched than it is on Lizzie. A standout scene would be Wendy and Casper dancing under a gazebo.
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Mediocre, but I have seen much worse
TheLittleSongbird12 June 2011
I have seen much worse movies, and Casper:A Spirited Beginning is worse in my opinion than Casper Meets Wendy. Casper Meets Wendy in my opinion is not a good movie, more mediocre for my tastes, but it could have been much worse.

PROS: The costume and set design is excellent and the film's photography is quite good. The music is decent, and Hilary Duff does a good job as Wendy. Also Casper is still very cute.

CONS: I love the ghostly uncle trio as characters, and while they are well-voiced and look good I cannot say the same for their dialogue and slapstick. In general the script is weak, the effects aside from the ghosts look rather slap-dash and the slapstick is tired and generic. I liked the inclusion of Cathy Moriaty and George Hamilton, but was disappointed in their performances, for my money Moriaty is better as a villainess and Hamilton is so over-the-top his character becomes annoying and ineffectual. The film is too short and too rushed for my tastes too, making the predictable story seem even thinner than it already is.

In conclusion, a mediocre movie but I have seen much worse in all honesty. 4/10 Bethany Cox
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
terrible
prettyhelena6 March 2018
Three witches , three ghosts , two friends and a dangerous enemy. Every thing is excellent but the final result is terrible. It's not clear what is wrong with film , maybe you ought to ask what is correct with film!? "Absolutely nothing " we can summary the film in only one sentence : everything is out of place and you should arrange it again.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Kid's Movie
dream-link8 April 2004
Being an author, director and screenwriter myself I can't just watch a movie without automatically looking for flaws in them. If there's a hole in it I'll most likely find it. I read novels and screenplays over and over again then study the movies along with the scripts to see what is right and what's not. How the target audience reacts to movies is also important in my business. I would be happy to have Hillary Duff star in one of my screenplays. She's the right age, has the right look and the talent to star in the series I'm working on now.

I had a fun time reading all the reviews for this movie. I can't help but wonder why adults who hated this movie would bother to set through it let alone write lengthy reviews using highly colorful & hateful terms. If you don't like kiddy movies don't watch them. Intelligent people wouldn't set through something they hated with a passion unless they were deliberately trying to find fault with it or the staring actors.

Hillary Duff gets "hate" messages from people who are jealous of her all the time. In fact she gets so much of it she's stopped communicating with most of her fans because of it. It doesn't help anyone, not her, not her fans, not the people who hate her either. It just puts more distance between the fans and the actors/actresses and that's completely uncalled for. Either you like the movie or the actors or you don't. I have a list I don't care much for either but I'm not going to waste my time using colorful metaphors talking about them.

Hillary is one of the sweetest kids you will ever see. She's cute, honest, and when she smiles her entire face glows. My daughter Kristy (15)was watching the Lizzy McGuire movie and said she would like to meet Hillary because she thought that she would be a nice person. I would love for her to have the opportunity to meet Hillary and her mother.

Hillary was literally thrown into the acting business after doing a commercial or two. Before that she sang and danced. She was in fact very inexperienced when she did Casper Meets Wendy. If you understand the circumstances you should realize that with no more experience than she had at that time she did a fantastic job in this movie. The KIDS loved her!

Casper Meets Wendy isn't a typical Casper movie. The first Casper movie was by far more aimed at the general audience. Overall it was the best of all three for adults and young people alike. A Spirited Beginning was aimed more for the children and Casper Meets Wendy was aimed for the younger children. Of course it was also intended to have a simple plot that anyone could understand including little children. It's a feel good movie. It is not a horror story about a scary ghost or witch. It's for the young and young at heart.

For those people who really love to watch bad movies so they can hate them I have list they might like. ;-) You could start with "The Polish Vampire in Burbank" and move on to "Behind the Green Door" just for starters. I find it frustrating to turn the TV on and have 300 or so channels with nothing worth watching. But that's how the movie and TV shows are these days. I can't help but wonder if it is a lack of good scripts or if the producers just can't recognize a good script from a bad one. When a movie as bad as The Blair Witch, made by students on a budget of $8000 can turn a profit of more than $140,000,000 that's sad business. When people pay to see bad movies it sends the wrong signal to every producer in Hollywood. I have no doubt my kids could make a better movie than that.

Casper meets Wendy is a feel good movie and if you liked the comics of these characters you should like the movie. The acting and gags are geared for a kiddy flick and they accomplish exactly what the director wanted them to.
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Ghost quality
anthonyf9421 August 2019
This movie can be interesting just for those who want to study Hilary Duff's debut. But I think that they are just a few, so we can say that this sequel of the, '95's Casper is quite useless. The introduction of witches doesn't makes the story more dynamic, but just makes it more difficult to appreciate: two kind of magics - the ghost and the witches - normalize both of them, so the ghost story lose more and more effectiveness. It's a kids movie, sure, but this doesn't mean that it haven't to be well done. Moreover, terrible computerized animation.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
an okay kids movie for any Casper fans
sandlot199211 March 2019
For those who our Casper fans of the original movie from 1995 and the classic cartoons that started it all it's an okay movie in my opinion, not as worse than "Casper: a Spirited Beginning" the story itself is kinda cheesy in 90s standards, the characters are good in my opinion since actor George Hamilton does end up playing a warlock in this movie and even Pauly Shore playing the Oracle sounds bland in which they rip off the magic mirror from Disney's Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs. even the strangest part of the movie is that witches hate ghosts and ghost hate witches which is kinda like the Mccoys and the Hatfields fued to be exact and not to mention a Close Encounters of the Third Kind reference at the beginning of this film during the scene in the baseball game, and no surprisely Hilary Duff (before she was in Lizzie McGuire) does a great job playing Wendy and even Teri Garr, Shelley Duvall and Cathy Moriarty (who previously was in the first Casper movie from 1995 as I said before) did a good job playing her 3 aunts, still this movie might have some gross out humor and some mild scary scenes at some point than it's quite considered a family flick to watch in my opinion.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
WORST PIECE OF TRIPE EVER MADE!!!!!!!!!!
sea-breeze17 April 2004
I saw this piece of s*** last November, and I have never turned the Television off in such disgust. Hilary Duff was absolutely horrendous as the "good" little witch. The film is gross, even for television. The film could have been cut to 1 hour, but not 1 1/2 wasted hours! This picture just goes to show that all Casper films are bitter, and was there really a need to wipe out the whole troop of ghosts? My god! The person who wrote this trash, should be blacklisted in Hollywood, and any other place that has acting as entertainment. This is entertainment?!! I have never seen such a horrible and depressing movie in all of my life!! This gives the term, "bad television-movie", look like "Gone with the Wind"!! I hope YTV NEVER shows this again!! For your sake, don't view this crap. See Pearl Harbor instead! Especially if you have 1 1/2 hours to kill, this certainly makes it look like a Best Picture Oscar winner!! Not this Garbage! Don't say you weren't warned!!!!

0/10 The lowest!!, The WORST!!!!!!! I watched Casper Meets Wendy to its bitten end,1 and a half grueling hours! You might ask why I watched to the end. Well, after sitting through the indescribably awful first ten minutes, I needed to see how this mess ended. Let me just say that when I shut my TV off at 11pm I was less than happy. Out of the 1602 movies I've voted on, one of the three I've given a rating of 1. Horrible. I began watching this film on YTV on a Sunday afternoon, with the understanding it was your standard hour TV movie. I thought the acting was terrible, the story line less than plausible, and the characters totally unlikeable.

The ending was unsatisfying, although unexpected (or was it really?) I can't believe I got caught up in the film.
4 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Worst movie. . .EVER!
frostedpinkcupcake6 April 2004
HUGE disappointment. A real stinker. Terrible cast; Hilary Duff made me cringe every time she opened her mouth! Too many one-liners and too little acting. I don't get why it has so many high votes. There wasn't anything I could like about it. I don't see how Casper Meets Wendy missed the list of the bottom 100 films. It was the worst film I have seen in years (or since). Truly horrible. The acting was terrible, the dialog was terrible, the story was terrible. Cathy Moriatry plays a role that embarrassed *ME*, Hilary Duff TOTALLY ruined it with her atrocious, beyond bad overacting. And no, I was not expecting much. I liked Casper and the second one was alright, so I set my expectations accordingly but this is a crime to recommend this pathetic excuse as a family/kids movie. Now, if you are looking to torture yourself and others. . .well then I recommend it.Poor, very poor... didn't expect much to be honest and that's what I got... nothing... .....If you ever see a movie like this that seems too cute for you, I must say one thing....Don't Watch It! Horror, Thriller, and Dramas are way better than stupid comedy/drama movies that show a whiny spoiled witch and crap like that. Lizzie McGuire was too retarded and this movie was worse. Don't ever waste your money on this crap. Remember people cute movies like this are only and mostly for girls so don't watch this. This movie makes House of the Dead look a lot more alive and that movie was horrible. Anyways, I never actually wasted money on movies like this cause I know they would suck. The only way I see them is if my sister rents them and that's with her own money. This is crap so see some other movie in the B-movie category. Cute movies suck... 0/10

It's obvious that this film was made-for-TV-- what's scary is how little talent is evident in this production -- writing, directing, acting, etc. Whoever green lighted this production in Hollywood is hopefully now grilling hot dogs at Pink's. This movie was not what I was expecting at all.

Overall, the best way to describe this film is as one that would be featured on the TV show "Mystery Science Theater 3000". The film is so cheesy; it invites you to ridicule it. I rated it a 1 because it did make me laugh despite its atrocious script and horrendous acting. One of the worst movies EVER. This stinker was so terrible that even the makers of the Casper franchise now mock this movie.

The acting was beyond terrible (especially from Hilary Duff), the dialog stilted and artificial. Hilary Duff is so annoying and beyond atrocious, and the character she played was demeaning. Wendy was a character who deserved to die. Teri Garr was obviously slumming; she said openly in interviews that she did this film for the money. Her performance was over-the-top ham at its worst.

When I saw it with some people I know, they either excused themselves for snack/bathroom breaks every 3 seconds or were laughing when the movie was trying to be serious and dramatic, or staying stone quiet when it was trying to be funny.

This film has an overall juvenile feel to it, and probably would have been good for children had the script hadn't been written by a 8 year old in 15 minutes. As it stands, it's a piece of garbage. I don't know how to express how bad this movie was. I could swear and curse and it still wouldn't describe how bad it was. I actually thought this movie would be pretty good when I first saw the previews for it. You know...it looked like a nice, enjoyable, family fun filled film. I can honestly say that I was completely blown away by how bad this movie was. I HATE all Hilary Duff movies, but I liked a few of Teri Garr's films (now that I think about it I really don't...). But it also had Cathy Moriarty and George Hamilton, which I usually like. This movie was supposed to be supporting the craft but instead was filled with an innumerable amount of cliches (e.g., the brooms, telekinesis, black clothing, long, pointy hats, black cats, etc., etc., etc.).

Most of the horrendous movie made no sense either. Can you say cheesy? And then there is the whole scene with the ghosts disguised as humans and the witches was just horrendous. How are the two aunts gonna be practically drop-dead drunk, and then as soon as it is relieved they are ghosts, they don't like them?

Now lets talk about how atrocious that acting in the movie was. Let's start with Desmond Spellman. I might have possibly gotten the worst role in the movie. Why does he want to make Wendy disappear by throwing her down a warp zone. Then there. The character that was REALLY bad in this movie was Wendy played by Hilary Duff. They were just too happy about every single thing that they did. And in the scene where she crying, it sounded like they were laughing/choking on something. And the scene where she was laughing, she sounded really angry. I have never seen Hilary Duff on anything but Lizzie McGuire before I watched this movie (I later on saw most of her films, she was all terrible in them)... after being in this movie, I thought she would probably never get another role. She was cute though...

The movie is just one corn fest. Don't even waste 100 minutes of your valuable time watching this. Because you will regret it. Hilary Duff's performance was by far the worst I have seen from a child, and believe me I have seen A LOT of movies with child actors, even though Jake Lloyd in "Star Wars: Episode 1" gives her a run for her money. OH MY GOD this movie was the worst I have ever seen -- I would give it at the VERY least a -10000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 I hate that movie SO much! For those of you who are planning to see it in the near future I have some advice for you -- DON'T! In fact, do everything you can to avoid it! It totally sucked! Trust me ! It makes me so mad how awful this movie was ! I saw it with a bunch of my friends and we all said that it was the worst movie we had ever seen and everyone at my school who had seen it agreed that it was terrible so I would waste my money and buy the video. TRUST ME! It just pains me to see how some people liked it because they are over exaggerate and have not seen any films. I will never see a horrible movie like that again! "Hilary shines in this movie"-YEAH RIGHT!! She is truly the world's worst child actress, this is proof, she is absolutely horrendous and atrocious. I cannot describe how absolutely awful she is in this movie. "She does a good job"?? Whoever said that has never seen a GOOD movie with GOOD child acting(good as in anything with Jodie Foster in it). It's not really worth my time to write about it, I'm just putting a warning out so you'll know not to torture yourself. . .do not listen to all the good user comments. . .it's just a freaking trap to get you to suffer as well. Every scene Hilary Duff is in, she is horrendous. Her delivery was atrocious, I could swear and curse ALL DAY and that would STILL not describe how horrendous she was in this movie. I feel very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very sorry for all of you who liked it and gave it more than a 1! There may be a small amount of those who like it, but I must say GET OUT MORE!!!!! AND GET YOUR HEAD EXAMINED!!!!!!!! If you have seen this movie, I am very sorry. I sat through this terrible film one afternoon and wound up actually kicking myself for it. The acting is bad, but what do you expect from two young girls. The script was just awful, and there was absolutely no excitement or value whatsoever to this film. The events are both predictable, and highly unlikely. The worst part about it is there aren't even any laughable aspects as in other terrible movies such as Night Train to Mundo Fine or Manos: The Hands of Fate. If you haven't seen this movie, don't go out of your way to see it. Actually, do everything you can to avoid seeing it. I'm sure that this was one of the films they forced Alex to watch in A Clockwork Orange. This movie drags and drags, and has well, about 0 good qualities. I was literally kicking myself for having wasted my time to view this atrocious mess of the cinema. The plot is lame and extremely forced, the acting is horrendous at best and the story is quite predictable. I understand that this was no attempt to make another Citizen Kane or anything, but oh man, this is seriously painful to watch! If you are looking for good "family" entertainment there are tons of other options out there. However, if you are looking to torture yourself and/or others, then check this movie out...it's something that you'll never forget, though more than likely you'll wish you could.

Couldn't stand it. I watched it but I almost threw up after. Something I RARELY EVER do after watching movie.
3 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Why this even received one positive review is beyond me
Goon-222 October 2001
One early Sunday evening at my house, the television lineup was so very, very boring that the only two things on that I'd even HEARD of were "B*stard Out of Carolina" and this. I have seen Jena Malone several more times than I would have preferred, and plus, I had already missed the beginnings of both films, so I actually chose "Casper Meets Wendy" thinking it would be the more entertaining of the two. Wrong! "Casper Meets Wendy" entertained me for exactly 0 seconds. Subjected to the tortures of cheap-looking film making--particularly the lighting and sound qualities, bumbling villians, dull remaining characters, and Hilary Duff speaking like she swallowed about fifty tanks of helium and acting very cutesy and annoying, and I had the TV turned to stupid "B*stard Out of Carolina" in about five seconds. I didn't like that one either, but every time I tried to turn it back to "Casper Meets Wendy" I felt like I was losing my vision and hearing(sometimes movies might be poorly acted or written, but usefully the "final" cuts of films can get past being poorly shot and recorded), and I felt like losing my lunch everytime Hilary Duff said a line, or villains tried to be Jim Carrey, as if that's a good thing, and overall, I felt so, so BORED that finally, I stopped even turning it to this waste of a film. Unfortunatly, the other one I watched was pretty bad, too, so I now realize that I should have just turned off the TV altogether instead of wasting it on things like this.
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
I accept that this is a terrible movie
nymovielover196129 August 2009
This movie is truly terrible, but I cannot help but watch it over and over again. See, when I was a little kid, I used to request this movie every time I went to my Grandmother's house. She had it on VHS, and then, that was the only format it was available on, unless you wanted the movie in Portugese. I loved it dearly, and I still do.

The film is so bad that you can't help but love it. The acting (George Hamilton? REALLY?!!) is terrible. The plot is disgustingly stupid, and the scene where Wendy and Casper are getting pulled back through the fireplace is the worst moment in cinematic history.

And yet, it's good. To me, at least. Some people just can't watch a terrible movie and think, hey, this is really funny... in a weird sort of way.

On the whole, Casper Meets Wendy is not nearly as good as the original Casper, and it is terrible from every single angle. And I accept that.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed