"The Wonderful World of Disney" Cinderella (TV Episode 1997) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
63 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
They are spoken from the mind of a dancer and a person who just likes musicals.
Meelie20 March 1999
I love this movie soooo much. I have seen it over 100 times. I have the video and I taped all the songs off of the movie and listen to it on a daily basis. I have memorized all the songs and words. The acting is great. I love all the people and how well they act together. Also I think the prince is just so cute!! I am a big fan of Brandy and Whitney Houston and I love all the dancing and music in the musical. My favorite scene is in the village at the beginning. I love this musical and if you haven't seen it you don't know what you are missing !!!!
23 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Surprisingly terrific!
rachellevitt7 November 2004
We received this movie as a gift and it sat unwatched for a year until my 3-yr old pulled it out. I don't usually tear up during movies, but this production is stunning to watch, and lovingly detailed. The costumes, the sets, the colors are hypnotic, very much like a dream. I particularly appreciate the inclusive, multi-racial cast, especially because we're used to seeing all combinations of families here in Cambridge. Whitney Houston's voice gives new meaning to the idea of fairy godmother. It's really her show; the whole theme that "nothing is impossible" rings even truer when you know about Houston's own history as a young housewife singing in her basement, dreaming of something better. Brandy makes a most sympathetic Cinderella-- she's not passive, she just doesn't know what to do, and her transformation from scullery maid to conficent princess is as believable as it is lovely to watch. This production is also unpretentious in that it's not preachy, or divisive. There is no one evil or bad; everyone's clearly trying to do the best they can. What more can you ask for? I'm in love with this movie, and credit Houston with a clear vision of how the dusty Cinderella story can become timeless and compassionate with just a few strategic modern touches!
30 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Nobody here is telling the truth.
movibuf196228 December 2007
Good grief...the attacks, the smug, sarcastic asides, the soapboxes on how this country is outta control with political correctness- Momma Mia!! And the truth is, no one would care if this Rodgers & Hammerstein musical classic was redone for a 30th time if the cast was white. There are literally the same complaints over and over again about the audacity of a black Cinderella (or a black queen or a black fairy godmother), but swift denials of any racist feelings or speculations. Yes, this version of the R&H musical is flawed, but the flaws (for me, at least) have absolutely NOTHING to do with the casting. (In this modern day and age, if people want to vocalize racial distaste, they say things are "too PC," which is clearly shorthand for "too-many-black-folks-in-the-room." How does a fairy tale- which has a pumpkin turning into a coach and a dress vanishing at the stroke of midnight- merit a debate about realism based on the fact that some of the actors are ethnic? Who are you fooling with these comments?)

I thought Brandy was lovely- especially in the spotlight solo "In My Own Little Corner." And I loved "Ten Minutes Ago-" the elaborate waltz which pairs Brandy and Paolo Montalban (an Asian prince?! Eeek!!) in a rather extravagant duet which gains in scope with a spinning 360 degree camera and lots and lots of dancers. What didn't I like about it? That the medium was completely changed from a TV play to a CGI-heavy movie. The first two productions had exclusively been done for television, in a television medium. The original live 1957 broadcast could not be taped (tape wasn't thoroughly invented yet), but thank goodness the 1964 broadcast was (some of that live feel is retained in this middle version). I would've loved for the 1997 production to be videotaped, where it would've felt a touch more intimate and warm. But it ventures out-and-over the top too often, such as in the elephantine "The Prince is Giving a Ball" and "Impossible," which seems to be all about the crazy light effects surrounding the floating carriage. I think the latest version needed more intimacy. For instance, one of the best scenes in the entire production features a minuscule epilogue not in either of the previous versions. Following the ball (and "A Lovely Night"), Cinderella's fairy godmother emerges one more time to persuade her charge to find her prince and tell him the truth, underscoring that she believe in herself and trust the prince to love her for exactly the way she is. A lovely, powerful moment which relies on nothing but simple, honest sentiment.
25 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Like the movie, watch the reviews.
ambrewh19 September 2010
I have been reading all of the other reviews of this title and I found them quite confusing. The complaint that the cast is mixed race and that the sets are fantastical fit perfectly with the concept of "fairy tale" which, in fact, this is.

The second complaint that I would like to address is the problem everyone seems to have with the "new" music. None of this music is new, just new to this version of the show and all of it has been written by Rogers and Hammerstein. Since these are songs that I like from shows that are never seen, I appreciate the use of them in this production.

This is definitely more ornate than the original teleplays but the originals were rather bland. People complain about Brandy but Leslie Ann Warren does not have much of a voice to speak of. I enjoyed her version but singing was not the reason.

I feel that people should look at this for what it is. You either like it or not but for what it is not what you want it to be.

I, for one, am a fan.
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Startling at first, but ultimately winning.
dietzberger20 April 2003
If there's anything to be criticized in the Cinderella story, it's the fundamental premise that Cinderella is passive...but then it's a one-plot story that doesn't give her the chance to "evolve" as Harry Potter does. But don't we all wish to have our problems solved and our dreams made to come true for us?

I love this updated version of the story because, at least for me and my family, it represents a double fantasy of the way the world should be. While the multi-colored cast might be jarring for those who knew the original version (which I saw as a kid), I thought it was brilliant. My kids don't look like me--my daughter is Chinese and my son is Guatemalan. So for them to see a black queen and a white king with an Asian son, who falls in love with the beautiful but misused black stepdaughter of a white woman with one black and one white daughter--neither of whom look remotely like her--isn't as un-real (or merely PC) as some people might think. For my family, it's an affirmation of modern reality. For my daughter to see a handsome Asian prince fall in love with a beautiful dark-skinned Cinderella is incredibly powerful.

Also, while I am not a huge fan of any one person in the cast, I thought they all performed wonderfully within the limits of the genre. Peters' "Falling in love with love" blew me away, because it actually gives you a moment of real sympathy for the stepmother--no one is wicked always, it seems to say, and heartbreak has hardened her heart against her beautiful stepdaughter. Instead of merely evil, she becomes tragic.

The costumes and sets were great--firmly placing this in the vaguely "old world" romantic place that fairy tales live--the pop stylings and characters of the actors instantly make this a period piece of the late 20th century--but that's just fine. Cinderella will be reborn many times in the coming generations.

It would be nice to see a subtle re-working of Cinderella with even more sympathy for the stepmother and sisters, and a little more complexity of character and plot to make the heroine and hero less two-dimensional--but then it wouldn't really be a children's movie, would it?
21 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
What's not to like about this Disney-fied movie?
bigkahones5116 December 2002
What's not to like about this lively, romantic movie? It's fun for both kids and adults, it has some areas everyone can appreciate. Just relax and enjoy it, it IS a fairy tale. Adults can appreciate the 'politically correct' social overtones if they will just 'lighten up' (the adults I mean). The music is modernized, yet still done wonderfully. It's also refreshing to see actors from other genres perform believably here. All in all, a beautiful escape for a short while then back to reality. So sweet and vaguely Wizard-of-Oz-like set appearance. But it is a good movie that does what it intends.
16 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A credible version
TheLittleSongbird10 April 2012
I saw this version as I have always liked Bernadette Peters and Whitney Houston. And although it is not perfect and I do much prefer the 1965 and 1957 versions, I enjoyed this movie. For a TV movie it is well made and completely delightful to watch. The effects are above average, the costumes and sets are gorgeous and the ballroom sequence with its enchanting photography was the highlight of the film. The story is timeless, the choreography is dazzling and danced with gusto and while slightly corny at times the dialogue amuses. Rodgers and Hammerstein's songs are outstanding, with too many highlights to list. I wasn't so taken with the more contemporary numbers though, the style jarred with those of R&H's and other than to suit the voices of some of those involved I personally didn't see much point in adding them. Overall, the cast are just great, the multicultural issue didn't bother me at all. I wasn't a fan of Brandy as Cinderella, she's not terrible by all means, she's beautiful, charming and whimsical and interacts well with everyone, but there are times where she's made to look passive and this felt forced to me. Also I never quite warmed to her voice, the tuning and style are fine. It was more the tone, I've never liked singers who sound as though they are singing through their nose. However, the rest of the cast fare much better, Whitney Houston is a slightly overplayed but vocally outstanding Fairy Godmother, Bernadette Peters is a wonderfully wicked and somewhat tragic step-mother, Jason Alexander is hilarious as Lionel and as the prince Paolo Montalban is dashing. The stepsisters are suitably odious and Whoopi Goldberg seems to be enjoying herself as the Queen. Overall, credible version but not the best, that belongs to the 1957 version with Julie Andrews. 7/10 Bethany Cox
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Talented Cast
sbrnnxn13 June 2002
This is one movie I never get tired of. I especially like the fact that it's multi-culturaled, which is a good example for young children. The message is universal, teaching that no matter how things appear at the present there's always something good at the end if you believe in yourself.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I loved it...but things previously said need to be addressed.
justjloveeva12728 December 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Okay. People who are complaining about the race need to shut up. One because it isn't necessary, and completely rude. If there is going to be a movie about magic and mice turning into friggin men and pumpkins in carriages and rags to gorgeous gowns than how is it so awful to show people of other races in this movie. The whole story Cinderella is just a story, so people acting like things need to be accurate a.k.a. PC( politically correct) is ridiculous and quite frankly idiotic. "People at the time would have hated people of color", one there really is no set time, or actually name of this place, and two people of the time would have hated the fact that there was a fairy godmother they would have called her a friggin witch and burned her, but do you bring up that, no, and saying it isn't racism and that you don't have a problem with it yet find it ridiculous and write a full paragraph about it, it is a total hypocritical statement, filled with falsity and disillusion and in denial, it is a paradox filled with such a blatantly obvious stupidity it makes me sick. I am currently angry as can be read. There are not really many movies out in this time and at that time that show people of other colors having the same opportunities. In practically every Disney movie everywhere all you see are white girls getting the happy ending, what makes it so wrong for an African American playing Cinderella? The story is the same, and the whole idea that not all things are impossible are there. The songs were the same so the portrayal that some of these people are giving are quite ridiculous. The voices are magical. I remember when I saw this movie as a little girl that I was absolutely amazed, because it was the first time I saw a African American getting the same opportunity in my movies for my age; Movies that influence the youth of my time. Criticizing this is just as bad as someone criticizing an African American Barbie doll. The movies was phenomenal. When people get past the racial issues they have and don't use it to judge the movie they can see how amazing it was. Whitney Houston, Brandy, Paolo Montalban, Natalie Desselle, Jason Alexander, Whoopi Goldberg, Victor Garber, Veanne Cox,Bernadette Peters performed amazingly. I like this version the most. It was an extraordinary movie that I believe was worth watching. And so many people I know of all ages would say so too. Watch and Develop your own opinion of it, but be realistic that the whole story in itself, all versions to be exact are not realistic since it is about a magic.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great movie
THEBADFOUR8728 August 2003
This movie is a great musical remake of Cinderella. I enjoyed this movie. Great singing from Brandy and Whitney Houston like always. Whoppi Goldberg also done some singing. A great movie to watch with your family. Great acting also, especially from Brandy and Cinderella's evil, wicked, Stepmother. I really liked that they had a multi-racial cast. People make a big deal out of it all the time. What's the big deal? Race shouldn't have anything to do with a movie and it definetly shouldn't be judged that way. Don't get closed minded and just enjoy the movie. I for one, loved it. It's worth seeing.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Rodger and Hammerstein Did It Again!
Al-1744 June 1999
One of Rodger and Hammerstein's masterpiece. Although this TV movie is a remake, you just can't get enough of Brandy, Paolo Montalban, Whoopi Goldberg, Whitney Houston, Bernadette Peters, and all of the casts that makes this movie a classic. Listen to the music. Hear its glory.
13 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
My party enjoyed this remake.
thousandisland28 February 2002
Saw this one with four other people, and the reviews were quite good. Could do without the "modernized" sound in some of the songs, and the ending scene of this movie just sort of drags on for no reason, but most of the music is very good. Brandy is alright as Cinderella but her singing voice is a little too breathy. The multi-racial cast was strange but didn't bother me. Funny how a white guy and a black lady having an Asian son confuses us, but we are perfectly okay with the idea of a pumpkin turning into a carriage. And as long we're on the subject of skin color and carriages, the four white carriage horses could have participated in the political correctness. Would like to have seen one white horse, one black, one chestnut and one pinto. :o) Also a little more color in the dresses at the ball, as all of them were light blue or turquoise or lavender or green, no yellow, pink or white anywhere. Still, this was an enjoyable movie overall, maybe a bit too "updated", but by no means unpleasant. Fine effort and it made for a nice evening.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I may never come back down to earth again:)!
Allicoelyfe10 February 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I don't care what anyone else says, I ADORE this movie:)! I believe the multi-racial cast adds to the timelessness of Cinderella. I know when I was little, being Jamaican- American always wondered why all the characters were white so imagined them as different races every time, and that's my favourite part of this rendition.

Now Brandy is not my favourite singer, but I thought she played this part beautifully. Granted it took some getting used to but I ended up loving her. Paolo Montalban is absolutely MAGNIFICENT:)! I would think an Filipino prince would be laughable, but it added to the unity of race of the movie. Ahh and his voice made me wish he would serenade me! As for Whitney Houston, she did bring a certain something to the previously played down role of the godmother and I do love her voice. The song "impossible" is probably in my top three favourite songs. Bernardette Peters definitely a good choice for the stepmother, a diva in a stuck-up role is ideal. Whooping Goldberg and Victor Garber had amazing chemistry as the queen and king, i thought they were wonderful. Jason Alexander was amazing comic relief in the story and I love his accent he used. The step sisters were equally funny.

The music was AMAZING:)! Whenever I watch this movie(which is often(:) I cannot stop singing the songs and singing along. They were constantly entertaining and fun to watch, including the choreography that went along with it.

This is by far one of my favourite movies, ever.:)
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
R&H Cinderella is Modestly Magical
David Fick15 April 2007
When I first saw the 1997 television production of Cinderella, I had heard very little about it. At that time, I knew very little about the two previous incarnations - with Julie Andrews in 1957 and Lesley Ann Warren in 1965. In fact, I had seen only clips of the former, while I had been somewhat unimpressed by the latter when I had taken the soundtrack album out of the library. Seeing this newer version, with Brandy Norman, brought the material to life with me and has, over the past decade, given me great pleasure each time I have revisited it.

I find Brandy very compelling in the central role. Yes, she has a contemporary edge to her voice, the appropriateness of which has been debated with fervour on musical theatre boards over the years. But, like everything else in this version, singing in a traditional musical theatre style is by no means a hard and fast rule to be followed. And Brandy delivers where is counts - she creates a character in whom you can believe and for whom you really root.

She is supported by some very able performers. Paolo Montalban is a handsome prince with a pleasant singing voice, and gives his duets Norwood (the exuberant "Ten Minutes Ago" and the remarkably perceptive "Do I Love You Because You're Beautiful?")with an immediacy that really reflects the sudden journey from strangers to lovers that is a trademark of the Cinderella story. The step-family - with Broadway diva Bernadette Peters as the Stepmother and Veanne Cox and Natalie Desselle as the stepsisters - manage their comic supporting roles well, with Peters delivering a knockout "Falling in Love With Love", a classic Rodgers and Hart song added to the score for this adaptation. The trio are also superb when that combine with Brandy in the recollection of the ball in "When You're Driving Through the Moonlight" (sadly cut down here) and "A Lovely Night".

There are only two performances that don't really work well in the telefilm. Whitney Housten, as the Godmother, is just in a completely different film that is all about Whitney Housten. Although delivering a pop-vocal in a similar style to Brandy, Housten's performance grates against the score where Brandy's remains bound by the given circumstances of her character. Jason Alexander, in an attempt to characterise a characterless role, falls back on the trick of an accent to do the job for him and then forces the humour, and particularly the physical comedy, to such an extent that he isn't particularly funny.

The direction, by Robert Iscove, keeps things moving along swiftly but is by no means masterful, particularly when one considers the moments that don't quite work - the aforementioned physical comedy from Alexander, for example. The choreography, by Rob Marshall, is a highlight of telefilm and the musical staging and choreography is wonderfully executed - particularly in the ballroom sequence.

Robert L. Freedman's adaptation of Oscar Hammerstein's teleplay (as well as the other adaptations thereof) conceives some fine moments, particularly in the ballroom scene where the dialogue between Cinderella and the Prince is far less sticky while remaining blatantly sentimental. It does miss others, however: for instance, the arc of the Queen's character seems to miss a few beats between her original appearance and the reprise of "Do I Love You Because You're Beautiful?".

The score remains fairly intact. The biggest adaptation to the existing score is the combination of the shameless establishing exposition number "The Prince is Giving a Ball" and the pretty pointless, one-joke, lame duck of a list song, "Your Majesties". This works really well, particularly because the revised number now incorporates (however fleetingly) Cinderella and the step-family, making it somewhat more deserving of it's "stage time".

Of the three additions to the score, "The Sweetest Sounds" probably works the best and forms the basis of a scene that gives the teleplay a lovely symmetry. "Falling In Love With Love" is nothing but a showcase for Bernadette Peters, excused as a number that helps to create sympathy for the Stepmother. But it's never really explored, nor is the need to create sympathy for a character that has a couple of moments where she says some truly detestable things to her stepdaughter. The final addition, for the Godmother, is "There's Music In You" is really just a moment where Housten's pop vocals clash horrendously with the song and its regal orchestral arrangement. This probably would have worked better being sung by a "Hollywood chorus" as the wedding took place on screen.

Overall, I still enjoy this version of Cinderella when I pop it into the DVD player. It's a modest entertainment as most made for TV musicals are. But it has magic. And great songs. And the world always needs more of both.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Brandy was so wrong for the part!
AriLozada18 June 2004
I remember when this first premiered. I was in 7th grade and all the girls were raving about it school the Friday before. I made sure to steer clear of this mess! Yet, lo and behold, I ended up seeing it anyway. It was OK for what it was, but I couldn't get over how plastic and lifeless Brandy was. I didn't mind the rest of the cast, but Brandy's voice wasn't as strong as the part called for and when singing with Whitney, she was clearly overshadowed and her voice drowned out. I think an unknown actress would have done a better job, if not another R&B singer like Aaliyah or Mya, who's voice would have been stronger and given the character more depth and personality.
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
WELL. . .I LIKED IT!
bekayess6 November 2001
I am a Rodger's "enthusiast," as Ted Chapin of R&H once characterized me, and I agree there are certain ways to perform his music--generally, exactly as he wrote it, since that was his general direction. But this version of CINDERELLA, which I admit has some faults in the musical arrangements, is as good a CINDERELLA as one can hope for.

For starters, the fantasy element allows for the non-traditional casting, which works quite well for me. I'm perfectly happy with every major character, but especially so with Whoopi as the Queen and Bernadette as the Step-mother. I'm also fond of Whitney's Fairy Godmother (much more so than Celeste Holm in the 1965 version).

Okay, so they tried to R&B some of the numbers--this version was aimed as bringing more young people in the R&H fold--and if it interests more young people in the art of the American musical, then it has done its job (please don't get me started on the animated version of KING AND I, which is an abomination in my opinion). I find much of the script very funny, and I enjoy the step-sisters, who are in comical vein Hammerstein intended (for the poster who thought Bernadette played too young as the Step-mother, take a second look at Pat Carroll and Barbara Ruick as the step-sisters in 1965--as much as I adored those performances, too, can you say "OLD MAIDS.")

All in all, put the previous versions out of your mind--and open that same mind up to this new, modern interpretation (if not, you may never be able to enjoy the new FLOWER DRUM SONG, which I haven't seen, but for which I am anxious.)
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
See the other two
brittney_t20 May 2006
There were two other versions of Rogers and Hammerstein's Cinderella made for TV before this version. I recommend either of those two over this version any day. The music and story and everything is really good, I mean come on it's by Rogers and Hammerstein, but this version really just isn't that great.

The original version, which attracted millions to watch it the day it aired on TV, has Julie Andrews in it and you can now buy it on DVD but the quality isn't the best because it is so old and it is put on more like a stage show and was recorded live. It really is a treasure though.

The other good version has Leslie Ann Warren playing Cinderella and Ginger Rogers as the fairy godmother.

Basically what it comes down to is the cast. This cast on the most recent version isn't good.
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Horrible rendition
scara0722 June 2007
After growing up and wearing out the video of Lesley Ann Warren playing Cinderella, I couldn't wait to see this one. Only to see that they ruined a beautiful play. The multicultural part was good. But adding songs and Brandi's whinny, nasal voice cannot be compared to Lesley Ann Warren's or especially Julie Andrew's. I have not seen this movie since it first aired on television. A couple of months ago it was on again, I tried to watch and give it a second chance, I didn't make it through the first 1/2 hour. If they would have found someone to play Cinderella who had a more full and trained voice I could have enjoyed it. If you liked this play, watch the older versions and you will see what I mean. As I have kids of my own I will have them watch the older versions and avoid the 1997 version all together. I do not want them to be tainted with something so awful when their minds could be enlightened.
7 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Multi-cultural miscasting almost makes a mess of the whole thing...
Doylenf8 November 2006
Having seen both the Julie Andrews and the Lesley Ann Warren Cinderella versions, I had high expectations when they announced a newer version in 1997 starring--of all people, BRANDY. Well, I thought, give it a chance. So I watched it and was very, very disappointed and turned it off before it beyond the first painful half-hour.

Then last night, after years of staying away from it, I gave it a look and found my perspective had changed just a little. The songs were still good (although I would have preferred leaving out the two additional numbers from other shows to give BERNADETTE PETERS and WHITNEY HOUSTON a chance to show off their pipes), and the arrangements were pleasant enough. The look of the whole piece is extraordinarily fine with great sets and costumes--but then we come to the casting.

No doubt WHOOPI GOLDBERG does get a few big laughs out of The Queen but seeing her with a Caucasian husband (VICTOR GARBER) and an exotic looking PAOLO MONTALBAN as her Oriental looking son, just about ruined any chance of really being able to connect with the multi-cultural angle. Then, to top that, the two step-sisters are played by a white girl and a black girl (now that's carrying things a bit too far over the boundaries of common sense for the sake of the melting pot theory).

Other plus and minus factors: BRANDY hasn't got a voice good enough for Rodger & Hammerstein songs; WHITNEY HOUSTON seemed to outshine her to the nth degree every time they sang "It's Possible" and did a neat job of playing the Fairy Godmother with attitude to spare; JASON Alexander was in fine comic form in all of his clownish moments; and WHOOPI GOLDBERG, as stated before, does some wonderful bits of business as the perplexed Queen who is dumbfounded by what's going on around her.

And she has reason to be. None of it rises above mediocre in content, despite the lush R&H songs which are given some nice orchestrations but some weak vocals, except for Miss Peters. PAOLO MONTALBAN cuts a fine figure as the Prince and has a charming smile, but his voice is not exactly his strong point.

For any fans of the R&H Cinderella shown previously on TV, I recommend you stick with them. This version has too many flaws for comfort.
10 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful retelling of classic musical fairy tale...
bmbdsm1 June 2012
I first fell in love with this classic Rodgers and Hammerstein score through the Lesley Ann Warren version, which my mom had on VHS. I watched it and the Disney cartoon religiously. The Warren production probably influenced my love for musicals and theater. I was 6 years old when this premiered on TV, and I was entranced from the beginning to the end. This enchanting musical (my favorite Rodgers and Hammerstein piece) has been given a fresh coat of paint in this third remake (it was first done in 1957 with Julie Andrews).

A lot of money went into this production and it shows. The sets and costumes are simply beautiful. The special effects are impressive and hold up well. The multi-cultural casting is an interesting touch and not a distraction (IMO; all I saw was the classic fairy tale when I was little, and that's all I see today). The whole cast is excellent, from Brandy's innocence to Whitney Houston's power; Bernadette Peters' villainy to Jason Alexander's hilarity, to name but a few. The score mixes pop and R&B with the classic Broadway without ever being distracting (there are some sublime orchestrations in this show; "Ten Minutes Ago" and "Impossible" being standouts), while adding some additional songs. Rob Marshall's choreography is energetic. Special mention must also go to the cinematography of Ralf Bode, who beautifully captures the romance and magic of this fairy tale. This is highly recommended for the whole family. 10/10.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A magically version of the classic fairytale that all girls love
lisafordeay19 September 2010
I watched this on TV years ago as a child and surpringly I enjoyed it. Brandy plays the title characther who lives with her stepmother and her two hilarious ugly stepsisters. She meets a prince of course one day in a market but didn't know that he was a prince as he was in disguse and his parents wnat him to marry someone that they will choose but he wants to find someone that he loves and that it will be his choice. Sure its a sterotype movie as you've got blacks,asians,whites etc but having said that I actually liked it better than the classic 1950s version from Disney.

Whitney Houston was the best in this movie she was all fiesty and she was brilliant as the fairy godmother as well as Brandy. The music was just perfect as it was classy and modern. I liked the song the prince is giving a ball and the one with Brandy & Paolo singing at the ball or the one called Ten Minutes. The story maybe done a hundred times before but still I don't know why so many people are against it.

Its simply adorable and cute. The song Do I love you because your beautiful was so sweet it sends a shiver down my spine for some strange reason. Jason Alexander was hilarious as well as Whoppi Goldberg who plays the prince's mother. As for the prince himself I find him cute and gorgeous.

For an hour and a half its simply great and if you are like myself a hopeless romantic who loves fairy tales then you will like it.

I'll give it an 8/10 as its just so entertaining and a real feel good movie. So since this weekend is Halloween and you don't want to watch any horror films then check it on YouTube and watch it.

Verdict: A cute magically fairytale that all young girls from 6 + will like.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Terrific
ameliacatch2226 April 2008
Oh My Goodness, I First seen this film in my early teens and totally fell in love with it. Its magical, enchanting, upbeat and most importantly individual and entertaining. The acting is really good and the film has been cast in a very unexpected way which payed off brilliantly. This film is light hearted fun for the whole family to enjoy. But the reason for my review is not because of how much i enjoyed this film, its because of some of the other reviews on this website about this film. The denials of not being racist yet unhappy about the fact that Cinderella is Black and how the queen (also black) is married to a white king and have some how produced an Asian son is laughable. Like the colour of anybodies skin has any effect on the acting or general quality of this film. To hear people complain that no child would be gullible enough to believe Cinderella could be black makes me cringe. In the story were a peasent girl not only gets married to a prince but has a fairy god mother who regularly performs magic is it that hard to believe that the cast of this film are not all white. I don't think so! Bravo to everybody involved in the making of this film which may i say was a breath of fresh air.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Multi-racial casting breaks stereotypes for kids
imdb-5435 July 2005
While different from the Rodgers & Hammerstein TV version with which I grew up, this whimsical Whitney Houston produced rendering of the classic tale provides a healthy alternative to white royalty, overcoming stereotype for many a young girl. Bernadette Peters, Jason Alexander and Whoppi Goldberg are hilarious, using slapstick and tarty words to add goofiness to an often told serious fairy tale. Brandy is fine and certainly helps to break the mold of whimpering, helpless Cinderellas, providing a stronger (though not so self-determined as Barrymore's performance)characterization. Young girls will love it and parents will appreciate its overall harmlessness, since, every once in a while, just about every girl wants a princess tale.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The Original Is Better
johnm_0018 January 2001
Overblown, but extremely colorful 3rd version, doesn't hold a candle to the original 1957 version with Julie Andrews, although it is better than the dull 60's remake with Leslie Ann Warren. Multi-racial casting is somewhat odd, but not distracting from Rodgers' & Hammerstein's classic television musical. What IS distracting is the freedom taken with the score. R&H should be done exactly the way they wrote it. They did know what they were doing, after all. Houston's Fairy Godmother is annoying, what with her wailing away her songs. Brandy makes a lovely Cinderella; but her breathy vocal ability just doesn't cut it. Palo Montalban, as the prince, is the lone standout. He truly belongs in musicals. The score has been needlessly padded with Rodger's music with Larry Hart (Boys From Syracuse) and himself (No Strings). While it leaves something to be desired, this version of "Cinderella" will be enjoyed by children.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not What Rodgers and Hammerstein Meant It To Be
Peachez27 June 1999
After performing Rodger and Hammerstein's version of Cinderella, I decided to watch the movie to see what Disney had done with the masterpiece. What I saw was not a pleasant surprise. It was overdone. All overdone. A main point that was made in the play was that Godmother was not known to be magical, and that everything that Cinderella was dreaming would never come true. After seeing Whitney Houston, we know that point was never made. Whitney Houston was as fairy godmothery as she could get. I was also disappointed with the new songs added to the movie. I was in fact, rather glad that most of the originals were there. If you are looking for a Rodgers and Hammerstein piece, I don't recommend this one, but if you have children who love musicals with everything overdone, it is great.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed