Toy Story 2 (1999) Poster

(1999)

User Reviews

Review this title
568 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Pixar is improving: near perfect...
bapper24 February 2000
I just saw Toy Story 2 an hour ago and I must say that, despite all the great reviews, I was still surprised about the quality....It started absolutely marvellous; one of the greatest and humorous opening sequences ever. The plot is really smart, the animation is brilliant and the humor...Oh man! The last 50 minutes must be the most fun 50 minutes I had in years and believe me, I'm NOT exaggerating. It seems impossible to imagine the fun the writers must have had, because this is a true film-fest whether you do like Disney-esque films or don't.

Having this fast-paced storyline, John Lasseter & Co. exploited it to a maximum. Cameo's from Pixar-characters (Geri's the coolest), unexpected and obliged references to other big films (really love the Jurrasic Park one), great new characters (Wheezy!!), and more jokes and gags rammed in an animated feature than you'll ever see and of course the out takes.

The action-department is also greatly represented in some astonishing sequences with great, original shots and angles. The music is moody and Randy Newman is at his best with the really non-disturbing, appropriate song about Jessie, which is definitely the message of this film.

O.K., I know I'm raving, but I really meant it when I chose the ten and clicked the "Vote" button. This film is great and I recommend it to every film-lover.

A few downsides (this hardly affects the overall film) are I think, first of all the lack of originality, which is excusable and acceptable for a sequel. Second, the still somewhat jerky animation of the humans (I know they said it was supposed to be, but I disagree that). And third: the ratio, 1:1,85 (I thought it was the theater, but Pixar is forgiven, seen the quality of the film.) These are minors things and my decision is final, Toy Story 2 is certainly included in my top 20.

O.K., now you may stand up and ring a friend to go and see it, come on!!
108 out of 122 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Much more than a kid's movie
Tallgent5 March 2000
Warning: Spoilers
The first Toy Story was largely confined to little Andy's room and his dreaded neighbor's house. When we pick up the story in "Toy Story 2," Buzz Lightyear is in outer space where he meets his arch-nemesis, Emperor Zurg. In a cheeky opening, the rules devised by Lasseter and his Pixar staff are laid out: There are no rules.

Buzz flies through caverns, enters Zurg's stronghold, and gets defeated (gasp) by the evil Zurg! Is this the end of our hero?....Nah, it's just Rex playing the Buzz Lightyear video game and losing. It is Yard Sale Day and the toys are understandably tense. You see, Yard Sale Day means that the old toys go out to the sale. Woody has reason to be nervous, he's starting to show his age. He's got a ripped arm thanks to Andy's dog, whom we got introduced to at the end of the first Toy Story. Sure enough, one of the toy troop gets taken. Poor Weezie the Penguin was laid forgotten on Andy's bookcase and he promptly gets put in the sale box. It's up to Woody to save him, which he does. But he gets picked up by a greedy toy-collector named Al and taken to Al's Toy Barn. Seems Woody is pretty valuable and Al wants to sell him to a toy auction. Can Buzz and friends save him in time?

Ho-hum, sounds like a harmless little kid's movie, doesn't it? But remember Lassetter and the rules, or lack thereof? Well, things take quite a poignant turn.

In a magical sequence that's an homage to Howdy-Doody, Woody learns that he was part of an old 1950s children's puppet show along with some other toys from the show, the salty Prospector Pete (Kelsey Grammar), Jessie the Yodelling Cowgirl (played brilliantly by Joan Cusack), and Woody's faithful steed. As Pete tells Woody, toy collecting means immortality. Woody and his new friends will be preserved in cases for admiring eyes to faun over. Woody's days with Andy are numbered. This point is further emphasized by a heartbreaking song sung by Sarah Maclachlan that tells the story of how Jessie's owner abandoned her because, well, she grew up. Pete says, "Do you really think Andy will take you to his high school graduation or to college?" Talk about a bind. Does Woody go back to Andy and have fleeting fun or stay preserved in predictable permanence?

Meanwhile, Andy's gang have their own awakenings to paths not taken. Mr. Potato Head sees temptation incarnate in some friendly Barbies ("I'm a married spud! I'm a married spud!") and Buzz comes face to face with a new Buzz Lightyear figure....who turns out to be as self-delusional as he was. You mean, they're all like this?! And the knockout punch: Buzz faces his mortal foe, Emperor Zurg and confronts a shattering secret. Hint: Think "Star Wars."

Pixar has come a long way since the first "Toy Story." The computer animation is absolutely amazing as the toys have much more dimension and realism in the details than the original. Once again everyone is terrific, especially Cusack who injects soul in the spunky and slighted Jessie. References abound, from "2001" to "Star Wars." Plus some inside jokes concerning Toy Story's lack of merchandise production also make their way. Even a sly suggestive joke or two slips in. Hint: Watch Buzz's wings at the end.

I cannot say enough about one sequence in particular with Buzz and the gang crossing the street. Lasseter directs this scene with great skill and comic placement. I was in tears at this point, and this was a "kid's" movie!

But, as with the first one, what really got me engaged was the story, as affecting a story as I have seen live or animated. If I can make an outlandish statement, Toy Story seems to be reaching for something akin to the "Star Wars Trilogy" or even the "Godfather Trilogy." Not so much for epicness, but for how the story gets deeper and richer as it goes along. "Star Wars" was an entertaining space opera, "Empire Strikes Back" was a mythic, dark, operatic chapter in a saga. "Godfather" was an exciting and classically-influenced masterwork, "Godfather Part II" was a quiet, dark, character study that reveals Michael's moral bankruptcy and the decline of the Corleone empire.

Lasseter's plan intrigues me. With "Toy Story", the plot revolved around a buddy picture that showed the bond between an old toy and new toy, and that being a toy is the best thing in the world. This bittersweet second chapter addresses what happens after the toys aren't needed anymore. What happens now? Where will I go? Will I be loved again? I wonder if with the third, if there is one, we'll see what makes a toy timeless. What separates a Woody or Buzz from Rex the Dinosaur or Slinky the Dog? And I wonder what the ultimate fate of our friends actually is. I'm hoping they get passed on to Andy's children and his grandchildren, throughout all the generations. I wouldn't worry about Buzz and Woody, though. They're already timeless.
90 out of 103 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A great sequel
keyoar24 November 1999
This has to be by far one of the cleanest and most well-designed movie to come from any studio for a while now. The plot is trim and concise and this film is not just for kids, there are plenty of grown-up themes to satisfy even critical viewers. The animation is tremendous, especially if you pay attention to the details, and the cameo from Geri and the underlying Star Wars spoofs are just great. All in all, one of the best films I've seen to date. Just one disappointment, no outtakes during the credits. But still, I don't think I'll forget this one for a while, if you get a chance to see it in the cinemas don't miss it...
75 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funny, Exciting and Thoughtful: What more do you want?
Atouk6 December 1999
PIXAR has done the impossible, and significantly improved on their original groundbreaking film Toy Story. Not only is the movie hysterically funny, but every time I thought I knew where the plot was headed something completely new and original was thrown into the mix. One minute I'm laughing hysterically at "Tour Guide" Barbie, the next I'm nearly brought to tears watching a sequence where Emily grows up and leaves Jessie behind.

What more can be said? If you think you're too old to enjoy something like this then I feel sorry for you, because this film has more to say about friendship, loss, loyalty and the value of life itself than any of the so-called "grown up" movies I've seen this year.

I rarely do this, but I'm rating this one a "10".
70 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Entertains adults just as much as it will children. One of the years best films. ***1/2 out of ****
Movie-1211 January 2000
TOY STORY 2 (1999) ***1/2

With the voices of: Tom Hanks, Tim Allen, Kelsey Grammer, Joan Cusack, Jim Varney, & Wayne Knight Director: John Lasseter Running time: 85 minutes Rated G

By Blake French:

In an era where audiences are given such few family movies, and in a time where such films are seldom given decent scripts, "Toy Story 2" is a jolt of lightening in the fast fading genre of unobjectionable entertainment. Over the past several years we've received filmmaker's poor attempts at granting us enjoyment with an orphaned raised by jungle apes, bouncy green slime, a massive gorilla reeking havoc on a major city, a child fending off robbers by himself near Christmas, a small boy's attempts to rescue a battered dog from his cruel owner, a canine playing football, a colony of ants in trouble, a talking mouse, and even a film version of an old cartoon about a man filtered with countless gizmos. None of those desperate family tales work. I think you can understand through these examples that when a great children's film does finally open, and entertains adults equally as much as it mesmerizes its target audience I give it the honor of being one of the years best movies.

"Toy Story 2" continues the traditional lives of the characters brought to our attention in the original movie released in 1995. What makes "Toy Story" unique is the fact that the characters are mostly toys. The familiar faces include everyone's favorite cowboy Woody, Buzz Lightyear, Hamm the piggy bank, Mr. Potato Head, Rex the cowardly Tyrannosaurs Rex, the Army Sergeant, Little Bo Peep, and the Slinky Dog. The sequel film introduces several new characters in its presence consisting of Prospector Pete, Jessie the Cowgirl, and antagonists, a greedy human named Big Al and robotic video game figure called Zurg. The plot has to do with several of the toys rescue attempts to save Woody from a money hungry thief who intends to sell him to a different country.

Just a few days ago I screened the somewhat similar, although unsuccessful, family comedy "Stuart Little." That movie failed because it attempted to blend our human world with the likes of pure fictional fantasy; a talking mouse that acts like a human. It is hard to except something like that without an explanation--giving the filmmakers no choice but to get into a complicated, logical explanation that would bore the majority of an audience. "Toy Story 2" needs none of that explication. It contains its illusion outside of our world, creating a tale that inspires our imagination. The filmmakers do not try to compare the likes of toys being alive with reality. It creates its own atmosphere which seems unfamiliar and magical. It is a place that lives within our dreams; everyone has hoped for their toys to come alive at one time or another. "Toy Story 2" brings this world to life to the quality of the original "Toy Story." This movie is a landmark in the gender of animated family comedies that should be treasured for all that its worth.

Brought to you by Walt Disney Pictures.
47 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
To Infinity and Beyond ?
Outworld-32 February 2000
Well it's a sequel, and I watched with trepidation, and glad to say I enjoyed every minute of this, it was good to see the voices of all the characters still voiced by the original actors/actresses, as well as welcoming new characters 'Stinky Pete the Prospector' and the Round-up gang, as well as a nemesis for Buzz ! Some very 'tounge in cheek' movie gags (Jurassic Park and Star Wars to name but two). I would hope in years to come to see more quality productions like this.

This will be a family favourite again.
46 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wonderful, imaginative film
jwisdom2 December 1999
This film is definitely a pleasure and a joy to see, a very well done sequel. I wouldn't be surprised if it would spawn yet another sequel, raising the bar even more for computer animation, such as this film has done. Toy Story 2 looks even more lifelike and realistic than its original, I found myself several times 'forgetting' that it was computer animation. Definitely a must see for all ages.
46 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Another Instant Classic From Disney
tfrizzell5 January 2002
"Toy Story 2" is equal to its predecessor. Some may say it is better (I am not sure about that) but it is on par with the original. This time Woody is stolen by a greedy toy collector and it is up to Buzz Lightyear and their friends to rescue him. The film is great-looking, the voice characterizations are all perfect and the film's screenplay is so intelligent that "Toy Story 2" would have been successful under the worst of circumstances. 5 stars out of 5.
38 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Better than the original
cinatyte24 November 1999
I thought the original Toy Story was great. I went to this movie hardly knowing anything about it. Toy Story 2 exceeded my expectations; it's better than the original Toy Story. This movie works on two levels. It's aimed at younger kids, who will love the wackiness of the characters and the situations they find themselves in, though some of the jokes might sail over their heads (but they'll laugh anyway). It's also aimed at adults, who, when I saw it, laughed louder than the kids at some points. The voice work is excellent, especially Tom Hanks and Tim Allen, reprising their roles from the original. The supporting toys (Mr. Potato Head, Slinky Dog, et al.) have much bigger roles this time around.

This movie has everything: Andy's new dog Buster; two dueling Buzz Lightyears; partying Barbie dolls; three 3-eyed aliens from the original; even the Evil Emperor Zurg! I can't emphasize enough how great this movie is and I highly recommend it for kids and adults.

10/10
81 out of 112 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Even Better Than The First 'Toy Story'
ccthemovieman-121 April 2006
Here's yet one more sequel that more than lived up to its original great start. The first Toy Story was outstanding. This is just as good, if not better.

Very fast-paced and very entertaining, this doesn't have a lot of laugh-out-loud parts but is definitely fun to watch with many good lines. What I appreciated was the lack of a nasty villain and any evil overtones, as was the case with the rotten neighborhood kid in the first film.

I also appreciated the fantastic surround sound on the DVD, along with the magnificent colors. Not to be forgotten is a wonderful, tear-jerking song in here, sung by Sarah MacLaclan. It gets to me every time.

When you factor in all the nice characters, music, colors and sounds, this has to be one of the most beloved animated films of the modern era.
56 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Better Than the First.
anaconda-4065815 January 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Toy Story 2 (1999): Dir: John Lasseter, Ash Brennon, Colin Brody / Voices: Tom Hanks, Tim Allen, Joan Cusack, Kelsey Grammar, Wayne Knight: Wonderful sequel that is even better than the first landmark film. It flourishes with originality and detail. Woody the cowboy doll and Space Ranger Buzz Lightyear return as the central toys. Woody anticipates Cowboy Camp with his owner Andy but a tear in his shoulder has him left on the shelf. A sudden yard sale calls for the rescue of another toy but in the process he is nabbed by greedy Al of Al's Toy Barn. We learn that Woody was part of the Roundup Gang, which was a canceled T.V. show. He is united with Bulls-eye the horse, prospector Stinky Pete and Jessica the high spirited female counterpart to Woody. During the search and rescue Buzz encounters another Buzz Lightyear as well as his arch enemy. John Lasseter returns as director accompanied by Ash Brannon and Colin Brody. Tom Hanks and Tim Allen return to voice Woody and Buzz. Joan Cusack steals scenes voicing Jessica whose musical segment involving her past is perhaps the most heartfelt moment in the film. Kelsey Grammar voices Stinky Pete who is contained in a box. Wayne Knight is hysterical as the human villain Al from Al's Toy Barn. One of the best sequels one could ask for. It is an animated joy ride about heritage and friendship. Score: 9 / 10
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Cute Toys Are Back With A Bang For More Adventure
Chrysanthepop22 March 2008
It's been about a decade since I last saw 'Toy Story'. Thus, it would be unfair to compare that with 'Toy Story 2'. Pixar has produced numerous gems since the first 'Toy Story'. This one is a sheer delightful adventure and it's not one that is only limited to entertaining children. There are the charming characters from the old one and some wonderful new characters that include the energetic Jessie the Yodelling Cowgirl, the hot barbies and Woody's faithful and hyper steed. The animation is superb and looks refreshing. The story too takes a new turn that presents the dilemma of whether one should live an eternal life of wealth and security or an unpredictable life that at least promises a few years of love. The actors do a fine job lending their voice. Hanks and Allen are back as Woody and Buzz and Joan Cusack is a treat as the vivacious Jessie. But I must add that I loved Buzz's gang that includes the hilarious Rex and the lovable Slinky, the resourceful Mr. Potatohead and the cute Hamm, and their attempts to rescue Woody and bring him back home. There's a beautiful song by Sarah Mclachlan that dictates Jessie's pain. The sequel being a huge hit just proves how timeless the characters are and I want to see 'Toy Story' again just to follow the whole story. It's already been a decade since, but I wonder whether they'll make a sequel and what the fate of our toy friends will be once Andy has grown up. 'Toy Story 2' is an unforgettable adventure with a beautiful soul.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best Pixar film (so far) and a good bit better than the original
MartinHafer10 June 2007
I liked TOY STORY but didn't love it. It had some wonderful moments (I liked the creepy and destructive kid next door), but it seemed marketed almost exclusively to young boys. In light of this, I was absolutely thrilled when I saw TOY STORY II, as it's a wonderful film for the entire family. For the boys, you have the familiar characters of Woody and Buzz, for the girls you have a new girl toy (Jessie) and for the adult, you have some great characters as well (Stinky Pete and the guy in the chicken costume). Plus, the writing is so amazingly clever and engaging you can't help but love the film. I particularly loved the showdown with Emperor Zurg, Barbie's guest appearance and all the cute little touches as well as homages to toys of yesteryear. And, for once in my jaded career as a reviewer, I have absolutely nothing negative or critical to mention--I enjoyed every minute of this delightful film.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Superior Sequel, a rare thing
mjw23055 February 2005
Warning: Spoilers
When Woody is stolen by a toy collector, Woody learns his background and discovers he was part of the round up gang, with other toys named Jessie, Stinky Pete and his trusty steed Bullseye, he is all set to become part of very rare toy collection in a museum. But Buzz, Hamm, Rex and Slinky Dog have other ideas, as they mount a rescue of huge proportions.

With some hilarious parody's of Star Wars among others, and some funny interventions from other toys in the store, Toy Story 2 spends more time entertaining than character building, and it makes an even better Story for the Toys to play in.

Fun for everyone 8/10
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
When somebody love this movie, everything is beautiful
ironhorse_iv25 March 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Every hour we spent together, lives within my heart. Woody and the gang are back in one of the best sequels ever made: Pixar's Toy Story 2. Here's something interesting. This film was originally a direct to video movie. But while in the process of making it, they realized how good it was turning out and decided to make it an theatrical movie. Thank Goodness, Pixar saw something in it, rather than continue the Disney's awful sequels cycle. The Pixar folks didn't want "drop" everything for the direct-to-video version. They make a brand-new story for the theatrical release because they wanted to; there was pressure from Disney to do a direct to video due to save money. The Pixar folks were sensing impending doom because they didn't know what to do, and as a last resort John Lasseter was called in from his long overdue vacation to fix the movie in time for its release. The process was rushed, messy, and nerve-wracking. But by God did it all pay off in the end!! Who knew that Toy Story 2 would partially lead to Disney's fall out with Pixar a few years later. Anyways the idea for the opening of this film was the original idea for the opening of Toy Story, only instead of a video game, it's a TV show. But the makers decided to scrap that idea and open the movie with play action with Andy, because they wanted to establish the bond between Andy and Woody in Toy story. Then when they made Toy story 2, they decided to bring back that idea only make it a video game. Still, that one impression video game for an early 2000's video game. My N64 and Playstation couldn't even be that good. The toys in Andy's room has just witness Woody (Tom Hanks) getting stolen by toy collector Al (Wayne Knight). Now Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen) must sent a rescue mission to save him. While at the same time at Al's penthouse, Woody finds out how much he is value, and thinks about being display in a toy museum along with Woody's Roundup pals Jessie (Joan Cusack) and Stinky Pete (Kelsey Grammar). The reasons is that, he knows deep inside of him that Andy will grow up one day and forget about him. The dilemma that Woody has, is a good dilemma and makes sense. In a way, foreshadowing Toy Story 3 so rather than being forgotten, he along with his new friends can be loved forever if he takes this chance with the museum in Japan. In the movie we get all the old characters of the first movie, Mr. Potato Head (Don Rickles), Hamm (John Ratzenberger), Rex (Wallace Shawn), and Slinky Dog (Jim Varney in his last movie) as well as new characters such as Bulleye, and Weezy. I don't like how they forced feed us, Weezy. His character really came out of nowhere. Where was he in the original movie? Also check out, the scene was when Woody was being fixed up by the toy repairman, you might notice the toy repairman from the short film, Pixar's Geri's Game. The acting was pretty good, but Joan Cusack can be a bit annoying with her character. The story was well-written. The dramatic and emotional feel of the film has gotten better. The highlight back-story of Jesse just put you into tears, and that whole montage is told by one of the best songs in Disney's history. "When somebody love me" sung by Sarah McLachlan. I might not be a huge Randy Newman's fan, but the song works here. The humors works and I like how the film mocks old films and TV Shows like Star Wars and Howdy Dowdy. Pop culture references allow adults to get some jokes that kids might miss, but the kids will have a blast watching this animated adventure. This movie is more plot-oriented than the first--which kids will love and is hence more fun. The visuals are break taking and the action is challenging to the eyes. I actually really liked the "secret" villain. I certainly didn't see it coming the first time I saw the movie, and I thought his motivation made sense, and kinda made me feel sorry for him. The fact that he never been loved and played with gave him a very different psychology from the other toys. The museum would be the closest thing to love he felt he'd ever have, so of course he's going to do anything for that, and isn't going to have much sympathy for Woody wanting to return to Andy. This movie isn't for toddlers. Let me get that straight for any first time parent. Its better off, when the child has mature enough aged to the point where it's can be deemed right to watch due to the large noises, large yelling and visual effects that can hurt a toddler's eyes. It's PG rating, people, not G. I really can't find much that was wrong with this film. It's just a great watch. So check it out if you haven't watch it already.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazingly Good
BB-1526 November 1999
It is very rare when an excellent movie is followed by an excellent sequel. Toy Story 2 has done just that. The blending of wonderful animation artistry, terrific writing and great voice overs continues thanks to Pixar. Lots of films claim to be appropriate for all ages and rarely are. I'd recommend this movie to adults with no children! Toy Story 2 is that clever.

Toy Story 2 has a great time making fun of itself and other movies such as Star Wars and Jurassic Park. The humor is constant and is simply right on. As Toy Story was a buddy picture, Toy Story 2 pokes fun of commando rescue films, as well as computer games and barbies. But as with Toy Story this is a film with a heart highlighting not only the friendship of the original group of toys but adding some interesting new ones too.

Toy Story 2 is an escape into a rich and wonderful fantasy world. It is well worth a visit.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very Funny!
noralee21 December 2005
Despite the baby who screamed in back of me for the entire "Toy Story 2" (so much for picking an evening showing to try and avoid that), I adored this follow-up.

The references to "Star Wars" are very very funny (though not a single other person in the audience of very young children with their parents got them).

Randy Newman's music is not as good as the original, except for a beautiful ballad sung by Sarah McLaughin. I did expect more from the Riders in the Sky (I'm a big fan of theirs) involvement of cowboy songs, but then none of the audience got the references to boomer TV shows either as the parents in the audience were way younger than me.

Kelsey Grammar was mis-voice cast as the old prospector; he's best as Sideshow Bob on "The Simpsons;" I don't know why they didn't pick a wily Western voice instead of snobby Eastern voice. Joan Cusack was a live wire as a cowgirl. Wayne Knight was as terrific a villain like in "Jurassic Park."

But the animation was fun and the story quite clever. I figure the theme of playing and loving toys rather than saving them for collectors benefits Disney in the long run, as they encourage people to buy two of each!

The "outtakes" at the end are also funny satires.

(originaly written 1/16/2000)
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Battling Films
tedg10 September 2008
Shucks, my original comment for this was deleted. Here is a replacement.

My admiration for Pixar to date is significant, on the order of rat filmmakers that seem to care about ideas in film. There aren't enough of these, so if you find one (here a collective) that not only has intelligent notions of cinema but also make successful movies, you have to celebrate.

Overall, I think this is the weakest of the Pixar films, because it is the least visually adventuresome. What they did instead was explore what I call folding and did so in the written bits, following a pattern where films include the dynamics of other films in some way. "Blue Velvet" and "2001" are sort of landmark films along these lines, where film types become actual characters. Here the folding is just as radical, perhaps more so because the story overtly mirrors what they are doing.

Here's the setup. Buzz — actually an army of Buzzes — draws his existence from space movies, specifically "Star Wars." Woody draws his from cowboy movies (actually TeeVee shows) specifically "Howdy Doody." Each prototype "doll" gets pulled into his original cosmology. That's the background, what usually serves as the establishing world for a movie. Pixar even uses this in the first shots where other movies work to introduce us to a world.

Within this movie in the movie context is a foreground story: about the value of "play" which we are reminded is a re-enacting or borrowing of stories. Its what life is, I think and we are reminded in the script. They'd trade one day of human play (meaning recovered movies) for an eternity in a sterile heaven.

I know that there are many in Hollywood who talk about this sort of story dynamic. There are few that would dare to build a film around it, and very, very few who could do it, make it as visible, overt as it is here, and have audiences be happy for such immersion in reflective dynamics.

Interestingly, the original comment was tossed by IMDb along with a couple hundred others of mine because I failed in a similar enterprise. Someone complained because the original included an observation about religion being recovered narrative and increasingly recovered cinematic narrative. That reader at least did not like such baptism.

Ted's Evaluation -- 3 of 3: Worth watching.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great plot, great characters and laughs for all ages – not really a bad word to say about it
bob the moo9 September 2004
In every toy's life there comes a time where damage and fading interest will take its toll. For Woody this comes when a ripped arm sees him left behind on the shelf awaiting repair while Andy goes off to summer camp. When another toy is taken for a yard sale, Woody goes to rescue him only to find himself trapped at the sale and picked up by a collector – who recognises the worth of the rare dolls. The gang set out to rescue Woody but, with his value as a collector's item and his new friends around him, will Woody want to be rescued?

Pixar are going to have a flop sooner or later – either they will misfire or the usual mix of material will start to feel stale. However this has not happened yet and it certainly did not happen with this sequel to their great Toy Story. Keeping similar themes the film delivers a plot that is quite moving at points and has plenty of thought for adults to ponder while the kids laugh at Buzz falling over. In fact this mix of adult material and kiddie material is, as ever, the film's appeal as it does cater so well to both extremes of the market.

The plot is great too and is well supported by great characters in the main who really draw us into the story – considering how often computer effects can just be 'effects' and nothing more, it is to Pixar's credit that so often you just forget these are effects and see them as characters in their own right. The plot gives them plenty to do but their delivery is also spot on – actors can have off days and get their body language wrong, but here the computer characters can be manipulated just how the director wants them to be – this really helps the delivery of the character as body language and movement is a big part of it. The voice work also really helps and, as before, everyone is spot on whether they be just delivering jokes, playing comic bad guys or dealing with more emotional stuff. Hanks is really good, Allen is much better than his TV work and other films would suggest and the support cast is very good – with great turns from new voices such as Knight, Cusack and Grammer but also the regulars of Shawn, Ratzenberger, Varney and Rickles.

The laughs are consistent and great. I'm sure kids love it but for me the adults get the best deal – getting the universal laughs as well as the adult stuff and the loads of movie references. I won't start listing best bits or references but suffice to say that the film gets it right – enough straight laughs and enough general references to make sure the film lasts and is not tied to the period in the way that, say, the Scary Movie films are (by spoofing recent films).

Overall this is a very funny, very enjoyable film that has a great plot, great characters and the cast to back them up. The laughs are good for all ages but the adults will get the majority while the kids miss most of the better stuff. I don't like gushing, so I'd like to counter my praise with some critical observations but, to be honest, I don't really have anything bad to really say about it. A great film to see with the kids.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Nutshell Review: (DVD) Toy Story 2 (1999)
DICK STEEL10 October 2006
There are few sequels that can equal or even surpass its original, and for an animated feature, perhaps Toy Story 2 is the first of its kind that didn't end up going direct to video. I'm unsure why I hadn't caught this in the theatres, given that I've thoroughly enjoyed the first Toy Story. I've taken 7 years to finally watch this gem, and of course, to include myself into the legions of Pixar fans out there who have watched every single animated feature they produced.

Toy Story 2 remains the only sequel that Pixar put out, though I'm rooting for The Incredibles to make another appearance on the silver screen. Bringing back its stellar voice cast like Tom Hanks and Tim Allen, and favourite characters that have endeared themselves to us, I'm thrilled that there is so much more story that can be told of our favourite toys in Andy's room.

What worked, at least for me, is that the story and characters appealed to the child inside. I own quite a number of toys as a kid, and yes, I outgrew them, although most of them are still stored in boxes somewhere around the house. Perhaps some of them are small collector's item in their own right, and as a child I did wonder if the toys do come alive to wreck havoc around the room before they retire in time and clean up before I wake up.

Of course toys do not come to life (or do they?) but here in this sequel, the exploration of the friendship theme takes on a different dimension when Woody finds himself with other toys from the same collection as he is - a cowgirl Jessie, his trusty steed Bullseye, and a prospecting character known as Stinky Pete. The dilemma he faces is whether to cast aside his constant fear of Andy abandoning him for good, and opt for life with his new found family in some museum somewhere, where he'll be appreciated for many moons to come, or to return with Buzz and his friends for the life he has grown so accustomed to.

The adaptation to change, loyalty, abandonment, friendship - a lot of themes for a children's movie, but that again is the appeal of Toy Story, that it can be viewed at different levels, for a child who can enjoy the animation and the story at one level, and for adults to reminisce and enjoy it on another. By deftly handling the different themes, and appealing to different segments of audiences with the same movie, Pixar exhibited exactly why they're top dogs in this field.

As always, the music and animation are excellent, and given that I'm watching this now and found it enjoyable, I think they have a film that can stand the test of time. I hear of rumours of a third Toy Story movie, and if that were true, I'd say bring it on!
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Perfect Sequel!!!
cbobs30 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Yet again this film is amazing. While i may prefer the Toy Story one, i still absolutely love this film with all my heart and it yet again expands upon the world created and introduces new characters. Jessie being the fun cowgirl with a sad past after she was left behind by her owner Emily. This was a great addition to the cast with Jessie now being just as recognizable as Woody and Buzz. For me, this film is the most fun out of the trilogy.

One thing i did enjoy about this film was yet again the creativity. Especially, revolving around Buzz and co trying to rescue Woody from Al's Toy Barn. The creativity in this film might even be better than in the first as they could explore this world even more without it ruining the film too much. The main plot was with Woody, Jessie and Stinky Pete so the other scenes could just be whatever they wanted it to be. That's why they work so well. They use so much creativity around everyday objects to explain how the toys would be able to reach Woody. The traffic cones, elevator and air vents.

Some of the best scenes include the traffic cone sequence. The tense scene where the toys have to get across the road underneath traffic cones. When Mr Potato head gets his foot stuck on the gum and has to come back for it before he is crushed to death. Certain tropes from the original are repeated in a different way and actually work. We get to see another Buzz who doesn't believe that he is a toy. This is revealed in the comedic line from real Buzz "Did i really used to sound like that?". However, the scene on the elevator when Buzz believes he is flying but really just standing at the top of the elevator is hilarious. Then there's The Empire Strikes Back style scene with Zurg telling Buzz that he is his father. That is my favorite scene in the entire film. Probably because TESB is my favorite film of all time. But i also liked Rex finally defeating Zurg by knocking him off the elevator.

The most emotional scene in the entire film by far is Jessie's backstory. The song playing in the background combined with the emotional imagery of Jessie being forgotten and neglected before finally being put in a box and sold. This is also where Woody learns that Andy isn't going to be there forever and that's why he is prepared to go to Tokyo with Jessie and Stinky Pete. It seems Pete is destined to be part of a collection and has almost brainwashed Jessie into wanting to do the same thing. It was also great to learn about Woody's backstory and where the character came from. The popular 1950's TV show that he had that was cancelled after the idea of spacemen and astronauts took over in children's entertainment. The scenes with Woody looking through his merchandise and him, Jessie and Bullseye dancing around on the record were great. Another creative scene in the film is the cheese puff minefield. Woody creeping up on Al, trying to get his arm back but his facial expressions when he burps are amazing.

The airport scenes are also spectacular and gives the film a great finale. Woody finding Jessie and getting her to come with him was such a heartfelt moment and they finally get to find out what would have happened in the next episode of Woody's roundup. It was great to see Woody finally accept the fact that Andy may not be around forever so he has to do his duty and serve him well in the limited time they had left. I mean, when a film makes you feel for inanimate objects, you know it's great storytelling.

So, Toy Story 2 is an amazing sequel that expands upon the world the first film had started and yet again uses it's creativity to tell a great story. "But i don't wanna move my head!!!!!!"
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Another complete package from Pixar
ashishtom-576051 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
It's just like, Entertainment is sure.., we are meeting some new friends here and some noble problems these toys are facing. The situations with the ageing of the children and how they will be forgotten by their owners are shown. The "woody" became confused to take a decision. The dilemma... going on his mind was shown extactly. Another Great work...
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A good sequel
jmmustchin4 November 2018
Many view Toy Story 2 as better than the original. I'm honestly not sure which is better, but regardless, both are quite good (as is the 3rd one). In this one, Woody is kidnapped by a toy dealer, who wants to sell him. The toys must go to Woody's rescue.

As usual, it's quite funny. There's some interesting (and humorous) Star Wars allusions. The animation is quite good, and the voice cast adequate.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Woody, Buzz and the rest of the gang face a challenging dilemma in a worthy sequel to the landmark 1995 animated feature
cmcrazy8139225 July 2013
"Toy Story 2" was considered a rare sequel that actually managed to meet the expectations set from the original film. Not only that, but many critics seem to think that it's also better than the first. Here's what I have to say in response to these two statements. While I definitely agree that "Toy Story 2" meets the expectations of the original, I wouldn't go so far as to consider it better than the original 1995 landmark animated feature. That being said, there are plenty of special things about "Toy Story 2" that make it the kind of sequel you'll rarely come across every day.

We pick up where the original left off with Woody (Tom Hanks) heading off to cowboy camp with his owner Andy. But when his arm gets accidentally ripped, he is left behind. As if things didn't get worse, Woody is kidnapped by a greedy toy collector named Al (Wayne Knight) after trying to rescue one of the toys from being sold at a yard sale. Now, Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen) and some of the other toys are off on a mission to rescue Woody and return back home. Based on what I've described so far, you might think that this doesn't sound like a sequel that's allegedly better than its predecessor. But then Pixar surprises us with a big plot development, which is that Woody is actually a very rare toy and part of a collection of toys devoted to a show called Woody's Roundup. He even meets other toys from that show including Jessie the cowgirl (Joan Cusack), a horse named Bullseye, and Stinky Pete the Prospector (Kelsey Grammar).

What makes this plot development so strong, aside from giving levity to an otherwise uninspired plot, is that it creates a fascinating conflict for our main character Woody. Woody is forced to make a difficult decision. Either he goes back to his owner Andy with Buzz and the other toys, even though he knows that one day Andy will be all grown up and not have enough time to play with his toys. He must consider doing that or travel with these other toys and go to the museum where they'll be admired by many children all over the world. This kind of dilemma definitely makes the toys question their ultimate purpose in life and yet that's why it's so well thought through. The dilemma that Pixar has created in this story doesn't just affect Woody, it affects all of the other toys. And I think that this conflict that the characters go through is the ultimate reason why this sequel works so well.

But the serious and dramatic dilemma that is created for these characters isn't the only thing that makes "Toy Story 2" stand out. "Toy Story 2" also succeeds because it continues telling a story as opposed to repeating the original film all over again. Even though the plot is similar to the original and/or has been done to death in other movies before it, it still flows very well. It has plenty of humorous bits (even though I could have done with less references to other films including the original "Toy Story" and the "Star Wars" films), a very cool and thrilling climax (which has a great musical score behind it, if I may say so), and more inspiring character development for Woody and Buzz.

Maybe if most sequels were more like this one, sequels wouldn't be a bad word in the film industry. The animation is still as impressive as the first. The humor is still present here. Remember the scene in which Buzz and the gang cross the road in the orange cones? That was hilarious. Almost all of the best characters from the original are still here. "Toy Story 2" was originally intended as a direct-to-video sequel. Based on the end result here, it deserved to be released in theaters since it delivers.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Computer animation finally comes of age
Spleen3 December 1999
All I can say is, the Hollywood convention for naming sequels is unfortunate. You don't see so many numerals in literature. What would have happened if `The Lord of the Rings' had been called `The Hobbit 2'? No-one would have taken it seriously. If only someone could have found an alternate name for `Toy Story 2', I wouldn't have such a hard time convincing people that it's the second film that's the real triumph - the delightful masterpiece `Toy Story' was trying to be.

It's funnier; the animation - well, the art direction, anyway - is better, less concerned with ersatz photo-realism; the musical score is immeasurably more stirring; and the songs actually fit. Most importantly, the rules of the Toy Story universe are clearly described - and adhered to. It's an ironclad rule that a toy NEVER moves while being observed by a human. In the original, as you'll recall, one of the main obstacles is overcome by breaking this rule - which trivialises the whole story, since there are a hundred occasions in both movies where it would be useful for the toys to be able to move while being watched. To see the sequel is to see things done RIGHT.

Furthermore, `Toy Story 2' obeys another golden rule the first film breaks: NEVER deliver a sentimental moral when (a) the sentiment is hard to take seriously, and (b) the success of the story depends upon it being taken seriously. The original is all about how important toys are to children. In the case of Woody and Buzz, I'm sceptical about this; and in any event, who cares, since it's the toys, not the children, who are the main characters. The sequel is all about how important children are to toys. That's why the sequel is so much richer.

Yet I feel safe in recommending the film to everyone who loved the first `Toy Story', since I'm sure everything lovable about the first is still there. Buzz and Woody are much the same (but somehow deeper). And the three-eyed alien dolls are back - with more screen time!

Maybe it's a mistake to even think about the original, though, because the sequel is magnificent not by comparison, nor by association - it's simply magnificent. I'll content myself with mentioning just one more thing: the `bloopers' we see over the end credits. (I gather `A Bug's Life' did the same thing; but since `Toy Story 2' is almost certainly the superior film, this is of no moment.) A number of live-action movies have adopted the loathesome practise of showing out-takes and discarded footage over the end credits. It's good to see it so cuttingly satirised.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed