Rumble in the Bronx (1995) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
97 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Incredibly cheesy, but never a dull moment
MovieLuvaMatt28 January 2004
Watch it for the great action, great stunts and hilarious comedy. You can attack this movie from many different levels. The acting ranges from bad to horrendous, and so is the dialogue and dubbing. But even things like that add to the film's comic elements. When you're not laughing with the film, you're laughing at it. If you're a fan of most of Jackie Chan's work, like I am, have fun! Plus, that Francoise Yip is really, really hot.

My score: 7 (out of 10)
27 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Hollywood bound
GarritSherova13 January 2004
Jackie Chan had never had a box office hit in America despite starring in Hollywood films such as 'Battle Creek Brawl' and 'The Protector' in the 1980s. 'Rumble in the Bronx' was a Hong Kong made film, but they wanted it to have international appeal and achieved this through its New York setting and American background characters. The film intended to introduce Jackie Chan to the West, and that's exactly what it did - but they didn't expect it to be a number one box office hit.

The story involves Keung (Jackie Chan) coming over to America to visit his Uncle who owns a grocery store in the Bronx. Soon enough a biker gang turns up and causes havoc at the store, so it's up to Keung to fend off the bad guys, uncover police corruption, and generally save the day in style.

This is a high energy film and the pace never lets up, there isn't one big set piece in this film there are many big set pieces, but the most impressive stunt has to be the one where Jackie jumps from the top of a multi-storey car park onto a small balcony across the road. The multiple camera set up shows us that there is no safety netting or use of wires - just Jackie entrusting his own life in his own abilities.

Naturally there are countless fight scenes where Jackie shows us his own brand of kung fu comedy, including the process of making inanimate objects become very animated indeed. Only he can turn pinball machines, trolleys and fridge doors into weapons! The only slight criticism I would have is that the fights are over edited, people like Jean Claude Van-Damme and Steven Segal might need a lot of cuts to put a fight scene together, but Jackie doesn't - he's an expert choreographer, and the cuts are needless. I'm not saying that the fight sequences are under par, because they're not, they are still very impressive - especially to people who haven't seen the man in action.

When the American audiences saw 'Rumble in the Bronx', they saw the real Jackie Chan not the shadow of a man struggling to gain artistic input under a Hollywood studios control. They were wowed by the death-defying stunts, frenetic fight sequences, and the sheer energy of the film from start to finish got word-of-mouth working overtime.

'Rumble in the Bronx' was the surprise box office hit of 1996, it made the West sit up and take notice of an exceptional talent they had long overlooked. The next time Jackie Chan would star in a Hollywood film he would be given the respect he had always deserved - and another box office hit.
33 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My introduction to Jackie Chan.
lee_eisenberg2 January 2006
Before I'd seen "Rumble in the Bronx", I'd heard of Jackie Chan but never seen any of his movies. Well, when I saw this, I practically died laughing. Basically an hour and a half of him bonking people in every direction, the movie is physical humor at its best. The plot has Hong Kong cop Keung (Chan) coming to New York for his uncle's wedding and having to battle street gangs and a crime syndicate. By battle, I of course mean pulling every crazy stunt imaginable. I really liked the early scene in the store, and then the whole hovercraft sequence.

I gotta ask: how did we get by before these kinds of movies? There was once a time when movies all followed the Disney formula, and Jackie Chan-style plots were unfathomable. Thank God for Bruce Lee! As it is, Jackie Chan often seems to be spoofing Bruce Lee. Hilarious.
29 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great introduction to Chan's work
Castor-513 August 2000
This was the first film I saw of Jackie's (first one released in the US that I can remember despite The Protector and The Big Brawl in the 80s) and I have to say it's a great introduction to Chan's work. The fighting is great and well shot while the stunts are amazing. The humor (a Jackie trademark) is also hilarious. People from the US really don't know what a good martial arts film is. Some have grown up with Bruce Lee and it's appreciated but many of them are constantly renting Van Damme and Steven Segal films (working at a video store, I see it all the time). Seeing someone who really is impressive at martial arts, dosen't need fast cuts and choppy editing, and does his own stunts puts all the Van Damme's and Segal's to shame. Take the warehouse fight for example and compare it to any American martial arts film and you will see the difference.

For those who haven't seen this film yet and love martial arts films - rent this movie. For those who have seen it and want to see more Jackie - I recommend Drunken Master I and II (II is very hard to find in the US), The Young Master (great final fight), Who Am I? (unbelieveable stunts), Police Story I, II, and III (all around Jackie Chan films, III is known in the US as just Supercop), Operation Condor (tons of martial arts), and Project A I and II (II is another hard to find one in the US). You may also want to check out Rush Hour and Shanghai Noon - they aren't as good as the ones listed above but they are entertaining and Jackie Chan films nonetheless. As for Rumble In The Bronx, make it your first Chan film.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Jackie Chan - Hero
winner5530 October 2006
I've read reviews from a number of people who were fans of Jackie Chan before he was well known in the west, that express disappointment that Rumble in the Bronx is the film that finally made Chan a household name in America, because they feel the film is quite a come-down from the "Police Story" films that formed the main link between Chan and his past before making this film.

I must strongly disagree. Yes - the Anglo actors aren't very good; the plot is silly at times; the dialog is weak, some of the characters are unbelievable.

But there's seems no question that the stunt-work is excellent, and the fight scenes are excellent - these really form the reason for making the film in the first place.

Furthermore, I think that, of all the protagonists he's played, Chan's character here is the closest to being a true hero of the highest caliber - incorruptible, unstoppable, compassionate, smart - if all our heroes were like this, this would be a different world; if we were all like this, it would be heaven.

And I'm not getting all that ironic here - I sincerely mean that Chan returns a kind of virtuous character to the silver screen, that hasn't been seen for a very long time.

Consequently, despite occasional violence, I would not stop children from seeing this film - I would encourage them to do so. They can learn a lot about ethics and character from watching this film - and that is actually quite remarkable, to be able to say that of a Martial Arts film.
20 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Funny and spectacular Jackie Chan movie in his first American super hit with highlights provided by a hovercraft
ma-cortes7 April 2013
Amusing and entertaining Chan film in which he demonstrates his sensational skills as a great action man . It deals with a young man named Keong (Jackie Chan) visiting and helping his uncle in New York City finds himself forced to fight a street gang and the mob with his martial art abilities . His uncle has a local Chinese supermarket, which he owns and is in the process of selling to Elaine (Anita Mui). Later on , Keong befriends a neighbor kid and his sister (Francois Yip) and beats up some neighborhood thugs .

Hong Kong/US/Canada action comedy full of over-the-top struggles , excitement , thrills , ingenious stunts , slapstick , lots of brawls but with abundant humor and tongue-in-cheek . This fun movie is plenty of intrigue , unstopped action , and overwhelming stunt-work with breathtaking ending images including a hovercraft . Jackie Chan is top notch as one army man fighting a group of heinous villains and as always he makes his own stunts like is well showed at the final credits . Awesome , incredible stunts and brief comic touches , as usual ; the picture is better constructed than Chan's predecessors films . The lighting-paced storyline slows down at times , but frantic action sequences make up for it . Spotlights movie include spectacular fights , including bounds and leaps , impressive and interminable struggles , an impressive final struggle between Jackie Chan and enemies . The warehouse fight scene took twenty days to film, with Chan having to teach the local stunt players to fight "Hong Kong style". In addition other fine action sequences in overwhelming and extraordinary style . The script called for a leap from the top of a parking lot to a fire escape on the floor below on the building across the street , as is his custom, director Stanley Tong attempted the stunt before asking any actors to do so. He tried it with the help of a cable harness, but quickly decided it would be safer without the harness. The landing point was not visible from the point where the jump began, so tape was placed on the take-off point as a guide ,the jump was completed perfectly by 'Chan, Jackie' on the first attempt, doing his own stunts as is his custom . The jump was captured by four cameras.

This is an acceptable action movie distinguished by nicely cinematography of the spectacular sequences , and contains agreeable sense of humor as well as previous entries . Jackie Chan usually forms couple to notorious actresses as Maggie Chung and Michelle Yeoh . In this outing Jackie teams up to gorgeous Francoise Yip (who broke her leg while filming the scene where she rides a motorbike across the tops of parked cars , she insisted on returning to the set after her leg was plastered at hospital) and prestigious Chinese actress Anita Mui , a fine action star in their own right but sadly she early died by cancer . Both of them starred together several films such as ¨Mr Canton and Lady Rose¨ and ¨Legend of the drunken master¨ . Filming in Vancouver, Canada on October 6th, 1994, Chan broke his right ankle while attempting the scene where he jumps onto the hovercraft. Despite the injury, he was present at the premiere of ¨The legend of the drunken fighter¨ at the Vancouver International Film Festival that night. Later in the production, Tong sprained his ankle, completing the film on crutches . Two stunt women also broke their legs during the filming of the motorcycle chase.

The picture achieved big success in China , USA and all around the world . However , Jackie Chan's failed at Box-office in his American debut ,¨Battle creek brawl¨ . Chan is a hard-working actor and director throughout his long and varied career . Chan usually pays overt homage to two of his greatest influences as Charles Chaplin and Harold Lloyd . He went on playing ¨Cannoball¨ , ¨The protector¨ and "Rumble in the Bronx", until getting all American success with ¨Shangai Knights¨ , ¨The tuxedo¨ , ¨Around the world in 80 days¨ and ¨Rush hour¨ trilogy , and the recent ¨Karate kid¨. Of course , his biggest hits were ¨The Police story¨ series that won the Golden Horse Award, a Chinese version of the Oscar , the first was titled ¨Police story (1985)¨ directed by the same Chan , it was a perfect action film for enthusiastic of the genre ; the following was ¨Police story 2 (1988)¨ also pretty violent and with abundant humor touches . It's followed by ¨Supercop¨ or ¨Police story 3¨ and finally , ¨Police story IV : Crime story¨ . The picture is well produced by the great Asian producer Raymond Chow and Golden Harvest production and compellingly directed by Stanley Tong and helped by Jackie Chan . Rating : Acceptable and passable , the picture has its sensational moments here and there , but also with abundant humor touches mostly provided by its agile star , the super Jackie stunningly accompanied by Anita Mui and Francois Yip . It's a perfect action film for enthusiasts of the genre and especially for Jackie fans .
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The Streets of San Bronx
thesar-26 September 2009
I'd guess you'd have to call 'Rumble in the Bronx' an extreme example of a guilty pleasure. Though back in the 1990s, it was not my first introduction to Jackie Chan (the inferior 'Supercop' was) it was the one that got me hooked on his work. All the way through this viewing – the first in many years, the word "silly" kept popping up in my mind. It's dialogue, acting, stereotypes and shoddy cop work was so hilariously bad, I could only think this had to be written by someone who's only contact with the U.S.A. involves watching old 1970s cop hour-long dramas. And while some scenes were actually funny (SEE: the wrench threat) some were downright unintentionally funny (SEE: the toddler-toss and the entire closing on the golf course.) Leaving all that negative behind, it was an extreme joy watching Chan perform his own stunts in many, many inventive ways while simultaneously creating a very human and good-hearted character. The stunts were simply amazing and if one were to watch today for the first time, they need to know: he did them all himself, without a green screens, cables, etc. As arrogant as Chan is – I've read his biography, it's dripping with arrogance, he does have great gifts in originality, showmanship, pride in his work and making sure he never uses traditional American trickery/stunts. (This changes later in his work, when he was forced and got older, but this work and ones around it were all pure Chan.) Synopsis: Good-natured nephew Chan visits NYC and gets thrown in extraordinary circumstances: fighting both gangs and mob bosses while helping 2 women, his Uncle and a handicapped child. All that's irrelevant; what matters is once the action starts, it never lets up. And with an open-mind, what a fun rumble you'll have.

Side Note: Wow.. not only was it painful for all the actors to get hurt during production (not to mention the roughly 16 dozen vehicles) it was also gut wrenching to watch the closing credits that showed mostly the unintentional crashes, broken bones, etc. You really have to hand it to the devotion of the crew, cast and Chan. Definitely Chan. My comments about his arrogance does not mean I don't admire the man, especially his extremely poor and underprivileged beginnings to the entertainer he became. He's one of the very few actors/action stars that no matter how incredibly silly his movies look to me – it has to be a culture thing, it's always a rush to see how long his fight scenes last, how inventive he becomes and simply how exciting they are.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
There IS a rumble, in the Bronx that is!
GOWBTW7 April 2005
This movie is spectacular. Jackie Chan going to the Bronx. And man, it's a zoo out there. HAHAHAHAHA!!! His uncle runs a store along with Elaine(Anita Mui,1963-2003) who seems to be a lit bit edgy with Keung(J.C.). Uncle Bill(Bill Tung) shows Keung his new aunt-in-law. Who happens to be Afro-American, who Keung happens to be in such shock, but not uptight about it. Seems like he'll get along with her quite well. Though she was shameless when using the bathroom when the tougher baddies tore the store down. The fight scenes are completely unforgettable, and Keung and the gangs ended working together when one of the gangs was brutally murdered by a tougher group other than themselves. The second best scene was the hovercraft vs. Chan vs. a Lamborgini. The Laborgini may have lost their doors, but the sword laced auto took out that hovercraft easily. The water ski scene was awesome. And in my opinion Chan should try out pro one day. Though Chan is wild and cool, he knows how to have fun here in the U.S.A. Rating 4 out of 5 stars.
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Jackie cracks the west
ed_two_o_nine8 February 2009
Well here we go once again with the undisputed king of action comedy. The one and only Jackie Chan. While this is nowhere near Chan's best movie we can be grateful for the fact that this is the film that finally gave Chan his much deserved break in the USA. This is the story on Chan's character Keung who comes to the Bronx for his uncle's wedding and ends up caught up in a series of events that involve biker gangs, and diamond robbers. But really none of this matters this is just an excuse for Jackie to show of his amazing action skills (in the fight scenes which he also choreographed), and this he does to his usual amazing standards. There seems to be more edits in the fight scenes that is normal for Jackie but I suspect this might be down to one of two things. One making the film more palatable for a western audience. Or two that Jackie broke his ankle in the filming of this movie. Still tell me the last time you saw a western movie star leap from a roof on to the fire escape of the next building!!! Truly amazing stuff. On the down side the western characters and acting are very wooden but hey just enjoy Chan and hopefully then go seek out his Hong Kong movies.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Early Jackie Chan American adventure is still one of his best and most entertaining ones.
Boba_Fett113819 July 2008
This is basically the movie that introduced Jackie Chan to Hollywood and the world to Jackie Chan. It brought the crazy and amazing action and fight sequences from Chan's into the western world of film-making. It makes this movie something fresh and unique, or at least for its time it was. I remember first seeing this movie in the mid-'90's, just before the time it was released as a rental movie. My brother was working in a video-store and had to take a few new video's home with him in order to decide whether or not the video-store should buy this movie for rental purposes. In those days this movie was really something fun and spectacular to watch and shortly afterward Jackie Chan also became a real big and popular movie-star. Way more popular and appreciated as he is now days.

What really makes this movie is its action. It's never anything too big, also since the movie is made obviously with a fairly low budget but it's very entertaining and amazing at the same time. Amazing, since obviously no harnesses or cables were used for the fight sequences and stunts. It also resulted in lots of broken bones and other injuries during the production but the end result for the movie is really something great and spectacular looking and is brought very entertainingly by Jackie Chan and director Stanley Tong, who both directed the action sequences together. You should see this movie just purely for its entertaining action, since everything else about the movie is actually quite bad to be honest. It might very well be the Jackie Chan movie with the very best action in it.

The movie is a very entertaining one to watch that gets better as it progresses. It's as if the in the first halve tried to be too serious with its approach but in the second halve the gloves are off and the movie becomes truly ridiculously over-the-top and fun at the same time. The best example of this is perhaps the finale sequence in which Chan and his happy friends get the main bad guy with an hovercraft. It's a totally pointless and completely ridicules and also short, rushed done sequence but because of that it at the same time works out very hilarious. I'm still looking for a movie with a better use of the hovercraft than this one!

It's hard to really judge the acting in the movie, since all of the actors were dubbed, even the American actors. This gives the movie an even more ridicules feeling and also makes the acting seem as something completely horrible and over-the-top.

The movie its story often makes lots of crazy jumps and it perhaps even feel as two totally different scripts that were blend in with each other, with as a result that not everything always makes a whole lot of sense and continuity and character treatments are messy. It perhaps almost seems as if the story was mainly purely there to let the movie feature as many and crazy stunts and fight sequences as possible.

The movie is most of the time looking and definitely feeling as a B-movie but in a good way. It's made as an entertaining movie and at entertaining this movie does simply not fail.

As long as you don't pay any attention to the story or logical and it's acting or anything else like it, you'll simply enjoy this movie for the entertainment that it brings, with mainly it's over-the-top but absolutely amazing action sequences.

7/10

http://bobafett1138.blogspot.com/
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Sometimes a bit silly but always very entertaining.
Pjtaylor-96-13804426 February 2018
There are some moments in 'Rumble In The Bronx (1995)' where the dub causes unintentional hilarity ("my cushion") and occasional times when the silliness of the tone doesn't quite match up with the intentions of the plot, but for the most part this is a fun and fantastically well-choreographed action-adventure staring cinema's greatest stunt-man-come-actor. It finds that superb middle-ground between fight and dance and, as such, is a feast for the eyes in a ballet of brutality that favours the spectacle of motion far more than the violence of battle, even though there are segments of proper grisliness here and there, which adds up to a piece that's incredibly entertaining and impressive to boot. 7/10
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So Good Dude
jwwassel4 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
So good dude. That hovercraft chase really brings it home. When I'm confused in life, and don't know where to turn I often think to myself WWJD. What would Jackie do? Well he'd steal a hovercraft, that's what he'd do. He makes survival a fun and visually stimulating experience. It's important that we all take a moment out of our day, step back and think to ourselves "How can I be a little more like Jackie?"
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The jump from the roof of one building to the balcony of adjacent building was copied by Jason bourne.
Fella_shibby23 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I remember seeing this film in Regal theatre, Colaba, Mumbai in 1996. The stunts were simply amazing and if one were to watch today for the first time, they need to know: Jackie did them all himself, without cables, etc. The movie is a very entertaining one to watch that gets better as it progresses. There is a scene where Jackie takes a leap from the roof of one building into a balcony of the adjacent building. (Jason Bourne copied from this). Jackie Chan provides some of the best fight scenes in this film with lots of cool jaw dropping stunts. And you got to love the little film at the end of the movie showing Jackie do all the stunts. This film showed some of Jackies best stunt work. The hovercraft action scene was also good. Directed by Stanley Tong (Police story 3, 4).
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Jackie Rules
Basco18 February 1999
There's only one real action hero, that's Jackie Chan. This movie is one of his best. Non stop action, Non stop fun. A masterpiece in action and fight.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
great action, but it's missing something
bluepotato11 August 2001
Jackie Chan is, without a doubt, one of the greatest action stars of our time - but that is not all he does, by far. He is the only actor I can think of who has so seamlessly blended heartstopping action with rolling-on-the-floor comedy. However, having seen some of his later work, I must say that in certain respects this movie did not live up to the expectations I had set for Jackie Chan.

While the action sequences were excellent, they were a bit sparse, and there was too much plot between them. Normally that wouldn't be something to complain about too much, but in this case the plot was almost nonexistent. I've decided that the movie was basically an excuse for two big scenes: the kung-fu battle with the gang, and the hovercraft scene.

There were several scenes in the movie which had me laughing out loud - the kind of clever humor and subtlety that has become Jackie Chan's trademark. But during a great portion of the movie, I was scratching my head wondering where that refreshing humor had gone. Some scenes were just too serious for a Jackie Chan movie.

All that said, I really did enjoy the movie, and would give it 6 stars out of 10. The action sequences did have me on the edge of my seat, and the funny parts did have me laughing. I won't say that it was Jackie Chan's best work, but it was certainly enough to get him onto the American radar, and I'm very glad that that's where he is now. So I would recommend seeing this movie, but if someone were seeing their first Jackie Chan movie, I would recommend something else, possibly starting with a newer, non-dubbed American film first.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Let's get ready to RUMBLE!! (in the Bronx)
Kai-1824 December 1999
A great Jackie Chan Action Flick. Loads of fighting, humor, fighting, death-defying stunts, fighting, adventure and fighting. This type of movie makes you wish Bruce Lee was still alive so they could team up. Rent it for a popcorn munching good type. You shant be disappointed (is shant really a word?)
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Are you ready to Rumble? I'm sure am! This movie is action pack!
ironhorse_iv29 September 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Rumble in the Bronx is a pretty fun Hong Kong martial arts action comedy. Directed by Stanley Tong, the movie is about Ma Hon Keung (Jackie Chan), a Hong Kong native whom comes to New York to help his Uncle (Bill Tung) sell his supermarket business to new owner, Elaine (Anita Mui). While, helping out, Keung found himself in a rivalry with the local street gang, leaded by Tony (Marc Akerstream) that leaded to a series of street brawls. Before the plot could get tiresome. The plot takes a left turn by having one of the member of the street gang, Angelo (Garvin Cross) gets involved in an illegal diamond deal gone bad forcing the small-time gangsters and Keung to team up against the much larger and more effective criminal syndicate led by White Tiger (Kris Lord). I have mixed feelings about how the plot turn into another diamond heist movie. The first part of the movie really fits the title card. The second part, remind me of another movie series starring Jackie Chan, the Police Stories franchise. I was just really disappointment that the gang and Keung would end up, being friendly with each other, after nearly killing each other in the first half. After all, Tony nearly kill Keung with broken glass. Even today, that scene alone, is pretty damn brutal. The action scenes are really awesome to watch. Jackie Chan is famous for always doing his own stunts and you see his best, here. Great fight choreography, it really look like they honestly hit each other hard. Great use of normal household props. I always think that Jackie Chan is the best of irregular weapons. It was fun, watching him beat people up with skis, shopping carts, and other materials. I love the big building to building jump. I just wish, they didn't show the same shot, three times through four different cameras angles. It just took me out of the film. The hovercraft scenes were crazy to watch. Can't believe that, Jackie Chan was hurt the whole time and wearing a cast. Jackie Chan's right foot lands at a bad angle after jumping onto the hovercraft in the first scene, causing a serious injury that would not heal for the remainder of filming. The shot still made it into the finished movie. Like most Jackie Chan movies, the outtakes show how dangerous these stunts were. The lead actress and several stunt doubles were also injured during the shooting of a motorcycle stunt, with several people suffering broken limbs and ankles. The movie wasn't all action. It did have some funny moments that hit the funny bone for me. I love the two way mirror gag. Jackie Chan's high spirits and infectious personality made the movie character likable and not bland. You can tell that Jackie Chan was indeed, having fun, making the movie. I have to say, the supporting cast were pretty good. Francise Yip as Nancy was very attractive and had some kickass moments. I love the scene where she's dancing in bra & panties lingerie in a tiger cage. She had more depth than most martial artist movies, female leads. I don't know why Anita Mui was in the film, but her premise didn't hurt the film. Still, her character could had been cut from the film. Morgan Lam as Danny is questionable. I didn't hate his performance, but he was really given some awful lines to say. I also found it, funny that the filmmakers had his character play a video game console without a game in it. Add that to the blooper reel with the baby dummy. I do like how much work, they put in, to make the movie seem like it was set in the Bronx, even if in reality, the movie was filmed in Vancouver, B.C. Most scenes, it does look like it could be set in New York City, but in other scenes, the whole mountains and beach fronts are clear giveaways that it isn't. The gang doesn't look realistic as well. In reality, all those people of different races wouldn't be in the same gang. Most of them look like badly dress 1990s pirates. Another odd thing about the movie is the English dubbing. The original spoken dialog consisted of all of the actors speaking their native language most of the time. In the completely undubbed soundtrack, Jackie Chan actually speaks his native Cantonese while Françoise Yip and Morgan Lam speak English. All of the original dialog was intended to be dubbed over in the international and Hong Kong film markets, and New Line cinema overdubbed and slightly changed the original English dialog. While, the English version is workable; it's a bit off-keyed. The US version does have a few differs than the Hong Kong version as 17 minutes of scenes were cut. Most of them were add on scenes of already establish shots. There were a few entire scenes cut that help explain why Keung was often attack by the street gang. The English version also replaced the song that Jackie Chan had over the closing credits with the song "Kung Fu" by the band Ash, the lyrics of which mention Jackie Chan, as well as other Asian figures and characters ubiquitous in the west. Overall: The movie was very successful, and help bring its star, Jackie Chan into the American mainstream. It's a must watch for any Martial Artist action movie fan.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Silly but entertaining.
aramo114 October 2002
Based on R1 DVD 90 min.

If your looking for a deep, or even knee length, plot then look elsewhere - Rumble in the Bronx is all about the amazing Chan. If your 15- to 40+ this man should inspire.

6/10 worth watching for the physical stunts.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Jackie Chan's Excellence!
namashi_13 November 2016
In this fast-paced action-packed ride, 2016 Recipient of The Honourary Academy-Award, Jackie Chan displays excellence. With mesmerizing comfort in material arts, genuine feeling in light moments & comic timing so neat, that only Jim Carrey could envy, Chan is an absolute delight in this 1990's blockbuster. I revisited it after years & still found myself in awe.

'Rumble in the Bronx' Synopsis: A young man visiting and helping his uncle in New York City finds himself forced to fight a street gang and the mob with his martial art skills.

'Rumble in the Bronx' is crisp, violent, funny & entirely engaging. The story moves on a feverish pace & the series of events that happen with our unbeatable hero, are arresting all through. The Writing is neat & Stanley Tong's Direction stays to the point.

The Action-Sequences/Martial Arts Combats are FANTASTIC. Chan is at the top of his game here, and as mentioned before, his excellence rules the show. The supporting cast too, put in sincere, committed performances.

On the whole, This one remains a winner!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Gotta Love It!
cottonmouthz17 September 2018
I don't know what it is about Jackie Chan, but I just love his stuff. Anything he's in, I'll watch it. I just can't get enough.

I guess you could say he just has a certain "quality" about him if you will. Je ne sais quoi, as the French would say.

But this one, Rumble in the Bronx, is a real favorite of mine. I've watched it many times over the years and I can assure you I will watch it many more.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Still one of my favorite Jackie Chan films, "Rumble in the Bronx" is a fast, fun ride that introduced Chan to western audiences.
MaximumMadness1 November 2014
Having been born in the late 80's, I grew up a 90's child. And throughout my youth, I would always hear murmurings of a particular Hong Kong action-hero whose worldwide stardom was slowly rising. That man- Jackie Chan.

Finally, he exploded across my home country of the US in 1995 with the release of this film- "Rumble in the Bronx", his first true widely released "hit" of sorts in the Western World, that gave him a greater deal of recognition and made him into a household name for movie and action fans. And thankfully, in the ensuing 20 years, he's continued to gain more and more recognition and admiration the world over.

I didn't see the film upon its initial release. But a few years later, after being wooed by his Hollywood work (particularly "Shanghai Noon", and to a lesser extent "Rush Hour"), I knew I just HAD to start looking into his filmography. And this was one of my first big experiences with Chan at his best. It's not a particularly strong film in terms of plot or character development. (In fact, the film's attempts to deliver those elements come off as laughable at times.) But that doesn't mean it's a bad film, because those are clearly not the main focus point for Chan or director Stanley Tong. No, this is a film about delivering intense action and wonderful broad humor. And this film excels at that, being an absolutely charming, wowing and dazzling example of a fun action film done right.

Chan stars as Keung, a Hong Kong cop who comes to visit the Bronx for his immigrant uncle Bill's (Bill Tung) upcoming wedding, while also helping Bill with the final transition of selling his supermarket to a quirky woman named Elain. (Anita Mui) He also befriends a young disabled boy named Danny (Morgan Lam) and runs afoul of a vicious street-gang, not knowing that Danny's sister Nancy (Françoise Yip) is associated with them. He is eventually pulled into a sort-of dual plot, as he fights against the ruthless street gang, before realizing he needs to help them in a struggle against a ruthless crime-lord known only as "White Tiger."

Though this may sound a little basic and cliché, it's not a problem. And it becomes clear early on that the plot and characters will take an almost immediate and prolonged back-seat to make way for the humor and action. And I was fine with it, to be honest. While it's easy to complain that many action movies suffer for lacking the elements of plot/character, it's usually because the film lacks charm, wit and excitement to make up for the loss of those elements. And that isn't the case here. Chan, Tong and the rest of the cast and crew supply such an immediate, constant "fun factor", and elevate the material through wonderful Chaplin/Keaton-esque humor and charm, broad characterizations that the audience is able to immediately connect with, and some of the best action of its decade. You simply won't care that the plot isn't the greatest, and that the characters can be very basic. You'll be having too much fun to notice!

It seems almost futile to even judge the performances and competence of the production, because it almost doesn't matter at all. What is meant to work (the laughs and thrills), works wonderfully, and that is able to make up for almost any production or writing-related shortcomings. (And as I said above, elements that don't work, like some of the character development, have an unintentional humor to them, which just adds even more to the entertainment value.)

But for what it's worth, I think the actors all do a fun job with the limited material they are given. There isn't a sore-thumb to be seen, except possibly from some of the villainous characters, who seem a bit too "over the top." Direction is strong enough for the material, and the blocking/composition is all quite decent.

If I had any complaints, it'd be this: While I will admit that I can more-than-forgive the lack of a decent plot, I do think this film would have benefited by having a slightly more-developed storyline. And I think it's uneven at times with it's tone, taking one or two bizarrely dark turns at key moments that felt out-of-left-field. And I think it's R-rating is completely unnecessary, and even betrays the tone of the film itself. (This "feels" like a film that could appeal to all ages from 10-100... but the R-rating, mainly due to some unnecessary profanity, could limit this appeal.)

But despite those complaints, I have to admit that this is a personal favorite for me. It's got some of the best action of the 90's (the "big fight" in the film still holds up to this day and is more thrilling than most films you're likely to see), some absolutely gut- busting humor, and one of the most charming and thrilling action stars to ever live.

Thanks for giving us so many thrills and laughs, Jackie Chan!

I'm giving this a near-perfect 9 out of 10 for the wonderful fun- factor it provides.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Let's get ready to rumble…
BA_Harrison2 July 2014
Kung fu expert Keung (Jackie Chan) travels from Hong Kong to New York to visit his uncle Bill (Bill Tung), who is to be married. After a run in with a local street gang, Keung is forced to use his martial arts skills to defend himself, but eventually finds himself forming an alliance with the leader of the thugs when the mob, who are searching for a missing cache of diamonds, becomes a common enemy.

Jackie Chan had tried to crack the US market in the 80s, with US/HK co-productions Cannonball Run 1&2, The Big Brawl and The Protector, but it wasn't until 1995, with Rumble In The Bronx, that America finally wised up and began to pay serious attention to the the wacky martial arts star. Given the level of danger experienced by Jackie and his stunt crew in this crazy caper, it would have been rude not to…

As Keung, Jackie gets to star in numerous brilliantly choreographed but still potentially life-threatening action/fight routines guaranteed to impress. Whether it be going up against baseball bat wielding thugs, leaping from a rooftop to a balcony, water-skiing barefoot behind a speedboat, or clinging perilously to a hovercraft as it ploughs through crowded streets, the Hong Kong superstar is on top form, making this amongst his most enjoyable and action packed cinematic outings.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Awesome
tigerstar15411 June 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Rumble in the bronx

I heard a lot about this movie and how it launched Jackie Chan's career in the west. i saw this and it was awesome despite the fact it was a typical 90s movie.

Jackie Chan visits his uncle in NY and becomes involved with a motorcycle gang.

The pluses: Jackie Chan and his action work, and the the girl who plays Nancy.

The Minuses: Weird acting by white actors, kid was annoying, corny at times and melodramatic.

Overall, Rumble in the bronx is great and funny at time. 8/10
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
my favourite jackie chan movie, a blast from start to finish
daworldismine23 May 2012
Warning: Spoilers
rumble in the bronx is one of my favourite movies of alltime, and my favourite jackie chan movie, no im not saying its his best, im saying its my favourite, to me it has some of his best fight scenes and stunts of the 90's, and the movie made him a world wide star whats not to love, and plus the movie is very funny, easily one of his funniest movies. the first jackie chan movie i ever taped off TV, and the one I've seen the most, to me rumble in the bronx is the best action movie of the 90's, perfect action, perfect comedy, perfect movie. jackie chan rarely fails to deliver, and this is one of his best movies, and i recommend it to anybody who wants to see some awesome action
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Chan at his Comical, Lightning-Quick Best
drqshadow-reviews8 July 2011
Jackie Chan's first major American breakthrough remains his most energetic, entertaining spectacle. The film's storyline is a joke, with supposedly hardcore Bronx motorcycle gangs coming off like characters in a Saturday morning cartoon, but that's clearly not the point. The plot's only there to fill the space between fight scenes with a few randomly connected antagonizing situations, and in many instances its complete lack of any connection with reality is actually quite charming. The real focus, naturally, is on Chan's inventive use of his surroundings and blistering hand speed during his frequent clashes with gaudily-dressed bikers and, later on, suit-and-sunglasses adorned g-men. Regardless of locale, Jackie is somehow able to find an unsuspecting prop, then quickly put it to use in bludgeoning somewhere in the range of a dozen different combatants in wildly original ways, keeping audiences surprised and indulged. A kindergarten-grade story won't win this rumble any awards, but as a vehicle for its star's own inimitable style of celluloid-friendly martial arts it's perfect.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed