Tiger Cage II (1990) Poster

(1990)

User Reviews

Review this title
13 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Best Modern day Hk flick!!!
Ash-8931 January 2001
I'll say it again: Tiger Cage II is simply the best modern day action movie from Hong Kong. This movie has it all to become a classic: martial arts, gunfights, an awesome swordfight, comedy, and good characters and stunts!! Don't be fooled by the title it has nothing to do with the first Tiger Cage!! Donnie Yen (The greatest, in my opinion!!), Robin Shou(from Mortal Kombat, but don't worry he fights extremely well in this movie) and Davis Wu star in this great action movie. The last 20 minutes of the movie are fights after fights: Robin against David, Donnie against John Salvitti, Donnie against Michael Woods, Donnie against Robin!!! The movie's is also extremely well directed by the Master himself: Yuen-Woo Ping. And Donnie, Yuen Cheung-Yan and Yuen Shun-Yee(two brothers of Yuen Woo-Ping) are in charge of the action sequences. Simply get this movie if you are looking for a great ACTION movie from HK...............................9,3/10
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Full of brutal martial arts
drngor21 March 2000
Yuen Woo-Ping once again delivers another modern day actioner full of brutal martial arts action. In this movie, Donnie Yen and Rosamond Kwan are on the run from cops and drug dealers after they are framed for murder. Plot is insignificant in this film, however. This movie has a lot of great fights including Donnie Yen and John Salvitti fighting with swords and a fight with Michael Woods. These are classic fight scenes. The only problem is that in my version, Cynthia Khan fights Robin Shou for a few moments and then arrests him. I felt cheated. The movie was also a bit too vulgar and violent for my tastes. Anyone who likes martial arts movies should check this out.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A divorced ex cop teams up with his divorce lawyer and a handsome stranger to fight a corrupt lawyer and businessman.
pal0505200316 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
After rewatching this again, you can see that Hollywood in the 90s does not know how to direct action. The best example is here, where Robin Shu plays a convincingly formidable opponent to none other than the great Donnie Yen. Shou in the Mortal Kombat movies seems like a joke because the choreography is terrible and there are not real talents. This is the greatest strengths of Tiger Cage 2. There are great car chases, fight scenes and stunts. The fights look convincing in the sense that the moves are not flashy for the sake of exhibition, nor are they too intense that you would cringe. Yen's swordfight with John Salvitti, and leg to hand fight against Michael Wood are the best parts. But other scenes are brilliant such as the fight with David Wu.We also see that Hong Kong cinema does have strong female protagonists long before Hollywood. Rosamund Kwan was not just a pretty face but was pivotal in the story, she also had some badass moments too. Cynthia Kwan, who plays a supporting role, is also a strong detective and has one great action scene too. In short, this a great family action movie to enjoy. Because of the intense action scenes, it may get an R rating (I don't know) but for us Asians, we are totally cool.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Top dollar action all the way
Leofwine_draca5 November 2014
A sequel in name only to the action-packed TIGER CAGE, TIGER CAGE 2 marks a real highlight of the Hong Kong comedy cop/action sub-genre. Directed by Yuen Woo Ping - undoubtedly one of the best of the Chinese directors and martial arts choreographers - this sequel turns out to be better than the original and indeed might well be the best of its kind.

The film features an intensely likable Donnie Yen and an at-her-most-gorgeous Rosamund Kwan as a mismatched couple (a cop and a lawyer, respectively) who run foul of some sinister money launderers who use murder to keep their business private. The end up on the run being pursued by gangsters. Of course, what this inevitably leads to is an incredible amount of expertly-choreographed action and fight sequences. There are the requisite car chases and shoot-outs here, but the majority of the action is hand-to-hand combat, and boy is it blistering.

Yen is on top form as a physical fight and his bouts with various opponents are fast and furious. The plot is occasionally slightly muddled (and the dodgy subtitles on the Hong Kong blu-ray I watched hardly helped) but it doesn't matter as this is visual, visceral entertainment throughout. Michael Woods makes his third (and best) appearance in a Chinese film, the creepy John Salvitti is back from IN THE LINE OF DUTY 4, and Robin Shou makes a decent antagonist. Watch out for a surprisingly fine David Wu in support and a cameo from veteran star Lo Lieh as a gangster.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Fairly enjoyable action fluff
gridoon20209 January 2008
The plot is shallow and frankly quite tiresome (Donnie Yen and Rosamund Kwan spend most of the running time being chased by the police and the bad guys headed by Robin Shou, until they pick up some friends and decide to fight back), but the fight scenes are often creative (in one, Yen has to fight with only one hand because his other is cuffed to Kwan, so he ends up using her as a weapon as well; another fight takes place on a moving double-decker bus), and some of the moves and stunts are awesome (like when Yen jumps and delivers three kicks in mid-air before landing down, without the help of wires I think). As usual, the best stuff is saved for last, with Yen going one-on-one against firstly John Salvitti in a swordfight, then against Michael Woods (who could be described as a Black Hulk), and finally against Robin Shou (a brief but very fast fight). Rosamund Kwan falls somewhere between shrill and adorable, but mostly on the adorable side; I had seen her in a couple of other films, but I had never noticed before what a beautiful, expressive face she has. Oh, and Cynthia Khan pops up briefly, playing (presumably) the same character as in the "In The Line Of Duty" series (Inspector Yeung), but her part is essentially a cameo. (**1/2)
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Annoying At Times But Overall Great
ThyDavideth26 January 2017
I know, I know. Rosamond Kwan is as useless as **** zits. She is like a loud-mouth parrot on crack. And believe me, nothing was more enjoyable when Donnie finally said to her in his mind (and I'm assuming this) "*****, you annoyed me for the last time," and punched her in the face. But trust me, her uselessness and exasperating nature wasn't even close to ruining what I think was great action movie.

Tiger Cage 2 is about Donnie and Rosamond on the run from the cops for a murder they didn't commit (but that part of the story is not really focused) and also trying to recover a **** load of money and dealing with some corrupt guy who was the mastermind behind the murder. What will they do? Ooga Booga!

The story does work for what it is even though it is unfocused at times and some of the aspects of the story are not conclusive. The acting is passable except Rosamond who is nothing more than eye-candy who acts as a horrid comic relief. But the action is where this movie really shines. It is practically non-stop and all of it was fantastic. Most of the action is martial arts fighting and does have some gun fighting and the choreography is wonderful. BUT (!!!!) what is up with that sword fighting scene? That was my main curiosity for this movie and I wasn't disappointed. In fact I liked it a lot but it is a little over-hyped. I would put it in maybe top 100 best fight scenes ever but I seen better. Just an opinion. Sor-ry!

In conclusion: Indeed, a wonderful HK action film despite being inconsistent in tone with the story, the always unwanted comedy and that irritant Rosamond Kwan.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
You will truly appreciate what Tiger Cage 2 has to offer.
tarbosh2200017 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Alan Yau (Yen) is an ex-cop on the edge. After being kicked off the force for his rogue ways, his wife files for divorce. This would help explain why he's on the edge. Leaving the law office after being served with divorce papers, he gets swept up in a violent robbery. During this encounter, he saves the life of lawyer Mary Chang (Kwan). (NOTE: these are the names of the two leads in the dubbed version that we saw. In other versions, presumably any subtitled ones, their names are Dragon and Mandy, not Alan and Mary.) Now on the run from amoral and unscrupulous gangsters, they go through many mishaps and misadventures, not to mention relationship woes. It turns out there's a complex money laundering scheme at play and a lot of money is missing. But Inspector Yeung (Khan) suspects Alan and Mary are involved, even though they're innocent. Meanwhile, the super-evil "Mr. Big"-type gangster boss Wilson Chow (or Waise Chow, depending on your international version), (Shou) wants the heads of Alan and Mary as well. So now they'll have to fight - and fight and fight - to prove their innocence. Can they do it? Tiger Cage 2 is pretty much an in-name-only sequel to the first film. Donnie Yen returns this time around, but as a different character. There's good news and bad news here: the bad news is that plotwise, this is a silly comedy. The plot and characters are not as good as the first film, and since they've upped the comedic elements, there are silly sound effects such as overly-exaggerated "eating" noises such as crunching and soup-slurping. Plus the dubbing, should you see the dubbed version like we unfortunately did, is very silly, especially the guy who dubs Donnie Yen. And, Rosamund Kwan plays the stereotypical "complaining woman" that fights and whines all the way through her adventure. So those are the negatives.

The GOOD news is that the fight choreography is amazing. Perhaps even better than the first film. And that, after all, is the main reason anyone would watch Tiger Cage 2. There are non-stop, expertly executed fight scenes, and most memorably, there is a rockin' sword duel between Donnie and John Salvitti. Salvitti is a real-life friend of Donnie's, and he's appeared in such classics as Private Wars (1993) and Shootfighter II (1996). Michael Woods, who played a heavy in the first Tiger Cage movie, here returns as "Black Henchman". In fairness, Salvitti was "Caucasian Henchman." fan favorites Robin Shou and the great Cynthia Khan also get in on all the high-kicking, bone-breaking action, making Tiger Cage 2 a must-see for HK action junkies.

Plus there are some great clichés at work, such as the climax in the abandoned steam factory, and the Prerequisite Torture of the hero. Granted, this time the torture is a bit more unorthodox, as Donnie Yen is tied to a stationary exercise bike's wheel and Rosamund Kwan is forced to pedal into his chest! Talk about feeling the burn! Hey-o! There's also the standard scene at the disco which we always like seeing. Speaking of which, the music in this movie is very enjoyable and keeps things buoyant.

The strength of this movie, and Yuen Woo-Ping, are fight scenes. So concentrate on what this movie really is good at, and you will truly appreciate what Tiger Cage 2 has to offer.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A bunch of actions scenes loosely tied together by a plot
The-Sarkologist21 December 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Des Mangan said in the intro to this movie that it was basically all action tied together by a few other scenes. When he said this he was not wrong. Tiger Cage II is not a movie about themes but rather a movie with a nice little plot and a lot of action. Even with this there are still things that one can draw out of a movie to tell us about the people around us.

A case full of money has been brought to Hong Kong to be laundered but someone in the firm wants the money for himself so betrays them and tries to get the money. Unfortunately the money is hidden and they think that a cop and a female lawyer have something to do with it, but they do not. Thus the two unfortunates find themselves running away from the law and the criminals as they try to stay alive and clear their names.

I guess the major thing that comes out of the movie is how money decides the goals of everybody. This money causes people to betray each other, kill each other, and turn those who were good into criminals. The cop and the lawyer are not criminals but were at the wrong place at the wrong time. Fortunately, unlike American movies, the filmmakers reveal a way in which the cop and the lawyer are cleared for the superintendent learns who the guy behind the robbery really is.

This movie is simply pure action. There is no reason as to why it is called Tiger Cage II and has absolutely no connection with the previous movie, which was about corruption in the police force. Tiger Cage II is simply a movie with a lot of cool action and one to watch for all of those who love their martial arts and their action.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A fun movie with fantastic fight scenes!
vrlphoto16 July 2012
First off, apparently there at one point was a different exported version of this movie. I recently watched it on Neftlix and have verified that I watched the original edit of this film but with English dubbing.

I wonder if some reviews are based off of the alternate exported version that has a completely different ending. You can see notes on IMDb for the differences between the two which are rather substantial but not without spoiling the ending. I suggest watching it off Netflix if you can.

Anyway, I think this film was a lot of fun. Donnie Yen does it again with his amazing martial arts talent and action directing. The fight scenes were an awesome display of his abilities and very enjoyable to watch.

I found the characters to be likable and those saying that Rosamund Kwan's character is annoying, well duh she's supposed to be a pain which is why she drives Donnie's character nuts the whole movie. I thought it made for good humor.

This movie is from 1990 so it still has that 80's feeling to it but I didn't find it to be overly cheesy or anything. I actually liked seeing that Donnie wasn't a cop this time but rather a retired cop post divorce thrown into one bad situation after the next.

Overall I found it to be a fun movie with really well done action/fight scenes.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Modern day H.K. actioner that doesn't fail to entertain!
spywatcher45919 March 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I'll be honest right now...I'm a collector of Hong Kong action movies from the 80s and 90s and this film definitely didn't disappoint me one tiny bit! It was like watching 'In the Line of Duty IV' all over again. The plot is simple, but action director Yuen Wo Ping doesn't stay focused on plot for too long...he gives the people what they want to see and that's loads of gunfights, plenty of humor and fantastic fight choreography that hits dead center! In this actioner, Donnie Yen portrays Dragon Yau, a surly ex-cop with a short fuse who's had better days. He's a great police officer and he'd probably make it to police captain if his lone wolf behavior and blatant disregard for proper procedure didn't get him and the rest of the force into trouble. After numerous demotions, reprimands and suspensions, Dragon is kicked off the force and his wife has filed for divorce and claimed half of his property and his bank account (talk about rotten luck!) Just when Dragon doesn't think his day could possibly get any worse, it actually does: he witnesses a robbery in progress at the law firm where he went and after risking his life to save Mandy Chan (the lovely Rosamund Kwan), you'd think he'd get a medal or a request to come back to the force. But because of fright, Mandy assumes that Dragon was helping the bad guys and this enrages the burnt out cop. When he comes back to confront Mandy about her accusation, his problems get worse, but they soon become Mandy's problems when assassins kill her best friend Petty (Carol Cheng) and Mandy is blamed for the crime. Sighted as criminals by Inspector Yeung (Cynthia Khan), Dragon and Mandy are forced to flee, which becomes a bit of a problem since they're handcuffed together and Mandy is trying to fight Dragon as they attempt to avoid capture. As if that wasn't bad enough, they're being chased not only by the cops, but by Triad criminals who think they had something to do with the money that was stolen at the firm. Dragon and Mandy don't have a clue what's going on or why people are trying to kill them but when they encounter one too many 'close calls', they say enough is enough and prepare to fight back against those who have set them up and made their lives a living hell.

I gotta be honest, when the first battle began in the parking garage, I knew I was in for a treat and Donnie Yen shows us some of the solid, hard-hitting, high-kicking action that has made him famous over the years. The man truly does enjoy playing the hard-boiled tough guy who never runs from a fight and never backs down when trouble is near. I wanted to be like this guy so much when I saw his fighting abilities on screen and to this day, I still try to emulate some of his moves. Rosamund Kwan did a terrific job as Mandy Chan, the divorce lawyer who finds herself in an unpredictable situation and doesn't have a clue why people are trying to kill her and is plagued with guilt over the death of her best friend Petty. The situations with her and Donnie are just too funny for words as the two can't stand each other's behavior but learn to come to an understanding when they realize they can't survive without each other. Yuen Wo Ping also gives the two time to bond while they're on-screen, showing situations where they eat dinner together, have a beer or two and Dragon even teaches Mandy how to smoke. That was a very memorable scene.

Another interesting factor is that Dragon and Mandy aren't alone in this situation: they find an ally in the form of David, one of the henchmen who worked for Robin Shou's evil character, Waise. David has no intention of hurting either Dragon or Mandy, but he has to retrieve the money that was lost because his mobster boss, Uncle Chiu believes that someone at the firm ripped him off. Because Dragon and Mandy are suspects, David does everything he can to help them while still staying focused on his mission which is to retrieve the cash.

Speaking of villains, I was shocked to see Robin Shou playing the part of the bad guy in this movie! Robin's character was truly a wicked man with no qualms about killing innocent people to cover his tracks and he even has the help of Michael Woods and John Salvitti (Donnie's sparring buddies in real life) to help him in his mission to become top dog of the underworld. This character's fighting ability was completely different from the Mortal Kombat Liu Kang that I was used to seeing. Robin definitely made a name for himself with this role.

The fight scenes were amazing: plenty of raw kicking power, sword swinging action and gun-fights galore to keep you on the edge of your seat. The choreography for the scenes were right on point and I didn't see one mistake in the fights. Truly ground-breaking work.

Tiger Cage II was a fantastic modern day movie and I recommend it to anyone who's into modern day actioners, Donnie Yen, Rosamund Kwan and the choreography of Yuen Wo Ping. Truly a work of art!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
8 With Rosamund Kwan 10 without her
Sevket_Erhat9 May 2007
Oh man this is definitely in my top ten Asian films along with Hard Boiled ,The Killer ,Fist of Legend etc.

The fights are awesome even better than the ones in In The Line of Duty IV. Especially Donnie Yen vs Michael Woods is an absolute screen fighting legend.

How I wished that Carol 'Do Do' Cheng would play the lead girl instead of Rosamund "I'm the most annoying female lead ever" Kwan. I hated every scene including her. Even her character being clumsy didn't make me smile, made me hate her more.

How I wish I could make this movie without her. It would have been 10/10 for sure. I wonder why they cannot make movies like this anymore.

An action classic...Unmissable for any HK action fan
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Last 20 minutes = Great
ericthered0116 March 2009
There's only one good reason to watch this movie and it's to see Donnie Yen's fight scenes. The last 20 minutes of this film include some of Donnie Yen's best. The rest of the movie up until that point is mind numbingly bad. Cheesy music, bad dialogue, corny humor, and a razor thin plot. In fact, I don't think there was a screenplay written for this thing. I think Yuen Woo Ping just started filming fight scenes and the story was written on napkins in between takes. That being said, your kung fu movie collection will not be complete without the last three fight scenes in this movie. They are classic and almost worth the wait. Just skip ahead to that last 20 minutes and I promise you won't be missing anything.
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
An awesome action movie ruined by the annoying female lead...
Viva_Chiba8 August 2012
We all agree that this movie has lots of awesome fight scenes, the story is good enough to justify the ass kickery...but what about the rest? I have only one complaint about this movie and i'm talking about Rosamund Kwan, i have nothing against her, but her character ruined the movie for me, always delivering some very lame (and annoying) humorous scenes (and i usually don't mind about the comical scenes in these movies), i seriously hoped that the villain (played by Robin Shou, yes, the guy who played Liu Kang in the Mortal Kombat movies) would have ripped her heart out.

Enough with the complaints...anyway, as i said, the film has lots of awesome fights (including one of the best sword fights ever filmed, featuring Donnie Yen and John Salvitti) and there are also lots of cool stunts.

Cynthia Khan has a small role in this movie (i know that there are some versions where she has an extra scene), it would have been a much better movie if they made her play the Rosamund Kwan role, Donnie and Cynthia would kick some ass together (maybe, it would have been better than "In the line of duty IV").
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed