TerrorVision (1986) Poster

(1986)

User Reviews

Review this title
76 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Do not change that channel! Check out this hysterically bizarre film instead...
FlyBoyDC3 August 1999
TERRORVISION is a very peculiar horror-comedy that has the word "camp" labeled all over it. This fairy tale tells about a sloppy alien puppet monster who, presumably by accident, enters Planet Earth via a TV satellite dish. This enormous monster appears on the TV screen at first, then, talk about visual effects, it eventually materializes, appearing live, in the flesh! Talk about audience participation!!

Gerrit Graham (PHANTOM OF THE PARADISE, THE ANNIHILATORS) and Mary Wodornov (EATING RAOUL) portray the Puttermans, a happily married suburban couple. They do not realize the "realism" of the monster they see on TV, HA! This so-called "couple" leads a VERY dysfunctional family with a military obsessed son and his survivalist grandfather. There is also a crazed daughter who loves heavy metal rock music, and her mentally inept boyfriend, who looks like Kid Rock minus the attitude and pizzazz. There is also a horror movie hostess, Medusa (Jennifer Richards) who fits into this scheme for absolutely no plausible reason. Meanwhile, the monster devours each of the family members one by one...later reproducing their heads when necessary in order to cover up its actions.

Planet Earth is in grave danger, once again and its only chance into stopping this hungry creature is an intergalactic police alien. He explains to everyone that this creature was originally suppose to be disposed of...but instead, it lands on Planet Earth. This interstellar alien cop is the only one who can blast the gross alien creature into oblivion but...well, I'm sure that you are interested in finding out the rest, so go see this movie!

TERRORVISION is a funny, hilarious horror cult film that has plenty of humor to liven this movie up. There are silly one-liners, hokey special effects, and a variety of "eccentric" characters to give this film strength. It is a stupid film at times, and the cast definitely overacts, but if you are looking for a nice, relaxing horror film that offers a very different style from the rest of the horror movies in this genre, then TERRORVISION is recommended for you!

This film was again produced by the one and only Empire Pictures, and you know what that means: cheesy special effects and acting galore! The monster especially is the most ludicrous...hairball-type creature that I have ever seen on screen. The rest of the special FX in this movie are standard fare though, with a elegant touch of cheekiness...

If you are in the mood for a humorously bad movie, then this picture is the perfect candidate for you! In addition to being a delightfully stomach churning horror experience, TERRORVISION is a satire on the media-obsessed suburban middle class family. Hey, these guys make "The Simpsons" look and act like those mature, civilized, and pleasantly lovable neighbors living next door. If you thought that your own family may be "dysfunctional," hey (trust me), the family portrayed in this movie will add new meaning to that word!

For a fine sense of humor that will appeal to cult film fans, TERRORVISION is destined to become that next "special" classic. Beware, if you are not prepared to laugh and be disgusted at the same time, then perhaps you should skip this film...

RATING: ** out of ****.
30 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
"Man, this is the dumbest movie I ever saw!"
lost-in-limbo7 October 2011
Charles Band and Albert Band's Empire pictures have made some fun productions and "Terrorvision" happens to be one of those inclusions. Wacky sci-fi horror comedy with a terrifically animated cast featuring Mary Woronov, Gerrit Graham, Diana Franklin and John Gries with vividly chintzy special effects by John Carl Buechler. The cartoon-like premise is quite original and mock-serious in its approach, which sees the Puttermans a suburban family getting a new satellite TV which draws in a hungry outer space monster (which looks great). This monster then goes about eating the family, by transporting its self from one TV to another. Everything is done in a comical manner and purposely so, from the flamboyant performances to the colourfully cheap sets and then the creatively grotesque make-up effects. It's downright goofy and surreal, but still far from light-hearted with it streaming with numerous oddball sexual innuendo (especially since Woronov and Graham are playing swingers) and an Elvira like character known as Medusa. Director Ted Nicolaou does a capable job. Diana Franklin is cute and Chad Allen is likable as the young boy who goes up against the beast. While short-lived, it's a constantly amusing tongue-in-cheek outing that's fairly unpredictable, while at the same time haphazard. Despite the fair share of hate, I found it hard not to like this camped-out medium.

"What you looking at you creep".
14 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Remember the 80s!
otaku31221 April 2006
"Terrorvision" is a fun little slab of 80s cheese. With the costumes,(ranging from Yuppie to Metal Head to Cyndi Lauper) slang, set decor, music (including a 5 sec shot of Blackie Lawless from W.A.S.P. >:) ) props (including a hi-fi with the one of the first CD players.) this movie doesn't need carbon dating to show it was made in that era. I first came across this film on the Sci-Fi Channel in the summer of 1999 (the defunct Vestron Television was the ones who distributed the edited mess and judging by the edits made for broadcast, this was aired circa the late 80s when FCC restrictions were *really* tight) I kinda threw it off as a bad movie. Years later, I picked up the complete R-rated video at the local mom-and-pop video store and watched it. The 2nd time around was way better than the first. My opinion changed after seeing the full version. If you like classic B-movie material meshed with the 80s, this is your movie.
20 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"WHAT IS?!!-what is this movie?"
Foreverisacastironmess12321 October 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Like a lotta y'all' I first saw this movie back in 199whatever when it was rented from a video shop called Rent-A-Tape! This movie is very funny and everyone who says so is absolutely right: This movie should not be taken seriously AT ALL. From that little ding sound of the opening sequence and the first scenes of a crappy toy alien planet, it's clear you're going to see something very silly! I love the spontaneous humour. Like in a scene just after the "parents" get it. There's a poster on the bunker wall of the Statue Of Liberty with the legend: "If you still believe in me, save me." Just randomly thrown in there! This movie has got that comic book vibe going on like that of Creepshow. There's lots of vivid hues of red green pink and blue. Almost beautiful in a twisted kind of way. That's exactly what this movie is, a comic book come to life. I love all the film's music. All those quirky little noises and weird sounds all add to the film's fun and bizarre tone. Richard Band talks a bit about the music on the special edition of the House on Sorority Row. In this movie the monster...wins! Sometimes that can be a bummer, but in this instance it's fine, since hardly any of the humans are very likable anyhow. They're all so incredibly annoying and stupid. I didn't find the actors to be particularly over the top, with the possible exception of Gerrit Graham. He's really annoying! "Pleasure Dome!" Shut up! And until he dies(a rare mercy killing by T H B)he had the dumbest expression on his face. I'm actually a fan of Gerrit, just not here. So cartoony, it's painful to watch, is what it is! Grossest bit in the movie, Grampa's death. How can you beat a guy being turned into space glop, head first, then sucked right back up again! That's disgusting! I love it! Gimme more!!! A great scene is when the gay Greek guy gets it. It's eerily beautiful, with a jacuzzi full of glowing mist, and you can just see the pretty lady's head sticking out. It's fun, because at this point we know what the monster can do and what's gonna happen! That ain't no lady, dude! Poor Pluthar! Throughout the movie the green guy is on the telly, warning the world of the danger, but people just think it's a B movie. I find it very funny when he says that to avoid disaster, mankind has to disable all televisions for the next 100 years... We're doomed either way! It really makes me laugh when Medusa calls him an ugly b*****d just after whacking him with her purse! Do not smack the Hungry Beast. It looks like a gaping-mawed, googly-eyed giant turd-Slug, with the personality of a psycho dog! It's ability to mimic was really cool and gave it just that vital extra bit of oomph that made it more than than your average monster. You couldn't really say it's a Thing rip-off, because it can only manage the heads! And the way it could speak with them with their original personalities was so horrible! This thing won't just eat you, it'll eat your soul too... There's this awesome scene that is "totally sicko" where the monster, in a bed, imitates 5 people at once, including Grampa! Outrageous! The first glimpse of it is kinda creepy, when all you see is it's big ugly eye on the TV. It soon turns out there's more than meets the eye, however. I like the little glow and whoosh of air when it emerges out of a telly. Such a cool little effect, probably done with a torch and a fan or something. What's wrong with the whole alliance with the monster part of the movie? It's a nice break between the carnage. The monster actually manages to be cute. When they're teaching it to say their names, you can tell it still doesn't like Sherman. My favourite bit with said monster is when it's watching an old alien invasion movie, heartily singing a merry tune to itself and uproariously laughing! Sometimes when you see a lot of it, it does look a little stiff and you can tell it's a big puppet. Other than that, I've got no problems with how it looks. It makes the movie, can't deny it. At the end the world is doomed. By entering the TV dimension through a television studio, the monster will be able to appear anywhere in the world. A veritable smörgåsbord of couch potatoes! TV will eat you, I think is the message they were going for here! "I danced by the light of the TV screen, all night long! I watched the Medusa's eyes turn green, but my own reflection I've never seen!" These words are from the movie's title song. They are silly, nonsensical and downright stupid. But you know what? They work, and they rock big time! They're a lot like the movie itself. The monster's goofy but awesome, and there's at least one quirky character to suit anyone's taste. Once more I love the look of the movie. I really think they did a beautiful job. They gave the film I think, exactly the right look. It's very pop, there's nothing complicated about it. There's nothing artsy-fartsy. I mean, it's just, "boomp", here it is! The moment you look at the film, you get it. And they did a fabulous job with that.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
TerrorVision: Campy horror comedy romp
Platypuschow25 October 2017
Terrorvision was one of those 80's cult classics that I never got round to watching until now, I went in expecting very little but came away quite amused.

Telling the story of an extraterrestrial being beamed down to earth into a families satellite dish and running rampant with an unearthly hunger its a scifi comedy horror that actually entertains.

With a host of familiar faces and a retro soundtrack this creature feature actually looks quite good considering its age. It reminded me of Critters (1986) and alike that the creators didn't take it all too seriously.

Over the top, silly yet at the same time quite horrific this is a true 80's gem and a lot of fun.

The Good:

Great creature effects

Likable cast

All looks the part

The Bad:

Feels very dated in places

Things I Learnt From This Movie:

If you prank call the police they'll block your number

Being "Greek" in the swinging world means you're gay
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A collectible classic. Unforgettable Sci-Funny movie.
htcstechmail-support20 January 2006
8 (or more) out of 10 for those of us who like this particular genre. Otherwise it just may not be for you. If you like good comedy timing, some great lines and a well put together cast of characters then this one is for you. The story is pretty original. A stray transportation beam is accidentally caught by the Putterman family's el-cheapo satellite receiver and a large stray pet alien dog-like creature materialises inside the Putterman mansion. The Putterman's are swingers and leave to meet and later invite the 'Man's Man' Spiro, a muscular Greek gay to their residence. While their gone, we meet the kids, grandpa and the pet-thing. The kids try and train the alien pet who unfortunately isn't normal, even to alien standards and proceeds to eat friends, relatives and almost anyone who drops by.

Parts of the film remind me of Eating Raoul, The Big Bus and a little bit of Bucakroo Banzai as it plays like a cartoon. The main theme (Terrorvision) is really catchy. All in all, a movie that you are bound to watch again, just to re-experience some great lines and scenes.
28 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Lyrical Silly Charm
darkharvey12326 January 2007
Sherman Putterman is your standard alien monster film kid who has seen a monster but can't get anyone else to believe him. His grandpa (Bert Remsen in the film's best performance) is a survivalist promoting his lizard tail jerky product (the perfect food because lizards' tails grow back and you can eat it again) and hiding out in his well-stocked fallout shelter.

If it were possible for a complete parody to be called original, "Terrorvision" (1986) would be the first to qualify. This is another cheap Albert and Charles Band (Empire Studios) production, but is not as mindless as something like "Redneck Zombies" and even has a bit of lyrical (yet very silly) charm. Everyone involved is obviously having a good time and the creature is much like something Richard Carlson would have encountered in a 1950's sci-fi film, but with much more slime. Not until "The Lost Skeleton of Cadavra" would there be a more self-aware genre parody. Although rated "R" because of some off-color humor, it would not be worth denying middle schoolers the pleasure of viewing this film because the overall style and effect is best appreciated by that age group.

Sherman's swinging parents are Gerrit Graham (who played superstitious car salesman Jeff in "Used Cars") and Mary Woronov ("Eating Raoul").

1980's teen queen Diane Franklin plays Sherman's sister Suzy and Jon Gries (of "Pretender" fame) is her boyfriend "O.D." who is really into heavy metal music. Franklin is almost unrecognizable in her mid-1980's "Girls Just Want to Have Fun" look.

Although the parody is primarily directed at the excessive cuteness of "ET", "Terrorvision" also goes after Elvira and Vampira with a similar late night horror show hostess called Medusa who wears a wig of snakes, has two enormous talents, and manages a host(ess) of semi-explicit puns.

The real star is an alien house pet whose mutation into a hungry beast forced its owners to send its atoms out into space. The film begins on a distant planet where this mutated pet is being processed at the mutated creature facility. A stray planet causes the creatures atoms to deflect through space until it finally is sucked down to earth by Sherman's father's new satellite dish.

By the middle of the film the monster has chewed and sucked its way through most of the family and their friends when Sherman, Suzy, and OD have an "ET" moment with it. The monster can mimic anyone it has eaten so the other cast members have a couple of post- demise scenes.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
TV - TV - Foooooooooooooood!
hoversj28 October 2003
Warning: Spoilers
Can't help it, I love this dorky pile of schlock. While, yes, it is a bad homage to cheesy horror films, it has a "certain naive charm."

Plot: An alien pet which has been disintegrated and shot into space (the alien equivalent of "putting to sleep") is accidentally picked up by a haywire satellite receiver (remember back when they were the size of a hot tub, rather than a dinner plate?) and begins to appear - and come out of - the various TVs of the Putterman household.

The Puttermans aren't your average family, either - Mom and Dad like to swing (and the house is LOADED with the least tasteful erotic art I've ever seen), Grampa is some kind of vet who lives in the basement/bomb shelter and tries to sell people on the ultimate survival food - lizard tail jerky ("you break off its tail, and it grows another one, then you break that one off, and it grows another one!!"), sister Suzy is a Cyndi Lauper clone, and Sherman, the baby (well, he's probably about 12) seems normal, but comments are constantly being made as to his "meds" and the possibility of being sent back to the doctor... It's like the Addams family by way of the self-serving 80s.

(spoilers)

So the alien starts to eat people. That's because it's a Hungry Beast - its insatiable appetite is what got it vaporized in the first place. It can also extrude simulacrums of anyone whom it has eaten, and speak in their voices - meaning that even after dad and mom are appetizers, they can still tell the kids to butt out when questioned about what's going on in their bedroom. ("Gross!")

Oh, and there's a lot of goo.

However, the movie takes a sentimental turn when Sherman, who has only survived by breaking every TV in sight ("securing the perimeter") and set off grenades, is joined by his sister and her boyfriend O.D. (a metalhead, complete with black leather and spikes) - they manage to make friends with the beast and start training it to speak (O.D. - "you know, like in that movie with the ugly little alien that made you cry like a butt-head.").

Nothing nice lasts, and the ending leaves you wondering just how much of the world the Hungry Beast may be able to devour.

My favorite part (among many) of this movie is Medusa - she's a late-night horror hostess (very much an Elvira clone with a head of foam-rubber snakes) who Sherman calls and tells about the monster. I also love Grampa's attitude toward TV: "War flicks and monster movies - they're both survival oriented!"

The movie is never taken seriously (even by the actors, who ham up every moment), and just plain fun to boot. In a world of cheese, this is one of those movies I come back to over and over again.

One parting warning (courtesy of Grampa): "Brain shot - gets 'em every time!!!"
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
TerrorVision owns the WORLD!
FatLadyKILLER30 January 2005
TerrorVision is one of the most original B-Films ever made. A very sexy Elvira type woman named Medusa, a heavy metal dude named OD, plenty of awesome FX and alien monsters. Ted Nicolaou directed this horror/sci-fiction/comedy. Movies like this need to be released. I swear, I have seen some HORRIBLE films make the DVD jump. Why in the hell can't TerrorVision? Its an absolute crime. A CRIME I tell you! But wait! Now, you too can help. Yes, thats right. There's now a petition to get TerrorVision on DVD once and for all! It is located at PetitionSpot.com. I'm having trouble posting the link for it, so if it doesn't work go to google or petitionspot and look fr the TerrorVision DVD petition. Come on, go sign it and help!
33 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
terror-vision music
eilonelikam6 March 2005
well, i saw some comment's on the film's music. the band who wrote and performed all the themes are an l.a "art" punk band called: "the Fibonaccis", the movie soundtrack is almost impossible to get. those fibonaccis guys are really one of it's kind, play some strange mixture of lounge and punk music, with obvious 50's, 60's retro, like the movie itself. and for the movie, i just love it, light, cheesy entertainment, with lot's of weird stuff and a monster who ate'em all. it is just plain simple and clear that this is intended bad taste. and unlike some other "the worst the better" trash flicks, this one just works great. o.d character is kicking ass, and the "this is food, this is rocknroll" scenes are over the top. the set that in this case is the family's house is a mess, in a good way of course. it seems like the movie is being taken in some futuristic period of time, with a sixties mood in it. a world where everyone is in to party's, late t.v, and cooool cars.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good ole fun
one4now425 October 2003
This is a movie I've kind of been wanting to see. I am ready to add this to my list of personal favorites after watching it for the first time, so I know they did some stuff right. While it's still fresh in my mind, there are some things I definitely want to say. First off, I am extremely surprised that this doesn't seem to have a cult following to it. "TerrorVision" is a great film that should have definitely achieved cult status. From the start (after some credits set to music by Siouxsie and the Banshees imitators!), this has a definite John Waters look and feel. When the fast-paced story moves into grotesque monster territory, it gets even better. And, regardless of how goofy it is, I dig the commentaries the filmmakers are sprinkling all throughout this movie, the main one of all being the most obvious: television giving birth to monsters. This is definitely one of those wild movies that gets weirder and more bizarre as it moves along. As for people quoting favorite lines from Bert Remsen's "Gramps" character, I love it when he refers to MTV as a secret conspiracy to rot the brain. "TerrorVision" wasn't as gory as I've heard, relying more on gooey FX than gory ones, but there are no complaints here. I love this, it was a real upper of a flagrant horror satire. I am so glad I saw this, and I would give it no less than a definite 9 on a scale of one to ten. In fact, I'm tempted to give it a full 10.
19 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Best Worst Film You'll Ever See!
meddlecore10 October 2017
Holy Sh*t. This might be the most perfect film ever made.

It's definitely the best worst film you'll ever see.

The sanitation department on the planet Pluton has accidentally sent a rogue beam of waste towards the planet Earth. And it just so happens to hit the Putterman family's new satellite dish...unleashing an insatiable monstrous beast into their television transmissions.

To counter this mistake, the alien sanitation worker has been sending a warning to the satellites of Earth, telling them of his error, and what they must do in order to protect themselves- disconnect all their television and satellite systems for 200 years. Though, everybody just thinks it's part of some sort of bizarre sci-fi movie.

Only the doomsday prepper grandpa- who sells lizard tail jerky (the truly replenishable food supply)- and his grandpa's boy grandson, Sherman, are paranoid enough to take the ominous warning seriously...and they are fully equipped for the job.

While his parents are out swinging (and I don't mean dancing...), and his sister is out with her punk rocker boyfriend...the monster beams itself out of their TV, and into their home...eating grandpa and the TV repair guy. Leaving Sherman to fend for himself.

He does call for help...but everyone just thinks he's crazy...a liar...or off his meds...

The monster continues to move in and out of the house...as the mom and dad bring their new "Greek" swinger friends back to their swinger's paradise. However, they are all eaten by the monster- who is then able to crudely mimic their form.

His sister and her boyfriend return a short while later...and actually manage to make friends with the monster...even starting to train him.

Apparently, seeing OD's (her sister's boyfriend) studs calms the monster, because it reminds it of someone who cared for it when it was young.

They also use TV to keep it entertained and somewhat submissive.

It eventually gets to the point where they are planning to cash in on their "ownership" of the monster, by putting it on television. But, long before that has a chance to happen, it goes to commercials...and the monster loses it's cool. Eating OD in the process.

Now, they know it is way too unstable to keep around as a pet, or for show. So, alls that is left is to destroy it...if they can...

I said it before, but I'll say it again...this is cheese perfected.

Every character in this film is awesome. From the as*hole TV repair guy; to the promiscuous mom and her sex driven husband; the blonde bimbo and her bisexual partner- who is more into Sherman's dad, than mom; OD and Sherman's badass sister, with her sexy 80's hair-do; the doomsday prepper grandpa; Medusa...but especially, little Sherman, whose grown up in a very sexually explicit environment...around a lot of guns.

The acting and dialogue in this are pure cheese...but in the best possible way. So many great one-liners, like: "Holy Tomato!", "This is the dumbest movie I ever saw."...and my personal favourite, "this dude's into metal!!!".

The monster is also pretty sweet. Has lot's of extendable appendages, with which to attack people.

And the way it kills and consumes it's victims is really quite imaginative. It extends a claw which it uses to inject something into it's victims, causing them to dissolve into a green go, that is then licked up by the monster.

And to top it all off...the ending is amazing. They seed an idea throughout the film, then use it to trick you into thinking their is going to be a cliché twist.

But there's not...just pure twisted cheesy fun!!! 10 out of 10.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Wacky from minute one
basil19849 April 2014
We're introduced to a family brimming with all the worst trappings of the 1980's; the clichés have been elevated to the absurd and it's to the director, Ted Nicolaou's, credit that, in 1986, he was able to poke so much fun at the decade without the benefit of hindsight. The result is an off-the-wall comedy that feels like a 1950's monster movie, staring 'Leave it to Beaver', as filtered through 'Adult Swim'.

The daughter, Suzy, played by Diane Frankin ('Better Off Dead' / 'Bill & Ted's Excellent Adventure'), has the hair and make-up of an animated Cindy Lauper and an over-the-top valley-girl gab. A very young Chad Allen (you'll recognize him from nearly every family TV show of the late 80's and early 90's), is the war-game-obsessed son. The mother, played by the always fantastic Mary Woronov (Roger Corman's poster girl and star of 'Eating Raoul'), is a distant, self-involved socialite more interested in her exercise videos than her kids. Gerrit Graham ('Phantom of the Paradise' / 'Demon Seed'), hams it up as the swinging (literally) father always on the lookout for the next big thing. Rounding out the family is Grampa, the paranoid vet with a bomb shelter in the basement (Bert Remsen – 'Nashville' / 'Places in the Heart') and Suzy's boyfriend, 'O.D.', the tweaked metal-head dropout played buy 1980's staple, Jon Gries ('Real Genius' / 'Running Scared'). Together, this group inhabits a home that looks like a cross between a sex spa and a Patrick Nagel exhibition on ecstasy.

Wacky from minute one (the theme song being one of the film's high points), the family has just hooked up their new satellite dish while, simultaneously, far across the cosmos, a creature that can only be described as a booger with eyes, is being transported in exile by a humanoid-lizard alien that we don't learn much more about until the film's climax. The monster is mistakenly transmitted to the family's satellite dish and has the ability to escape at will from their TV sets. Nonsense ensues as the monster is able, by transforming its tongue, to impersonate the face and voice of anyone it kills.

The film never really crosses into any straight genre and manages to hover, quite proudly, over 'wonderfully weird'. If all of Hollywood had ostracized, instead of embraced, Tim Burton, this is the kind of live-action cartoon he'd be making.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Cult-Trash
claudio_carvalho16 March 2018
Stan (Gerrit Graham) installs a state-of-art satellite TV system for his dysfunctional family. However, he accidentally picks up a signal from another planet and his television system becomes the gateway between the two planets. A ravenous alien creature comes to his apartment and only their son Sherman (Chad Allen) sees the monster, but his parents do not believe in the boy.

"TerrorVision" is a cult-trash from the 80´s and a highly entertaining sci-fi. The characters and the situations are hilarious but maybe the funniest scene is Medusa meeting the last hope to save Earth, Pluthar. My vote is seven.

Title (Brazil): "A Visão do Terror" ("The Terror Vision")
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Awesome.
jtbenson-5632930 July 2019
A truly bizarre, idiosyncratic synthesis of 80's late night television programming and 50's drive-in culture.

I'm surprised it doesn't have more of a cult following.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant! Nothing bad to say at all!
Flashing_Daggers22 May 2008
This is one of my all time favorite films. It has all the best elements: gore, comedy, bad acting, hilarious dialogue, sexual themes, and all around absurdity. For Napoleon Dynamite fans, the uncle in that movie plays the role of young metal-head and steals every scene he's in. This is definitely for fans of the horror/comedy genre (e.g. Dead Alive, Army of Darkness), but funnier and more 80s. I think this movie would have really scared me when I was younger, but I saw it for the first time just a few years ago. Unbelievably, I bought it for $1 at a pawn shop. Oh, and I managed to pick up the soundtrack on vinyl and it's awesome of course.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Release this on DVD...NOW!
Bezzer355 December 2003
This is a 'B' movie classic! Here in Britain during the 1980's, Empire pictures, Vestron and Entertainment in Video were the undisputed kings of straight-to-video masterpieces, including such brilliant rubbish as 'Robot Jox', 'Rawhead Rex' and...TERRORVISION!

Character breakdown: an alien called a 'hungry beast' that materializes through people's televisions and is 'into metal', another alien called Pluthod who's here to save earth from the 'hungry beast' that just happens to be a friendly pet on his planet, a bi-sexual Greek swinger called Spyros and his beautiful but incredibly dizzy wife, a military obsessed mentally unstable Grandpa and way too young for guns hyper-active mentally unstable Grandson, a Cindy Lauper-a-like teenager, her Heavy metal freak boyfriend 'O.D.', her swinging satellite T.V. and exercise obsessed parents and an alcoholic Elvira-type T.V. host.

I won't tell you the 'plot', but I defy you to put all these characters and elements together under one roof (yes, all the action takes place in one house!) and create a movie!

I had the pleasure of owning this wonderful piece of garbage on video a few years ago and I'm begging whoever owns the rights to it now for a DVD release!
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
80s Cheesfest
slayrrr66612 January 2007
Warning: Spoilers
"TerrorVision" is one of the cheesiest creature features of all time.

**SPOILERS**

Installing a new satellite dish, Stanley Putterman, (Gerrit Graham) and his family Racquel, (Mary Woronov) Suzy, (Diane Franklin) and Sherman, (Chad Allen) begin rifling through their new stations and constantly come across a particular alien creature in their searches. When the creature appears out of the TV, no one takes it seriously despite the evidence all over house. As the alien starts attacking the various people in the house, they finally realize that there is one from outer space and are forced to fight off the creature before being sent back to it's own dimension.

The Good News: This film here is the very definition of a cheesy feature. From the moment the creature is on display, there is no stopping it's cheesiness. There's no getting around this, either, as there are constant reminders to this. The hair-styles, the campy nature of the comedy, the fact that the premise itself is nearly unbelievable and much, much more is included in the film's cheesy repertoire. The comedy, surprisingly, generates the majority of the cheese, as there's enough odd-characterizations and situational humor to really get a lot out of the film. The creature, which is surprisingly well-done and looks decently in the situation, is perhaps the next best example. With the pink skin, grotesque tentacles, plant-like head and variations on the face make it just so cheesy that the monster is quite memorable. It's not seriously threatening, but it does have a great look to it that seems to emulate a great number of monsters but giving itself it's own look and personality. It has a really interesting to generate kills, by sticking it's claws onto a victim and then draining them into a giant pile of green goo that is done in some nice scenes, which look pretty convincing and not at all that bad. They just add to the cheesy nature of it all, and that's about all what the film really is.

The Bad News: There isn't a lot here, but most of the film is so cheesy, that it's hard to really take anything at all seriously. An alien who comes to Earth through a satellite TV and preys upon a family while the young son and daughter chase the creature around while trying to explain to the unbelieving authorities that it exists just screams cheese and that might not be a viable to some. It's too ridiculous to take seriously, and that may not be an experience some will want to throw themselves upon. There is one sequence the film really does have a problem, and that is in the taming sequence. That the monster, which had no problem attacking the other members of the household, stops dead for one of the most contrived reasons and attempts to be domesticated by the remaining members is too off to be anything more than an aggravation, as the methods used to do so are pretty painful to watch and aren't at all funny. It is explained as being a plausible occurrence, the film still has it and it really doesn't serve any purpose other than to trash the house for the police get there to disprove the story. It really should've been cut out, as the monster had been a viable threat up until then and to turn it around wasn't exactly all that great. But the main problem with this will be the cheese, which won't be all that well received.

The Final Verdict: One of the ultimate epitomes of a cheese-fest, this one really manages to get interesting and entertaining. There's nothing really wrong with it, it's just incredibly cheesy and isn't really recommended to those who can't stand those kinds of movies.

Rated R: Violence, some Language, nude drawings and strong sexual themes
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good Parody, the "R" Rating is Not Justified
aimless-4622 January 2007
If it were possible for a complete parody to be called original, "Terrorvision" (1986) would be the first to qualify. This is another cheap Albert and Charles Band (Empire Studios) production, but is not as mindless as something like "Redneck Zombies" and even has a bit of lyrical (yet very silly) charm. Everyone involved is obviously having a good time and the creature is much like something Richard Carlson would have encountered in a 1950's sci-fi film, but with much more slime. Not until "The Lost Skeleton of Cadavra" would there be a more self-aware genre parody. Although rated "R" because of some off-color humor, it would not be worth denying middle schoolers the pleasure of viewing this film because the overall style and effect is best appreciated by that age group.

Sherman Putterman is your standard alien monster film kid who has seen a monster but can't get anyone else to believe him. His grandpa (Bert Remsen in the film's best performance) is a survivalist promoting his lizard tail jerky product (the perfect food because lizards' tails grow back and you can eat it again) and hiding out in his well-stocked fallout shelter.

Sherman's swinging parents are Gerrit Graham (who played superstitious car salesman Jeff in "Used Cars") and Mary Woronov ("Eating Raoul").

1980's teen queen Diane Franklin plays Sherman's sister Suzy and Jon Gries (of "Pretender" fame) is her boyfriend "O.D." who is really into heavy metal music. Franklin is almost unrecognizable in her mid-1980's "Girls Just Want to Have Fun" look.

Although the parody is primarily directed at the excessive cuteness of "ET", "Terrorvision" also goes after Elvira and Vampira with a similar late night horror show hostess called Medusa who wears a wig of snakes, has two enormous talents, and manages a host(ess) of semi-explicit puns.

The real star is an alien house pet whose mutation into a hungry beast forced its owners to send its atoms out into space. The film begins on a distant planet where this mutated pet is being processed at the mutated creature facility. A stray planet causes the creatures atoms to deflect through space until it finally is sucked down to earth by Sherman's father's new satellite dish.

By the middle of the film the monster has chewed and sucked its way through most of the family and their friends when Sherman, Suzy, and OD have an "ET" moment with it. The monster can mimic anyone it has eaten so the other cast members have a couple of post- demise scenes.

Then again, what do I know? I'm only a child.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
"You know that little space kid that makes you cry like a butthole..." (spoilers)
vertigo_1414 October 2004
Warning: Spoilers
Terror Vision falls into my favorite flavor of 80s comedies. Something with an atmosphere of 'Monster in My Pocket,' the family arrangement like 'Meet the Hollowheads' mixed with the humor of 'Doing Time on Planet Earth.' And of course, the filmmakers and everyone else (maybe) realize just how cheesy the movie is, and that's exactly why they can have so much fun with it. You can tell right from the start with the strange B52s-esque theme. Certainly, there's got to be a genre for these kinds of movies, I just don't know that anyone's come up with the right name. Bizarro comedies is what I call 'em, and I love 'em.

Terror Vision refers to the alien lifeforms that hijacked an eccentric family's satellite TV system. Throughout the movie, this monotoned alien leader reads reports anytime he can butt in on the frequencies and warn humans that a sudden waste dump at their site unleashed this huge slimy giant-eyed alien who is known for eating humans who p**s him off. Despite being a maximum oddball family, no one will believe the boy that "monsters ate Grandpa!" (his Grandpa who was also convinced that it was not Monsters the boy saw, but burgalars in "Haloween masks" meant to "scare the poop out of you.")

Look for plenty of familiar faces, including young 80s teen actor Chad Allen. My favorite character, however, is 'O.D.' played by the excellent John Gries (of 'Monster Squad' and 'Real Genius' fame), who is hilarious as the braindead metal head boyfriend, though he was smart enough to figure out that the alien could be just like a cool slobbering pet, 80s style (i.e. add a diet of pizza and rock n' roll).

80s fans of bizarre comedies should enjoy this movie.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Totally trash
ricardovs2713 December 2005
Well, I have watched this movie when I was a teen, about 15 years ago, and recently found it in a VHS sale. Of course I picked it at once, because I could not help myself smiling at the sight of it. The movie is a trash jewel, any fan of horror flicks should watch it at least once in their lives. The performances are poor and over the top, the effects are cheesy, the script is a complete turmoil... But I dare say that you have to like it! The one that has never seen a pure garbage movie throw the first stone. The productions from Empire, owned by Charles Band, are famous for the lack of common sense and this is not an exception. Like I stated before, do not expect anything but an hour and a half of involuntary laughs, it is a totally trash movie through and through.
11 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Cheese-O-Rama
sean_payne15 January 2019
Look... just watch it. There are few words that can really describe how awesome this movie is. A young Uncle Rico (Napoleon Dynamite) has a small role, so you know it's going to be legit.

Believe it or not, I was terrified of this when it first came out. Something about the monster's mouth just freaked me out.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Terrorriffic
TheHeadVampire12 March 2018
This movie is pure fun. The entire cast was funny and memorable. Mary Woronov and Gerrit Graham play the swingin' parents, along with Alejandro Rey and Randi Brooks as their wood-be partners. The interaction between these characters makes up a large portion of the movies funniest moments. Diane Franklin is adorable as the 80s-fashion-victim/older sister. Her boyfriend, played by Jon Gries, is an entertainingly moronic metal-head. Bert Remsen plays the grandpa, who is an over-the-top military nut. Chad Allen was OK as the child-protagonist, though the idea of making a kid the main hero was one of my minor gripes. Jennifer Richards brought the laughs (and cleavage) as the Elvira-esque 'Medusa'. The star of the movie is the Monster, who's a gooey mess of eye-balls and fangs, yet somehow still cute. The puppetry, while limited, is well executed, giving said Monster a lot of character. My second gripe was the ending, while 'disappointing' would be too strong a word, 'unexpected' seems more suitable, especially considering my first gripe. Overall, this is an immensely entertaining flick, one that is solely a product of the 80s.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A Entertainment Trash!!
elo-equipamentos23 October 2017
So bad and so good this one can be contradictory but it's happen in this picture, all family has an odd kind, the grandpa has a bunker expecting a third world war, the couple living a open mind marriage seeking for new couple to do swing, all house is decorated with sexy paintings, the girl dating a punk odd guy, the boy is almost normal in the house, so when the monster show up on TV all crazy things gonna happen, the grandpa and medusa stolen the show, funniest trash Sci-Fi-horror!!

Resume:

First watch: 2017 / How many: 1 / Source: DVD / Rating: 6.5
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Is Stanley a "manly man"?
PredragReviews19 August 2016
This movie is an all-time classic! Filled with wonderful characters and classic one-liners. If you grew up in the 80's and liked metal and monster movies, then trust me, see this movie, it's totally unique. Every line in this movie is funny. It has a sort of dreamlike quality, that makes the humor and glop go together like liver and ice cream! Graham and Woronov are brilliant in their absurd roles.

Basically this is a sci-fi horror comedy from the producers of "Re-Animator" and from the studio that made that movie known as Empire Pictures! Sure the acting is kind of bad and the plot is a bit absurd but hey this movie is just plain goofy fun. The director intended it to be a cartoonish kind of film, the film has excellent creature effects and a dark sense of humor. The script tosses in a buxom late-nite movie hostess, guaranteeing that wife-swapping, head-banging, machine-gunning and relentless squishing won't deprive us of flesh. Though never really over the top, "Terror Vision" is consistent fun.

Overall rating: 7 out of 10.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed