6.6/10
206
7 user 5 critic

Courage (1984)

Marathon runners are taken captive in desert by right-wing militia.

Director:

Robert L. Rosen

Writers:

Mary Cox, Ronny Cox
Reviews

Photos

Learn more

More Like This 

Crime | Drama | Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.5/10 X  

A young college professor and three of her students seek shelter during a storm in the rural farmhouse of a strange woman who collects lifelike mannequins.

Director: Joseph G. Prieto
Stars: Salvador Ugarte, Terri Juston, Marcelle Bichette
Courage I (2009)
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.7/10 X  

An adventure story about Robert, Teresa and Christy Childs, an aspiring author and his family who crashes their boat during a storm and become stranded on a small rocky island in the middle... See full summary »

Director: George Erschbamer
Stars: Andrea Roth, Jason Priestley, Genevieve Buechner
Crime | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.4/10 X  

Abused mute autistic boy is the only one who can help a teenage heiress kidnapped, tortured, raped and buried alive by three young psychopathic criminals who want to extort some diamonds from her rich scummy stepfather.

Director: Guerdon Trueblood
Stars: Tiffany Bolling, Ben Piazza, Susan Sennett
Bad Manners (1984)
Comedy
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.3/10 X  

Four teens on the run from an orphanage spring a fellow orphan recently adopted by a rich family, then trash the whole house.

Director: Robert Houston
Stars: Pamela Adlon, Georg Olden, Michael Hentz
The Surrogate (1984)
Drama | Mystery | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.6/10 X  

Stuck in a sexless marriage, a frustrated well-to-do couple agrees to see a female sex therapist. Unfortunately, she only helps escalate the tensions between them. Meanwhile, the police is baffled by a string of brutal nightly killings.

Director: Don Carmody
Stars: Art Hindle, Carole Laure, Shannon Tweed
Tangiers (1982)
Action | Adventure | Crime
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.8/10 X  

A former CIA agent is forced by crooked agents of the government to pose as a notorious smuggler.

Director: Michael E. Briant
Stars: Ronny Cox, Billie Whitelaw, Glynis Barber
Satan's Triangle (TV Movie 1975)
Drama | Horror | Mystery
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.3/10 X  

A US coast guard finds only a woman still alive aboard a shipwreck. She tells her rescuer what happened and soon, they find themselves trapped in a mysterious part of the ocean known as Satan's Triangle.

Director: Sutton Roley
Stars: Kim Novak, Doug McClure, Alejandro Rey
Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.2/10 X  

A scientist investigating reports of the Second Coming of Christ finds himself battling against a suicidal devil cult.

Director: James Glickenhaus
Stars: Bob Byrd, Mark Buntzman, James Glickenhaus
Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.6/10 X  

Giovanni Lambardo Radice and John Saxon are Vietman vets that bring back contagious virus that turn people into cannibals when bitten.

Director: Antonio Margheriti
Stars: John Saxon, Elizabeth Turner, Giovanni Lombardo Radice
Crime | Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.1/10 X  

In Paris, a Polish gigolo marries a rich Jewish doctor and stands to inherit her estate when she is deported to Dachau by the Nazis.

Director: J. Lee Thompson
Stars: Maximilian Schell, Samantha Eggar, Ingrid Thulin
Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.3/10 X  

An aging actress whose career ended in the '30s lives in her decaying mansion with a retinue of bizarre people, including a personal assistant who keeps an arsenal of weapons.

Director: Donald Wolfe
Stars: Miriam Hopkins, David Garfield, Gale Sondergaard
Shoot (1976)
Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.9/10 X  

Two groups of armed men eye each other across a body of water. An deadly incident ensues and the first group returns to their town in fear of the consequences, which never come.They realize that far greater danger is offing.

Director: Harvey Hart
Stars: Cliff Robertson, Ernest Borgnine, Henry Silva
Edit

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
Ronny Cox ... Pete Canfield
Art Hindle ... Roger Bower
M. Emmet Walsh ... Colonel Crouse
Tim Maier Tim Maier ... Craig Jensen
Lois Chiles ... Ruth
William Russ ... Sonny
Lisa Sutton Lisa Sutton ... Stephanie
Brian Curry Brian Curry ... Joey
Jeff Curry Jeff Curry ... Bill
Anthony Palmer Anthony Palmer ... Herb Jensen
Noel Conlon Noel Conlon ... Clay Matthews
Kelly Yaegermann Kelly Yaegermann ... Casey
John Roselius ... Ralph
Joe Massengale Joe Massengale ... Gibbs
Matt Johnston Matt Johnston ... Jessup
Edit

Storyline

A trio of long-distance runners are setting out on what looks to be the ultimate adventure weekend: a seventy-two mile run through the New Mexico desert. Things start off uneventfully, but soon the three run into a survivalist militia calling itself The Citizen's Brigade. They are captured by The Brigade, only to be released with a warning from the leader, Colonel Crouse. Their luck runs out when suddenly the militia goes back on its word and resumes hunting the runners. This time, however, they are not looking to capture them, but to kill them. What are these desert soldiers trying to do? And will the three live to run another marathon? Written by Jean-Marc Rocher <rocher@fiberbit.net>

Plot Summary | Add Synopsis

Genres:

Thriller

Certificate:

R | See all certifications »
Edit

Details

Country:

USA

Language:

English

Release Date:

16 November 1984 (USA) See more »

Also Known As:

Dead Heat See more »

Filming Locations:

Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

Company Credits

Show more on IMDbPro »

Technical Specs

Runtime:

Sound Mix:

Mono

Color:

Color

Aspect Ratio:

1.85 : 1
See full technical specs »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

 
"Those guys are really scary".
30 December 2018 | by lost-in-limboSee all my reviews

How's this for an opening; Ronny Cox's dunking his fingers in vaseline jelly then slapping it on between his toes. If that doesn't get you pumped... well, next we see Art Hindle putting a shirt on...in slow motion with fluttering synth music. Now that I got you hooked. The story follows three marathon runners in the New Mexican desert being tormented at first by a fanatical group of motorbike-riding survival wannabe militants (the type that don't like the phrase "playing soldiers"), then after a fatal incident between the two groups, these runners have to fight for their lives if they want to reach the finish line.

"RAW COURAGE" is your systematic, but extremely well-made and gripping survival thriller in the tradition of "DELIVERANCE" and "RITUALS". There's no beating around the bush, yet in some ways I think it matches those films with its tight build-up, well-rounded characters, impactful emotions and exhausting suspense. For Ronny Cox, he's no stranger to this, as obviously starring in "DELIVERANCE", he co-writes the story and even gets into a beat-down with the crackpot militant leader played by M. Emmet Walsh, who at one stage grabs Cox by the scrotum. All's fair in love and war, I guess.

We watch these men, fighting dehydration, drenched in sweat, covered in dirt reverting to primal instincts, but at the same time never letting their humanity become forgotten. It's a true testament of survival of the fittest, as they are pushed to the limit, emotionally and psychically by the surrounding elements and what's in front of them. Where upon every encounter the tension and vulnerability builds. And for that, I do like the low-key (if predictable) ending, which gives you a chance to catch your breath.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you? | Report this
Review this title | See all 7 user reviews »

Contribute to This Page



Recently Viewed