Mama's Family Poster


Episode List


Season 3

27 Sep. 1986
Farewell, Frannie
Mama is determined to give Fran the perfect funeral despite everyone's insistence on knowing the details of her mysterious death, and her nerves are tested even further with the arrival of her grandson from reform school.
4 Oct. 1986
Where There's a Will
The Harpers stand to gain a small fortune from Fran's estate, but only if Mama can follow the will's impossible stipulation.
11 Oct. 1986
Best Medicine
Mama is angry with Ellen for passing up Aunt Fran's funeral for a bridge tournament; but changes her attitude when she learns Ellen has been hospitalized.
18 Oct. 1986
National Mama
Mama's bizarre dreams coincide with horse race winners, leading the Harpers to believe they've got a sure-fire betting system.
25 Oct. 1986
Soup to Nuts
Mama, Naomi, and Iola have a chili cookoff, forcing Vint into the unenviable task of judging which most deserves inclusion in the church cookbook.
1 Nov. 1986
Mama and Dr. Brothers
When Dr. Joyce Brothers appears on a local talk show, Mama is shocked and embarrassed when Naomi phones in for advice on her and Vint's marriage.
8 Nov. 1986
Cat's Meow
Iola is inconsolable when her nasty cat, Midnight, dies. Mama tries to cheer Iola, but is uncomfortable with the solution Iola finds to deal with her grief: having Midnight freeze-dried.
15 Nov. 1986
The Love Letter
A love letter meant for Naomi mistakenly ends up in the hands of both Mama and Iola, leading to hilarious complications for all.
22 Nov. 1986
An Ill Wind
Family animosities come to light (and the boiling point) when the Harpers are trapped together due to a Thanksgiving Day tornado.
29 Nov. 1986
Steal One Pearl Two
All eyes fall on Bubba in suspicion when Iola's pearls come up missing and he comes home with a new drum set.
6 Dec. 1986
Where's There's Smoke
Mama's plans for the Church Ladies League presidency are jeopardized with the arrival of an acquaintance if Bubba's who has run away from reform school.
13 Dec. 1986
Fly Naomi
Naomi is fed up with her job as a supermarket cashier, and signs up for stewardess school, believing it will lead to an exciting career. As the weeks pass, Vint is feeling neglected as Naomi spends all her time on her studies. And Mama is unsympathetic -- until she learns that flight attendants' families can fly anywhere they want for free.
20 Dec. 1986
Santa Mama
Mama is in no mood for Christmas merriment, and matters are not helped when she must fill in as Santa at the mall.
10 Jan. 1987
Desperately Seeking Anyone
The Harpers are tired of Iola's constant presence and wish she had someone else to spend time with, so Mama and Naomi enroll her in a matchmaking service. But the match date has eyes for someone other than Iola.
17 Jan. 1987
Porn Again
Mama finds an adult magazine in Bubba's room. When she learns he bought it at Food Circus (where Naomi is employed), she leads a boycott of the store.
24 Jan. 1987
Have It Mama's Way
Mama and Bubba get jobs at the same fast food restaurant. Their relationship as co-workers does not go smoothly.
31 Jan. 1987
Mother's Day for Mama comes crashing to a thud when Vint comes to believe he is adopted, and arranges a meeting with the woman he believes is his real mother.
7 Feb. 1987
Grandma USA
As a practical joke, Bubba enters Thelma into the Grandma USA contest using a young woman's picture. But it's no joke when she's picked to compete and everybody gets a load of the real Thelma Harper.
14 Feb. 1987
Buck Private Bubba
Bubba's spur-of-the-moment decision to join the Army proves disastrous, and it's up to Mama to get him out of it.
21 Feb. 1987
Mama's Cousin
Mama questions her life's accomplishments when her successful, glamorous cousin Lydia (Vicki Lawrence) comes to town.
28 Feb. 1987
Mama with the Golden Arm
Mama's big mouth lands her in an armwrestling match, where she meets her most formidable foe yet.
7 Mar. 1987
It Takes Two to Watusi
Bubba is smitten with Naomi's curvy, but much older, friend. Mama, however, will stop at nothing to prevent their romance.
14 Mar. 1987
Fangs a Lot, Mama
Vint is keen on joining a secretive men's club, but its bizarre trappings cause concern for Naomi. It is up to Mama to get to the bottom, and to save Vint from disaster.
21 Mar. 1987
The Best Policy
Vint has a series of near-death accidents shortly after a major life insurance purchase, causing Mama and Iola to suspect Naomi may be responsible.
28 Mar. 1987
After the Fall
Mama brings Aunt Effie, who's been in shock since she fell off her roof, home from the hospital and spends two weeks trying to rehabilitate her while her family puts together Vint's new 'miracle' jigsaw puzzle.

« Season 2 |  Season 3  Season 4  »

See also

TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page

Recently Viewed