All That Glitters (TV Series 1977– ) Poster

(1977– )

User Reviews

Review this title
28 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Lear's Best!!
LJAllen18 October 2004
"All That Glitters" was undoubtedly Norman Lear's most cutting edge work. To say that this show was ahead of its time is an understatement. Staying very much in the vein of Lear's trademark "social commentary" brand of humor, the society into which this show's characters were cast portrayed women as dominant and men as submissive and oppressed.

The key to its charm was the blatant inversion of traditional gender power dynamics as well as the complete inversion of gender-based rituals and ceremonies. I recall one episode where a wedding took place where the groom--still dressed in traditional tuxedo--came down the aisle with his bouquet in hand to meet his bride waiting at the altar.

As a first run syndicated television show, "All That Glitters" never had a regular "national" primetime slot which would have made more of the public aware of its existence. But one thing was sure: the sexism inflicted by the women on the men in this show didn't look any better than it has coming from men. By switching the typical gender roles, Lear managed to make both a humorous and serious statement about the ugly side of sexism without preaching––an all too rare occurrence in television. This one ended much too soon.
26 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Glad I am not the only one who thought they imagined this show.
sallyf-13 December 2004
It is great to have finally found a site that includes some information on "All That Glitters". I was 19 years old and living in New Orleans when this unique show aired late at night after Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman. I loved it and have always wondered if I imagined it as not one single person I knew had seen it except a few guys who lived upstairs in my apartment complex. Lear was certainly right on with this way ahead of its time show. It would be awesome if TV Land could get a hold of the few episodes and get them repeated. It is a must see for all. The whole premise was terrific but I can see that it might have stirred up the TV censors for its time but would still be relevant now. Let's hope it can make it back on the small screen even if just to acknowledge Norman Lear's brilliance.
19 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
liked this show
cbjornstad10 March 2004
I really hope that "All the Glitters" is rerun or that videos are made available. It was such a good show! I would love to see it again. It was intelligent and definitely ahead of its time. Norman Lear is a national treasure. I miss Dark Angel also. So many of the actors in All That Glitters were top notch and went on to do other things. Most of my friends missed All That Glitters when it was on tv. It's hard to explain to them how well done it was. I also felt maybe I had imagined it when it disappeared so fast. Maybe a cable channel will rerun it. Tina
16 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Mysterious disapearance
bobearl313 June 2003
I have looked for references to this show for several years but could not remember the title. I finally got and answer from Tvpipeline and am releived to know that I did not imagine this whole plot. Several of the actors were busy in commercials and this was the only show in which I found them. The show, brief as it was, was most interesting and far ahead of its time. I hope someone shows it again!
15 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
What a little wonder
jshaffer-125 May 2005
What a little wonder this show was!! If you got to see any of it, you are very lucky. So far as I know it has never been shown in any other format than its original one on network TV. I particularly remember Lois Nettleton (a great favorite of mine) and Gary Sandy. Gary as a sexually harassed secretary was funny and pitiful at the same time. I guess it maybe cut too close to home for the network, because it sank with no trace. But, gosh, it was funny.

Isn't it unfortunate that it has not had the same exposure as some of the other, far more familiar, Lear products? If someone is sitting on this little jewel, why don't you put it out there for people to see? I have a feeling it would be every bit as funny as it was almost 30 years ago. Maybe more so.
13 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
WAAAAY ahead of its time!
akjude14 May 2003
I have always been a fan of Norman Lear, with his vision and unique sense of humor. "All That Glitters" was one of his best, and I really missed it when it vanished so abruptly. It's a shame that the networks are so quick to pull shows that are unconventional before they have a chance to prove themselves, despite rabid fan bases. (Examples (in alphabetical order): All's Fair, Early Edition, Earth 2, Family Law, Firefly, First Monday, Freaks and Geeks, Golden Years, L.A. Doctors, Ned and Stacey, Nightmare Cafe, Now and Again, Pretender, Prey, Push Nevada, Reasonable Doubts, Relativity, Space:Above & Beyond, Sportsnight, Strange Luck, The Days and Nights of Molly Dodd, Tracker, Vengeance Unlimited, VR.5, Witchblade, and possibly Mister Sterling) (You can't tell I'm a SciFi fan, can you?)

It's gotten so bad that I won't watch new shows that I've heard are great until it's been on at least 3 seasons - It seems that every time I get hooked on a show, it disappears... Of course, now, I just get the DVDs of the complete series. (That's how I've watched Angel, and will probably watch 24.)

Okay, done ranting now!
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Best Norman Lear EVER!
fieldjo3 June 2002
This sit com came on the heels of "Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman" -- it "mysteriously" disappeared directly following an early episode which presented an older woman (Linda Gray?) in bed with a buff young black man. Zap. Gone. The network sponsors weren't having it. Most people don't remember the show -- it was canceled so prematurely -- because it touched too many nerves. Racism/age-ism/sexism -- it was incredibly smart. There should be a secret All That Glitters Society --people who "got it." I definitely did -- and I was only 15 at the time.
16 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It Wasn't a Mirage
gcoleson28 May 2007
The introduction went something like...; One mornin' the Lord, she woke up to say, "I feel like I want to be creative today. So by virtue of the power I vested in me, I'll make the heavens, earth, and the deep blue sea. Things that swim, fly, walk, lie, creep and crawl, and to gather together and name them all"...(then something about creating woman)...and from the rib of the Madame came Adam full grown... This is all I can recall. How I wish I could remember the rest, or better yet see it in repeats. I can still hear the tune.

Back in Oklahoma, I would watch this show after Mary Hartman, then go to summer school the next day and laugh about it with my mates. The one character I recall was Madame Abu Bahn, the oil sheikh. The company L.W. Carruthers headed was Globatron. In one episode Dan Kincaid (Gary Sandy) got a new B.M.W., and I vaguely remember the bit about the black man in bed with the white woman. How could I have forgotten Tim Thomerson, Andrea Martin, and Lois Nettleton?

Hilarious as the show was, we at school were very angry that it was suddenly chopped. Why? My mother hated both "Mary Hartman" and "All That Glitters," and unsuccessfully tried to stop me from watching it a few times. Maybe her ilk was the reason it was cancelled.

If everyone here writes to TV Land, they might revive it, that is if anyone there remembers. Like myself at 14, it was campy and ahead of it's time. Those were the days, Mr. Lear, you bloody genius.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I agree with the kudos
sscheiber28 December 2008
To say this show was ahead of its time is a gross understatement (as others in this forum have already noted). It ran as an independent show, after Mary Hartman Mary Hartman in many markets, which put it on between 11:30 and midnight in Vermont where I saw it. That it has never been available in any form on video is a crime (although I have a few other candidates for that particular crime). Lois Nettleton, Jessica Walter, and Gary Sandy were outstanding in their portrayals, although my favorite remains Chuck McCann as a harried house-husband. Of all the male actors, he captured his character best. Whether the audience was ready for the show will remain a mystery, since few people ever had the opportunity to see it. But WOULD SOMEBODY PLEASE BRING THIS OUT ON DVD??? Thanks in advance
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I remember this TV gem too!
lambiepie-230 December 2008
All that Glitters was short lived, but WAY ahead of its time as Norman Lear who's the "king of controversial sit com television" placed this out there for audiences to see. As I was a female young kid at the time, and "women's lib" was supposedly established, here Lear brought it to fruition. A women run society. And the women were as ruthless, sexual and cut throat as men. Boy, did people have a major cow. This show as very short lived.

Between this show and another short lived network show I liked called "Executive Suite", America - even a very small portion of it - wasn't ready for things like women executives, heterosexual male secretaries & interracial pairings, abortion issues. "All That Glitters" focused on the woman dominated society. But that is the history of early television and the masters, male and female, behind it all. And Norman Lear was one of the leaders.

One that that is important to note: there wasn't such thing as "syndication" as we all know it back then. Syndication didn't come into play until the 1980's -- with a block of shows like "Small Wonder", a new life to "It's a Living", "Out of this World", "The New Gidget", etc. that were being packaged and sold to fill time -- and networks were poo-pooing the concepts, but an audience was out there for these shows....AND 50's & 60's actors realizing that their shows were being played ad-nausea on UHF, local channels and the new medium Cable-TV and its "Superstations", and they weren't getting paid! That's when everyone realized that syndication became ... lucrative - but the whole point of this is that Norman Lear took advantage of the medium way early of this to express a broader artistic view of programming. I'm sure he knew the networks were having a cow. But even back then, "All That Glitters" is one of the most controversial programming of that time, even light-years more than his "All In The Family".

But it was brilliant, it was inspired. It was very short lived but again...the talent! Linda Gray, Gary Sandy, etc. Now that DVD and Blue Ray is alive and well, I hope audiences can take another look at this. I'm not sure if it will "hold up through the years" with HD, etc. but the theme and genius of the concept is there.

And I am still waiting to see "that show" and "that acceptance" in which female executives and CEO's run the country ...
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Never a network show
whereismikeyfl4 June 2010
Many people here seem to think that this was a network program--but it was not.

It was part of a new kind of programing, direct-to-syndication, that Norman Lear started with Mary Hartman. He tried to build on that success with All That Glitters, which tanked big time. The sad part was it had been on the air for a few months and had moved from foregrounding the concept to foregrounding the characters--which made it into something strange and fascinating.

Maybe there is a book someone should write about the days of pre-cable, when various producers tried to find ways to avoid the heavy hand of the networks....
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
the brilliant but phantom satire
Bou2 May 2009
Nice to see that there are other fans here, and also people who began to question their own memory or sanity with respect to remembering this show! Man, I now hardly know anyone who saw it, but my then-husband and I were big fans. It didn't air in our region, and we'd use the rabbit-ears and the outside antenna to pull it in from an independent station in a neighboring state.

I had considered myself a feminist for years, but I was amazed at how astute this show was in picking up how completely permeated society is with aspects of gender roles. There was always something in that show that made me do a double-take. Some of life's more offensive moments were shown for what they were and yet simultaneously rendered hilarious when role-reversed: the executive women's nearly unconscious treatment of waiters at the local bar, for example.

Add me to the folks who would so appreciate it if TV Land would air these ("Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman" too!) or if they were on DVD. Gotta love Norman Lear!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Glad to know I'm not alone!
ADSBarber26 February 2009
Every so often I would begin singing the theme song to All That Glitters. However, this evening I could not remember the name of the show and that really bothered me. So, I searched my mind until I remembered that the harassed secretary later starred in WKRP in Cincinnati. From there, I was able to drill down until I found the name of the show. As one of the other posters inferred, I thought I was the only one who remembered this absolutely funny and before-its-time sitcom. I can't begin to describe how knowing I'm not the only person who remembers gives me just a bit more confidence that my age had not altered cherished memories. LOL At any rate, it is too bad this show is not on DVD. Or is it? Inquiring minds what to know...
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Sitcom ever
jj-992-1016794 May 2014
Best sitcom ever. As a young newlywed male with first child on the way it made me understand sexual harassment in a different way.

The show was humorous but very enlightening. Way ahead of its time, wish it would come back, maybe it would help break the glass ceiling for woman. The show dealt with both verbal and physical sexual harassment before we heard of being politically correct.

All That Glitters was aired late night which may have been its demise. It would be the talk of the shop for us on the midnight crew. The slapping on the butt of the male secretaries by the female executives was over the top in the 70's. This would be followed by the male secretaries pushing back the sexual advances and invitations by the female executives in fear of retribution by them.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The All Time Best!
sceck8 December 2010
My sister and I lived together in Florida in 1977 and fell upon this show one night after the news. After that we NEVER missed an episode. If we were out, we rushed home by 11:30 for the show. The best part was how absolutely perfectly it was cast. Poor submissive Bert, the hotty secretary (who knew how to work it), and of course, gorgeous and strong executive women. The subject matter was razor sharp. Then out of nowhere it was gone. At the time, we couldn't figure out how such a good show had died. We kind of thought it was the time slot. It was years later that we found it was intentionally yanked. Such a pity. Please, please get it back. Someone somewhere can figure it out. On DVD at the very least. I really need to see how Bert makes out...really.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I thought I imagined it,too
iyalanda23 October 2009
I have been trying to find this show in all the "Complete Directory to Prime Time and Network Shows," but failed to find it in there even though I had some of the stars right. I didn't realize it didn't count as a network show. I also tried TV Guide.com's Q & A, but since I couldn't remember the name, all I could do was give my best guest at the actors, and that I remember that the logo was a pink rose. I was thinking either Gary Sandy or David Haskell were in it. Well, they both were. I looked under just about every blonde actress including Lois Nettleton, whom I remembered from "Centenial."

This show should be required viewing in grade school. I was 21 when it came on, and it made me realize how wrong were things that I was so indoctrinated with that I didn't even realize it.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fond memories of "All That Glitters"
atroonin22 September 2007
I have the greatest memories of this show. I agree that it was way before its time. I was 13 when the show aired. It used to come on in my area just after the 11:00 news. I used to stay up to watch it, although my parents set a 10:00 bedtime for me because I had to catch a 6:30 bus to school each morning. To avoid the obvious "scheduling conflict," I would place a towel at the bottom of my door to keep the television's light from spilling into to the hallway. I also used to tack a huge beach towel over my window each night, just in case my parents happened to have to go out at night! I watched the show on an old 13" television. The front of the set was equipped with a jack for an earpiece (not a headphone set, but a single earpiece!). I swiped my brother's earpiece from his transistor radio and used it to listen to the show. I remember laughing into my pillow so that no one would hear me! It never bothered me once to have to go to these lengths to watch the show. I never even gave it a second thought! The mornings were tough, but I was always sure to get up without having to be told because I didn't want my parents asking why I was so tired. It was a small price to pay!

I would LOVE to have the complete set of DVDs for this show! Is there any indication that one will ever released?
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Was this shown on a Major Network?
linda_ball29 August 2005
I seem to remember it being on one of the (few) independent channels of the era. The other comment here talks about 'network.' That's all I really wanted to ask, but it wants me to write ten lines. Since I wrote the summary here I often get e-mail about this show and my only knowledge comes from having watched it when it aired. I did get to ask Norman Lear about it when he spoke here once. At the time I tried to post a comment quoting his response, but I think that the powers-to-be probably didn't want to have me asserting what Norman said.

If you write to me about this show, bear in mind that I just got to watch it when it aired and I am just relying on those memories.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I Miss It!
lsherman12 August 2004
We have been trying to remember the name of this show for years and am so happy to have finally found it. I too could not believe it ended so abruptly. Here in Phoenix it stopped airing on Channel 5, but was still showing in other parts of the country. The last episode shown here ended with Bert locking himself in the closet. My husband and I enjoyed this show very much. It was funny and totally before it's time. We would love to see it re-run or re-made into a new series. I am sure they could find some great character actors that would do it justice. I think it would be more appreciated now if they gave it a second chance. We also miss Married With Children and Soap. What can I say, we love the zany shows. There needs to be more like them.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Very unique show
marycroydon28 January 2002
I'm so glad to see this show on this database. No one seems to remember it. I was beginning to think I imagined it. It was a very unique show and very funny. I didn't realize Linda Gray, later seen in Dallas, was in it. I do remember the actor from WKRP was in it. It would be interesting to see it again now in 2002! Have times really changed?
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This show was awesome
charles-209-10075826 March 2016
This was a show far ahead of its time. Norman Lear was cutting edge and this was even more so. The few episodes there were were always well done well and were most enjoyable. I was 20 and really enjoyed the role reversals.It was an odd time, the 70's and this show was clearly intended for the audience of the day.I particularity enjoyed Gary Sandy as the secretary who was always trying to use his boss to rise above his station.Linda Gray as the transgender woman was fantastic. This was a hard role to play as transgendered people were not thought of in polite terms.The concept of the show was shocking and thought provoking as it made us look at how sexual discrimination affected everyone, not just those being discriminated against. How it affected society in general and the workplace in particular.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The opening song is what sticks in my mind.
grgetme2 August 2007
Remember? It went something like this One morning the Lord, Shewoke up to say, "I feel like i want to be creative today. So by the virtue of the power I invested in me I make the heaven, the earth and the deep blue sea." Things swam by, walked, fly-ed,creep ed and crawled. "Now I'd better make someone to name it all". Yes a human was needed in the neighborhood. So the Lord made woman and it was good. She said "the garden of eden is no place to be alone". So from the rib of the Madam came Adam full grown. As time went by this groom and bride followed the instructions and multiplied. He cooked. She worked.............

That's all I can remember. Can anyone help me find the rest of the words or maybe even the song itself? email me
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
i remember part of the "rap" song
kittikisses29 May 2006
I think "All That Glitters " may have been the first "rap" i ever heard!" One morning the Lord,she woke up to say

I feel like I wanna be created today

So by the virture of the power i invest in me

I create the heavens the earth and the deep blue sea

The thing s that walk crawl .............

Then my memory fails me wish I could remember the rest.....was such a great show...so glad I found others who saw it........like ya'll kinda thought i had dreamed it.

Would love to see it again ,would love to show it to my daughter ,

who is now 26.

If anyone can remember the rest..please send it on

Thanks
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Full Lyrics
jcnj62 December 2007
One morning the Lord, She woke up to say, "I feel like I want to be creative today". So by virtue of the power I have invested in me I make the heaven, earth and the deep blue sea. "Things that swim, fly, walk by, creep and crawl. "Now I'd better make someone to name it all". Yes, a human was needed in the neighborhood. So the Lord made woman and it was good. "Now the garden of Eden is no place to be alone". So from the rib of the Madam came Adam full grown. As time went by this groom and bride followed the instructions and multiplied. She'd hunt, he'd cook. She'd work, he'd play While she administered the government, he crocheted. She wore the mail, he wore the vale He concubined and walked behind, She was you'll pardon the expression, the mastermind. So is it any wonder why the men complain that from the dawn of time it's been a woman's domain

("She wore the mail" refers to medieval chain mail body armor)
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
For its time it was shocking
preppy-322 January 2007
Satirical soap opera in the vein of "Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman". In this the women are in charge and the men are objectified.

This was controversial when it aired on TV. Norman Lear already had "Mary Hartman..." on the air and figured he could try another show in the same format. Most stations aired this late at night (it didn't show here until 11:30) so this never had a chance. Also there was a transsexual character--a real first for TV. I was only 15 when this aired and found it pretty funny--but obvious. This was basically a one-joke satire--it just put women in the place of men and that was it. All the obvious issues were addressed pretty quickly and then this had nowhere to go. The writing was sharp and they had a great cast but, after the initial controversy, this show quickly died. It would NOT be made today. So--on one hand I enjoyed it. On the other I found it obvious. I wonder if it would hold up today.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed