Shout at the Devil (1976) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
29 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
A real ripping yarn
johnson5030 November 2003
As a World War One naval buff, I enjoy this film on one level. As a film enthusiast, I enjoy it on another, all the more so for it being based on fact.

The actual story of the Koenigsberg is actually far less glamorous than the fate of the Blucher in this film but no less enthralling. After the ship was destroyed, her crew joined the German land forces under Count Paul von Lettow-Vorbeck and, together with their few thousand fiercely loyal African troops, fought 1 million British soldiers to a standstill for 4 years until, after the Armistice, they surrendered to the Portuguese, undefeated and proud. A tale well worth reading, far better than the fiction.

Back to the film. The central character is one Flynn O'Flynn, a thoroughly disreputable character, played by Lee Marvin. Always good value for money, he merely reprises Ben Rumson in Africa - no effort required! Roger Moore, aged 49, plays the 'young' interest! Mind you, he don't look bad for it! He is married to the delectable Barbara Parkins, Flynn's daughter Rosa, really the only female character in the film, a grim role she carries off to perfection. Fleischer, the evil German, the exact opposite of von Lettow-Vorbeck, is brilliantly overplayed by Rene Kolldehoff - he really is unlikeable! Also look out for Ian Holm as the mute Arab servant Mohammed.

The film has great pace, really rolling along, well shot in wonderful scenery. It has been well researched too. The Blucher, an actual German cruiser, has been pretty accurately recreated. The whole film has a very genuine feel.

I can see why it's not popular with female viewers. It's quite bloody, very cruel and Barbara Parkins character has a dreadful time of it. The scene in which the farm is burned is quite harrowing.

There are plenty of laughs too. Flynn O'Flynn has all of Ben Rumson's comic characteristics. The big fight between Marvin and Moore is very funny. And then there's Roger Moore blacked up as an African porter - he's about as convincing as I would be - and I'm blond!

If you're a fan of Ripping Yarns, then this one is for you. If not, then I wouldn't bother.
35 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A very good old fashioned adventure movie.
k-thomas19 May 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I first saw this movie, when it was first released in 1976 and must say, it hasn't lost its momentum. Fine performances from all the actors and the only actress in the film Barbra Parkins.

When i was a child, i read a story in the victor comic of the destruction of a battleship in the first world war like the Blucher and if i remember correctly, it was never discovered who actually blew the ship up. As stated in another comment, it is a pity that you cannot get an original full version of this film. The version i have is from the BBC. Also in a couple of comments, it has been stated that it was a pity a baby was murdered. I would like to make a point, that it was in the book by Wilbur Smith, Rosa and Smiths child being thrown into a fire and this is the beginning of the story of their fight with the character Fleischer, brilliantly portrayed by Reinhard Kolldehoff. It is a pity films like 'Shout At The Devil' are not being made today, as there are still books of adventure stories in the shops there for the taking. A must for people who still like a good old fashioned yarn with a beginning a middle and an end.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A good film set in a little known theatre of the First World War
de_niro_200122 April 2006
Warning: Spoilers
If C S Forester had not written The African Queen the fact that Germany once had a colonial empire would be totally unknown. This little known theatre of WW1 has been the background to The African Queen and this film as well as an episode of Young Indiana Jones. Contrary to what some commentators have said Fleischer is not meant to be based on Lettow-Vorbeck. He holds a different position, namely that of commissioner for the southern district. Lettow-Vorbeck was commander of the Schutztruppe. It is a cracking good yarn but like many people who have seen it I don't like the part where the baby gets killed. The special effects are some of the best pre-CGI effects I have seen.The editing of the film leaves a bit to be desired.Lee Marvin basically reprises Ben Rumson and Roger Moore plays James Bond as an Edwardian adventurer. As I said the special effects are good for their time but when the battleship blows up the hull remains in the same position. It doesn't sink or even list. Also, if there was a bomb right in the ship's magazine the explosion would be a lot bigger and Rosa and Sebastian would not have much chance of survival being just across on the opposite bank. But still a very good film.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Shamefully treated classic
ADAM-533 June 2000
This is a splendid action/adventure of a type they just don't make any more, with excellent performances from Marvin and Moore that move from the comic to the dramatic. With rolling African scenery and a thunderous music score, not to mention Barbara Parkins as the love interest, and stunning direction by Peter (On Her Majesty's Secret Service) Hunt, this deserves to be much better known. Unfortunately it was lambasted by ignorant and ridiculous critics on both sides of the Atlantic upon its initial release, so it was re-edited and much of the more moving aspects of the film were cut out. As it stands, the video release and television versions in the UK show only about 2/3ds of the finished film. A few years ago a company called WideAppeal released a widescreen version on video, but this was some European print that contained much that had been cut from the US/UK version, but missed out instead much that the US/UK version had originally contained (much of it was also in German and undubbed or subtitled as I recall). WideAppeal must still be highly praised for releasing it on video. The British Film Institute had, when I inquired a few years ago, all of the original footage but had not got around to working on restoring the print to its original glory. I count myself lucky to have seen the original release print and feel annoyed and betrayed by the critics who savaged the film on its initial release (and the studio which reacted so swiftly to their meagre complaints) -- may you hang your heads in shame! I now only hope the BFI does its work swiftly so we can be presented with a version of the full film in all its glory.
35 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Based on a true story
Brewski-221 July 2003
Warning: Spoilers
There really was a German cruiser in WW I (SMS Koenigsberg) that went up the Rufiji River for repairs and was sunk by the British by using mortars on "monitor" type boats. Also, there was a German officer (Colonel Von Lettow-Vorbeck: read "Guerilla" by Edwin P. Hoyt) that took the cannons off of the ship and had them manhandled around the African countryside to defeat the British. Please note that Von Lettow was a gentleman and excellent officer at guerilla warfare and NOT the stealing, avaricious fat baby killer depicted by Fleisher.

That being said, this film concerns British colonists (good, farming types that use thier black conscript soldiers to defend) and German colonists (bad, tax collecting types that use their black conscript soldiers to attack). Lee Marvin is the crusty but loveable curmudgeon, Roger Moore is the con man with a heart of gold and Barbara Parkins is the farmer's daughter and, hands down, a dish in her day.

***SPOILERS*** All is well until the German officer finds out that Marvin & Moore are poaching his tax targets and he revenges by burning down Marvin's house and killing the infant of Moore and Parkins. Now all bets are off and lightheartedness ends. Now the German officer, his friends, his coworkers, his countrymen, his soldiers, the people who owe him money and everyone that looks like him must die. So ultimate revenge is had and in a fitting poetic justice, Mom of infant Parkins, extracts the final measure of justice from the German officer.

Another reviewer wanted to know why the title was "Shout at the Devil". The reason is that when men do evil, thier destiny is Hell, where all they can do thereafter is "shout at the devil".

9 of 10 stars
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A rollicking great action yarn (that was true!)
lastliberal8 March 2008
The first thing you notice about this film is the racist MPAA. Despite it being rated PG for war violence, there was nudity. Breasts were exposed, but they weren't those of Barbara Parkins ("Peyton Place", Valley of the Dolls, and her skintastic moment in Breakfast in Paris), but of African natives. Seems that black breasts are not taboo for children to see.

But, to the film itself. It is actually two films. The first half in 1912, has Lee Marvin (Cat Ballou, Paint Your Wagon) as a drunken ivory poacher who manages to get Roger Moore (The Spy Who Loved Me, "The Saint") to partner up with him. After Moore and Parkins (Marvin's daughter) plan to marry, there is a great fight scene reminiscent of many John Wayne pictures.

Then the film changes. World War I is declared and the Germans are on the march led by Reinhard Kolldehoff (Moon Over Parador, "The Winds of War"), a big fat German pig whose men slaughter Moore and Parkins baby, and set them on a search for revenge.

The film has plenty of action, including what I would call a paper mache bi-plane which almost takes Moore's life, and culminates in the blowing up of a German battleship that had run over Moore and Marvin earlier.

Marvin was extremely funny and Moore looked just great painted black to get on the ship. Parkins was radiant throughout, even when consumed with revenge for the murder of her baby.

Sir Ian Holm (Chariots of Fire) was also fantastic as Marvin's mute servant.
15 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Another Lee Marvin Masterpiece
chrinic2720 April 2001
This guy seems to have been the most under-rated star in the Biz. His dry sense of humor combined with a subtle charisma made Lee Marvin one of the most likeable stars of the war movie genre. Here he played an older soldier, past his prime, that coaxes the younger Roger Moore into doing life-endangering things against the Germans. This is done with much humor, as Moore is in love with Marvin's daughter, and feels compelled out of family honor to do whatever he can. The action is really excellent, and the love story is touching. A must see for any war movie fan, and/or Moore fan. Marvin, himself, delivers another Marvin like performance, and reminds viewers of his earlier days from the film "The Dirty Dozen".
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Ever wonder how Lee Marvin would have done as the lead in "The African Queen"?
vfrickey19 May 2008
Then watch "Shout at the Devil." There are other reasons, all good ones.

Shot in 1976, thus with better quality film and presentation, "Shout at the Devil" isn't a remake of "African Queen".

It has more of everything you want in a frontier war adventure; - more romance (between a British adventurer played by Roger Moore and the daughter of Lee Marvin's seamy ivory poacher, given complex, sympathetic life by Barbara Parkins) and - more explosions and pitched battles; more heart-wrenching tragedy and suspense;

Only the finely balanced banter between Katharine Hepburn and Humphrey Bogart which made their earlier film still stand out as the definite classic compared with this later effort is missing.

But it's still a very, very good film and rewards its viewer well.

In this film, the work Humphrey Bogart did as both comic and romantic lead is split between Lee Marvin as the nearly completely unprincipled Col. Flynn O'Flynn (a self-commissioned Irish-American ivory poacher) and Roger Moore, as unfortunate British gentleman Sebastian Oldsmith.

Oldsmith is Shanghaied by O'Flynn and his equally unscrupulous batman Mohammed into being everything from being a poorly paid "partner" to an aerial observer in a rickety 1914-model aircraft to reconnoiter over enemy territory, to finally become the central character in the movie's spine-tingling denouement.

This film has everything for fans of high adventure - suspense, tragedy, moments of wild comedy, and characterizations that go beyond the standard formula fare.

"Shout at the Devil" is better than average for a Lee Marvin feature; maybe not up to "Tell it to the Spartans" or "Cat Ballou," but definitely a worthy addition to an adventure movie fan's collection.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The African Road Runner
bkoganbing10 April 2007
Shout at the Devil finds Lee Marvin in sub Sahara Africa in 1914 just before the start of World War I. He's a rollicking, live by your wits character named Flynn, very much similar to Humphrey Bogart's Charlie Allnut in The African Queen. Marvin takes up with an Englishman played by Roger Moore who's been stranded in Africa on his way to Australia.

Marvin has a running rivalry with the local German governor played with Teutonic relish by Reinhard Kolldehoff. He's the Road Runner to Kolldehoff's Wily Coyote. During the first half of the film, it plays just like a road runner cartoon.

When war is declared however, Kolldehoff crosses into British territory where Marvin has operated with sanctuary and exacts a terrible vengeance for being constantly made a fool of. On Marvin, on Moore, and on Barbara Parkins, Marvin's daughter who Moore has now married and had a child with.

This is World War I so the Germans aren't behaving like the Nazis of the second World War. But Kolldehoff you can see a potential recruit for Hitler in the post war years. In fact I don't think it's an accident that Kolldehoff and his character Fleischer look very much like German Field Marshal Ludendorff who was sympathetic to the early Nazi party.

Shout at the Devil is a broad comic adventure for the first half and turns serious in the second half. Moore and Marvin have a nice easy chemistry between them, Marvin is reaching back to his Cat Ballou days and the bag of scene stealing tricks he used to get an Oscar. Moore is hard pressed, but does keep up.

And who doesn't like a live road runner cartoon.
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very good action sequences and outstanding performances.
chrnaess14 March 2000
Shout at the devil proved to be a bit of a surprise to me, I expected a boring war film, but I was very positively surprised.

The film starred my favorite actor Roger Moore and he delivered a good performance. At 49 he looks extremely handsome, like he did in all the Bond films, Moore is an outstanding actor. Lee Marwin also starred an outstanding performance in all aspects of the movie.

The film was directed by Peter Hunt who also directed On Her Majesty`s Secret Service (1969), he proved then he could make a great action adventure, and he did so again. With great action sequences and some very good humour delivered brilliantly from Marwin and Moore.

Shout at the Devil proves to be one of the finest films of the seventies.
13 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Cheerfully corny revenge drama and vengeance fantasy
shakercoola26 November 2018
A British war adventure film; This is an opulent epic set in German East Africa at the beginning of the First World War. The full theatrical release is the version of the film which has garnered more credit, for it gives the two leads more distinctive qualities albeit suffering from too much plot. Adapted from the Wilbur Smith novel of the same name, it harks back to an older generation of films with exploitative, larger than life characters put through a cavalcade of action and unlikely situations, out of which humour and thrills naturally arise, with a cartoonish villain to satisfy all tastes. Lee Marvin plays a man on the make, out to plunder the environment - including ivory poaching - for a quick buck, and downing copious amounts of hooch in the process. It's the kind of character he honed in "Paint Your Wagon" and he brings the same verve and inebriation to Flynn O'Flynn - a man who stumbles and fights quite a bit, this time with Roger Moore, who plays Sebastian Oldsmith, an establishment English gentleman. The film has some historical accuracies but is based on a true story about a raid on the SMS Konigsberg by an ivory hunter. Peter R. Hunt stages things with workmanlike efficiency and the performances are winning. The film, though overlong, is a treat for a Sunday afternoon.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Quaint
xredgarnetx6 April 2008
In SHOUT AT THE DEVIL, Roger Moore and Lee Marvin are a pair of misfits living in Africa just before World War 1. Moore is an elephant poacher and Marvin is a drunk living with his adult daughter (Barbara Parkins) in what is now Tanzania. Marvin and Moore fight over any little thing, not the least of which is the delectable daughter. But then they must work together to defeat the Germans at the onset of World War I. Seems the Germans have a battleship anchored in the cove, for repairs. At the behest of the British government, Marvin and Moore seek to destroy the ship before it can relaunch. Because of its age and director (Britisher Peter Hunt), the film looks creaky as all hell today. The fights are clumsily staged. The sincerity of the plot is questionable. Only Parkins seems to feel she is acting in a drama. Moore and Marvin play their parts very broadly. Even with bodies dropping like flies and both Moore and Marvin periodically being injured, you're not so sure this isn't a comedy. Is it worth a look? Not really.
11 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Truly Wretched
screenman16 December 2007
Warning: Spoilers
It seems incredible that the same decade which brought Star Wars to the silvery screen disgorged such unutterable tripe as this and many other 'adventure' movies. I am reminded of the similarly lavish, but equally wretched 'Ashanti' outlined elsewhere.

Whatever motivated A-list actors to sign-on for such wastes of celluloid is frankly beyond this writer. They must have been very, very desperate. To be perfectly candid, Roger Moore's appearance in any movie is the kiss of death. Although extremely handsome in his youth, his entire acting career has been predicated upon an ability to raise one eyebrow. Every emotion from A to B is conveyed by this simple stratagem. His were the dog-days of James Bond. Lee Marvin on the other hand has featured in some very worthy outings, perhaps most memorably 'Paint Your Wagon' and 'The Dirty Dozen'. He has a comic streak, but he is much better when he plays it straight.

The excellent Ian Holm is a throwaway, hardly recognisable blacked-up as a mute African. Everyone else just turned up for their pay-cheques.

The only plausible and watchable element is the German cruiser. It looks like a very large model. But it is believably massive and appears authentic - as do its crew. The rest isn't even hokum. The childish comedy jars with the brutality and violence in a story that meanders clumsily about, as if the script itself had had too many whiffs of Lee Marvin's gin. Here is a director who simply doesn't know where he's going. There are hints of 'The African Queen', a snatch from 'The Pride & The Passion', 'Gold', and one or two other rip-offs from movies who's titles don't come readily to mind.

Strangely, I have seen it 3 times, each occasion it has been shown on television when I have been laid low with a cold or the flu. Perhaps that is influencing my judgement - but not much.

Compare it with any Indiana Jones movie and you will see what I mean.

I have given it two stars; one for the battleship and the other because it finally comes to an end, though heaven knows it takes long enough to do that.

Time for another Lemsip, I think.
9 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Filmed on location at Port st johns in the Transkei region of South Africa
gsneath13 July 2003
Having been to the region where Shout at the Devil was filmed,the logistics in Set building (the Battleship) and in getting the crew there must have been a feat in itself. Port st johns is,or at least was,at the time of filming a very inaccesable part of the coast. The set of the Battleship was in the Umsimvubu River between the two cliffs behind the village itself.
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Okay, but didn't have to be so long
Wizard-83 September 2017
I feel I should mention that the version of "Shout at the Devil" that I watched was the full length 150 minute version. When the movie originally played in theaters, it had been cut by about half an hour. Normally, I feel that the original full length version of a movie is the version to see, but in the case of this movie, I think that the edited version might play better. I'm not saying that the full length version is bad, but I'm saying that it's too long for its own good. There is quite a considerable amount of padding on display, and as a result the movie moves quite slowly at times. There are some good things along the way all the same - there is some good action and suspense, the African backdrop is colorful and catches the eye, and it's fun to see Lee Marvin and Roger Moore paired up and generate considerable chemistry. So it's nowhere near a total loss. All the same, I think a more snappy pace would have helped things considerably.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very underrated old fashioned adventure story
blueangel-7613327 October 2019
This is, as other positive reviewers have noted, a well told adventure story (based on real WWI events) with s strong, realistic script, excellent performances by Marvin, Moore and the wonderful character actor Ian Holm in an unusual role as a mute Muslim servant to Marvin's character. The female ingenue is played with charming demureness and grace by Barbara Perkins, who btw, is an absolute doppelganger for the American actress Joan Hackett. The Kaiser-era Germans are well portrayed as equally cruel and at times restrained as no true villians (or heroic characters for that matter) are simply all good or evil. And the near final scene where Marvin's character uses the film's title to quite meaningful effect (don't wish to spoil the ending), is poignant and deeply bittersweet. All the superhero films so popular today are fine, but if you wish to see genuine heroic characters struggling with not only difficult circumstances but there own all too human frailties, see this both thrilling and perceptive adventure tale.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Splendidly old-fashioned adventure from the pen of Wilbur Smith
Leofwine_draca27 April 2013
SHOUT AT THE DEVIL is the splendid adaptation of the splendid Wilbur Smith novel about a British gent and an American poacher who take on the might of the German Empire in Africa in the First World War. As expected given the source material, it's an exotic and action-packed adventure yarn, delightfully old fashioned with it.

The film wins plenty of kudos for the central pairing of Roger Moore and Lee Marvin, two larger-than-life actors who make for a great combination. Moore plays a slightly more serious riff on his usual persona, while Marvin is all swagger and drunken behaviour. The film wisely uses their potential for comedy by pairing them in lots of hilarious scenes, not least the never-ending fist fight.

Of course, there's a serious story buried in here too, along with one or two devastating plot twists that only Smith could have come up with. Reinhard Kolldehoff is a thoroughly despicable villain, both pompous and cruel, and the countdown-timer denouement is as exciting as it was when I read the book years ago.

If you like films that celebrate good, old-fashioned derring do, Dutch courage and thoroughly caddish behaviour, then you'll be sure to enjoy this one too.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Messy story and storytelling ruins the fun and potential of this movie.
Boba_Fett113810 November 2010
When you look at this movie it's concept and settings you should think that it will turn out to be one of the most entertaining things ever. It really has all of the right ingredients in it to make a good, spectacular and enjoyable movie out of but in fact I was more annoyed by this movie than entertained.

Problem with this movie is that it's a very messy one story-wise. I'm sorry, I just couldn't discover a clear main plot-line in this and I tried really hard to because I really wanted to like watching this film. Half of the time I couldn't even tell what was going on, just because I couldn't care about any of it. I just never got into this movie while watching.

Anothing thing that this movie suffers heavily from is that it doesn't seem to able to make up its mind what it is trying to be. At times the movie feels like a goofy comedy, while at others it's obviously trying to be a more straight-forward adventure/action movie. Both of these approaches don't exactly strengthen one another. Perhaps this is mostly due to the James Bond background of director Peter R. Hunt. He has worked on many different James Bond movies, in many different ways, throughout the decades. James Bond movies, especially the older ones, also are the type of movies that the one moment doesn't take itself very seriously, while at the other it is still trying to be a good and clever spy thriller/action flick. This approach works for most of the James Bond movies and make them real fun to watch but this approach completely falls flat for "Shout at the Devil".

And speaking of James Bond, the main character in this movie is being played by Roger Moore, which is not a coincidence of course. And I'm sorry but whenever I see Roger Moore in an '70's or '80's movie I can't see him as anyone else than James Bond. It doesn't help much that Moore hasn't tried to play many different sort of roles throughout his career and he just doesn't seem to have a very wide range as an actor. Luckily the movie also has Lee Marvin in it, who is much better and also way more fun to watch.

Not half as good or entertaining as I was hoping and expecting it to be.

5/10

http://bobafett1138.blogspot.com/
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A manual on how to make a bad movie
jason-21020 December 2006
Warning: Spoilers
This film had all the ingredients of a good adventure movie, but it revealed incompetence at almost every level.

The presence of Roger Moore in the cast list is usually a sign that the movie is not going to be anything more than mediocre, because Moore always has lead roles and he can't act. But this movie also had Ian Holm and Lee Marvin in it, and was based on a Wilbur smith book, so I thought I'd give it a chance when I saw the DVD for sale in the bargain bin...

It was a mistake. The opening scene appeared to start in the middle of a reel, with sound suddenly appearing as if the first second of the soundtrack had been truncated. The scene showed a dreadnought at sea with a German crew. This bad editing was a sign of things to come, but the scene with the dreadnought was interesting enough to keep me watching. The special effects were good, and the crew wore the proper uniforms and spoke in German, indicating that the director at least paid attention to historical detail.

So I kept watching, and then Moore appeared and my suspicions were confirmed. Bad acting, clichéd lines, clichéd cinematography and cheap humour...but worst of all, there is a disastrous attempt to blend the light-hearted feel of the film with serious drama and tragedy. It just does not work.

Much of the time I felt like I was watching a collection of hastily strung together clips, and then the film ended as suddenly and as badly as it started – in the middle of clip.
6 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not Too Impressive
Theo Robertson18 December 2002
Can`t say I was too blown away by this movie . The main problem I have is with the main villain Fleischer . Being set long before 1933 he`s not the goose stepping " ve haff vays of making you talk pig-dog " Nazi villain of WW2 war films but he`s the next worst thing - A fat stupid slob who tries to shoot everyone while calling them a " Schwienhund " . This stereotypical characterisation isn`t helped by the OTT performance of Reinhard Kolldehoff

I don`t know if it`s the fault of the BBC using an old print of the film but the editing is haphazard and all over the place like the scene on the reef which seems more like a random series of camera shots rather a scene , and you really do get the feeling ( At least with the version the BBC showed tonight ) that whole chunks of the film are missing . How else would Fleischer be able to describe Sebastian as " The Englishman " when they`ve never met . There`s no way Fleischer would know Sebastian was English

Another thing that annoyed me was the laughably unconvincing crocodile . How bad was it ? Well it looked like a man dressed up , that`s how bad it was . In fact as it approached Flynn I expected Sebastian to jump out of the crocodile costume and say " Trick or treat ? "

One last point . Why is this movie called SHOUT AT THE DEVIL ?
6 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A must for Lee Marvin fans.
Hey_Sweden22 May 2016
This rollicking, exotic adventure is one that happens to be inspired by a true story. It gets some mileage out of the teaming of Lee Marvin and Sir Roger Moore, who for a while are at each others' throats. It does go on for an awful long time, and have silly digressions, but that should be no problem for patient viewers who don't mind a film that takes its time telling a story. There is a good portion of the running time with strong comic overtones, until politics and the reality of war rear their ugly head. Then our ne'er-do-well main character must take on a mission for reasons that aren't purely selfish.

Marvin plays rascally American ivory poacher Flynn O'Flynn in the African country of Zanzibar in 1913. He makes the acquaintance of "young" Englishman Sebastian Oldsmith (Moore, who was in his late 40s during filming, but looks good regardless). Oldsmith is stranded in Zanzibar because his property is stolen from a hotel and he is now unable to sail to Australia, which was his plan. He becomes O'Flynns' sidekick, and joins in as the jovial scoundrel makes constant battles with German commissioner Herman Fleischer (Reinhard Kolldehoff). Eventually they will take part in a daring plan to destroy a German vessel docked for repairs in Zanzibar.

The filmmakers, led by director Peter R. Hunt ("Death Hunt"), are quick to remind viewers that they made no move to actually harm animals (there are disclaimers at both the beginning and the end of the film), in case any animal lovers watching get squeamish during some scenes. They deliver a fairly engrossing and rousing action / comedy /drama that really comes to life through the chemistry between Marvin and Sir Roger. Marvin has never been quite this hammy, to the best of this viewers' recollection, and that includes his Oscar winning comedic performance in "Cat Ballou". Still, he's quite watchable, as is the lovely Barbara Parkins ("Valley of the Dolls") as Marvins' daughter and a strong supporting cast also including Karl Michael Vogler, Horst Janson, Maurice Denham, Murray Melvin, and George Coulouris. The real scene stealer for much of the two hour 30 minute run time is Ian Holm, cast as O'Flynns' mute associate Mohammed. The snarling Kolldehoff makes for an effective bad guy.

The music by Maurice Jarre is good, as is the use of eye catching African locations and the expansive widescreen photography. All in all, this is a somewhat predictable but pleasing diversion.

Seven out of 10.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Read the book then see the movie
bcolquho24 February 2005
Read the book. Then see the movie. You'll be surprised. I first saw this movie on television back in the 1980s. I think it was 1981, five years after it was released in theaters, I'm not sure. That was back before cable television became popular and satellite television was NOWHERE on the horizon. This is the story of an American colonel named Flynn Patrick O'Flynn, an English poacher, named Sebastian Oldsmith, O'Flynn's hot daughter, Rosa, caught up in the heat, passion, and intrigue, of World War I. The African Queen it ain't. Oldsmith's a poacher. He hunts elephants illegally and sells the ivory overseas. O'Flynn and his daughter are American expatriates. Both men, and Rosa, live in Zanzibar, (now Tanazania,) and the three of them decide to blow up a German battle cruiser after the Germans, and their allies, the Ashanti, kill their daughter. Do they do it? I'd tell you, but then I'd have to form a firing squad and shoot you.
4 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
HISTORICAL INTEREST
bretontm31 July 2001
I decided to watch this FLICK on TV, because of the Historical Connection to WWI in the TV Guide Summary. The period history was weak, however I watched the entire film, because I wanted to know who the lead actress was, ie the Sandra Bullock of the 70's? The answer - Barbara Parkins. It's rather amusing that I'm smitten with her now after seeing this film and when I was a College Student in the 70's, I didn't have a clue about her. And the Movie wasn't bad either.
4 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Oi've got just the man for ye
hugh19716 May 2003
Warning: Spoilers
Contains spoilers.

Perhaps it was the fault of my DVD edition, but this film just seemed totally haphazard. It starts off well as a comic period drama, with a leering Roger Moore being signed up to help smuggle ivory through German East Africa.

But it soon rapidly falls apart. Several scenes are repeated to the point of tedium, ie the stereotypical swaggering Prussian officer shouting at his men (and why are so many scenes in German without subtitles?) and the Colonel being bribed with cases of gin. There is however a very funny scene where Roger Moore impersonates a German tax collector.

The first half of the film rambles along without pace. After the death of the baby the film picks up pace but by this time loses all its humour and becomes a darker thriller. Even Roger Moore is unhumourous in the second half. Lee Marvin, with his white hair, stubble and shambolic manner seem to adopt the 'granpappy with red underwear' acting style of the Westerns.

Overall the film lacks pace and editing and is about half an hour too long. A disappointme
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A proper old-fashioned yarn - ruined on DVD!
mjscarface2 October 2010
On the whole, this is a mostly faithful adaptation of Wilbur Smith's novel and a cracking adventure story.

Shortly before the outbreak of World War One, Irish poacher Flynn recruits a clueless, upper-class Englishman named Sebastian to help him steal ivory from German-occupied territory in Africa. For a while, the pair make a great team and succeed at humiliating the local German officer, Fleisher - but the fun comes to a sudden end when war is declared and Fleisher gets a chance for revenge.

As others have mentioned, this is definitely a film of two halves, as much as the book was. But the rollicking pace and sweeping storyline offer all manner of scrapes and situations that the film is never less than enjoyable. Lee Marvin is thoroughly amusing as the drunken poacher who flits between immature outbursts at those around him and total inebriation. Roger Moore is also impressive as Flynn's opposite, Sebastian, whose a gentleman at first but quickly learns to toughen up as the story becomes more serious.

Supporting characters are also memorable, with Fleisher a mixture of comical and nastiness. Barbara Parkins plays Flynn's daughter and Sebastian's romantic interest with fiestiness and Ian Holm is amusing as Flynn's mute assistant Mohammed.

In terms of action, the film has plenty to offer; gunfights, fistfights, shipwrecks and man-eating crocs for a start. This is all edited in the same frantic style that Peter Hunt's 'On Her Majesty's Secret Service' was, giving a lot of energy to the film. I also love Maurice Jarre's score for 'Shout at the Devil'; epic and tense.

While 'Shout at the Devil' is a cracking yarn and I have loved it since I was little, the bad news is that no decent version currently exists on DVD. German characters (who spoke English in the film) have now been dubbed into German, which is one thing... but no subtitles(!) mean that entire scenes become useless and impossible to follow for the rest of us.

There is of course the issue of running time and to be honest I can't remember if I've actually seen the full version or not (it's been a while). Some TV companies have been known to show the full version and, because of the awful DVD versions, it's a case of pot-luck that anyone sees the film as it should be (I personally have held onto a VHS recording from 1988 which is wearing very thin now).
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed