"Columbo" Dagger of the Mind (TV Episode 1972) Poster

(TV Series)

(1972)

User Reviews

Review this title
43 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Not exceptional, but definitely worth seeing
TheLittleSongbird26 June 2010
I may be biased, but I have yet to see a Columbo episode I absolutely hate. Even with its problems, I did like Dagger of the Mind. It is quite slow in pace, with a rather thin plot and the build up to the finale I agree could have been better. But the scenery and photography are wonderful, the script does have its humorous moments, the direction is good enough and the music is effective. The acting is fine, Peter Falk is great no problem with him whatsoever, while Honor Blackman is wonderful, looks beautiful and has some memorable scenes with Columbo. Richard Basehart overdoes it a bit, but he seems to be having fun too. Overall, worth watching if not the best Columbo. 7/10 Bethany Cox
19 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good but way off perfect
andeven15 August 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Despite the bad press which this episode generally receives, I rather like it. The plot is a touch far-fetched to be sure and the collapse of the murderer (one of them in this instance)on the flimsiest of evidence is par for the Columbo course but I was held by it and enjoy it on repeats.

BUT.....there are a few faults, viz:

* Changing the scene from LA to London and using an almost entirely British cast is fine, so why then use an American actor(Richard Basehart) for one of the main roles and moreover playing an Englishman? He is clearly uncomfortable in the part and his accent, while not as bizarre as Dick van Dyke's, is still awful.Was it to give the episode some USAppeal?

* Possibly the murder of Tanner, which I have never seen, does feature in some versions but I am left perplexed as to how Nicholas managed to hang him in a way that looked like suicide. Killing him first, even strangling him with the rope and then doing so, would be altogether too easy for the police to detect. I can't imagine that he said something like "Would you mind standing on this chair with a rope round your neck, old boy. Nothing to worry about!". So how......?

* You always expect errors when American films are set in England (usually geographical - see '23 Paces to Baker Street' and 'Knock on Wood' for some real howlers) and others have covered some of them here. However there is a rather strange double error in the London Wax Museum (presumably they were not allowed to refer to Madame Tussaud)where the English Lilian refers to "drapes" and the American Columbo mentions "curtains". Someone seemed to know the correct respective terms but then got them confused.

* Other reviewers are correct. Some of the attitudes were silly and patronising - right at the end Durk actually says "By Jove!". I suppose someone just had to.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A favourite Columbo
vaughan-birbeck2 June 2004
This may not be the best ever Columbo episode but as it's set in England it remains a favourite of mine.

Apart from the plot the main interest lies in location spotting. We get scenes at London airport and outside New Scotland Yard near Victoria Street which means Columbo could pass Buckingham Palace on the way.

The "London Wax Museum" is actually the Imperial College Library, near the Science Museum in South Kensington (also used as a location in "The Ipcress File"), but it does allow an impressive closing shot of the Albert Hall. We also get to see the Royal Court Theatre and lots of English rain.

Apart from that I'm not sure how much of the film was shot in the UK. The stately home has a definite California feel.

This is a good Columbo entry, only marred by the usual American view of the British: we're either "Pip, pip, old boy" types or " Gor blimey, gavner" cockneys. At the time this was made the top cop show in the UK was 'The Sweeney'. Columbo meets Regan and Carter, now that would be worth watching: "Oh, just one more thing sir, er...you're nicked!"
28 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
below average Columbo
fcasnette13 April 2006
I've watched this a couple of times now and it gets worse the more you analyse. Compare it to the episode in Mexico where as a "fish out of water" Columbo has to help the local police. That episode is tightly scripted with a believable Mexican policeman and reason for Columbo to help out. Here we have lazy scriptwriting (exchnage visit) and cartoon English policemen going to their "clubs". Laughable! The theatre setting and "luvie" murderers have possibilities but marred by Basehart's Canadian drawl. The pub scene with "cockneys" is just ludicrous. The difference between the location shoot and the Californian and studio scenes is glaring and off putting.

The problem is Falk is not on camera enough to lift it, and a wealth of British character actors are wasted with not enough nuance in the script, and no interesting villain like Patrick MacGoohan, Jack Cassidy or Robert Culp to mask the story shortfalls with screen presence. The murder and denouement is just lame and it is surprising this episode came so early since it bears all the hallmarks of the type of episode you get when the series is going down the drain and a desperate attempt is made to liven the pattern up with a new location. Columbo has done far better than this, but I must admit that compared to more standard TV fare a bad Columbo is still better than a lot of other things you can pass the time with because Peter Falk is in it.
25 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Likeable, but fragmented and uncertainly paced Columbo adventure set in London
The Welsh Raging Bull13 April 2004
Early on in the Columbo series, the producers obviously felt confident enough to take the "man in the mac" out of his familiar American environment and place him in London, to solve a murder - nevertheless, the results are decidedly mixed.

The episode boasts a wonderfully hammy performance from Richard Basehart, as one of the murderers (ably assisted by British actress Honor Blackman)and there are some very humourous scenes as we see Columbo cause mayhem at Heathrow airport and also as he scours London to take snapshots with his brother-in-law's camera.

Notwithstanding these strengths, the adventure is rather thinly plotted and uncertainly paced (the finale really comes without any significant build-up); and the murder set-up itself does not render the ingenious array of clues typical of many of the best Columbo adventures (all we really have here is a turned-over book, an unbroken set of reading glasses, rain spots on a car and an umbrella!).

Additionally, the episode does have a fragmented feel to it owing to the fact that not all of it was filmed in London (the scenes in the London pub are somewhat exaggerated and many of the character actors have awfully manufactured Cockney accents).

This is an average Columbo adventure, but still better than many of the detective shows of its kind.
17 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Is this London that I see before me?
rmax30482318 August 2007
Warning: Spoilers
A pretty good entry in the early series, this episode takes Columbo to London where he more or less guides a dilatory Scotland Yard through a maze of clues to the solution of a murder. The murder has to do with the social world of British theater and the culprits are a pair of Shakespearean actors (Richard Basehart and Honor Blackman).

There's nothing particularly innovative or amusing about it except the locale. Columbo loses track of his wife, as usual on his trips. And there are some scenes in which an audience might properly feel it's being talked down to, with Columbo running around (followed closely by the camera) and taking pictures of the changing of the guard as if the pageantry hadn't appeared in a dozen other movies. "Is that BIG BEN?", Columbo asks his guide at one point. Yes, Leftenant, it's Big Ben. "Waddaya know -- hundreds of years old and it's not off by more than a minute."

I mean, fumbling around and being gauche is one thing, but has he been raised in some cave? However, that silliness aside, the writers have folded Columbo's usual tactics neatly into the British mix.

And it has Wilfred Hyde-White as an unctuous blackmailing butler and he's peerless. And it has John Williams, too, who has played more British detectives, inspectors, and lawyers than you can count. I mean it. I tried to count them once and ran out of toes. Alas, he's bumped off early -- by a cold cream jar Honor Blackman throws his way. (People die so easily in Columbo's environs; his presence is hazardous to your health. On the other hand, the villains usually give up with an easy shrug.)

Basehart and Blackman seem to be having a good time and they're a jovial couple of murderers, chuckling and making wisecracks about their own duplicity, a regular pair of Richard IIIs.

A quick gag because I don't want to forget and it's easily missed. Someone is talking to the egomaniacal actor, Basehart, and remarks that Irving was "the greatest Shakespearean actor who ever lived." Basehart for a moment looks put out, then adds, "Well, let's say 'one of the greatest'."

Enjoyable -- AND you get to see Tower Bridge! From a boat on the Thames!
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Columbo In London
ShootingShark17 May 2005
Warning: Spoilers
When an eminent London stage promoter threatens to pull the plug on a production of Macbeth, a husband-and-wife acting team take a lead from their characters in the play and bump him off. Unfortunately for them however, Lieutenant Columbo is visiting Scotland Yard on a police exchange scheme ...

The charm of this Columbo story comes largely from transplanting the dishevelled Los Angeles detective to old London town (although most of this was shot on stages in Hollywood), a world of quaint old theatres, starched-shirt butlers, gentlemen's clubs and fish'n'chips. The script, penned by the show's creators, Richard Levinson and William Link, has some witty parallels with Macbeth and several funny moments, like the newspaper headline reading "The Butler Did It !" and Columbo's reaction to the autopsy photographs. Basehart and Blackman both give good, mildly histrionic performances and the rest of the British cast spark off nicely against Columbo's Californian sensibilities. The best bits though are the footage of Falk running around like a mad tourist at Buckingham Palace, Green Park, Tower Bridge and the Albert Hall. If only he'd been on the case of Jack the Ripper.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A tepid "Columbo" effort featuring a shallow view of Londoners, weak comedy relief and a pair of cartoonish murderers
J. Spurlin20 March 2005
Richard Basehart and Honor Blackman are Nicholas Frame and Lilian Stanhope, a famous husband-and-wife acting team about to do "Macbeth." Just before dress rehearsal, Sir Roger Haversham (John Williams), the impresario behind this production, discovers they have tricked him – Lilian has seduced him for his money and Nicholas put her up to it. He secretly visits her dressing room to tell her the show is off. Nicholas joins them, and the three wind up in a scuffle that ends when Lilian hits Sir Roger on the head with a cold cream jar, accidentally killing him. They move Sir Roger's body back to his home and make it look as if he fell down a flight of stairs. Too bad for them our rumpled Lt. Columbo, visiting London as a guest of Scotland Yard, brings his sharp eye to this case.

Some English IMDb posters have already noted that this is a shallow and condescending view of Londoners, and I believe them. Nothing about this episode rings true, and the plot is thin stuff.

Basehart and Blackman have no trouble playing affected stars, but their roles are caricatures of actors, not real people. There's no fun in watching Columbo play cat-and-mouse with a couple of cartoons. In fact, this episode starts going badly the moment he enters the scene. We first see him bumbling and inadvertently creating havoc at the airport, a would-be comic sequence that falls flat. Columbo is funny only when his seeming ineptitude causes his quarry to underestimate him. Whenever the writers have him clowning like this, you wonder if they underestimate him, too. They even having him stumbling through crowds, trying to take pictures of all the London landmarks. For all these scenes add to the story, the producers might have scrapped the location shooting and spent the money on a better script.

This whole thing just feels like a cheap imitation of an English murder mystery down to the unsatisfying conclusion at a wax museum. If Basehart and Blackman weren't having such obvious fun with their roles (they even get to play a little Shakespeare), this would be a complete bore. Columbo may be a fish out of water in England, but so is "Columbo."

MISCELLANY. This is the second episode so far to feature an unpremeditated murder. The first was in "Death Lends a Hand."
21 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
also one of my favorite episodes
blanche-29 September 2004
I am a die-hard Columbo fan and I guess all of the episodes, excluding the most recent ones, are my favorites. But Dagger of the Mind is one of my favorite favorites. It has wonderful performances by Honor Blackman and Richard Basehart and a familiar Hitchcock actor, John Williams.

This movie has one of my favorite scenes of all time - Blackman sobbing hysterically over a coffin and babbling to Columbo (we find out later she thinks he's from the press). In the midst of her over-dramatic performance, Columbo, in his most innocent voice asks, "Is there any way for me to get tickets? I'd LOVE to see the show." Too funny. Columbo is a great character. It's a shame that the last few episodes were not up to the wonderful standards of the old episodes and his comeback episodes of the early '90s. I haven't given up hoping he'll be back in top form before Falk decides to retire.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Awful!
RussianPantyHog12 April 2004
I'm a HUGE fan of Columbo, but this is weak; actually the only bad episode. Please (Rosabel from Mass) don't blame us Brits for being pompous, quaint, obsessed with ritual and stuck-in-the-past. We're not! But this is how you Americans love to think of us, and this movie after all is an American production. I've noticed time and time and time again that whenever a US tv show does an episode in England it's always set in London, with a cast full of butlers and lords and sirs and of course the essential shots of Buckingham Palace, cavalry and bands, not to mention the deferential working class tugging their forelocks and mumbling "cor blimey guv". If I may quote Hannibal Lecter: "Tedious. Very tedious." Peter Falk simply wasn't on screen for long enough and that was an additional flaw. As for his Scotland Yard counterpart, Detective Chief Superintendents DO NOT scurry around chasing villains. The rank is equal to Lt Col. They're senior managers. "Dagger Of The Mind" actually annoyed me from start to finish which is a shame as most other Columbo movies are SO good. The only thing I did enjoy was seeing the wonderful Wilfred Hyde White, even though he played a butler (yawn).
20 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
One of the Worst of the Columbo Series
bensonmum218 March 2005
  • While on a trip to England to learn about some of Scotland Yard's latest innovations, Columbo stumbles upon a murder. The producer of a Shakespearean play has been killed and Columbo's suspicion soon fall on a husband and wife acting team appearing in the producer's latest play. Columbo must match wits with this pair of thespians to prove their guilt.


  • The long running series of Columbo movies was in its second year when Dagger of the Mind was made. It's amazing that the people behind the movies felt it necessary to "jump the shark" so early in the series. The whole idea of Columbo in England is ridiculous. It's something you do when you are desperate for ratings. Fortunately for fans of Columbo, the series survived this misguided attempt to (I suppose) spice things up and continued for years.


  • I have several problems with the movie, but I'll focus on only one - the ending. Without going into details, the evidence that catches the pair of killers is a bead inside an umbrella placed there by Columbo. Had the murderers only remained silent, there's no way a jury would have convicted them with such obviously planted evidence. But, in order to wrap things up in two hour time slot, one of the killers immediately falls to pieces and begins to confess to everything. How utterly silly. A man who is capable of killing someone is surely capable of withstanding the pressure of a little illegally planted evidence.


  • This is easily the worst of the Columbo movies I've seen to date.
13 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Columbo Tours London -Leaves Wife Home
DKosty12329 December 2008
Columbo shows up in London without his suitcase as even when this was filmed, they lost them. He says it is his wife's case but why he came to London without his wife when I am sure Scotland Yard would have paid for both of them? This is a nice tourist episode as a lot of Londons sights are shown. The cast is great as almost the entire cast became well known to American audiences after this was made. Honor Blackman is a bonus as she is a great performer and she was already known as Pussy Galore before this.

The plot on this one is a little weak in that the murder is an accident and Columbo has to result to trickery to trip up the murder solution rather than using his usual proved police methods of homicide investigation. Then again, as this episode was done more for the famous cast and London scenery, I didn't really mind.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Columbo matches wits with Scotland Yard
Sylviastel19 May 2006
In this Columbo episode, it features Honor Blackman (who denied a C.B.E.) and Richard Baseheart as an aging acting couple. The wife, Lilian Stanhope, played deliciously by Honor seduces a powerful older British gentleman to produce Macbeth for them to star in so they are not washed up like most actors and actresses in their predicament. Anyway, the plot is more like Macbeth and the film could be useful in an English class if you're teaching Shakespeare's Macbeth. Anyway, I have always enjoyed watching it from beginning to end. Let's not forget Wilfred Hyde-White who should have been knighted in the episode. Anyway, Columbo is a guest in their country and he becomes wrapped up in the investigation. While others have assumed it's just a robbery gone awry, Columbo always comes through. It's fun watching this delectable group of characters and props like an umbrella. It's great to see London location. I believe apart from the Mexican cruise that London was the only other place that Columbo got to travel too.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Columbo abroad
Leofwine_draca27 September 2016
Despite some of the other reviews on this site, I had a ball with DAGGER OF THE MIND. I always enjoy the Columbo episodes that take the detective out of his Californian home ground and allow him to explore a little further; I've previously seen him both in Mexico and on a cruise ship, but this story takes him his furthest yet - to London itself, at least a Hollywood version of London that few British viewers will recognise.

And it's a real hoot. There's more comedy in this episode than in most of the others. Columbo runs around like the typical bumbling American tourist and has to take snapshots of everything. All of the British characters act in the exceedingly old fashioned way, owning country houses with butlers and driving 1930s-era sports cars. However, I wasn't upset by any of this stuff, I found it quite amusing.

The murder itself is a good one that well utilises a theatrical backdrop. Richard Basehart can be accused of hamming it up something dreadful as the Macbeth actor caught up in a vicious crime, but it's the lovely Honor Blackman who really shines here as his accomplice and Lady Macbeth of the piece. I fully believe she's the loveliest murderess seen in a Columbo story, and the episode benefits hugely as a result. Watch out for some fun at a waxworks, a droll Wilfrid Hyde-White in one of his most developed supporting turns, a typically ingenious climax (isn't that illegal?), and DIAL M FOR MURDER actor John Williams as the victim.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not the best, but entertaining
digby-1129 July 2015
At least there are some English actors, with real accents. Not surprisingly Richard Basehart's accent is hilarious - but better than Dick van Dyke's Cockney. While far from the best Columbo, this is a favourite as I was studying at Imperial College at the time and saw the crew preparing for the scenes. At one point there were a lot of jeering students (definitely 'Miners' - Imperial College graduates will understand) interrupted things. For this reason it brings back very happy memories of College days.

The "London Wax Museum" is not, as was stated in an earlier review, Imperial College. It's the entrance to the Royal College of Music, which is surrounded by Imperial College. The RCM would have got the cash, not IC. The Ipcress File scenes were further east, on the corner of Exhibition Road and Prince Consort Road. I spent two years living almost opposite the RCM, so knew the area very well.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The Worst Columbo I Have Ever Seen...But Still Enjoyable In It's Own Way
stubbers4 January 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I received a box set of Series 2 DVD's for Christmas and rapidly devoured every episode, even though I have seen nearly all of them before. Yesterday I finally plucked up the courage to watch "Dagger Of The Mind" again, this time with my reviewer hat on.

The result was that I saw more good in this episode than I had noticed before, having been comprehensively turned off last time by the appallingly bizarre parallel-universe version of London on show here. It can't be London, England. Maybe there's another city called London somewhere in California where people speak with these peculiar accents, but it sure as heck isn't the London I know and love. (And it's not an era thing, as one poster pointed out, look at The Sweeney or The Professionals for a much more realistic glimpse of 70s London, not REALLY that different to today).

But yesterday when sitting down to watch "Dagger Of The Mind", I was prepared. I KNEW that what I was about to view bore no resemblance to any real location, so I deducted points for the misrepresentation of London at the start of the episode, and from then on simply allowed myself to watch the detective story, which isn't that bad.

It's not that great either, but there's so much going on that despite its flaws, this episode is never boring! Richard Baseheart and Honor Blackman actually made pretty good Columbo villains, and it was a good touch having two villains instead of the usual lone operator. Columbo's UK host Durk is played rather more subduedly, one of the less cartoony characters here.

Needless to say Columbo himself was played perfectly by Falk. It never ceases to amaze me that even in the worst Columbo episodes, whenever Falk comes on screen he elevates the quality of the viewing experience. I would like to see more of Columbo in London, because the idea of the LA cop checking out an important London murderer has real potential IMO, once over the novelty of Tower Bridge and Big Ben (which according to my DVD copy has the most bizarre chimes ever - did the sound guys drop a cassette of the chimes in a cup of hot coffee or something? The chimes play ridiculously slowly, and start speeding up halfway through, even though Columbo and Durk are having a normally pitched conversation over the top of this strange noise). One thing's for sure...I'd like to see Columbo detour into Harlesden or Peckham!

If the nature of my review is slightly scattergun and disorganised, that's a reflection of this real mixed bag of an episode. It has great actors mixed in with awful ones. It has a good murder mixed in with a bunch of unbelievable clues and coincidences. It is a silly episode, but yet it's actually quite watchable.

I'll give it a 6 out of 10, because of the watchability factor.

Finally...do actors really ponce around quoting Shakespeare in real life? As Lily says to Nicholas: "stop acting!" This could have been a lesson for the makers of this episode. Real acting doesn't mean affecting a hammy voice that nobody ever speaks like in real conversation, it means bringing a character to life and making him or her believable. Less is more, as Falk proves. If only a few of the extras hadn't "acted" so much, instead just played their parts in a more low-key, well-observed way then the show may have been more realistic.

The only reason I bring it up is that in almost every Columbo episode (possibly not the Sky High IQ one), the beautifully subtle, understated bit-parts add to the realism and atmosphere of the show. Whereas with "Dagger Of The Mind", it's this out-of-place "acting" that causes all the problems with this episode. A bit less acting and the whole thing wouldn't seem so ludicrous!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The London gimmick is badly used (tourist shots and English clichés) but the rest is to formula and is enough for regular series viewers (spoilers)
bob the moo9 May 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Lilian Stanhope and Nicholas Frame are American actors doing "the Scottish play" in the West End of London. However when the play's producer and Lilian's lover Sir Roger Haversham flies into a rage with her and Nicholas, saying that the play is cancelled and so on, they murder him in the heat of the moment and stash his body away before dress rehearsals begin. Afterwards they sneak his body back to his house, place him at the bottom of the stairs and make it look like he was reading, went downstairs and fell. The next morning, Columbo arrives at Heathrow to join Scotland Yard to learn their techniques but Sir Roger was a relative of Columbo's guide and, as requested by his wife, Detective Chief Supt Durk goes to look at the accident. It all seems normal to Durk but an open book and a pair of glasses is all it takes to start Columbo thinking.

As with many TV film series (such as Perry Mason), if you like one or two of them then you'll pretty much like them all. This entry in the Columbo series pretty much follows the usual formula – we know the killer and the "perfect" plan but then watch Columbo follow his hunch and gradually starts to pick holes in the story he is told before eventually finding enough to prove his suspicions. Saying this is not a spoiler – it is simply what happens in all the films. With this strict adherence to formula it is usually down to several factors whether or not the Columbo film stands out or if it is just average. Worryingly the addition here seems to be the novelty value of it being in London – although it appears that the shooting in London lasted about one day since it was the only bits that are England are the scenes of Columbo running around with his camera, the rest is clearly a very sunny LA and soundstages. This is not a terrible thing though and it does provide some comedy in watching him run around like a total tourist. The plot is not the most cunning but it is still fun to watch Columbo pick up on little things and play games with this suspects to draw them out without ever letting on that he really is smarter than them. The plot isn't as fun as the best cat and mouse stuff in the other films but it does the job well enough and fans will enjoy it as much as usual.

The cast are mixed indeed. Falk is as good as ever, playing his character convincingly low-key and unassuming but also delivering a nice comic touch; specifically the moment where he is trying to eat a meal while avoiding looking at autopsy pictures had me laughing out loud. Basehart is a total ham from start to finish; this doesn't really help the tension but it is quite amusing to watch. Blackman is pretty good although, like a salad with a Sunday lunch, the ham tends to dominate her. Casting Hyde-White as a butler doesn't show much imagination but Bernard Fox is nicely puffed up and serves as a good counter to Columbo's unassuming manner. The rest of the cast are just a collection of posh lots or cheeky cockneys – obviously, with very little of it actually shot in London, the casting agent was charged with finding as many English clichés as he could – sadly none of them are any good.

Overall this is a standard entry in the enjoyable Columbo series but the London setting isn't used very well – only providing one or two scenes of scenery and a load of clichéd supporting actors. The mystery itself is still enjoyable enough and Falk's performance helps it as it is his games and trickery that adds value to the investigation. Not good enough to stand out with the best of the series but still good enough for fans to enjoy even if the cultural exchange gimmick distracts from rather than benefiting it.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Sweeps mistake
Ripshin19 November 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Being that this episode was aired during the final week of November, this was most certainly a "rating sweeps" stunt. NBC was probably promoting the hell out of "Columbo in London!!!!" This sort of "fish out of water" scenario rarely works in an established series, and this attempt is no exception.

The British characters are all cartoonish stereotypes, with lead Basehart (not British, of course) chewing the scenery å la William Shatner. Wilfrid Hyde-White deserves kudos for NOT joining the histrionics on display in most scenes.

OK, the idea that this episode supposedly takes place over a 24-hour period is bizarre. The autopsy, funeral arrangements, tour of London, etc. would have taken days, but the characters keep referring to "last night," when discussing the murder, at the end of the episode.

And, what's with the whole umbrella fiasco? Why is it necessary to obtain the original? I must have missed something, regarding that aspect of the plot.

The one humorous bit is Columbo attempting to eat at the posh British men's club, while his British counterparts pass autopsy photos back and forth.

My least favorite of the first two seasons. Part of the fun in watching "Columbo," is seeing the styles, architecture and attitude of early 70s LA. Now, if I had only waited to watch this next Sunday, it would have been November 26, 2006...the show originally aired on Sunday, November 26, 1972.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Quaint setting but over-plotted
enochsneed25 April 2011
Warning: Spoilers
It must have seemed a great idea to bring Columbo to London. Imagine the fun you could have with our rumpled hero mixing with Limeys, with all that history and those cute accents! If Columbo had met up with real Metropolitan Police detectives in the 1970's he would have found them either on the take or ready to beat a confession out of the nearest suspect. Happily, those days are gone...

However, this is Hollywood England where the upper classes reign supreme in wood-panelled clubs (some nice comedy here from Peter Falk trying to eat and being faced with post-mortem photographs) while the lower orders are happy with their lot and regard any favour from their betters as "very gracious of you indeed, sir" - Joe the door-keeper should have been strangled at birth.

The plot of this Columbo episode is equally lacking in realism, with the killers having to visit the victim's home several times (supposedly English but obviously Californian), silence the sneaky butler, and break into the 'London Wax Museum' (which hasn't seen fit to invest in a burglar alarm system). The final confrontation with Richard Basehart apparently suffering some kind of breakdown is rather embarrassing, with Honor Blackman having to overact terribly to try and put the scene across. The running time is very long for a Columbo, too, at almost 95 minutes.

We get some views of Buckingham Palace and Tower Bridge for local colour. Ironically the Royal Court Theatre was the home of some of the most ground-breaking and controversial plays of the 1950's and 60's, not Shakespeare (and certainly not such an old-fashioned production as we see here). It's cute to see Columbo in England, but this is far from his finest hour.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
This is the worse episode of Columbo
kerrybowler-672454 November 2019
Terrible storyline and some very lazy stereotyping of the English. Not even the mighty Peter Falk can save it.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
lame plot
robertmani-669194 July 2016
One of the things that bothers me about this plot is actually the murder of Sir Roger. With the force that the lady threw the cold jar, Sir Roger could have never died, at the most he would have got a bruise on his head. In my opinion it was weak. If people could die of force of such a light impact, lot of soccer players and football players would die on the field!

The second murder was weak too but someone else has already mentioned it. To repeat him, How was the actor able to lift the body and hang it without investigating police noticing the evidence?

I have seen better Columbo episodes....
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Fun,slightly Disney version of London....
stevelarner13 August 2012
This wasn't too bad plot-wise,but they should have paid a bit more attention to the details,ie the blue Jag with the whitewall tyres was clearly two different cars,the music and lack of pint glasses in the pub, the mansion house being clearly in the US, but the worst part was the bad Cockney accent of "Joe Fenwick" (who staggeringly,was actually born in Hampshire,England!!) His accent was less convincing than Richard Basehart's! Columbo planting evidence was a bit naughty but the important part it got the confession,OK it was a bit unrealistic but the fact we knew they did it and as Columbo fans we forgive a lot of "inaccuracies" shall we call em? :)
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A tale spun by an idiot, filled with thunder and fury, signifying nothing!
sol121810 October 2006
Warning: Spoilers
(There are Spoilers) This murder mystery that takes place in England should have been a piece of cake to solve for the great Lt. Columbo, Peter Falk, by the very fact that the "murderers" was such a bunch of bumbling buffoons that they didn't even plan the murder in the first place. It was also the first and only time that I can remember in the some 70 or so Columbo TV movies that Lt. Columbo had to plant the evidence on the killers to get them, or the weakest link of the pair, to break down and confess his crime.

Feeling that he's being used by legendary theater producer Sir. Roger Haversham, John Williams Shakespearean actors Nicholas Frame & Lilian Stanhope, Richard Besehart & Honor Blackman, have it out with the him in their dressing room when he threatens to destroy their careers. Sir, Roger ends up getting bopped over the head with a flying dish of cold cream splitting his skull open and killing him. Right away you see that this isn't a premeditated murder on he part of Nicholas & Lilian so they really don't have any real and air-tight plan to cover it up.

Taking Sir. Roger's body and putting it into a trunk the two drive to Sir. Roger's estate in the country and leave it at the bottom of the stairs making it look like Sir Roger died from a fall. It just happens that Lt. Columbo is visiting England's New Scotland Yard at the invitation of Chief of Det. William Durk, Bernard Fox. Without breaking a sweat Lt. Columbo get's right on the case instinctively feeling that it's murder not an accident like the local police reported it to be.

In the middle of all this both Nichols and Lilian are about to put on the play Macbeth which Let. Columbo is very interested in and gets a feed ticket, from Nicholas & Lilian, to see the play. Columbo also sees, it's never explained just how, that the two were responsible for Sir. Rogers' murder but is unable to prove it.

There's a load of hair-brained evidence like an expensive book a string of pearls an umbrella and some half dozen other objects that we get in the movie on how they all implicate both Nicholas & Lilian. Yet all these items are so flimsy that they all would be laughed out of court if they were ever presented as evidence of Nicholas & Lilian's guilt. We then, just to get things going, have Sir Roger's loyal butler Tanner ,Wilford Hyde-White, begin to blackmail the pair to keep his job.

Going to Tanner's place to talk over business, about how much he want's to keep his mouth shut, Nicholas murders the old guy and hangs him up on the chandeliers to make it look like he committed suicide because he supposedly killed his boss Sir. Richard and expected to be arrested by the police. This in fact would have been ridicules on Tanner's part because the police and Let. Columbo never suspected him in the first place! With the story really going nowhere there's this big scene set up at the end of the movie with Columbo using the magic umbrella trick in proving that Nicholas and Lilian were in fact Sir. Roger's killers. Let. Columbo seemed to have completely forgotten about the butler Tanner's murder and didn't even bother to solve it.

The set up to prove that Nicholas & Lilian killed Sir. Roger was so insane and hilarious that Nicholas, who's not wrapped too tight to begin with, had a psychotic fit. Nicholas totally freaking out seemed to confess to the killing in one of the weirdest confessions in the history of crime. Nicholas acting and looking insane ended up both mumbling incoherently his lines from the play McBeath in between his confession!
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A good entertaining mystery
Rosabel20 December 1999
A good, middle-of-the road Columbo. The world of hammy stage actors portrayed here can get a little tiring at times, but fortunately, these are people that few of us ever have to meet. Columbo movies generally have held up to time very well; a quarter of a century after their making, they can still hold an audience as well as they ever did. The one thing in this movie that dates it is its portrayal of the snobby English who look down upon uncouth American customs. Granted, Columbo might be a little hard to take as a representative of the United States at any time, but it is surprising to be reminded of how admired and envied the English were just such a short time ago, and how completely since then the Americans have eclipsed Britain in almost everything that counts. It is hard to believe that anyone today would make a crime movie that would airily dismiss American police as bumblers and vaunt the traditional superiority of Scotland Yard, as is done here.
7 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
As sad as Dick van Dyke's Cockney accent
etymophony24 April 2005
Unless designed to poke fun at Hollywood stereotypes of the UK, this "Daggers" episode is, apart from Falk's usual charisma and convincing ham acting from Blackman, an unmitigated disaster. As a Brit, I find it tiring, even insulting, to see and hear notions of the UK, England in particular, reduced to the level of Dick van Dyke's pseudo-cockney, with the action running in upper-class environments that may have flourished before P G Wodehouse moved to the USA in the 1920s or in Agatha Christie's 1930s heyday, but which had virtually disappeared by the 1950s, not to mention the 1970s. Even Dick de Benedictis, famous for effective TV underscoring (e.g. Perry Mason Returns), descends to producing pastiches of time warped Georgian classicalness, as if the Hollywood view of Britain were incapable of advancing beyond the time of George Washington. "Daggers" is an embarrassing exception to an otherwise remarkable run of Columbo productions.
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed