Asc Awards 2020: Roger Deakins Wins Top Prize for ‘1917’

Asc Awards 2020: Roger Deakins Wins Top Prize for ‘1917’
Cinematographer Roger Deakins won the top prize Saturday night at the 34th annual Asc Awards (at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland) for his bravura camera work on “1917,” the continuous-shot, World War I extravaganza, directed by Sam Mendes.

Deakins beat Phedon Papamichael (“Ford v Ferrari”), Rodrigo Prieto (“The Irishman”), Robert Richardson (“Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”), and Lawrence Sher (“Joker”). The latter three are Oscar-nominated with Deakins. The fifth nominee, Jarin Blaschke (“The Lighthouse”), earned the Asc Spotlight Award for his gritty, Gothic-looking black-and-white cinematography.

Additionally, Fejmi Daut and Samir Ljuma took the Asc Documentary category for “Honeyland.”

Given the Best Picture momentum and universal acclaim for the technical feat, Deakins moves a step closer to his second Oscar. He finally landed his first with “Blade Runner 2049″ after 14 Academy Award nominations. Deakins leads the Asc with five wins.

“1917” is not only the tour de force of the season,
See full article at Indiewire »

Similar News

Recently Viewed